• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Division 2 Tipping

lakers

Jun 3, 2007
kinglake
With the season only 4 sleeps away I thought we'd better start a new tipping thread.

I'm really looking forward to this week's games. There should be some beauties.

Here are my tips.

Kinglake, at home, to just get over the line against a completely new looking $Yarra Glen$.

Seville with a heap of new recruits to account for Alexandra who will find the going in Div 2 a little harder than last time they were with us.

A new look Belgrave should beat Yea who are, from all reports, struggling to attract quality players. They have also lost some good youngsters in Cunningham and Hunter.

Both Thornton and Emerald have recruited well over the off season but, again, I'll go with the home team.

Will Powelltown improve again this year? We will find out a lot about them this week. I'm not 100% convinced and will tip Yarra Junction in a tight, spiteful contest.

Good luck to all this season. It seems like everyone is pushing for finals and I'm tipping we will see the most even competition in years. And that's what we all want isn't it?:)

Go Lakers!

Yarra Glen to sneak an "upset" (I am aware that there is no way that we could know that it is an upset or not at this stage)
Seville.
Belgrave to make up 33% of their 2009 wins this weekend.
Thornton but would not be suprised if Emerald sneaks it.
Yarra Junction, but it could be mediocrity like most years for them starting round 1. I'll back them while hoping for a Powelltown win.

Kinglake v Yarra Glen
Yarra Glen last won at Kinglake in 1993. Of course, they've only played there twice since then...

Seville v Alexandra
Seville will be hard to toss this season.

Belgrave v Yea
Will be interesting to see what kind of scores they kick at Narre Warren East - at 130m x 90m, this ground is the smallest in the league.

Thornton-Eildon v Emerald
Emerald will be keen to make up for their disappointing 2009

Yarra Junction v Powelltown
The Junction should be big improvers this year

Wandin v Woori Yallock
Also will be played this weekend. Woori have won the last six matches between these clubs, and 26 of 55 in total. Should win easily.

Belgrave v Yea
Will be interesting to see what kind of scores they kick at Narre Warren East - at 130m x 90m, this ground is the smallest in the league.

Heading down to watch Yea on Saturday and is the above ground the same as mentioned on the Belgrave FC website????

Works are currently well under way restoring the surface of our beloved Reserve Road home ground and the club room renovations are well under way. For the year 2010 Belgrave Football Club will be playing from the Belgrave South Junior Football Club ground located on the corner of Berwick Road and Wellington Road in Belgrave South.

Can somewhere please confirm where this match is to be played???

Kinglake v Yarra Glen
At home, and doesnt look like they have lost many from what was a good team last year. Yarra glen have picked up some handy players and will be right up there this year, but should go down in a close one.

Seville v Alexandra
Lost hardly any players from a young side that finished 3rd last year and have picked up 6 or 7 handy players that will play on Saturday. Good depth at the potato chip this year, blokes like myself having to train both nights or face missing out on a game in the magoos. Looking foward to a big year from all 3 sides. (Appologies for being a little bit bias...)

Belgrave v Yea
Both struggled a bit last year. Belgrave seem to have done the better of the 2 in the off season so ill go with them. From memory belgraves new ground is tiny...

Thornton-Eildon v Emerald
Emerald but not by much.

Yarra Junction v Powelltown
Should win and should be a top 5 side again.

Heading down to watch Yea on Saturday and is the above ground the same as mentioned on the Belgrave FC website????

Works are currently well under way restoring the surface of our beloved Reserve Road home ground and the club room renovations are well under way. For the year 2010 Belgrave Football Club will be playing from the Belgrave South Junior Football Club ground located on the corner of Berwick Road and Wellington Road in Belgrave South.

Can somewhere please confirm where this match is to be played???
The ground mentioned by Belgrave (cnr Welly and Berwick Rds) is not in Sth Belgrave, it is in Narre Warren East. The only other 'ground in Sth Belgrave is the gymkhana ground on the cnr of Welly and Belg-Hallam Rds. Sth Belly jnrs have used the Narre Warren East ground for quite some time, so I guess that would be it. No problem anyway, because they are only separated by a couple of drop kicks.

Ill give it a go-

KINGLAKE in a close one, ill go with the home team
SEVILLE same as above
BELLY in a canter, new look team.
THORNTON V EMERALD, gonna have to go with the home team again
YARRA JUNCTION should be to strong

The ground mentioned by Belgrave (cnr Welly and Berwick Rds) is not in Sth Belgrave, it is in Narre Warren East. The only other 'ground in Sth Belgrave is the gymkhana ground on the cnr of Welly and Belg-Hallam Rds. Sth Belly jnrs have used the Narre Warren East ground for quite some time, so I guess that would be it. No problem anyway, because they are only separated by a couple of drop kicks.

Cheers :thumbsu: seeing everyone is throwing in their tips and bearing in mind Ive never seen a game in the YVMDFL before I will have a go anyway and pick all the home sides, with my old mob Yea pinching a close one on the road.

Yea
Kinglake
Seville
Thornton
Yarra Junction

Here are my thoughts...

Yarra Glen - will be right up their from all accounts with some key recruits interested to see how they gel
Seville -will improve again on last year
Belgrave-seem to have recruited well also
Emerald-not by much-mixed bag when thornton play at home
Powelltown-in a tough one by a point!

Here is Moin Khan's tips:

* Haven't seen many 2nd Divvy games for a while - so i'm basing it on completely useless logic.

Kinglake v Yarra Glen - Moin grew up in Kinglake and had played his first game of footy in the Under 10's there - based on that theory - Kinglake by 10 pts.

