Mega Thread Dayne Beams trade (Its over, thread closed)

What do you support the club to do? (Opposition respondents will be carded)

Vicky Park and I haven't even had a chance to check out the news ... Something about Dayne Beams?

Yeah, i think so 76.

Does that mean Hine will have another high pick?

In truth, I'm devastated. Hope Beams is making the right call for himself and his family, wish him the best, and am trying to move on already (in my head anyway).

Gold Coast needs to finish top 8 next year, Guy McKenna sure as hell needs Gold Coast to finish top 8.

A player such as Dayne Beams would do that and seeing as Ablett will be 31 end of next season they'll be looking for a mature aged bloke of his caliber to stand up in the case Ablett falls to injury again.

I reckon Gold Coast is our best bet, they need immediate success and I reckon they'd be willing to sacrifice a few of their young blokes to make it happen, no doubt if we play our cards right we could win this trade.
Gold Coast cant afford to finish outside the 8 again.
I agree, GC desperately need a backup to Ablett to get one near on par would surely put them in top 4 calculations, we all saw how they fell apart with out Gaz, although Beams isn't a great leader more of a quiet achiever.
They have a lot of midfield up and comers, I don't think it will be straight swap though unless we go for a forward but with Clark potentially coming this could change everything maybe one ready to go mid and pick 7 would be possible.
Definitely be missed one of my favourites, can't blame his reasons unfortunately more often than not Cancer comes back.
Some of these posters should be disgusted with what they are saying, and half of them call themselves supporters!o_O

I do agree with your point but I'd prefer Bradshaw, aish and pendlebury. Which I think will be 1 A grade and 2 potential A graders. But still no one can replace beams at this stage from the coming draft besides petracca I'd say.
Time to send Grundy, Ben Kenn, Scharenberg and Broomy up to Brisvegas to have a chat with their old mate Aishy. Aishy can tuck pick 4 in his pocket when he flies back to Melbourne with his mates.

Correct me if I am wrong, but Ryder can walk for nothing? So getting Pick 22 while unders, is still fairly ok. I think Port have offered their ~Pick 15 (1st rounder)
You are wrong he is contracted and won't want to go to court so he may be able to walk we will get fair compo or he will play for us next year exactly the same as if collingwood don't get fair compo beams will be playing for them. ****ing sick of these shit campaigner clubs trying to get players cheap for bullshit reasons I feel sorry for beams family why should collingwood cop a raw deal because of it same with Ryder sorry mate about the Asada shit but you could of said no

Okay
Beams is an inside midfielder, he also happens to be a goal kicking midfield AND he can play forward and kick goals.
Admittedly I haven't seen much of Mitchell but he isn't going to be a Beams replacement.
With respect, throwing in a 30 yo with a questionable knee doesn't make me want to do the deal either.
Rohan/Jetta and a pick and we'll talk.

Let me sweeten it.

Mitchell, Malceski and Tim Membrey for Beams.

Mitchell is a wonderful prospect as an inside midfielder. GWS were looking at him at pick 1 in the 2011 draft before he took up a father/son option in Sydney. He will be wonderful if given an injury free run and genuine opportunity.

Tim Membrey is a medium forward in the Crameri mould. He has just turned 20 but can't get a game because the Swans have Tippett, Buddy, Goodes and Sam Reid ahead of him. He has been great at NEAFL level and is very accurate in front of goals. He may give you another avenue to goal.

This has always been a good indication of a player's plans.

The ones that don't attend are gone 100%.

In this case, you would think Beams will still attend.

He'd have to, surely. There's requesting a trade, and then there's burning bridges at a club that, when it boils down to it, he may have to play for next year. I think he (and the Lions) would be treading carefully so as to not point anyone's nose out of joint any more so than the obvious trade request would have done.

Aish and pick 4 would be ideal but I don't see that happening- not both of them anyway.

Would they entertain pick 4 and Jack Redden? Not too sure how highly they rate him.

They'd still have a midfield of Rockliff, Beams x 2, Hanley, Rich etc.

We would get another kid to develop and at least an immediate player who can come in and play in our thinning midfield.

Correct me if I am wrong, but Ryder can walk for nothing? So getting Pick 22 while unders, is still fairly ok. I think Port have offered their ~Pick 15 (1st rounder)
In theory he can but he has indicated he wants a fair deal for Essendon and will not go down the path of exercising that right.

Lets just remember he is a restricted Free agent once his contract is up, we can match any offer if we want too

He's not. He's out of contract next year, a RFA the year after (if he signed a one year contract).

Absolutely gobsmacked. This has gone against everything I've been told from multiple sources...

Hope we can change his mind in the next 12 months, looks like the club has no intention of trading him unless we get an offer we can't refuse.

We pretty much played it the same way when Wellingham left.

He's gone, but we'll make sure we get value in the deal.

Why would you be on this board if I'm not mistaken your teams in the gf this weekend right??
Just trying to avoid all the hype of COLA's forward line and how irrelevant Hawks forward line is (Roughy, Bruest and gunna;) ). This is a massive story that has me intrigued, if we weren't contesting for a flag last year I would have jumped at getting a top 5 pick for Buddy. Our compensation was rubbish, the question you need to weigh up is what your compo would look like in a years time if he walks.

Pick 7 and 14 from GC is the most palatable outcome I've heard so far. If Beams goes, I'm resigned to the fact that we are in full rebuild mode. With Swan getting older and Ball gone, Beams leaving means we only have 1 A grade mid left (Sidey is on the edge of A grade for me).
Unless we can pull of some almighty trade and get in an equivalent like Dangerfield, I think youth is now the way to go :cry:

Sorry about the previous post.

What about Tim Membrey, Mitchell and Malceski for Beams.

Tim Membey has just turned 20, and is a medium forward in the Crameri mould. He will be a very good player. Great tats as well.

This has always been a good indication of a player's plans.

The ones that don't attend are gone 100%.

In this case, you would think Beams will still attend.

Well in 2012 Wellingham and Dawes both attended.

We pretty much played it the same way when Wellingham left.

He's gone, but we'll make sure we get value in the deal.
Difference being that Wellers was out of contract.
I agree though, that Dayne will very likely not be in black and white next year unfortunately.