LoneStar

Jul 11, 2004
30.02° N x 95.15° W
Broncos
I have it on good authority that, after missing selection for Sunday's clash with Essendon, Benni Dixon has decided not to attend Sunday's Hawks-Bombers match. It seems he was concerned that Sunday's "Line in the Stand" game might be too dangerous for a star of his calibre to attend in person. He feels one never knows what might happen in the stands when you start drawining lines in them.

Probably having a bad hair day. The thing that annoys me is that he will be being paid as if out there in the field. Whatever bruise he might have will count as an injury and having played in the first round before this setback has been paid at the rate of a first grade player.

Seriously...did Dixon line up with Box Hill this weekend? If not, I reckon the injury report won't be accurate. It's his pride that's injured, but that won't improve his prformance on the oval. While I think Bennie would probably try to play thru a hair injury, his pride may not be something that allows him to play for Box Hill. I suppose the injury could be legitimate, but IMO he's more likely to be suffering from one or more of the following:
intestinal absensia - gutless
cranial elephantitis - big head
coronary dwarfism - small heart
spinal invisibility - no evidence of backbone
Testicular evaparation - nadless

Dixon did a similar thing towards the end of last year when dropped from the firsts, he decided he wouldn't play at BHHs. He pretended he had some injury and hence continued to be paid at the rate of a Ists player in match incentives.

Their was no listing of Dixon being listed as injured on the official Hawthorn website, so it wouldn't surprise me if he's pulling the same scam he did last year.

Benny Dixon is legitimately injured he wasn't dropped at all. He did his quad at training after round one and had a fitness test last week but didn't come up. He was at the game on sunday against the bombers because I was sitting near him in the afl members with all the other hawthorn players aswell so I don't know where you get your mail from! Whether you like him or you don't, Ben does have pride and a lot of it. He trains nearly harder than anyone at the club and we have certainly missed him in the forward line these past 2 weeks. And just so you know, he wasn't dropped last year at all, he actually did his knee in round one against melbourne and unfortunately it got worse and he had to have surgery mid year aswell as shoulder surgery and that is why he missed the rest of the year which is also why he wasn't playing at BH because he wasn't dropped, he was injured!

You guys are not supporters of the Hawthorn Footy Club, fair dinkum boys Ben Dixon had a good game against Sydney when we sucked and then got injured. why whould we drop him? have you seen our forward line? Dont go paying out players bcuz ur sad and got nothing else to talk about. Its ********wits like you that make player morale low. LOSERS!!

Vandenbergfan said:
Dixon did a similar thing towards the end of last year when dropped from the firsts, he decided he wouldn't play at BHHs. He pretended he had some injury and hence continued to be paid at the rate of a Ists player in match incentives.

Their was no listing of Dixon being listed as injured on the official Hawthorn website, so it wouldn't surprise me if he's pulling the same scam he did last year.
I can't believe I just read that.

Jimmyboy9 said:
You guys are not supporters of the Hawthorn Footy Club, fair dinkum boys Ben Dixon had a good game against Sydney when we sucked and then got injured. why whould we drop him? have you seen our forward line? Dont go paying out players bcuz ur sad and got nothing else to talk about. Its ********wits like you that make player morale low. LOSERS!!
exactly.

bear19 said:
Benny Dixon is legitimately injured he wasn't dropped at all. He did his quad at training after round one and had a fitness test last week but didn't come up. He was at the game on sunday against the bombers because I was sitting near him in the afl members with all the other hawthorn players aswell so I don't know where you get your mail from! Whether you like him or you don't, Ben does have pride and a lot of it. He trains nearly harder than anyone at the club and we have certainly missed him in the forward line these past 2 weeks. And just so you know, he wasn't dropped last year at all, he actually did his knee in round one against melbourne and unfortunately it got worse and he had to have surgery mid year aswell as shoulder surgery and that is why he missed the rest of the year which is also why he wasn't playing at BH because he wasn't dropped, he was injured!
I'm curious. You have vehemently defended Dicko in two posts now. What's the connection? Or do you think just he's hot.

Jimmyboy9 said:
fair dinkum boys Ben Dixon had a good game against Sydney when we sucked
Disagree.

kicked 2 goals in a forward line that struggles and with very little opportunity also took a few marks. The delivery was poor to him aswell. If he averages 2 goals a game he would win our leading goalkicker with 44 goals.

