Does the Academy selections encourage tanking?

I dont agree with any system where one club has access to most of a states players. Thats a huge advantage. They should be open to the entire competition. Port adelaide dont have access to the indigenous players like Milera last year who they have developed. Should be the same system.

I don't know why Swans fans defend the academies. It is an advantage and I have one thing to say to the oppositions supporters, suck it the **** up, especially the Victorians considering your advantages. Don't like it? oh well.

As I said it is an advantage, but as you correctly point out, the Victorian clubs have advantages too. Anyway, the academies haven't really been around for long enough to assess their impact, but I can almost guarantee that they will be good for the competition in the long run.

I agree RW and you know that but there's no point arguing it on here. They don't care, and to be frank nor do I about their opinion on the matter. It exists whether they like it or not.

As I said it is an advantage, but as you correctly point out, the Victorian clubs have advantages too. Anyway, the academies haven't really been around for long enough to assess their impact, but I can almost guarantee that they will be good for the Sydney, GWS, Brisbane and Gold Coast in the long run.

EFA

It is almost certain Heeney would not be in the AFL now if not for the academy, same with Mills.
I'm pretty confident from what I've read he Mills would be. Isn't he family friends with your President, so every chance he would've been linked in to some form of development system, half a chance to have ended up coming down to Xavier like Dan Robinson. He's a natural player, with the size and athleticism made to play the game (and not so much rugby). Sure they were rare, but Lenny Hayes and the McVeigh's had no issue getting drafted.

Heeney's a different case, the guy looks like he could play Rugby League tomorrow with his power and agility and wasn't from a footy area.

"probably" doesnt cut it.
if Heeny kiccks the winning goal against hawthorn in the prelim final this year i can console myself with the fact if sydney didnt have him, nobody would??
at the end of the day in an adversarial competition with a draft, one team having access to a pool of players makes a mockery of the system. it is what it is but dont make out like its not an advantage . points system only alleviates it.
Says the bloke who's team gets to play the grand Final at their home ground every time they make one. There's inequities in lots of areas of the comp but bleat away.

I'm pretty confident from what I've read he Mills would be. Isn't he family friends with your President, so every chance he would've been linked in to some form of development system, half a chance to have ended up coming down to Xavier like Dan Robinson. He's a natural player, with the size and athleticism made to play the game (and not so much rugby). Sure they were rare, but Lenny Hayes and the McVeigh's had no issue getting drafted.

Heeney's a different case, the guy looks like he could play Rugby League tomorrow with his power and agility and wasn't from a footy area.

There was no real pathway before the academies.

Kids like Mills & Heeney would have had zero opportunity to play Aussie Rules at school. It would be all Rugby or League or Soccer.
With kids that talented they would get snapped up by one of the other codes.
League starts recruiting kids for their talent squads when they are 12.
They have selective high school based on the sporting talent of kids at 12.
You can't rely on some chance that these talented kids will slip through the net that is being cast by the rugby codes all over the state scouring for talent.

Edit: I know of dozens of kids 12/13/14 that are getting paid $500 a week to play League.

No academy equals no Mills
No Mills equals we take Dunkley under Father Son rule
We take Dunkley and you don't get Dunkley

Win win for you yet?

Not even close mate, you had first pickings of the Turkey and decided you didn't want Dunkley. You think we should be grateful for your left-overs?

isnt the mccarthy saga and brisbane 5 proof that the northern teams need more home grown talent.

also the academy does benfit other teams, port has 2 gws academy boys, geelong has cornell, coughlan got picked up as well.

Perfect then only draft homegrown talent, you want full access to the talent pool from Vic, SA and WA but have NSW and Qld talent quarantined. Do you people seriously believe this system is equitable or do you like it because it feathers your own nest? You can be honest, we already know the answer.

