Do you watch the whole game?

i always stay till end. i came close in round two last season when we were getting smashed by geelong and i had a complete knob next to me, so i ended up watching the last quater from the bar behind the goals in the dome. at least i could drink full strength beer in there.

i remember being at a saints blues match a couple of years ago and the conversation during the second quater (it was still in the balance at that stage) between some saints supporters was should the actually stay to at least the 3rd quater this week.

btw, i remember being in the crowd that round 22 match in 2003, some so called carlton supporters behind us all day just kept bagging our players. a very low day indeed.

my theory is that for all these beltings we have delt with over the last 7 seasons, it will make 2008 and beyond so much more beautiful when we start winning more often than we lose and returning the favour to some of these supporters who follow those tragic clubs.

and one day in particular will always stick out for me, 2003 at OO when the 'young' saints beat us by 91 points. this is the side that had a record winning margin of 56 points against us in over 100 seasons and we wnet on to win the flag that season of 95. it was when it was evedent that the afl was a roundabout competition now and things had changed (and they still can't win that flag that the AFL keeps trying to give them).

what makes it worse, thanks to pay tv and the internet, is that like a lot of people on this site, i end up watching the game numours times no matter what happens.

In my opinion, mediumsizered never even went to that game, he's just making the whole thing up

Unfortunately DC I was there & I must admit I am not proud of leaving early. That is why just over a year later I sat through the debacle in Round 22 against the Kangaroos & even last year's whitewash against the Lions at the Gabba.

I realised after walking out on that 2002 game that I had to learn to ride out the tough times, given the club had given me so many good times through the '70s & '80s & that is why I so passionately defend the club on here. No matter how bad we have been in the last 6 seasons, we are still the Mighty Blues & I am in for the long haul.

i remember being at a saints blues match a couple of years ago and the conversation during the second quater (it was still in the balance at that stage) between some saints supporters was should the actually stay to at least the 3rd quater this week.

btw, i remember being in the crowd that round 22 match in 2003, some so called carlton supporters behind us all day just kept bagging our players. a very low day indeed.

I remember overhearing that exact same conversation at that Saints game. What a coincidence! I also remember those Carlton supporters at that Round 22 clash. What a pity they got kicked out by the police. I guess they got what they deserved for bagging our players.

Never, ever leave before the final siren. I feel like tripping up those who do but tell myself they must have a sick granny to see. For one, I'll bet there are people who left the Round 3 game last year early. Nice one. Also, believe it if you will I reckon there are people out there (you know who you are) who left the 1970 GF at half time too. Nice one.

The main reason I stay is that sitting being humiliated by opposition supporters as your beloved team plays like a bunch of gay goats makes those wins all the more enjoyable. You have to feel the pain of serious defeat to really savour the joy of victory.

Also, there is never a better time to see who actually is willing to wave the flag than when you are being hammered. Easy enough to play like a star when you are 10 goals up. It's the players who are still having a crack when they are arse-hole deep in crocodiles that I want to see. They're the blokes who will win you a flag.

This is the reason why when watching a game on TV and we're getting flogged that ill always watch to the end. When the game's done and dusted, i like watching how certain players react and see how some of our players' are developing. Eg last year with the likes of Jamison, Hampson and Bower

When at a game i barely ever leave until the end. Although i may leave mid-way through the final quarter to try and beat most of the traffic if the game's done and we're getting owned.
I've found i've left early the last few years at our games against Sydney though. To all you Victorian supporters, you'll never know the feeling of watching your team come up to play and geting smashed. You look forward to it all year, rock up in your Blue's outfit, and just see them get smashed time and time again. My most embarrasing AFL moments have definately been at the last 2 Carlton v Sydney games up here in Sydney. It's embarrasing, humiliating and a huge let down when you've been anticipating it all year. That's when ill leave early lol

Pains me to say, but there have been occaisions when I have left before half time :(

yeah me too....one game in particular is the Carlton V Richmond game at the G where we were losing by like 80 points at half time which was Setanta's first game.

actually its the only game where i have left before the final siren. utter embarrasement by the team that day!!

yeah me too....one game in particular is the Carlton V Richmond game at the G where we were losing by like 80 points at half time which was Setanta's first game.

actually its the only game where i have left before the final siren. utter embarrasement by the team that day!!
it's very very painfull ... people may look down on you for it - but what they fail to see is that it's because I love the team so much, I have to leave.

It's like watching your child get beaten up LOL

Never leave early. Players still get out there and have a go (rnd 22 last year was tough)
and deserve the respect we give them by not turning our backs and walking out to "beat the traffic".

Never leave early. Players still get out there and have a go (rnd 22 last year was tough)
and deserve the respect we give them by not turning our backs and walking out to "beat the traffic".

That's questionable.

Some of the games that I've walked out on early - I'd be confident in stating that the players didn't give a stuff anymore, and were merely witches hats, as per their body language and attitude.

I left half way through the 3rd Quater inthe Hawthorn game last year...Even then, there were fans...spilling out from all exits, it was as if the game had actually finished.

[stating that the players didn't give a stuff anymore, and were merely witches hats, as per their body language and attitude.[/quote]

Last year there was the added influence of the "player revolt" as Kouta mentions in his book with coach Pagan. Once this was sorted the player's attitude was much better not including rnd 22.
When you travel to Brisbane and are getting flooged by 100points it would be hard to stay focused.
However I still believe the players deserve the respect of us staying. Of course if a player like Fev insults us by taking his boots off and sooking on the side line the club and fans in the outer shoulg go nuts, as this disrespects us. I would never say however that the team has done such a thing. Setanta always put in!

blue gunslinger;10078752 Last year there was the added influence of the "player revolt" as Kouta mentions in his book with coach Pagan. Once this was sorted the player's attitude was much better not including rnd 22. When you travel to Brisbane and are getting flooged by 100points it would be hard to stay focused. However I still believe the players deserve the respect of us staying. Of course if a player like Fev insults us by taking his boots off and sooking on the side line the club and fans in the outer shoulg go nuts said:
That day of the flogging by Brisbane last year, it was very clear that Kouta was leading a revolt against Pagan (this is not a debate about the rights or wrongs of Denis Pagan). It was most disappointing to see some of our most experienced players not giving 100%, while some of the younger guys (Setanta included) battled against the odds. The players only deserve our respect when they give their all for the Navy Blue & White jumper. A jumper they should feel privileged to wear.

I have never left a game early. Partly because I think that you don't really deserve to lap up the successes if you're not prepared to cop the failures, and partly coz i dump plenty on oppo. supporters when i see em leaving before stumps.

If you're a true supporter you support your team even when they're struggling.

Let's just hope that the boys give everybody good reason to watch to the last second more often than not this season.

I have never left a game early, at times I've wanted to, really wanted to! Going to the game is such a long day for me though (4hr round trip) so its really not worth it if I leave early.

I was there too and I really wanted to leave, but I had to stay with me mate who is a Richmond fan to the final siren!

I always watch the whole match on tv (If i can). That's what dream team's are for ;)

When at the ground, i'd love to stay the whole time, but (when I go with my dad) when we are losing badly, he usually makes us leave.

1999 Grand Final we left before 3/4 time. I wanted to stay! (Was only 8).

That's questionable.

Some of the games that I've walked out on early - I'd be confident in stating that the players didn't give a stuff anymore, and were merely witches hats, as per their body language and attitude.

It was most disappointing to see some of our most experienced players not giving 100%, while some of the younger guys (Setanta included) battled against the odds. The players only deserve our respect when they give their all for the Navy Blue & White jumper. A jumper they should feel privileged to wear.

Agree

Do you watch the whole game?