Jimmyboy9 said:

Dixon's contribution from the stands was probably the equal of his half-hearted efforts in the Swans game.

It might surprise you but there' are people that follow this club that would like to see it improve, and the only way that can happen is by pin-pointing the obvious weaknesses. The most telling reason as to why our forward line is so weak is because Dixon has over the last four years leached off this club and his teammates. Dixon only consideration has been how much money he gets; for a bloke I wouldn't pay $20 game, he has a $350K a year contract, which works out at somewhere over 15K a game (if he's playing) or several thousand everytime he manages a touch (given his single digit possessions).

In addition, to which if he is injured he must have the lowest pain threshold of anyone that has ever played for the club. What was Dixon on the masseuse's table having a vigorous massage when he got injured. Most players are able to play with a slight niggle, indeed Mark Graham came back and played after sustaining a broken arm within two weeks.

Now how is it that a veteran at the club is not even being spoken of as a potential replacement, given that the injury toll of the weekend. What an indictment on Dixon as a player when the talk is of bringing in Nixon, Brennan, Ozzie, Ries, and Lonie before the bloke that makes the big money. And you know what the club is all the better for that, finally their is some optimism because the club and supporters no longer have to put up with the half-baked efforts of blokes like Dixon.

Vandenbergfan said:
Dixon's contribution from the stands was probably the equal of his half-hearted efforts in the Swans game.

You were watching his reactions in the stands? Really, this obsession is getting slightly out of hand if you're taking it to that extreme.

It might surprise you but there' are people that follow this club that would like to see it improve, and the only way that can happen is by pin-pointing the obvious weaknesses. The most telling reason as to why our forward line is so weak is because Dixon has over the last four years leached off this club and his teammates. Dixon only consideration has been how much money he gets; for a bloke I wouldn't pay $20 game, he has a $350K a year contract, which works out at somewhere over 15K a game (if he's playing) or several thousand everytime he manages a touch (given his single digit possessions).

So for the last four seasons it's been ALL Dixon's fault? The terrible kicking to fowards, the inability to avoid soft-tissue injuries, the lousy drafting/trading, the skill errors, the holding onto and onto and ONTO the likes of A.Cox, Loats, Picioane, the litany of errors that's engulfed the club, all Dixons fault.

Damn and all this time I thought it was Everitt.

In addition, to which if he is injured he must have the lowest pain threshold of anyone that has ever played for the club. What was Dixon on the masseuse's table having a vigorous massage when he got injured. Most players are able to play with a slight niggle, indeed Mark Graham came back and played after sustaining a broken arm within two weeks.

That fella at F/B must be relieved to hear somebody elses name getting mentioned.

Now how is it that a veteran at the club is not even being spoken of as a potential replacement, given that the injury toll of the weekend. What an indictment on Dixon as a player when the talk is of bringing in Nixon, Brennan, Ozzie, Ries, and Lonie before the bloke that makes the big money. And you know what the club is all the better for that, finally their is some optimism because the club and supporters no longer have to put up with the half-baked efforts of blokes like Dixon.

The injury toll consists of two players. Given that I was under the impression (and I'll make the presumption, most others) that Dixon was still a week away from returning precluded him entering into my thoughts because.. well.. he's injured.

The bloke was taken pick 79ish (or something around there) way back when. He's a hff that was given a legends no. He's handy when he's got decent support. He's hardly ever had decent support. He's not part of the long term but anyone over 27 isn't part of the long term at the HFC.

And people thought I was bad....

Vandenberg fan wrote..
The most telling reason as to why our forward line is so weak is because Dixon has over the last four years leached off this club and his teammates

Yep, I'm sure he is the reason why our midfield appears so weak as well, he does a great job of making Vandenberg's brilliant passes look bad. It can't possibly be a coincidence that we lost against the swans by 10 goals with Dixon playing yet come within a couple of kicks of winning against 2 of the big 4 with him missing.

Come to think about it, Dixon is probably the reason why Chick, McPharlin, Rawlings and Thompson deserted -no wonder they left with Dicko taking up so much of the salary cap.

I'm pretty sure Dixon got into the ear of Turnbull, Hook and Scwabby to help with some of our more disastrous drafting and trading decisions, after all the moment we get any real talent into our team (apart from Vanders of course), it will mean Dicko's massive salary might have to take a cut.

