Dawes

People who are saying we dont have the midfield to get the ball into our bog forwards -

Please explain to me how Clark kicked 29 goals in 10 games.

I've been saying for some time we have the nucleus of a good midfield, and with the additions of Viney and Wines(?) it will be further strengthened

Add the spread / pace of Byrnes, give Blease another preseason, even Gysberts (if he remains) and it's not as woeful as was shown this year.

They'll relish having 2 big bodies to spot up, they'll relish not kicking to Mitch who's dragging 3 defenders along

I don't understand why people bother to have discussions on the Main Board, or even Bay 13 for that matter. Just full of faceless keyboard warriors.

The main board is open season on all things Melbourne. Anything goes it seems. We as a club have done little to help our cause over the last 5 years (in particular), but Neeld is doing what should've been done a long time ago.

Realistically, opposition supporters should be giving the club kudos for recognising how fk'd we were and how Neeld is trying to fix a very big problem

But instead, it's Richmond supporters trolling our recruiting (ironic) and Freo supporters spouting Schwabolly! Schwabolly! (ironic)

Then we get randoms saying "why recruit Dawes when they have a surplus of players like him?" HUH? Say again?

Melbourne's 2012 Top 5 goal Kickers:

Clark 29
Blease 19
Green 19
Howe 19
Jones 16

Yep.....an abosolute GLUT of big bodied KPFs in that list :confused:

Surprising through the Dawes trade, I think the Collingwood supporters have been the most humble and see it was a trade that served all of our needs so I give them kudos.

There's the odd "eerrrr we done ripped their arse out", but most have been good

I'm rapidly coming to that conclusion. Do you ever wish that BF were smaller? There are just too many opinions, too many of the faceless types. I think discussion goes better when there are less than 100 active members and the morons get weeded out by them. Seeing threads on big issues that have 100 pages in a day is just too overwhelming. Sometimes less is more. At least our board has been good value.

After I checked out the main board once, I haven't looked at it since, better off just sticking around the Melbourne board, time better spent

I don't mind healthy debate about football and our club, but when it comes to us it's trolling, trolling and more trolling

The Brad Green retirement thread was an utter disgrace, and the of late Neeld / Dawes threads have had virtually zero debateable topics, just trolls

I'm rapidly coming to that conclusion. Do you ever wish that BF were smaller? There are just too many opinions, too many of the faceless types. I think discussion goes better when there are less than 100 active members and the morons get weeded out by them. Seeing threads on big issues that have 100 pages in a day is just too overwhelming. Sometimes less is more. At least our board has been good value.

http://www.reddit.com/r/AFL

Only a couple thousand people on there, smaller threads and discussions but for the most part people are a lot more polite.

Agree with this except maybe Rivers and I would also have Jamar in for Jolly. Would you put Jamar in front of Jolly as well? With a backline full of KPBs like Frawley, Brown, Keefe, maybe Martin (or forward) and probabaly Reid playing as the floating backman (not sure if Rivers gets in IMO) and a forwards like of Clark, Howe, Cloke and maybe Dawes, would Watts play up forward or back or even on the wings? Interesting who gets in to the backline in terms of smalls with Shaw, Grimes, McDonald, Blease, Toovey (bad kick but lightning and great defenfer) and OBrien all fighting for potential spots. I would definately have Grimes and McDonald in but not sure about Blease (maybe on the bench).

Where would Maxwell play then? ;)

I don't mind healthy debate about football and our club, but when it comes to us it's trolling, trolling and more trolling

The Brad Green retirement thread was an utter disgrace, and the of late Neeld / Dawes threads have had virtually zero debateable topics, just trolls
Mate, for a long time now people have disliked the MFC. They usually won't admit it and will pass it off under numerous excuses (some are honest enough to admit their hatred), but we're one of those clubs where if we achieve success, a lot of people will be fuming. We have a great past and one day this sleeping giant will awake and restore its former glory. The one good thing is all these trolls are so incredibly transparent.

F*ck em all I say :D:thumbsu:.

Lol. A lot of the mods hate the Dees as well (don't forget, they're footy fans too). Have spoken with a couple and would love to post some of their comments...but why bother. Don't get me wrong, give the mods hell if you think they're out of line (which they usually are in regards to Melbourne trolling), however you gotta take this site for what it is. It's mostly crap, but occasionally something worth reading. Also don't forget most of these idiotic trolls are little wimps hiding behind their computers, and would never in a million years express their opinions in the outside world.

I enjoy the Melbourne board though. Some pretty insightful, objective and intelligent supporters here. But hey, out of all the supporter groups I've met over the years, the Demon fans, on average, have always seemed to be the most intelligent. ;)

That picture should be our boards symbolic image for the year.

