Draft Smokys - Who May Get Picked Up Surprisingly

I agree Saad Saad is a freak who lacks commitment.He did train at Essendon last year but they passed on him.With a bit of discipline he could be anything.

samthemanlonergan said:
I played against him in the Sunraysia League and he was reasonable. Probably about the 4th best player in his team. None of the other 3 made pioneers. Admittidly I haven't seen him play since he moved away, but unless he has drastically improved since then I can't see him making an AFL list (Unless the name continues to carry him ;) )

I guess this explains why he won LEAGUE Best and Fariest in every age division he played, as well as being captain of Sunraysia rep side. at 17 stands 196cm and weighs 92kg, bigger than Chris is now.

Ben Kalmus
One of the best players for CG in the APS this year and is big enough and good enough to go straight into the big league. Is an absolute gorilla and a freak show. Great to watch

sinepari said:
Anyone from W.A think Danny Chartres (Peel) is a chance? Rookie-list?

I've seen him live 3 times this year and he has been more impressive than Gumby, albeit he is 20-21 I think.

Yer Danny Chartres has been really good for peel this year can play key position at CHF, CHB and even has a couple of stints in the ruck. Gumbelton though is still the outstanding up and coming. (Hope he goes number 1)
Another young guy from peel who only mainly plays colts is Ben Howlett although did get a couple of league games and was in the colts team of the year. Howlett was runner up B + F to kristen thorton last year and had another good year as well. Also was in the state 18s intial squad and was unlucky to get cut. Other colts who are good chances of course are james hawksley and kyle riemers both also had good years.

kangaroos interested in nick georgiadis and richard knight, geelong also looking at knight

smasher said:
I agree Saad Saad is a freak who lacks commitment.He did train at Essendon last year but they passed on him.With a bit of discipline he could be anything.

My cousins play with Saad Saad, took one of the marks of the year in Seymours granny a couple of years ago, sez hes an absolute bloody freak and a great guy too. has to be picked up one day. so good for seymour

Stock92 said:
My cousins play with Saad Saad, took one of the marks of the year in Seymours granny a couple of years ago, sez hes an absolute bloody freak and a great guy too. has to be picked up one day. so good for seymour

For that mark he won Almost Footy Legends one week

I think joel coombes will be picked up earlier then most people think. He goes to my school so i have haqd the pleasure of seeing him play on numerous occasion's, even managed to play against him once myself in a yr 11 v yr 12 footy match, pretty funny crap. 2nd round IMO

Trent Shinners (Dandenong Stingrays)

good around the ground ruckmen

got a couple of BOG's playin for NARRE WARREN in the finals (semi and granny) playing against men

likely type!

Mitchell Madness-I think joel coombes will be picked up earlier then most people think. He goes to my school so i have haqd the pleasure of seeing him play on numerous occasion's, even managed to play against him once myself in a yr 11 v yr 12 footy match, pretty funny crap. 2nd round IMO

mate i have watched Dragons last few games and yes Coombes was great, kicked plenty of goals and he was a solid player in Vic vs Allies too down back..but 2nd round, no way! he will be a good pick up late or rookie, one thing is looks like a real athlete so i assume he will test well at state screening

jumpman5 said:
Trent Shinners (Dandenong Stingrays)

good around the ground ruckmen

got a couple of BOG's playin for NARRE WARREN in the finals (semi and granny) playing against men

likely type!

a ruckman?...he is 190cm!he is a good 8cm minumum from being an AFL ruckman,even then he will be below standard height for a league ruckman. yes a good player but far from a ruckman and even too short for KPP at the elite level! not bagging the player just stating his disability in height (for a KPP/ruckman)

Scham said:
I think Dean D1ck will go mid to late. Plenty to work with there!
What is it that causes you to rate Dean so highly? I have seen him play a fair bit and can't really make up my mind. He is too small for KPP / Ruck where he has been used in colts and state 18s and I cannot see where he would fit into an AFL team.

Not bagging the bloke because he can play but I see him as a bit of a 'tweener.

Your thoughts please.

Boy from the West said:
What is it that causes you to rate Dean so highly? I have seen him play a fair bit and can't really make up my mind. He is too small for KPP / Ruck where he has been used in colts and state 18s and I cannot see where he would fit into an AFL team.

Not bagging the bloke because he can play but I see him as a bit of a 'tweener.