I don't think I have seen Osama bin Laden and Ben Dixon in the same room, I am beginning to wonder whether that is more than a coincidence. :rolleyes:

Grendel said:
You were watching his reactions in the stands? Really, this obsession is getting slightly out of hand if you're taking it to that extreme.

So for the last four seasons it's been ALL Dixon's fault? The terrible kicking to fowards, the inability to avoid soft-tissue injuries, the lousy drafting/trading, the skill errors, the holding onto and onto and ONTO the likes of A.Cox, Loats, Picioane, the litany of errors that's engulfed the club, all Dixons fault.

Damn and all this time I thought it was Everitt.

That fella at F/B must be relieved to hear somebody elses name getting mentioned.

The injury toll consists of two players. Given that I was under the impression (and I'll make the presumption, most others) that Dixon was still a week away from returning precluded him entering into my thoughts because.. well.. he's injured.

The bloke was taken pick 79ish (or something around there) way back when. He's a hff that was given a legends no. He's handy when he's got decent support. He's hardly ever had decent support. He's not part of the long term but anyone over 27 isn't part of the long term at the HFC.

And people thought I was bad....

Not that difficult to work out, Dixon's half hearted efforts in the Swans game was deplorable, as to be all but negligible.

Would never go quite that far, but I reckon if your taking big money like Dixon then you've got an obligation to put in a far dinkum effort eg. hitting hard in the tackles, just not throwing out one arm; making yourself a marking target by contesting and putting up both arms; by not giving up on delivery into the forward line just because the ball has been delivered lace out (Dixon would have to be the most woeful player a 6'2" I've seen once the ball gets below his knees); I would expect running until it hurts, this might mean he has to chase his opponent on occasions; and more importantly then anything else I expect determination to win the contest, rather then just meekly surrendering, which he has continued to do over and over again during the last four years.

So tell me you reckon Dixon should be on the list based on performances over the last four years. Do you reckon if Schwab the wrecker hadn't been coach and the previous administration (that must have majored in mal-administration) hadn't acceded to everyone of Dixon's manager salary demands and contract longevity he would be on that list ahead of Mark Graham. Because the only reason Dixon is on that list is because he had a contract and Graham didn't, based on performances Graham was a mile ahead.

I thought Campbell injured his knee last week, together, with Mitchell possibly having a fitness test on his knock from the weekend.

Tell me what is this HFF, bloke that specialises in taking the third or fourth best defender crap I keep hearing. Sounds like an euphemism for the bloke can't play, but given that were now into accepting mediocrity at Hawthorn, which Dixon has contributed to significantly you need to accept.

Please I was about highlighting weaknesses and culpability. This bloke is as culpable as anyone that has been on the list in the last 8 years simply because of his half-hearted efforts. He possibly might have more ability then Clark (then might be even some argument in that) but the end result is that you are better having 18 Tim Clarke that give their all, then a bloke putting in half-arsed efforts like Dixon.

Now at the end of the day is Dixon good value for money, on a contract reported by heresay to be around 350K, based on output. Now this is a bloke who knows about the cost of things as he complained about having to fork out for the cost of drinks at a Hawthorn function, well welcome to the real world Dicko.

Vandenbergfan said:
More of the same.

If you want to reply point by point, when the box comes up for the reply and the {Quote=Grendel} appears, close the quote box {/Quote}

Insert -->[ <-- these brackets instead though. Then for the next point {Quote} message{/Quote} for each subsequent message.

I'd normally edit the post for you but reading through it, it's more of the same and you've got your mindset so it isn't going to change.

A hff what is it though? It's a mid-sized foward (about Dixon's size) who in better sides normally takes the third/fourth best defender. Blindingly obvious really if you follow the game.

Dislike Dixon fine by me. I detest Everitt. But I acknowledge that he's a capable enough player, Dixon is a capable enough player in his role when he's allowed to perform that role, i.e a hff.

