Eddie bullies Caroline Wilson, others join in

Not sure they'd be able to link it to StKilda but.....

I'm not buying it sorry.
I do not accept that anyone in their right mind considered it was not a Joke.
I do not accept that Wilson was singled out because she was a woman. She was spoken about because of her career as a "Prickley" media personality.
They did not comment on what she should be wearing or anything else that might have sexualised the conversation.
They could just have easily said it about Mark Robinson and no-one would have batted an eyelid.
The now historical "mannequin" issue on the footy show was clearly sexist this is not.

Caroline's media side loves creating this sort of stir and i'm cynical enough to suggest she's actually enjoying making them squirm.

Hell they can make all the fat jokes about Billy Brownless they like and its OK?

Looks like we need to look at the images drawn by satirical cartoonists , and make sure that anything bad they depict is not depicting a female victim.

( PS .. this should not indicate that I do not consider E.M. to be a flog. )
can you honestly imagine them saying the same things about Mark Robinson? Or Patrick Smith? Or any male journalist!?

They wouldn't. If nothing else it would be plain weird, because that kind of one way aggression towards another man is not common place. They might make a joke about having a punch on in the alley or something, but not straight up drowning/dominating someone.

Regardless of that, it's just not on. Domestic violence is a serious issue, on average a woman dies every week in Australia at the hands of a loved one, the 'lucky' ones are just physically abused. In 2014 police were called out to 65,000 domestic violence incidents alone.

The problem stems from the mentality towards domestic violence, and the acceptance that boys will be boys, that it's not that big a deal. Little things like eddie's 'funny' joke creates an atmosphere that this shit is ok. If it was just a once off then it wouldn't be that big a deal, but when these kinds ideas are constantly and subtly reinforced throughout the media and lunch room conversations, they have a literal effect on the people exposed to them. Exactly the same as casual racism.

Freedom of joke speech is a small price to pay to begin to properly address domestic violence, and gender issues in general. If nothing else this situation has brought domestic violence to the forefront which can only be positive.

Remember Kelli Underwood couldn't get through a match without getting chastised for the sound of her voice?
Lets be honest here Kelli underwoods voice is dreadful for a commentator and she sounds like nails against a blackboard

Not sure they'd be able to link it to StKilda but.....

I'm not buying it sorry.
I do not accept that anyone in their right mind considered it was not a Joke.
I do not accept that Wilson was singled out because she was a woman. She was spoken about because of her career as a "Prickley" media personality.
They did not comment on what she should be wearing or anything else that might have sexualised the conversation.
They could just have easily said it about Mark Robinson and no-one would have batted an eyelid.
The now historical "mannequin" issue on the footy show was clearly sexist this is not.

Caroline's media side loves creating this sort of stir and i'm cynical enough to suggest she's actually enjoying making them squirm.

Hell they can make all the fat jokes about Billy Brownless they like and its OK?

Looks like we need to look at the images drawn by satirical cartoonists , and make sure that anything bad they depict is not depicting a female victim.

( PS .. this should not indicate that I do not consider E.M. to be a flog. )

So because she writes articles on players that some don't like we should drown her. Yep its funny for the boys club but imagine some silly kid thinking that is ok. Obviously he might not drown someone but it starts in a small way and can get worse. There is a great advert on TV at the moment showing how violence starts and how it can end up. No idea how fat jokes compare to drowning a person. Bill is fat, caro shouldn't be joked about being drowned.

In the context of the current social awareness of domestic violence, the comments were as intelligent as his comments about Goodes.

Seems like Eddie has it in for her because she stands up to him and he can't cop it. That she is female only exacerbates the problem for reasons stated above.

Bottom line is that the attack was prersonal. Footy show is different because that's what they sign on for. Billy cops it as part of his job and perhaps because they are good mates and hang shit on each other.

Caro is not good mates and wasn't there as part of the "joke". They were discussing the ice challenge and Eddie had his brain fart.

Anyone who says she deserves it because of her job, looks or that she should not find it offensive is ignorant IMO.

So because she writes articles on players that some don't like we should drown her. Yep its funny for the boys club but imagine some silly kid thinking that is ok. Obviously he might not drown someone but it starts in a small way and can get worse. There is a great advert on TV at the moment showing how violence starts and how it can end up. No idea how fat jokes compare to drowning a person. Bill is fat, caro shouldn't be joked about being drowned.

I cannot agree more with this view.

It's like the Goodes booing. This sort of stuff sends out the wrong message to kids and many social ills are embeded in kids by the behaviour of parents and adults from a young age.