Seville v Alexandra - Moin played cricket at Seville for 3 years and was 12th man in a premiership side, so Seville by 3 goals.

Belgrave v Yea - Match being played 10 mins from Moin's place in Narre East (*question - how is Narre East north of Narre North - I know I don't make sense, but look at a map). The ground's almost too small for junior footy - so expect a shootout. Moin made 50 last time he batted there - so Belgrave by 50 pts.

Thornton-Eildon v Emerald - Tough one - Moin lived with Emerald's coach for a year, so there's sentimental favouritism there, but after spending last weekends cricket trip at Eildon and being the only people in the Rubicon (Thornton Pub), both on Friday Night and Sat Arvo, I'm convinced that everyone in Thornton must be training so hard that the pubs deserted. Based on that useless logic I'm tipping Thornton.

Yarra Junction v Powelltown - Powelly won the last 2nd Divvy game I saw, and Junction lost theirs - so that's all i'm going off. Powelltown to win.

Wandin v Woori Yallock - from what I hear, Wandin have lost a bunch of players and Woori have picked up some. One side made the Granny last year and the other didn't do much, so there's no reason why Woori won't smash the Dogs by a truckload.

Yep - totally useless logic I know. Will come up with something more useful as the season goes on.

:footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy::footy:

Kinglake V Yarra Glen
Kinglake and Olinda clearly the best 2 last year, will be interesting if the gap has closed. Kinglake in a tight one

Seville V Alex
Seville appear to be the big improvers, Alex were woeful in the 2 games i saw last year. Seville comfortably

Belly V Yea
Will be interesting to see how both teams go. Yea have been quiet were as Belly have been spruiking how well they will go. Belly easily

Thornton V Emerald
Will be close but Thornton at home

Junction V Powelltown
Junction should be in the battle for a final spot and Powelltown will be making up the numbers again. Junction easily

Tips for Round 1;

Kinglake V Yarra Glen
Should be a cracker with both teams to be there abouts come seasons end. Yarra Glen to win in a close one.

Seville V Alexandra
Seville to consolidate from a successful 2009 and Alexandra will be more than competitive. Both have recruited well. Seville for me due to it being at "the chip".

Belgrave v Yea
Both teams have some significant recruits with Neilsen and Butterworth both returning to the Tigers. Belgrave will improve but have also lost some significant personnel. Belgrave only because it is at Narre Warren East.

Thornton Eildon V Emerald
Thornton Eildon to win at home. The Boners have been quiet but have recruited very well. Watch for Keddell from the GVFL - can play if fit and firing. Emerald have been very quiet pre season but should be there abouts again with another group of very promising youngsters.

Yarra Junction V Powelltown
Battle for the "Cole Cup". Powelltown and Junction both improved greatly in 2009 and will be looking to continue this in 2010. Powelltown for me in another traditional local derby which promises to be tough and uncompromising as always.

ill have a crack
Kinglake vs Yarra Glen. Yarra Glen by 3 points with the recruits they have picked up they should just get over the line in a tight contest

Seville vs Alex. Seville by 15 points Should be a good even contset with seville to get over the line in the last quarter

Belgrave vs Yea. Belgrave By 38 points haven't heard much from yea Belgrave should win comfortambly

Thornton vs Emerald. Thornton well im a Thornton player so yer

Yarra Junction vs Powelltown. Yarra Junction by 27 points Yarra Junction were good last year and should continue that form against Powelltown in RD 1

have a good 1st weekend in footy everyone cheers :thumbsu:

ill have a crack
Kinglake vs Yarra Glen. Yarra Glen by 3 points with the recruits they have picked up they should just get over the line in a tight contest

Seville vs Alex. Seville by 15 points Should be a good even contset with seville to get over the line in the last quarter

Belgrave vs Yea. Belgrave By 38 points haven't heard much from yea Belgrave should win comfortambly

Thornton vs Emerald. Thornton well im a Thornton player so yer

Yarra Junction vs Powelltown. Yarra Junction by 27 points Yarra Junction were good last year and should continue that form against Powelltown in RD 1

have a good 1st weekend in footy everyone cheers :thumbsu:

Hows Dave Cornish fitting in with the Boners pup? Nice fella who I hope has a good season for Bernie up there - although not when ya's play YEA :thumbsu:

Just letting everyone know that Pupstar17 is not the real pup ive never worn number seventeen and also my spelling and grammer is heaps gooder anyways..:D

my tips

River pigs over the hill pigs (28): too many recruits for yg will be good

Seville over the rebs (41 points): blues have picked up again after playin finals last year and the rebs strugglin for numbers i hear, key players mullins and hill havent trained yet and i love it when alex loose (i'm still sooking about 08)

Belgrave just over Yea (8 points): the travel will get the tiges and belly with a few ins.

mighty boners over emerald (34 points): my boys play bonerpark well and a few good ins and emerald have lost key players FF Mather, Ruck McKee and Rover Stewart.

Junction over powelly (19 points): hin a big in for the eagles and still a fair bit of talent there.

Yarra Glen 3 pts good recruits
Seville 96 pts better recruits
Belgrave and yea draw who cares
Emerald 19 pts same as above
Yarra Junction 42 pts too good
Woori Yallock 156 pts way to good

Alex v Junction - YJ easy - 10 goals
emerald V lakers - Lakers to bounce back by 2 goals
Powelly v Belgrave - saw Powelly beat them here last year but i liked the look of Belgrave last week if they can keep running the way they did. Lots of young blokes with good skills. Pies by 10 goals.
Sev v Boners - The Blues by plenty at the Potato Chip
Yea v YG - Yea were outrun last week and I can't see em beating the flag favs - Pigs by 10 gaols.

Division 2 Tipping