When I started this Ben Dixon thread, I was just taking another swipe at Benni, making fun of him thinking the line has been drawn in the stand. Didn't think I'd see Vandenbergfan jump onto the bandwagon so hard he'd bend the axles. And until Jimmyboy9 explained it, I didn't know that this thread would damage player morale. Apparently cschreuder61 & Jimmyboy9 feel taking a shot (or six) at Benni means one is not a true Hawks supporter and earns one the label of loser. I think I also hurt bear19's feelings by picking on someone that he/she/it has developed a romantic interest towards.
I'll admit that I do not like seeing Ben Dixon in a Hawk guernsey. But I do not suggest that he is NOT a nice guy, a philanthropist, someone that "trains nearly harder than anyone", a decent human being, or a bright young man who may someday find the cure for numerous deadly diseases. I just don't think he's a good fooballer.
I don't think any of the problems the Hawks have had in recent years can be traced directly to Benni (sorry to disagree Vandenbergfan). But I don't think many of the solutions will include mediocre players, and, IMO, Benni is a mediocre player at best and a bad player most of the time. Here are the reasons why I feel that way:
IMO - Ben Dixon is NOT a courageous player - he does not go hard for the ball and he often avoids contests. I agree with Vandenbergfan that Ben seems to keep a white flag handy at all times to make it easier to surrender a contest. He seems to regularly avoid contact at all costs!
IMO - Ben Dixon is NOT a player that puts forth a good effort week in and week out. He does not tackle hard, chase hard, or run with and challenge his opponent. He often makes matchday look like he's just out there killing a couple of hours before picking up his cheque and heading out with his mates.
IMO - Ben Dixon is NOT a player that shows determination. He appears to be satisfied with mediocre performances, for himself especially, but also for the club.
IMO - Ben Dixon does not lead often or well, take contested marks, or battle to win the hard ball. I don't understand how this makes him a good option anywhere in the attacking half of the field. I also don't see how this could allow him to kick enough goals to be the Hawks' leading goal kicker.
IMO - Ben Dixon is NOT a leader on the field. His actions do not inspire others to lift their game. He hasn't even been a particularly good follower the past few seasons. If he has any influence at all on the younger players, it would probably be a negative one.
IMO - Ben Dixon wants to be treated like an AFL star in all things off the field, but he is unwilling to pay the price on the field to earn that type of respect. I'd have to disagree with Grendel and say I can't see how any amount of support from the other 17 guys on the field can make him a valuable player again.

In consideration of Alastair Clarkson's youth theme and last Sunday's glimpse of what could the beginning of the turn-around for which we Hawks have so long yearned, Benny is yesterday's man.

As for his large out-of-proportion-to performances salary, there is such a thing as cutting one's losses and look to viable alternatives (such as a balanced mix of youth and experienced performing players).

If you boys want to talk about salary cap how about Nick Holland!!, You also have to admit that Dixon was ********ed up by Shwabbs inability to give him a set position. Also Grendel Peter Everitt is more than a capable player, he is in my opinion the best ruckmen in the league. Also our 2nd best player behind Crawf and also is a consistent performer that tries his guts out every week.

LoneStar said:
I'd have to disagree with Grendel and say I can't see how any amount of support from the other 17 guys on the field can make him a valuable player again.

I reckon he's an okay hff.. that's it. ;)

Jimmyboy9 said:
Also Grendel Peter Everitt is more than a capable player, he is in my opinion the best ruckmen in the league.

:eek:

:rolleyes:

get behind your team...

i was at a hawthorn game last season and i have to say i was extremely taken a back at some of the abuse the players were copping. anyone could see they werent blessed with talent, but were having a crack. clubs will go through the good and the bad times, and true supporters are always positive. take a good hard look mate

binxy24 said:
I'm curious. You have vehemently defended Dicko in two posts now. What's the connection? Or do you think just he's hot.

Curious hey??? Wouldn't you like to know!! ;) What Ben looks like has nothing to do with they way he plays football. I was just stating that there is no need to start bagging someone as a person just because you don't rate them as a footballer, particularly when you don't know them personally and what they are really like, especially when the stuff you say isn't true. Make sure your facts are true before you say them. Bagging players doesn't do anything except makes some loser who says those comments feel good.

binxy24 said:
That's a bit rough Vanders.
Welcome aboard Bear19.
Have you swapped to the Hawks recently? Maybe after last Sunday? ;)
How about the 20 posts in over a year?
Is your surname Dixon?
I WANT ANSWERS!!

OK people let's clear a few things up shall we. First of all I have barracked for hawthorn nearly all my life and a friend of mine had changed my team on my profile to essendon to annoy me but to be honest I didn't even know until you told me! So for your information I am a hawthorn supporter. Secondly, yeah I like Dixon, but I always reply to people who bag him because I actually know Dicko personally and yeah I will support and stick by him. And thirdly, whether you like someone or not they are still a part of your team so instead of bagging them how bout bag players form other clubs instead of your own.

Dixon disappointed to miss clash