Often I don't think they're out of line per se, they just let things run their natural course

The MB is as bad as Bay 13 when it comes to the Dees

Where would Maxwell play then? ;)
Wouldnt make it. Average player with good leadership. Reid would play the sort of role Maxwell normally plays. Clark would second ruck so no Martin in the side or Rivers. I would have:

B: Grimes, Brown, Shaw
HB: McDonald, Frawley, Reid
C: Thomas, Swan, Beams
HF: Watts, Cloke, Howe
FF: Krakouer, Clark, Didak
Follow: Pendlebury, Jones, Jamar (maybe Jolly)

Bench: Trengove, Ball, Sidebottom, Blease (sub)

Not that I know Melbournes list that well (sorry If I have made any bad mistakes). I am also assuming that all players are playing at their best with no injuries. 10 Melbourne players and 12 Collingwood players.

Hi Melbourne supporters. Now that Dawes is officially heading to Melbourne, I am going to have to dump my username in favour of a current Pies' player, though I may wait for the draft and incorporate the name of our pick 20 player into my username. If anyone is interested in MyManDawes, just PM me and I'll let you know when I make the change.

I will be very sorry to lose both Chris Dawes and my name. You won't get a better team player and I reckon he will sharpen up his skills once the relentless pressure of being a Collingwood player is eased. I am on record as saying I hope he plays well for you guys, even and perhaps especially against us.

Wouldnt make it. Average player with good leadership. Reid would play the sort of role Maxwell normally plays. Clark would second ruck so no Martin in the side or Rivers. I would have:

B: Grimes, Brown, Shaw
HB: McDonald, Frawley, Reid
C: Thomas, Swan, Beams
HF: Watts, Cloke, Howe
FF: Krakouer, Clark, Didak
Follow: Pendlebury, Jones, Jamar (maybe Jolly)

Bench: Trengove, Ball, Sidebottom, Blease (sub)

Not that I know Melbournes list that well (sorry If I have made any bad mistakes). I am also assuming that all players are playing at their best with no injuries. 10 Melbourne players and 12 Collingwood players.

I'm surprised you kept watts in there though good call on Blease as the sub. He's the kind of player who can really make an impact in bursts but his tank is so small that he can't sustain it for an entire game. Hopefully he'll get it up once he's had another pre-season or two.

With a couple of days to digest the trade I'm starting to come around.

Dawes is a big target, regardless of goals scored. He brings players around him into the game. I mean having him link up 70m from goal offload to a jones or Blease streaming past, for them to deliver deep into the forward line to Mitch who can now compete one out. This is something we have lacked for some time!

Even better with a 3 pronged attack of Dawes, Hogan and Mitch. In fact I'm pretty sure that's exactly what Neeld wants.

Dawes will never be a star, but he will probably end up playing 200 games, every club has them.

Dawes is a big target, regardless of goals scored. He brings players around him into the game. I mean having him link up 70m from goal offload to a jones or Blease streaming past, for them to deliver deep into the forward line to Mitch who can now compete one out. This is something we have lacked for some time!

Even better with a 3 pronged attack of Dawes, Hogan and Mitch. In fact I'm pretty sure that's exactly what Neeld wants.

Dawes will never be a star, but he will probably end up playing 200 games, every club has them.
This is my thinking. Even if he had somewhat of a down year last year (as all players do, just ask any melbourne supporter), it probably doesn't even matter if he has another "down year" next year because he still has a crack and when he does that he at least provides a target and brings the ball to ground. The next step is to have someone front n center, which has been missing for the last few years to an alarming degree. Maybe pacy players like Blease and Davey could be given a go in the FP to try and snag some goals off th scraps of the big men. Could throw Byrnes down there and Sylvia even at times as well - both a pretty smart footballers who know where to run to get themselves into a position to kick goals.

I still have concerns about how we'll go when the ball hits the ground. I reckon on average about 1 in 8 or 1 in 10 bombs into the forward line is marked (or freed to the forward), so there's going to be a lot of ball hitting ground. Byrnes will be an improvement in that area, but we're going to need more quality crumbing from someone.

Having said that, both Clark & Dawes seem to be really good with 2nd & 3rd efforts when the ball is on the ground, and very agile for men of their size.

Where is Dawes at right now anyway? I really wanna see him speak at his first Melbourne Presser etc. =D

That's what I want to know.

I assume he is galavanting around the US or whatever. He's technically on holidays for 1 more week so let him relax and have a presser or interview on day 1 of preseason; oct 29th (ish).

That's what I want to know.

I assume he is galavanting around the US or whatever. He's technically on holidays for 1 more week so let him relax and have a presser or interview on day 1 of preseason; oct 29th (ish).

This... no doubt he'll be paraded in front of the media enough times in the coming year, he can enjoy his time off while it lasts.

Read somewhere he is back on Monday for some PRE pre-season stuff where he meets everyone, goes through some light medical testing etc before everything starts the following week.

"I read somewhere"... the sauciest of sources haha.

Fair enough that he comes in early, it's a big move for him... 200m down the road. :p

"I read somewhere"... the sauciest of sources haha.

Fair enough that he comes in early, it's a big move for him... 200m down the road. :p

Mate my memory with the articles I read is atrocious and I'm too lazy to go looking. That one was from an article as I don't have any legit sources to draw from! :D

Dawes