Dockers not welcome in Tasmania

fat wombat said:
Eddy McGuire loves Tasmanians so much! He proved this with the whole Beaconsfield mining accident! So why doesn't he try get the AFL to let him take Magpies games down there?
Personally I would be more than happy to play an away there if someone else wants to sacrifice a home. The AFL on the other hand don’t want to sacrifice the gate and the MCG deal makes it a bit difficult as well. We are pretty much locked onto the MCG as a result of the deal for the MCC to give up the prelim.

fat wombat said:
Eddy McGuire loves Tasmanians so much! He proved this with the whole Beaconsfield mining accident! So why doesn't he try get the AFL to let him take Magpies games down there?

He'd be so generous. I'm sure he'd offer to play all FOUR of Collingwoods travelling games there - for the good of Tasmania of course - then get stuck into the interstate teams for being so greedy and not wantng to give up their HOME games :rolleyes:

Obi-Haive said:
Their home supporters still see them 13 times a year which is more than an interstate supporter gets to see of their team. But still they could just go to the MCG any given Sunday and pretend that the black stripes are blue.

But seriously, Why doesn't the AFL at least try to rectify the uneveness of the draw and schedule games such as the Hawks v Pies and St Kilda v Bombers down there.
Tasmanian's are lucky enough to see St.Kilda and Hawthorn matches as it is (both clubs aren't poor on cash) I suggest they don't push their luck.

Its not about whether the Dockers care about playing in Tassie, its about the insult of a state not wanting the team because no-one likes watching the Dockers :p:thumbsu:

gdmclean said:
Its not about whether the Dockers care about playing in Tassie, its about the insult of a state not wanting the team because no-one likes watching the Dockers :p:thumbsu:

Trust me - the fact that we wouldn't have to travel to Tassie FAR OUTWEIGHS the insult that Tasmanians don't want to watch our team play. Do you think we'd even care about that? :p

kidstyler said:
someone say Gardiner?
thats got nothing to do with the thread topic - which you will find in the title. This topic is about fremantle are not welcome in a STATE of australia because their residents dont like watching them. Its one of the biggest insults you could ever have as a club.

Wow isnt it amazing that tasmania wants to be picky now. Never knew many people gave a rats arse about them. how about the dockers and everyelse apart from the saints and hawks boycott the place. heck, you couldnt even get the siren right so why be so picky?

FFS be greatful some teams actually want to play games there. if you dont want to turn up and watch then go fuukkkk yourself becasue the place is a whole anyways.

gdmclean said:
thats got nothing to do with the thread topic - which you will find in the title. This topic is about fremantle are not welcome in a STATE of australia because they dont like watching them. Its one of the biggest insults you could ever have as a club.

the fundemental mistake your making there is that we dont actualy care about tasmania! no one does! but if you do ... that fine! the eagles can play there next year! :p

now run along!

gdmclean said:
thats got nothing to do with the thread topic - which you will find in the title. This topic is about fremantle are not welcome in a STATE of australia because their residents dont like watching them. Its one of the biggest insults you could ever have as a club.

I forgot about the crowd of 40000 you got playing in the ACT. Wasn't that a smaller crowd than the Tassie games that Freo played?

Like WGAF??? If we don't have to travel to Launceston, that's a brilliant win for our club.

I find it an insult that Tassies substandard footy ground has caused possibly the biggest controversy this year in football (Gardiner & Cousins aside) yet the premier still see's fit to make demands, while insulting one of the few clubs club that will actually play there and support them.

Oh the arrogance - and this coming from a West Coast supporter! :p

gdmclean said:
You're the pointing out that low attendances at away games played at a ground half a world away somehow reflects badly upon Freo as club. Kidstyler is more than justified in bringing up Gardiner as a bad reflection on the Eagles as a comeback. Don't throw stones if you live in a glass house. Especially if you throw like a girl.

gdmclean said:

Are the real states suddenly meant to care what the two-headers think?

Roundhouse said:
You're the pointing out that low attendances at away games played at a ground half a world away somehow reflects badly upon on Freo as club. Kidstyler is more than justified in bringing up Gardiner as a bad reflection on the Eagles as a comeback. Don't throw stones if you throw stones if you live in a glass house. Especially if you throw like a girl.
Might need to edit that...

Hawkk said:
Tasmanian's are lucky enough to see St.Kilda and Hawthorn matches as it is (both clubs aren't poor on cash) I suggest they don't push their luck.
Most Tasmanian football supporters travel to melbourne when they want to watch their AFL teams play...sending us boring teams like the Hawks and Freo over and over is just not on ...would rather have no AFL here than dull sides .

juddy_Like said:
Wow isnt it amazing that tasmania wants to be picky now. Never knew many people gave a rats arse about them. how about the dockers and everyelse apart from the saints and hawks boycott the place. heck, you couldnt even get the siren right so why be so picky?

FFS be greatful some teams actually want to play games there. if you dont want to turn up and watch then go fuukkkk yourself becasue the place is a whole anyways.
we may need a translator for this jibberish ...i guess the education system in the desert is a tad lacking .

Obi-Haive said:
I find it an insult that Tassies substandard footy ground has caused possibly the biggest controversy this year in football (Gardiner & Cousins aside) yet the premier still see's fit to make demands, while insulting one of the few clubs club that will actually play there and support them.

Oh the arrogance - and this coming from a West Coast supporter! :p

I suppose you have never been to Tassie???

If so, maybe you check it out before calling Aurora Stadium sub standard because I reckon it is a great faciliy.

I wasn't trolling, merely reporting a news story with a little added jibe on the end of it.

I was tearing my hair out watching the Dockers play the Dogs this year and I don't even support them. It was my least enjoyable day at the footy this season
even though we won. I sympathize with the cousin rooters.

Kenny_01 said:
I can feel for the Tassie people..... I'd also much rather watch Richmond, Carlton, Sydney, Port Adelaide, Kangaroos or Brisbane.

Anyone who even dares to think of taking one of the Swans Melbourne away games away from Victoria will have at least 8000 red & white Victorians declaring instant war on you.

Personally I'll love a match in Tassie, as I have never been there. And because the footy is as good an excuse as any to go to a place and travel around.

But I can understand that our Melbourne members have fought hard for 6 Swans games down there. Also considering that the Swans usually draw up to 15000 match-day supporters to matches in Victoria these days, it makes better financial sense to keep away matches against the Swans in Melbourne.

JF

Dockers not welcome in Tasmania