Diamond Valley Footy

We havent lost as many as what people think... Our pre season has been as solid as it has been in years. Being under everyones radar suits us fine.

Certainly wont be going under our radar. Like i said GYTM, a club with your history and recent results in divi 2 will be extremely hard to beat!

I see that the Presidents and Secretary's have a meeting at the MCG this Thursday night to be updated on what progress has been made as to the restructure of rules and regulations for the DVFL. Good to see Club Delegates have not been invited.

Interesting to see the new Internal Transfer rules will be handed out, rumour being a major overhaul of the appeals system as Football Victoria have stated that the previous DVFL System was illegal and would be defeated if tested in a court of law or even if the appeal went to Football Victoria appeals process.

Will be interested to see which model they base it on and what ramifications it will have on only two players being allowed transfers through the appeals process to one club. Hopefully they will open up a free transfer system as clubs don't own players once they have been paid, contracts completed and services have been rendered.

GYTM - Wouldn't dare right off Lalor so early in the piece but was just making an observation based on rumours I had heard about players leaving, which one shouldn't do without knowing the source of such rumours. Knowing Lalor's rich history I am certain they will be there abouts come September.
WATER WATCH - Some people have suggested that the season will go ahead regardless of whether Melbourne goes to Stage 4. This is incorrect. Under Stage 4 restrictions none of our grounds will be allowed to get watered, rendering them unplayable.
DIVVY 2 WATCH - Anyone know of a new goalsneak that Thomastown may have picked up. Sems as though he can play. Was wearing a St Kilda training top at their last intra club

Would that be 15 kilos of fat or muscle???

Hasn't Kinnear left also?

Have you lost any players to Thomastown, as has been rumoured? If so, who?

Put it this way Matchy.... Its about 14.23 kilos of bbq and beer.

I am working my hardest to get back to a decent size... Id be happy to trim down to a small car at the moment.

If BK plays, he will play with us. He had a drama with his foot which is ok now. He has alot of work commitments, so i havent seen alot of him.

We have had a couple train at Thomastown, but no-one has been cleared yet I think. Im not to sure what the story is to be honest.

How are you blokes going???

Put it this way Matchy.... Its about 14.23 kilos of bbq and beer.

I am working my hardest to get back to a decent size... Id be happy to trim down to a small car at the moment.

If BK plays, he will play with us. He had a drama with his foot which is ok now. He has alot of work commitments, so i havent seen alot of him.

We have had a couple train at Thomastown, but no-one has been cleared yet I think. Im not to sure what the story is to be honest.

How are you blokes going???

Picked up a few players who we think should add a bit to our side. Have a fairly young team, so added a couple of bigger body type players. Been a good pre-season though. Went out and got a lot of weights and boxing gear in the off-season, which has added a bit of variety, rather than doing running and skills the whole time. Also gives the injured players something to do. Would need to improve a fait bit on last season to seriously challenge. Confident of doing well. But at this time of year you never know what everyone else has got.

You right to go for the start of the season (whenever that is) with that injury you had?

GYTM - Wouldn't dare right off Lalor so early in the piece but was just making an observation based on rumours I had heard about players leaving, which one shouldn't do without knowing the source of such rumours. Knowing Lalor's rich history I am certain they will be there abouts come September.
WATER WATCH - Some people have suggested that the season will go ahead regardless of whether Melbourne goes to Stage 4. This is incorrect. Under Stage 4 restrictions none of our grounds will be allowed to get watered, rendering them unplayable.
DIVVY 2 WATCH - Anyone know of a new goalsneak that Thomastown may have picked up. Sems as though he can play. Was wearing a St Kilda training top at their last intra club

On stage 4, perhaps you could state your credentials and sources. The facts at the moment are that only 25 percent are getting watered anyway, so by your reasoning 75 percent are unplayable as of the present which would make the season impossible as of now let alone stage 4 so based on this I`m assuming stage 4 won`t make as much difference to the current situation as it did from stage 2 to 3.

Please whos hiding behind a comp putting people on dogs, come on mate relax with that word its not a nice word, and l would tell him but after LAGGING your brother l think ill end that friendship.
good mate u are!

Brutal, my credentials would be no more or no less than the average punter. However, as it stands the DVFL have 10 grounds at their disposal. Provided that Melbourne retains only Stage 3 restrictions, I feel the DVFL will try and salvage something out of this season by utilising the grounds that can be played on. This could mean multiple games being played on the 1 day (ie a competition based on seniors only for example). All of this is speculation, of course, but I know full well that the DVFL will try and get something out of season 2007, particularly considering the turmoil that has taken place over the off season!!

