wagstaff

Nov 28, 2001
The Sea of Holes
Melbourne Stars, Arsenal
Interesting reading some excerpts from Duncan Fletcher's upcoming book on the Ashes. In today's excerpt he defends himself strongly over the controversy caused by England's alleged tactic of subbing and resting their bowlers for several minutes at the time.

What I thought was noteworthy wasn't so much Fletcher's predictable defence of that issue but his gamesmanship accusations the Australians allegedly employed during the Ashes that he felt made their accusations on the sub issue particularly hollow. He cites 5 examples:

First, amid all this talk of substitutes, what about the Old Trafford Test when Michael Clarke had his back problems? When he appeared to bat in the second innings, did he have a runner? No. Did he suddenly recover that morning then? Where was he when we were smashing it around the park the day before? I also noticed that Brad Hodge was on as a substitute fielder for him; that was strange when the Australians were also talking about it being traditional to use a bowler for 12th-man duties. Why was Mike Kasprowicz or Shaun Tait not on the field? It should be remembered that Hodge took two excellent catches, one at deep squareleg in the first innings to dismiss Pietersen and the other at fine leg to end Vaughan's second innings.

Second - and this is the most serious example - whenever a decision went against Australia during the series, did you notice how Ponting would invariably walk straight up to the umpire and challenge his decision using overbearing body language? On occasions, just like in football, he was supported by Adam Gilchrist. Sometimes there was even a third person involved. Is that really what we want kids to see when they watch cricket? Is that in the spirit of the game? Did you ever see Vaughan or any of the England players challenge the umpire in that manner during the series?

Third, what about Gilchrist saying loudly so the umpire could hear "We're owed one dodgy decision here, boys" in the second innings at Trent Bridge? That was reported by Simon Hughes and was no doubt unearthed during his work as the analyst in the Channel 4 van. Is it in the spirit of the game to be saying things like that?

Fourth, what about one of the Australians deliberately bowling on a pre-cut strip before the start of play on one of the match days of the Trent Bridge Test? It was clearly a strip being readied for a Nottinghamshire match, while another one had been clearly designated on the edge of the square for bowlers to practise on: that is the norm at all Test grounds. This petulant behaviour was no doubt the upshot of comments made by the groundsman before the Test, to which some of the Australians had taken exception. We also had it on good authority that the groundsman was verbally abused by some of those same Australian players.

Fifth - and this is nearly as important as the second instance - going back to the second Test at Edgbaston, was it in the spirit of the game to try to ensure that an opposition player was fined? Simon Jones was fined 20% of his match fee after pointing Matthew Hayden to the pavilion after he had him caught at slip by Trescothick for 31. But soon after that incident had occurred, when the fourth umpire came through the dressing rooms from the field after a drinks break, there were Australian players bringing it to his attention. "Make sure that you report it to the match referee" was what they were suggesting.

The Clarke issue arguably does have some merit although the fact that he had to bat at seven meant Australia were affected by his absence from the field.

The second issue on confronting the umpire is valid as I strongly dislike this recent trend of talking to the umpire after a decision has been made, especially if it's the captain. Hopefully the ICC clamp down on this before it gets out of hand.

The third issue over Gilly is a bit of storm in a teacup I suspect and overdramtised I suspect, although that Gilly did say it shows the persecution complex about not getting the 'rub of the green' that Australia was feeling during the series.

The 4th over the pitch is a nothing issue. The groundsman was a fool for making such remarks before a game (and was proven wrong anyway) and it was understandable that some of the team would be agitated with him.

The 5th issue is an interesting one as it goes against the ethos of what the Australian side is usually about - namely 'what happens on the field stays on the field'.

So do others think Fletcher has some valid points or just all nonsense?

I couldnt care less what that guy thinks, can someone explain to me why this guy is writing a book on the ashes victory.

Hell, we didnt win in India for half a century and you didnt see Buchanon writing any books on the victory in 2004

What a joke.

