Roast DeGoey Arrested in NYC

Hey guys and gals
Please help your Pies mods by not quoting and replying to trolls, just use the report button and it will make cleaning up and removing them much easier.
Thanks.

Hardly been on my phone all day but heard the news break on the radio this morning. And coming on here I was hoping the general vibe was "piss him off" and it was (or at least was on the first 2 pages).

And so turns out that is what we have done. Gee whiz what a waste of a career. What an absolute scum bag.

Standing De Goey down indefinitely is the right course of action by the club. There needed to be a response. I hope they're giving him the support they can while this plays out. We can make a decision on his future when we know the full story. If it's anything close to what's alleged it's looking pretty grim for him.

Interesting comments about pay. Payment until proceedings are finalised isn’t unusual, but until more info comes to light leaves that position open to change before the hearing has finished.

Also might suggest the club will engage private investigators to establish a more complete version of events?

(Review of nightclub CCTV, review of relevant social media, interview of people at club, interview of alleged victims, etc, etc)

That was me, mate. Just say, hypothetically, there's a crowded dance floor in a popular nightclub. Most people dancing are intoxicated to varying levels, and enjoying themselves. An older woman, say around 37, is really getting into it and spots two beefy, good-looking, younger blokes in bathrobes having a ball as well. They make eye-contact, and before you know it, she's up close and personal with them, much to the annoyance of her partner, who, truth be told, is a bit of a dud. You can picture what unfolds. I'm not making excuses, but to condemn these two guys without knowing all the facts is wrong. People, male and female, do all sorts of silly things when drunk. De Goey could be completely to blame, and if so, he'll most likely face the consequences. Should it stop him playing footy? I think not. You know who I find more disgusting? So-called reporters like those harrassing him as he exited court.
I'm not saying I agree with everything you are saying, but hey, I've been hit on by drunk women on the dance floor and one of their first moves was a pat on the bum or old fella! So I think people should calm down a little and wait for the facts to come out before they start executing people.
But having said that, I'm totally fed up with De Goey regularly hitting the head lines for all the wrong reasons and I wouldn't argue against him ousted from the Pies. We are at the start of some really good changes and, frankly Scarlet, I don't think JDG fits the profile any more.

Don't know. I'd be interested if this is an ongoing policy, rather than one where they're cycincally doing it for tokenistic reasons knowing that he isn't likely to be involved until after the Dec 8 hearing. To me it sets a dodgy precedent of standing players done for things they're accused of that have nothing to do with their job.
Ultimately if any organisation chooses to not only engage in, but drive social change it forces them into a position where they have no choice but to put that talk into action. I understand why, but personally I don’t like social politics in footy; as you say it’s not the job. With the club having done so it would be hypocritical and make the talk hollow if they done nothing here.

He's done even if only 10% of this is true.

Only an utter drongo can contemplate defending this.

Yes but it confirms we still have drongo's here then doesn't it?
As soon as we are legally allowed to, we should sack his arse & hope the sponsors we still have left don't say enough is enough. They will spend their money elsewhere I would imagine. There should be plenty of CCTV footage to confirm or deny these charges.

Yes but it confirms we still have drongo's here then doesn't it?
As soon as we are legally allowed to, we should sack his arse & hope the sponsors we still have left don't say enough is enough. They will spend their money elsewhere I would imagine. There should be plenty of CCTV footage to confirm or deny these charges.
We can delist him, but I'd bet we'll still have to pay out his contract and it will count towards our cap and it will make us get no compensation if other clubs want to recruit him.

Probably. But we have to cop our medicine & move on from him. At least he only has a 2022 contract. Imagine if this happened after signing a 5 year deal.

As this is a special case, I reckon we may be able to get a better deal than with Beams. Beams had an injury, de Goey has gone and done something unacceptable (if he is proven guilty).

Glad Eddie not at Club now
TD, this has absolutely nothing to do with Ed.
Why would you even bring his name up?
You gotta let it go.

If true then we need to move him on.
This is the perfect time.
Ground up rebuild. Frees up some massive cap room, some half baked arse hat team can have him, pay his contract and give us 1 first rounder this draft and 2 future first rounders.

The crime he does comes with a maximum one year sentence. NY is socially progressive so I'd expect him to receive imprisonment but it would depend on the judge.

Honestly, at this point, it’s hard to keep from putting my tinfoil hat on about this one. Such is the sheer stupidity of it.

Like, I get it, you’re a 25 year old guy in the US with money and the luxury of anonymity. No worries, go out and have some fun. But f**k me dead why drink?

I never understood the inability of people to not be able to go out without drinking. Like, it’s not hard to just…not drink alcohol. You can actually enjoy yourself without it.

It’s gonna hurt not having him on the list but I don’t see McRae putting up with it honestly. Sends a strong message to the rest of the group too.

The only silver lining I see is freeing up cap space.

Why would you doubt the NYPD?
Especially vs these two Bogans. A guy got set on from them and knocked to the floor while he was trying to protect the female from being groped. Smashed in the face with a bottle.

You don't see Moore, Grundy, Elliot or Howe ever in situations like this. Always Jordy.

Honestly it's not really your business, people around here are desperate for a source it doesn't work like that.

I was responding to someone saying he has an alcohol problem.

I have a good mate who is good mates with him especially the past 12 months.

He has had fu** all piss the past 6 months, he has spent most of his time training, riding bikes and building a new house.

The last real drink he had was when he was suspended and got approval by Robert Harvey and the club to go up for the Gallen fight in Sydney, Eddie got him tickets.

I'm not defending what's happened, the guy he is with is an absolute tool and you could argue Jordan is aswell but I'm not going listen to someone say he has an alcohol problem when he has hardly had a drop the past 6 months.

He clearly makes really bad decisions when alcohol is involved which isn't something new with alot of people.

I have told the board a few things about Jordy the past 12 months, I did the same about Beams.

I don't defend these blokes, I just state facts.

I think something will
Come out in the wash and it wash and it’ll land back on that guy he was with

The crime he does comes with a maximum one year sentence. NY is socially progressive so I'd expect him to receive imprisonment but it would depend on the judge.
Regardless of the sentence, now he’s been stood down there’s only one way the club can go if there’s a guilty finding. Basically he’s now on the path towards being sacked and only a lack of a guilty finding will change that.

Especially vs these two Bogans. A guy got set on from them and knocked to the floor while he was trying to protect the female from being groped. Smashed in the face with a bottle.

You don't see Moore, Grundy, Elliot or Howe ever in situations like this. Always Jordy.
Outside of JDG, Collingwood's current list is pretty well-behaved.