Delistings ANNOUNCED!!

are we the first club to delist / move on 6 former 1st round draft picks in one season?

Add to that we also moved on 3 blokes who were 2nd round picks - that has to be some sort of ( unwanted ) record!

a bit stunned that all of Putt, Polak, Hughes, Schulz & Patto were moved on - thats alotta height.

More stunned though that all of these guys were moved on before simmo!

Nahas and Browne both upgraded according to the presser on the Richmond website.
Well thank **** sanity has been restored Crummers. Browne I'm not so sure on. Nahas. Yes.

are we the first club to delist / move on 6 former 1st round draft picks in one season?

Add to that we also moved on 3 blokes who were 2nd round picks - that has to be some sort of ( unwanted ) record!

a bit stunned that all of Putt, Polak, Hughes, Schulz & Patto were moved on - thats alotta height.

Nearly 10 metres if they stood on each others heads.:D

The number of first and second round picks going is an amazing stat, even accounting for some of them being at the end of the year. The ottens trade, which seemed ok at the time, has ended up in nothing. (I noticed Meyer has signed on for another year as a rookie at port).

regardless of the fact that these guys were high picks i think its good to see them go. The RFC is making a statement. if you dont perform you are out the door, and we have held on to players for too long in the past in the hope that they would realise potential; only for them to never come on. the bell has tolled for those who remain on the list. work your butts off boys. or you are gone.

The fact that a lot of height has been moved on suggests to me that we will take a key forward with pick 19 and that Hardwick will be keen to pick up Thorp in the PSD. I guess we will just have to wait and see what the clubs plans are to cover this void.

regardless of the fact that these guys were high picks i think its good to see them go. The RFC is making a statement. if you dont perform you are out the door, and we have held on to players for too long in the past in the hope that they would realise potential; only for them to never come on. the bell has tolled for those who remain on the list. work your butts off boys. or you are gone.

i do agree - to some point..

I think if anything it is more of an act of "cleansing" than anything.

With everyone one of those maligned, under-performing "1st rounders" - there is a massive shameful past that the club has to carry around with itself.

The only bloke now on the list that carries that same amount of embarrassment and shame is ol Jordy McMuffin - and his massive contract probably saved him for the season.

....still a part of my just wished to see Patto or even Jon given a chance under a new coaching team, we DESPERATELY need players:eek:

2010 is going to be amongst the hardest seasons ever for us to watch. Would be very surprised if we won more than 4 games - and that won't even get us a top 3 pick:(

the list has been managed very well, good to see the delistings that have happened happen. polak might not even get re drafted apparantly.

No big loss. Browne > Patto. He at least can ruck
Patto was never a ruck, mate. AT 196cm, he got shammed by Wallace.
I hate Wallace with a passion.

He hasn't even been tried as a hit-up CHF. A. Rocca was a spud of a footballer but yet still was an important player for C'Wood. Geez, I'm pissed that Patto is gone.:mad:

Fair enough. He's just one of those blokes that splits opinions.

Though its not as if Patto didnt get any love around the place. He was Miller's pet project.

He never had the footy smarts to be a CHF. He was just Ray Hall all over again.

I would have kept him over Simmonds though.

In his prime Rocca would have easily slotted into most clubs lineups - certainly ours. He could take a mark and kick goals from a long way out of the fifty, he wasn't a superstar, but he was hardly a spud.

I think we probably could have afforded to keep Patto on, but to compare him to Rocca is a fair stretch.

Re: Polak, Pattison Delisted Among Others

Just for the air heads in here....because we drafted them, does not mean they are anywhere near AFL standard....comprendre comapdres? Putt ,Patto, Hughes,JON....like WTF were TW and Gm thinking FFS....it can only be one of two things...they either had NFI or they were deliberately sabotaging this club, and getting paid top dollar to do it. And hiding behind the glitz and spin that they both used to fool everyone. We have been taken to the cleaners and unless there any rabbits out the hat party tricks, its going to be a long and dark 2 decades for the tigers...thats how far backwards the last 5 years of nothingness, apart from number 1 and number 2 picks has put us. ;)
Pathetic post, these boys have busted their arse for years for your club, more likley RFC have wrecked their careers then the other way round.

Re: Polak, Pattison Delisted Among Others

Pathetic post, these boys have busted their arse for years for your club, more likley RFC have wrecked their careers then the other way round.

You couldn't be more wrong. Most of the players delisted have had more than enough chances to prove themselves. Guys like Hughes, Putt and JON don't work anywhere near hard enough and have suffered because of this.

Don't come onto this board and make ill informed statements about our players, you obviously have no idea.

Suprised that the Putt fans arent on here arking up.

Never really saw enough of this bloke but there seemed to be plenty of people wanting him to get more of a go.

the poster comparing Patto to Rocca at least provided a laugh. JON reminds me a bit of Didak.:D

Why are people upset about certain players getting the flick. Have you not been watching for the last 5 years?!!?

Posters shouldn't get too hung up on what pick we took these players. When they run out onto that field "draft number" doesn't matter.

Now thats what I call a clean out. Hardwick and co has made the hard descions on some players like Patto(Who I would have kept). But he has said **** it we are going to do this right. Its a statement, I like Hardwick even more now.

Also good to see Nahas promoted and I suspect we'll see Browne play a few games next year with Patto and Putt gone. Hence his promotion.

Good to see the club is looking to what is best for the future rather than trying to get every last glimmer of hope out of people they rated incorectly so highly.
For mine Patto and Sarge are the stiffest to be moved on , as they appeared the most likely KF's, something our club desperately lacks ??

Class action V Wallace for emotional trauma and mental suffering? You are obviously badly deranged. Rocca was a giant lummox but Patto is no giant. Less of a lummox tho Ill give you that. I still really like Simmo, but dont see the sense in retaining him at this end of his career. I guess his job will be to brutalise opposition rucks for our developing ruck boys, and obviously he is better at that than Patto. OK I gues that is the sense of it, and having a confident experienced ruck to draw on. Well sheesh it makes total sense. CMON GUS and Browne!!!
The comparrison you should be making is Patto v Riewaldt for CHF bye bye Patto. Reckon he could get picked up elsewhere- didnt put in a shocker, tho didnt really put in great games either, take your point that he was never going to be more than a pinch hitter, and couldve been beter developed as a fwd. There was a thread a while back about Putt going and it was thought that the (SEN?) caller mixed him up with Patto -turns out he was right.

Well taking the Richmond Rose Coloured Glasses off they are gone and we must move on. This draft is going to be a tough one I would assume a few mature age picks at the end, maybe someone like Casserly back to the club.

Greg Miller you spud what a legacy you leave and Wallace take the money and run. The scary thought though is Frawley is the most succesful coach of the last two decades (you could argue Northey) at the RFC.

what round a player gets picked at, is an interesting stat. but ultimately the only stat that counts is ladder position.

This is a very good list clean out. But I 1/2 think that Polak may have some value yet since we got rid of other talls.
I'd re rookie him. I doubt if any other club would pick him up.

Delistings ANNOUNCED!!