We did only draft homegrown talent. I'm happy to remove GWS from the draft if we could only select academy players

It is an advantage, but liz's point was that Heeney and Mills would have been lost to the game entirely had it not been for the academy. With all due respect you Vics still don't get it - without the academies, there would be no pathway for these kids to play AFL at all. The percentage of players drafted from NSW/QLD is still tiny compared to the other states. Not like the heartland states where the game is widely played in schools and there is already an established football culture. The game has to grow to survive.

i get why its there, im just taking exception to the BS about how we should be grateful for it. at best its a necessary evil (for us) and thats a stretch, the AFL vould have its own acadamy that would net the same kids into the system and benefit all equally. they dont. not the swans fault.

if it wasnt an advantage to the swans, why is this thread full of swans foamers frothing at the bit at the suggestion its unfair?

and to then be told we should be grateful? well thats like us telling you to be grateful letting you play the 2014 GF at the home of football.... a little rich.

Personally i have a bit of a wait-and-see approach to the academy system. I think overall it will turn out to be OK under the current system. Obviously Swans got a bit of a steal with Heeney under the old system but really its only from last year onwards that we should be judging. Need to give it some time to see if it will work out OK. I think the points system is at least close to approximating how much a player is worth. The formula may need to be tinkered with long term but I think its close enough that we can let it play out for a few years.

Perhaps one thing they could consider is the higher a team places the lower the academy discount they get for a first rounder. Although in saying that its already hard enough to work out the current system for the non-professional as it is. I just think perhaps if a team finishes top of the ladder we don't want them getting the #1 pick unless they 'sell the farm' to get it.

i get why its there, im just taking exception to the BS about how we should be grateful for it. at best its a necessary evil (for us) and thats a stretch, the AFL vould have its own acadamy that would net the same kids into the system and benefit all equally. they dont. not the swans fault.

if it wasnt an advantage to the swans, why is this thread full of swans foamers frothing at the bit at the suggestion its unfair?

and to then be told we should be grateful? well thats like us telling you to be grateful letting you play the 2014 GF at the home of football.... a little rich.

By the same token , the foamers are frothing just because the Swans get some benefit from it.

The academies are not designed for the purpose of being an advantage to the Swans. They are designed to get more kids from NSW & Qld to the top level of Aussie Rules. Should it all be thrown out the window because the foamers don't want the Swans to get an advantage?

The talent pool will actually be better. Guys like Mills would not be in the competition without the academy so it means instead of the Swans drafting a Victorian we are drafting a New South Welshman who would not have otherwise of been drafted at all, so it makes the talent pool better for everyone.

Do you mean the Callum mills who supported the Swans all of his life and his grandfather played in the WAFL?
The same Callum Mills who when he was a kid asked his mum to change his name to Tony Lockett?
The same Callum Mills whose mum admitted that despite no one else in his family being interested in AFL he was determined to play the game.

What a crock, that kid was always going to play AFL, it had nothing to do with the academy. The academies are a rort designed to give give the northern clubs an advantage over the rest of the competition.

Fremantle finishes last they get pick 1.
fremantle wins the flag they get in real terms 18 + the amount of acadamy and father son bids there are.. eg 5 acadamy and F/S = 18 +5= 23 essentially.
point is the higher you finish, the more diluted your pick is.
Which is part of the equalisation cycle

"probably" doesnt cut it.
if Heeny kiccks the winning goal against hawthorn in the prelim final this year i can console myself with the fact if sydney didnt have him, nobody would??
at the end of the day in an adversarial competition with a draft, one team having access to a pool of players makes a mockery of the system. it is what it is but dont make out like its not an advantage . points system only alleviates it.

jeez I'm bloody barring up reading that

Get your hand off it mate, you think I sit around watching the Swans fapping to the players they aquire through a bullsh*t system.

Settle down, Doggy Poop!

Injustices NSW & QLD fans have to put up with:

- MCG grand finals
- no marquee matches
- biased Vic media
- undue influence by the likes of presidents such as eddie everywhere, newbould and gordon
- go home factor with interstate draftees
- trade bans despite no rules being broken

You lot need constant reminders that we no longer play in the VFL

Does the Academy selections encourage tanking?