Eagles all time best 22

Tony Godden lol and Damien Hampson lmao. Was there a Mitchell, aboriginal player with a helmet? Never played a senior game.

On a different note a few of your boys that left went on to have stellar seasons at least at other clubs.

Jason Heatley, was taken in the 93 draft I reckon, hardly played in 3 seasons then goes to Saints and snags 73 goals in 1997, booting hauls of 9 and 7 vs the reigning champs, the latter in a prelim.

Matt Clape - nailed about 43 odd goals for the blues in 95, played in a prem that year.

Fraser Gehrig - booted 100+ in 2004.

That was just the spearheads. Throw in Matt Connell and Jarrod Schofield too from the engine room. Both had fine careers at Adelaide and Port. In fact in the 1997 semi vs north your boys were up 32 points and killing it, Schofield who was best on ground did his knee and you guys collapsed. Phil MAtera's in accuracy didn't help either.

Ah the good old 90's when footy was footy, Ablett was kicking goals, Geelong was choking, west coast made every finals and North and Carey emerged a dominant force.

The good old days.

Played off half back. Got about 22 pozzies. Solid game.

Ripping 1991 season. I loved old Prince Charles. Had a horrific accident too after footy didn't he. Got crushed literally.
I thought he was playing a high half forward role in the 3rd quarter and on the southern side he did about 3 or 4 critical things that changed the momentum of the game. It has been so long since I saw a replay of the game - I just recall thinking wow, it is not a matter of how many but a matter of how important the touches were at the right time. The 3rd quarter was the match winning quarter and from a deficit at half time, the Eagles led at 3/4 time and continued that momentum in the 4th.

Just checked the stats and he was the leading possession winner with 28 possessions.

I thought he was playing a high half forward role in the 3rd quarter and on the southern side he did about 3 or 4 critical things that changed the momentum of the game. It has been so long since I saw a replay of the game - I just recall thinking wow, it is not a matter of how many but a matter of how important the touches were at the right time. The 3rd quarter was the match winning quarter and from a deficit at half time, the Eagles led at 3/4 time and continued that momentum in the 4th.

Just checked the stats and he was the leading possession winner with 28 possessions.
28 wow what an effort for a guy that usually plays half forward. I thought he was half back or playing on the ball but yeah whatever it was stellar effort.

That 3rd quarter was crazy from you guys. Everyone knew once " Matera sets sail for home, and the eagles, hit the front " it was all she wrote. Blistering performance from him that day. We weren't catching you when he nailed that shot from 55 out on the run. Peter Wilson snagging goals from over his head back to goal lol.

Not even god himself could stop that shit.

Sumich was huge too. 6 goals. As I mentioned in the thread the other week, he was instrumental in the big finals for wce and instrumental in getting the eagles far and the flag. You had to have that big burly forward back in those days. Be it a Lockett, a Dunstall, a Longmire, an Ablett, Sticks etc. Every team had to have or had a focal point who would kick bags of goals.

Daics then Rocca.
Osborne
Wheildon
Brownless
Lyon-Jackovich
Hodges then Mods.

List goes on. But yeah, in the big finals a spearhead was needed and Suma stood up.

Heady had come back from a hammie and started the game at half forward without much impact, he was actually moved onto the ball and immediately had an impact, it was very late in the first and in the second quarter that he was our best on baller and really got us going. Also had a good second half. Moving him, crook hammie and all on ball was the move of the GF and turned the game. He was arguably our best player.

Matera kicked 5 from a wing and also came into the game with a huge finals series behind him and deservedly got the Norm Smith but Heady was arguably the most important player on the day.

Tony Godden lol and Damien Hampson lmao. Was there a Mitchell, aboriginal player with a helmet? Never played a senior game.

On a different note a few of your boys that left went on to have stellar seasons at least at other clubs.

Jason Heatley, was taken in the 93 draft I reckon, hardly played in 3 seasons then goes to Saints and snags 73 goals in 1997, booting hauls of 9 and 7 vs the reigning champs, the latter in a prelim.

Matt Clape - nailed about 43 odd goals for the blues in 95, played in a prem that year.

Fraser Gehrig - booted 100+ in 2004.

That was just the spearheads. Throw in Matt Connell and Jarrod Schofield too from the engine room. Both had fine careers at Adelaide and Port. In fact in the 1997 semi vs north your boys were up 32 points and killing it, Schofield who was best on ground did his knee and you guys collapsed. Phil MAtera's in accuracy didn't help either.

Ah the good old 90's when footy was footy, Ablett was kicking goals, Geelong was choking, west coast made every finals and North and Carey emerged a dominant force.

The good old days.
Derek Hall who played for us! How could I forget old Derek.

Probably been done to death, but priddas retirement makes me want to have a go at it once more.

FB: Wirrpanda Glass McIntosh
HB: Worsfold Jakovich McKenna
C: Mainwaring Cousins P.Matera
HF: Lewis Kennedy Embley
FF: Ph.Matera Sumich LeCras
R: Cox Judd Kerr

I: Kemp Priddis Heady Naitanui

Thoughts?

Guys like Waterman, White, Hart and Pyke are underrated IMO. Mitchell White was the 3rd of the 3 x 18 year olds that came into our 1992 side and really improved the team. Was AA in 1996 (?) and injury issues aside could have been anything. Was really good. And Heady was better than Embley as a half forward. Would start there ahead of Embers every day of the week.

Carter - Carroll - B.Wilson
Wooden - Gaspar - Smith
Humm - Chambers - Stevenson
Strijk - Hansen -Adkins
Hams - C.Wilson - Sampi

Sinclair - Ebert - Dalziell

Weedon - Collica - Prior - Green

What you couldn't find a spot for David Antonowicz ..... very stiff.

Bit harsh on Ashley McIntosh, he was a more than serviceable full back in the 90s.
I like the idea of McIntosh in the back pocket and Glass at fullback. Before he suffered knee injuries McIntosh was FAST, he would work well as a rebounding backman with Glass, plus he could hold his own (and more) against the best tall forwards.

Same, and Glass could only really play full-back whereas McIntosh could also play forward.

All of the teams named in this thread would be pitifully weak in the off field shenanigans department.

For a team which will play hard all year then absolutely crunch it during the off season, I give you West Coast's All Mad Monday 22.

FB: Hart Lynch K. Green
HB: Waters Hunter Chick
C: Mainwaring Cousins (C) Fletcher
HF: Lewis Langdon Embley
FF: Sampi Cummings Newman

R: Gardiner Turley Kerr

Int: Sharp P. Wilson T. Wilson Adkins

McGovern McIntosh Wirrpanda
Worsfold Jakovich McKenna
Matera Kemp Mainwaring
Cousins Kennedy Lewis
Matera Sumich LeCras

Cox Judd Kerr

Naitanui Glass Embley Shuey (Priddis)

McGovern McIntosh Wirrpanda
Worsfold Jakovich McKenna
Matera Kemp Mainwaring
Cousins Kennedy Lewis
Matera Sumich LeCras

Cox Judd Kerr

Naitanui Glass Embley Shuey (Priddis)

That's pretty damn good.

Although if I was picking a side to win me a GF, I'd swap Lecras for Evans, and Embley for Heady.

Eagles all time best 22