Your thoughts please.
I think he has heaps of potential. He is big enough to play KP IMO. He's a footballer not an athlete but is still very agile and quickish for his size.

Just my opinion but I like him - he offers clubs a lot of versitility IMO. could end up being a fullback or a half back or even FF.

cats_2005 said:
kangaroos interested in nick georgiadis and richard knight, geelong also looking at knight

i know for a fact about the kangaroos being interested in both.. probably because of thier local coach being brothers with Shannon Grant.

How do you know about Geelong and Knight.

Would love to see both be picked up

smasher said:

Speaking of Saad Saad, would clubs opt to draft country footballers? I know Luke Vogels got drafted from Terang/Mortlake in the Hampden footy league but surely there would be better quality young players playing senior footy in the top country leagues. I'm serious when I ask this but is there any young country footballers with a chance of being drafted or rookied?

hogwash said:
correct rusling and blesing played in same side and then blesing captaine following year

That's Ryan Blesing's brother, Scott.

After yesterday's Under 17 SANFL Grand Final, Todd Blacksell will add to the 22 West Adelaide players in the AFL.

Whispers said:
Speaking of Saad Saad, would clubs opt to draft country footballers? I know Luke Vogels got drafted from Terang/Mortlake in the Hampden footy league but surely there would be better quality young players playing senior footy in the top country leagues. I'm serious when I ask this but is there any young country footballers with a chance of being drafted or rookied?

Interesting question! top age under 18 player named Chris Aurisch from sale football club seniors in the west gippsland latrobe premier league (playing along with the likes of the burgiel boys(richmond and hawthorn(and stuart anderson(north melbourne) and jacob schuback(adelaide) )kicked 80 odd goals from full forward.. Surely thats a good effort kicking 80 goals on grown men in a premier league..any opinions

i mentioned nick gill earlier in this thread i noticed an article in todays paper about him being drafted, 3 clubs are interested, you would think the crows would be one of them

NORTH Adelaide star Nick Gill could yet be thrown an AFL lifeline after being invited to the league's SA-based talent screening next week.
Gill, who at age 24 has attracted the interest of as many as three AFL clubs, will be tested with 20 other Croweaters in front of recruiting scouts at Henley High School on October 14.
"I was pretty surprised actually," said Gill, who has battled calf and thigh injuries this season. "I would have thought last year was an okay year as far as publicity and consistency goes, so to get the letter (this year) was surprising."
Originally drafted by Melbourne in 2001, Gill also spent 2003 on the Kangaroos' rookie list while playing for Port Melbourne in the VFL.
And after setting the SANFL alight with the Roosters for two seasons with his eye-catching acrobatics, is not giving up hope of playing at elite level.
"I was very pleased, especially at my age," Gill, 193cm and 91kg, said. "Everyone says you're not too old but it is pretty rare someone will actually get picked up at this age.
"But I hadn't given up hope, I'd never really strung two good years together but I thought if I could I might get my name on the table again."
While some judges may see Gill's age as a barrier, the colourful character knows he is a much better player now than when he was first chosen by the Demons.
"To do the same again and have a real crack at it with a more mature head and body on me, maybe I can go a bit better," said Gill, who has kicked 47.38 in 17 games this year.
"The fact I'm in SA and playing in the SANFL against fully-grown men has really helped. When I was drafted originally I don't think I was quite ready.
"I was a bit of a late bloomer at school and when I got drafted I was just a skinny kid who didn't really know what was going on."
Other mature-age SANFL players to be invited to the screening include speedy Norwood wingman Gavin Hughes and high-flying Central District forward Justin Westhoff.
Nine players, headlined by Glenelg's Bryce Gibbs, have been asked to attend the four-day AFL draft camp in Canberra from today.
Each AFL club is asked to submit a list of 50 players of interest prior to both the draft camp and talent screening.
To be invited to the draft camp, at least four AFL clubs must express interest. At least one mention ensures a player will get a berth at the talent screening in his home state.

What about Nick Gill currently @ North Adelaide..... Former Melbourne draftee and was on Kangaroos rookie 2003.... Had a great season under Jarman, would possibly suit crows who are looking for ready-made KPP to cover Hentschel.......

Sorry, didn;t see first post re: Gill....

Draft Smokys - Who May Get Picked Up Surprisingly