It's almost like Fletcher nows England played outside the spirit of the game and maybe even cheated and therefore his trying to lay blame on Australia for petty little things, like bowling on a precut wicket

eddiesmith said:
Some very valid points

Australians will never be regarded a leader in the spirit of cricket despite their public bull******** about trying to change things

Instead Australia will be recognized as the leader of cricketing nations.

I know which one i want Edward :D :D

LIONS then DAYLIGHT said:
I couldnt care less what that guy thinks, can someone explain to me why this guy is writing a book on the ashes victory.

Hell, we didnt win in India for half a century and you didnt see Buchanon writing any books on the victory in 2004

What a joke.

It's almost like Fletcher nows England played outside the spirit of the game and maybe even cheated and therefore his trying to lay blame on Australia for petty little things, like bowling on a precut wicket

Alot of these books are commissioned before the series even starts, geez how many books has Steve Waugh written over the years? Yet you complain if an Englishman writes 1? Coach, captain, little difference

I wouldn't normally take much notice of things like this but I have to say I was surprised by Ponting's comments on the radio after the run out issue was seemingly dead and buried. I like Ricky but he does seem a bit more prone to the odd whinge than some of his colleagues, he had that odd 'discussion' with Simon Taufel in the super series when he clearly didn't think an LBW appeal should have been referred...

eddiesmith said:
Alot of these books are commissioned before the series even starts, geez how many books has Steve Waugh written over the years? Yet you complain if an Englishman writes 1? Coach, captain, little difference

Steve Waugh wrote diaries on Successful and Non-successful tours

Before he was even recognized as a great player.

Those that have written books like Ian Healy and Mark Taylor have been sensational, PROVEN, players over a long period

Writing a book about the victory in a Ashes series is a typical English reaction to what is know the past.

What will follow i suscept will be a typical English hangover with a loss in pakistan.

England have always had an inferiority complex to Australia in cricket, and im pleased to say to continues, and with good reason to.

What is this guy doing writing books, he should be planning for the Pakistan tour.

Most now believe England to be number 1 in the test arena, and with that comes the pressure that comes with it

England have always been at their best in home conditions with a crowd in a frenzy and as underdog.

That has changed now and it will be interesting to see how they cope.

Personally, i honestly think they will struggle in Pakistan

Every aussie cricket supporters knows we cant go back in time to play to play the ashes series in england.

what we can do however, is look to the future and plan on winning the home series this summer and the away series in SA and Bangladesh.

Also, planning for the return bout this time next year, maybe fletcher should stop writing books and plan how to win some more cricket matches.

Instead of basking in a win that is more than a month and a half ago.

THAT IS ALL

Those that have written books like Ian Healy and Mark Taylor have been sensational, PROVEN, players over a long period

Writing a book about the victory in a Ashes series is a typical English reaction to what is know the past.

What will follow i suscept will be a typical English hangover with a loss in pakistan.

England have always had an inferiority complex to Australia in cricket, and im pleased to say to continues, and with good reason to.

What is this guy doing writing books, he should be planning for the Pakistan tour.

Most now believe England to be number 1 in the test arena, and with that comes the pressure that comes with it

England have always been at their best in home conditions with a crowd in a frenzy and as underdog.

Every aussie cricket supporters knows we cant go back in time to play to play the ashes series in england.

what we can do however, is look to the future and plan on winning the home series this summer and the away series in SA and Bangladesh.

Also, planning for the return bout this time next year, maybe fletcher should stop writing books and plan how to win some more cricket matches.

You missed out "MARK MY WORDS" or "THAT IS ALL".

Grimwood said:
I wouldn't normally take much notice of things like this but I have to say I was surprised by Ponting's comments on the radio after the run out issue was seemingly dead and buried. I like Ricky but he does seem a bit more prone to the odd whinge than some of his colleagues, he had that odd 'discussion' with Simon Taufel in the super series when he clearly didn't think an LBW appeal should have been referred...

No-one knows exactly what he said, he might have been asking what he was getting checked, etc, etc

ASSUMING ponting was arguing with the umpire is rort with danger.

