Do you genuinely loathe an AFL team? If so, could date/marry someone that loved that team?

C'mon, surely we are all kidding ourselves. This is the internet not a porno set. As if any poster on here is going to turn down a root just because of football allegiance. :rolleyes:

As much as I don't like the Eagles I'd hardly not go out with someone that supported them. You'd automatically be the the more intelligent one in the relationship for a start. :)

C'mon, surely we are all kidding ourselves. This is the internet not a porno set. As if any poster on here is going to turn down a root just because of football allegiance. :rolleyes:

As much as I don't like the Eagles I'd hardly not go out with someone that supported them. You'd automatically be the the more intelligent one in the relationship for a start. :)

i thouhgh the thred said " could date/marry someone that loved that team? "

not would you root them....

i would deff smack around some of the fine looking girls ive seen at the footy..( if i was single )(( or on footy trip )) but i could not date a chick if she went for the hawks....

my mrs is a Swans tragic, she is the complete opposite to myself in all codes of Sport. She is Liverpool, im Man Utd, she is Newcastle Knights, Im Canberra Raiders.

Told the mrs that if we settled down and got married that if we had kids that they would be Collingwood and Man Utd and she can make them anything else, i could care less. She said ok but after we got married she has slightly changed her tune and wants them to be Swans.
She is such a tragic that we were getting married on a Saturday and after everything was booked we discovered that Collingwood were playing Sydney on that night and we knew we wouldnt be able to handle going through the night without score updates so we changed the date to the Sunday.

Wouldn't even consider an eagle supporter if it comes to that.They are barely tolerable as friends, to kiss one would make me throw up in my mouth. My son dated one for a short while and gave her the flick thank god and now has himself a devoted Freo fan from a lovely family of Freo fans. Order has been restored.:)

Gold! :D

Ive dated both Collingwood and Essendon chicks,

Sex was fantastic, always trying to **** each other over.

Bottom line: If you ever want a lady who doesn't burp or fart, steer clear of chicks who like footy. Just try to get one whose old man follows the same team as yours.

I can't understand why you'd ever want to aim for a lady who doesn't burp or fart in your company. If she's still not letting one rip in the comfort and privacy of your boudoir (and vice versa), then you are still getting to know each other. You know you're in a serious relationship when you're OK with gaseous emissions. :D

My missus doesn't follow footy much. Said she liked Hawthorn, but only because her brother did. Now she jumps on any team who Essendon plays and cheers for them. She grins like a Cheshire cat whenever the bombers lose. Which is often enough these days. Sigh......

my mrs is a Swans tragic, she is the complete opposite to myself in all codes of Sport. She is Liverpool, im Man Utd, she is Newcastle Knights, Im Canberra Raiders.

Told the mrs that if we settled down and got married that if we had kids that they would be Collingwood and Man Utd and she can make them anything else, i could care less. She said ok but after we got married she has slightly changed her tune and wants them to be Swans.
She is such a tragic that we were getting married on a Saturday and after everything was booked we discovered that Collingwood were playing Sydney on that night and we knew we wouldnt be able to handle going through the night without score updates so we changed the date to the Sunday.

Your wife is a smart woman. I wouldn't recommend experimenting with the Collingwood/Man Utd combination on your kids... perhaps go Collingwood/Liverpool or Swans/Man Utd so that they don't turn out to be complete scum.

I'm a Port Adelaide life-long supporter - my wife and her entire family are Norwood/Crows supporters.
When our first-born turned 4, I told my wife I was going to sign him up as a Port member (why did I wait that long???).
She said, "Why not a Crows member? Don't I get a say in this?"
I said, "Sure, as long as you realise that I'm not going to take him to the football for any game in the next 15 years".

She went out the next day and bought him a Port Adelaide guernsey.

Would be hard dating a girl that was as nuts about the Crows as I am about Port. My wife used to go for the Crows, now she just doesnt really like football and arguably swings slightly towards Port. Her family however are full on Norwood/Crows fans on one side...and full on WWT/Crows fans on the other.

Have had some ripper arguments with one or two of them who think they know more than they actually do...and have had to bite my tongue on a couple of occasions.

And naturally you, as a Port man would know it all, as all Port fans do:D

Port Adelaide for me, by a country mile. By more than a mile. And before we lost the 2004 GF to 'em - since the very first time we played 'em. Had to listen to their rubbish at the gabba and from the absolute ratbgas who who wearing their colours it sealed it.

I find it hard to talk to someone who likes Port - I am getting angry just writing this ****ing message actually....**** I hate Port...I really really hate 'em....LOTS

****ing Port...made me make a mess of the first post.

Damn I hate Port. Just a pack of absolute tossers.

And who the **** has teal on their jumpers ffs?

****ing Port...made me make a mess of the first post.

Damn I hate Port. Just a pack of absolute tossers.

Interesting, just about every Port Adelaide supporter I know has high respect for Brisbane...

My girlfriend barracks for the Pies. But if I'm 10/10 for passion, she's only 5/10, so generally she submits to my neurosis. Because she's only 5/10 however, she gets angry and doesn't understand why I cannot give an inch with respect to Collingwood - for example, I barrack for about 12 or 13 of the remaining 14 teams when they play the pies. She thinks because I love her I would want Collingwood to win, lol.

I could NOT under ANY* circumstances, date a Hawthorn supporter.

*obvious exceptions; mad baps, pins etc

Dating a Hawthorn supporter is tough, but at least she agrees with me that Sam Mitchell is a tool.

My wife comes from a rugby league background but never followed it closely. She now loves her AFL and Carlton and she actually suprises me with her knowledge of the game sometimes.

But my best mate is a mad eagles supporter from an all eagles family and he recently married a dockers supporter from an all freo family.

During his speech the father of the groom bagged the dockers non stop and during the father of the bride speech he bagged the eagles non stop through the speech.

It got a bit out of hand later in the night and I thought there was going to be an all in brawl on the dance floor.

I was hoping for a dale kickett v eagles like punch up.

Do you genuinely loathe an AFL team? If so, could date/marry someone that loved that team?