List Mgmt. Draft 2018: Lions 1st (5), Power 1st (10), Hawks 1st (15)

Depends who we pick instead. If it's just about anyone but Smith provided he's available, there will be many many upset people.

The tears will be all for nothing though, we have no say in anything at the club and we're just along for the ******* awful ride.
It'll provide melts and arguments though which is pretty much the highlight of being a Port fan these days.

how will people feel if rankine is there and we dont pick him?
Only way that would happen is if club knows something about him that we don’t.
On ability you would have to take him but there’s a lot more to becoming a top AFL footballer than ability.
To be honest that’s why I see Smith being a big plus because he’s got the right attitude and is prepared to do the hard yards.
Acts of brilliance can win games but hard working wins premierships.

Depends who we pick instead. If it's just about anyone but Smith provided he's available, there will be many many upset people.

The tears will be all for nothing though, we have no say in anything at the club and we're just along for the ******* awful ride.

I'd be ok with it if a top ender like Lukosius or Walsh slid (they won't), and I'd tolerate it for Smith. Otherwise, we riot.

Sums up my thoughts exactly.

Only way that would happen is if club knows something about him that we don’t.
On ability you would have to take him but there’s a lot more to becoming a top AFL footballer than ability.
To be honest that’s why I see Smith being a big plus because he’s got the right attitude and is prepared to do the hard yards.
Acts of brilliance can win games but hard working wins premierships.

I share this view

Who actually makes the final call on who we select? i reckon with 3 picks inside 15, the club would have a fair idea who they think will be available and who they will pick but when push comes to shove who is the one making the final call. Is it Cripps, Parker, or can Kenny overrule both? I haven't watched much of the draft telecasts previously, but in the first round especially there wouldn't be round table discussion on who they are going to select unless there is some curve balls thrown in.

Even in the case of lets say Rankine being our first choice, gets surprisingly selected by the Saints instead of Max King, we must have multiple back up plans that would ranked in order so the decision would still be instantaneous.?

Can see us taking Max King. It’s not often we’re this high in the draft so it’s a perfect opportunity to nab a very good KPP.

Acts of brilliance can win Norm Smiths however.
I just had a look at the list of Norm Smith winners.
Apart from Cyril the wonder horse most winners have been your fully dedicated types.
Lots of champion players who would have worked hard at getting to the top.
Anyway as long as we don’t draft someone you have to Google to find out who he is we should do ok with the picks we have.

Luko Walsh rankine smith or max king
From someone who just gets their views on draftees from BigFooty it seems so Lol Ports, that we've sold the farm to get to pick #5, yet there's the four players (Luko, Walsh, Rankine and Smith) who I'll be stoked to get at our first pick. Just set up for these four to go as picks 1 to 4, leading to another 'lost it at the last possible moment' for Ports. It's what Port does best these days.

I just had a look at the list of Norm Smith winners.
Apart from Cyril the wonder horse most winners have been your fully dedicated types.
Lots of champion players who would have worked hard at getting to the top.
Anyway as long as we don’t draft someone you have to Google to find out who he is we should do ok with the picks we have.
I doubt Byron was the most workery hardery type, Smith has some tricks to go with the right attitude anyway I'd be ok with nabbing him.

Who actually makes the final call on who we select? i reckon with 3 picks inside 15, the club would have a fair idea who they think will be available and who they will pick but when push comes to shove who is the one making the final call. Is it Cripps, Parker, or can Kenny overrule both? I haven't watched much of the draft telecasts previously, but in the first round especially there wouldn't be round table discussion on who they are going to select unless there is some curve balls thrown in.

Even in the case of lets say Rankine being our first choice, gets surprisingly selected by the Saints instead of Max King, we must have multiple back up plans that would ranked in order so the decision would still be instantaneous.?

Parker makes the call on talent. Ken has minimal say

How dare and 18 year old kid want to stay in his home state with his family and friends where he will be at a club in finals contention vs going to the Gold Coast or the saints .... yep that’s a red flag
That is why you are not a recruiter! They look at more than 2 minutes of frickin' highlights! That is why we ended up with Wingard, GWS not interested in a stay-at-home sook. Thats why Rankin will not go at #1 to #4, even though he is good enough ... clubs will avoid. Hope we do too.

lol jeezus mate

Parker makes the call on talent. Ken has minimal say

Interesting sounding process. And who makes the call on “‘needs’ for weird game plan 2019 edition”?

;)

And your point ? Ollie Wines was planning on going home the minute we called out his name.

And it’s a good thing we did get Wingard, has been great for us and if our footy department and senior coach weren’t so weak he wouldn’t have been allowed to coast through the last 2/3 years.

And your point ? Ollie Wines was planning on going home the minute we called out his name.

And it’s a good thing we did get Wingard, has been great for us and if our footy department and senior coach weren’t so weak he wouldn’t have been allowed to coast through the last 2/3 years.
:rolleyes: You Wingard fan-boys just dont get it .. and you never will.

Every word of this post is complete trash.

List Mgmt. Draft 2018: Lions 1st (5), Power 1st (10), Hawks 1st (15)