Assumption is the mother of all disaster

Remember that

And how do you know this book wasnt commissioned pre Ashes, win or lose and possibly written during the series?

Why dont you stop talking crap, oh its in the past, no one cares, fine, then why did all those players in the past write books? Sometimes a years worth, so they are talking about tours 18 months before the book is released, who cares as you say?

You talk absolute crap, for 18 years Aussies ridiculed English at every chance, now they have lost the Ashes, its who cares, its in the past

Hypocrites the lot of you, but it was exactly what I expected of you lot. You never care about anything you lose, when you win you never stop rubbing it in and whinge if others are still talking about it a month later after the Aussies lose the series.

We arent the ones still making up excuses

wagstaff said:
Fourth, what about one of the Australians deliberately bowling on a pre-cut strip before the start of play on one of the match days of the Trent Bridge Test? It was clearly a strip being readied for a Nottinghamshire match, while another one had been clearly designated on the edge of the square for bowlers to practise on: that is the norm at all Test grounds. This petulant behaviour was no doubt the upshot of comments made by the groundsman before the Test, to which some of the Australians had taken exception. We also had it on good authority that the groundsman was verbally abused by some of those same Australian players.

The 4th over the pitch is a nothing issue. The groundsman was a fool for making such remarks before a game (and was proven wrong anyway) and it was understandable that some of the team would be agitated with him.

There is, of course, an issue of practice adjacent to the match pitch and on th square generally within the Laws. I think for Test matches the regualtions on this are stricter than for other cricket. If they behaved incorrectly to the Groundsman (heaven forfend) that is also an issue.

BTW, there tend to be many books produced in England after and Ashes series whatever the result.

And of course we will continue to ridicule Australia with their over dependance on sporting prowess for an identity.

Booze Hound said:
There is, of course, an issue of practice adjacent to the match pitch and on th square generally within the Laws. I think for Test matches the regualtions on this are stricter than for other cricket. If they behaved incorrectly to the Groundsman (heaven forfend) that is also an issue.

BTW, there tend to be many books produced in England after and Ashes series whatever the result.

And of course we will continue to ridicule Australia with their over dependance on sporting prowess for an identity.

Of course, England will always be ridiculded simply because the sun never comes out and is a overall crap place to live.

MeeSo said:
Petty bull******** mostly. The second point is valid though and the ICC should crack down on it.
Indeed, but they have been doing it for years, but never, ever see an Aussie get reprimanded or fined or anything

An umpire or 2 have complained, neither have been since

eddiesmith said:
I would rather live in England than a ********hole of a state where it is 40 one day, flooded the next

Hey Ed, instead mate you live in a state where it is 4 degrees one hour, 35 degrees the next coupled with a hale storm in the arvo and to top it off, a snow storm at night.

:D :D

Hey Ed, instead mate you live in a state where it is 4 degrees one hour, 35 degrees the next coupled with a hale storm in the arvo and to top it off, a snow storm at night.

:D :D

Havent seen any hail for a long time, never seen snow. And atleast when it rains here, theres a chance you will get back on the field, unlike in Brisbane where when it rains, it pours and the game is an immediate writeoff

these points would be valid if it was someone witnessing them first hand, his picked up on incidents which dont even relate to the main issue which was Englands use on the sub fielding.
did he bring up when Vaughn continually spoke to the Umps to get them off the ground in the last test?
the fourth point could of been made up by anyone and has nothing to do with the series.
the third point is really scrapping the bottom of the barrel just to find something to bitch about.
the Fifth point is another off field issue and Jones was an arseh*le all series and deserved to get fined.

Have to agree with whoever said it earlier that Ricky Ponting can be a bit of a sook when getting dismissed, can remember quite a few instances going back a long way.

As for Fletcher he and ponting would make a good pair, he’s always been a cry baby as well.

Booze Hound said:

what the hell is wrong with that? You've logged on to a sporting web site :confused: englands identity singing silly songs about a boat from centuries ago that ruled the waves.Singing silly songs for 8 hours at the cricket.

Duncan Fletcher criticises Australia's behaviour during Ashes series