I know the bloke in the st kilda jumper and i can tell you he is an absolute GUN! Should kick at least 70 goals in div 2 and be right amongst the best in comp.

[quote=GHOST WRITER; Provided that Melbourne retains only Stage 3 restrictions, I feel the DVFL will try and salvage something out of this season by utilising the grounds that can be played on. This could mean multiple games being played on the 1 day (ie a competition based on seniors only for example).

Does anyone know of any other leagues that are considering a shorter season? I have spoken to a few out east and also the ess league and no-one has even considered a late start!

Duckie, do you have a name? Is he from another league or from another team in the DVFL??
Phoenix - Recently spoke with the president of a club based in the Western Region and he advised that the DVFL and one other country league were the only leagues starting late. He claims that the WRFL are running as per normal, despite what most of their clubs want. They are lobbying to get their season postponed until May.

Hey Fig 9, your from WEST yeah? how the boys looking this year? its a pretty young squad?? how do you think you boys will go this year? finished off pretty well last year. Could say u boys were the best of the bad teams, but things looking up this year i bet, with morrison and smith there nugent will be able to run free, heard he's pretty fit 2, any truth to that. for one of the smaller ruckmen in the league, he's got a big tank!
Cheers Tradebate ;)

Duckie, you seem to know a bit about Divvy 2 sides, who are you aligned with?? Thommo??
Recently saw Watsonia train. They have huge numbers on the track(perhaps about 30 to 40) and Ace looks as fit as I have ever seen him.

Duckie, you seem to know a bit about Divvy 2 sides, who are you aligned with?? Thommo??
Recently saw Watsonia train. They have huge numbers on the track(perhaps about 30 to 40) and Ace looks as fit as I have ever seen him.

Hey Ghost writer your knowledge of the Diamond Valley Football teams and there progress is quite sound and informative. From what i have been told Thommo have had about 60 to 70 different players come through since the start of pre-season and have had an average of about 30 per night. They have picked up some players and if the season goes ahead might be the real surprise this year. I have heard they are looking pretty fit

Hey Ghost Writer See what you can find out about Macleod and their Boom recruit for 2007. I have heard a small whisper that an Ex AFL player has signed there for this year. See what you can find out. Also what club are you associated with?

Bear Attack - not alligned to any clubs, just enjoy local footy. Better than the c r a p that gets served up by the AFL. The AFL lost me when they sent my team Fitzroy to Brisvegas!! As for your Macleod player "rumour", I have heard the same thing about an ex AFL player training with them. Can't confirm this I'm afraid but I will send you a private message stating who I think the player is. Are you alligned to Thommo?

we trained next to macleod last nite and there was no ex afl player trainin with them....

Ghost Writer - I have heard that it is ex Kangaroo Shane Clayton. Let me know if you find out. Hope that the rules don't change too much as they have in the afl because that hand in the hand rule is terrible. I just enjoy diamond valley football also. It is a great competition

I doubt Shane Clayton is playing for Macleod he signed up again with Euroa as an assistant playing coach for this year.

we trained next to macleod last night and shane clayton was not there. U might have to make up another afl player, sorry mate

Have heard a rumour (not substantiated by anyone in the know) don't know if it is true or not ,that a few boys are going to play up country at start of season and will be transferred back once DVFL season. Players I have heard are Jarrod King and Daniel Moore. Apparently one or two others as well from North Heidelberg.

Anybody hear anything or have they still been training with North Heidleberg and is just another false rumour.

Have heard a rumour (not substantiated by anyone in the know) don't know if it is true or not ,that a few boys are going to play up country at start of season and will be transferred back once DVFL season. Players I have heard are Jarrod King and Daniel Moore. Apparently one or two others as well from North Heidelberg.

Anybody hear anything or have they still been training with North Heidleberg and is just another false rumour.

Hey T.F.W,

I haven't any specific knowledge of the players you mentioned going bush, but I am certainly aware, that a number of the GVFL clubs are requesting "loan" of a few DV Boys for their first 4 rounds, with an "assurance" that they will be immediately cleared back once DVFL gets underway.

There is apparently some "incentive" for clubs to release their players on this short term loan, but I must say that I am very scepticle about this .

More importantly, A club may jeopordise its own season (should we ever have one), as it is very possible that key players could risk injury. And therefore I'm sure that too many clubs would not agree to it.

But Hey, for a couple of Barrells i have known clubs to lay down against opposition sides, so who knows ! !

;)