I have seen it in my own family where a husband constantly spoke in a demeaning manner to his wife. Lo and behold one day at Christmas, the 17 year old son spoke to her int he same way because he thought it was acceptable and dad had a good laugh. I'm sure it was all in good fun.

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne...e-unacceptable-comment-about-caroline-wilson/

This is also quite interesting, same topic but this time involving Wilson. I'm not defending McGuire here but interesting that it's not offensive if she is part of the fun:

From the link:
Audio of a conversation between Dwayne Russell, Tony Shaw and Caroline Wilson has since emerged which aired during 3AW's Queen’s Birthday Footy broadcast.

Dwayne Russell: We’d have to sell tickets for those who want to push you, Caro, I reckon.

Caroline Wilson: That’s very funny Dwayne. Hysterical.

Tony Shaw: And hold her under Dwayne.

Caroline Wilson: Oh, boys.

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne...e-unacceptable-comment-about-caroline-wilson/

This is also quite interesting, same topic but this time involving Wilson. I'm not defending McGuire here but interesting that it's not offensive if she is part of the fun:

From the link:
Audio of a conversation between Dwayne Russell, Tony Shaw and Caroline Wilson has since emerged which aired during 3AW's Queen’s Birthday Footy broadcast.

Dwayne Russell: We’d have to sell tickets for those who want to push you, Caro, I reckon.

Caroline Wilson: That’s very funny Dwayne. Hysterical.

Tony Shaw: And hold her under Dwayne.

Caroline Wilson: Oh, boys.

Yep she was part of it and said oh boys after Shaw's comments which suggests she thought he went to far. Completely different to others saying it when she wasn't there and wasn't part of the banter.

It's about as real as the chances of Caroline Wilson being forced down a water slide and then held down under the water.

If acting offended makes you feel morally superior then by all means, go ahead my man.

I'm not acting but I do wonder about those who say its ok and I'm not wanting to be morally superior, I'm want to be a normal person who reckons its not funny and pathetic. . Of course people don't think she is going to be drowned. Have you seen those adverts about domestic violence against women? I suppose they are over the top because it doesn't happen like that. Well it does actually and that's the issue.

This is the St Kilda in the Media thread ? Caro or Ed have nothing to with Stkilda, take it somewhere else

I don't think it's funny or pathetic.

I don't think it's anything.

From people I've spoken to I actually find men are more offended by this than women. This is just from people I've heard speaking about it at work and at home.

white-ribbon-day.jpg

If this was said about a male would it be a story? I don't think so.
So violence against males is acceptable?

My point is it shouldn't be a story because she is female, it should be a story because violence is WRONG and unacceptable no matter who you are! Male or female!
No, but these comments don't occur in a vacuum. They occur in a society with a systemic problem of violence against women, with a culture of validating such violence, or at the very least minimising its significance.

Look, I get that when you're saying that violence happens to men AND women, you could mean that to be egalitarian. But in the context of the world today, and throughout history, the fact is that women have been violently suppressed by men for a long, long, long time. Bugger me, we've had a national advertising campaign showing how this kind of crap gets perpetuated through little snide remarks that everybody is influenced by, including kids. These comments represent an example.

Fact is, if you make comments about perpetuating violence against a woman, it will be read within the wider cultural understanding of violence against women (gotta say, part of me wants to write, "Duh..." to that sentence).

They were really only talking about dunking Caro, nobody was really talking about violence. And it was Caro...she has earned a good dunking. And they were joking. But now the hand wringers have got involved and we all have to treat it seriously. What a beat up.

can you honestly imagine them saying the same things about Mark Robinson? Or Patrick Smith? Or any male journalist!?

They wouldn't. If nothing else it would be plain weird, because that kind of one way aggression towards another man is not common place. They might make a joke about having a punch on in the alley or something, but not straight up drowning/dominating someone.

Regardless of that, it's just not on. Domestic violence is a serious issue, on average a woman dies every week in Australia at the hands of a loved one, the 'lucky' ones are just physically abused. In 2014 police were called out to 65,000 domestic violence incidents alone.

The problem stems from the mentality towards domestic violence, and the acceptance that boys will be boys, that it's not that big a deal. Little things like eddie's 'funny' joke creates an atmosphere that this shit is ok. If it was just a once off then it wouldn't be that big a deal, but when these kinds ideas are constantly and subtly reinforced throughout the media and lunch room conversations, they have a literal effect on the people exposed to them. Exactly the same as casual racism.

Freedom of joke speech is a small price to pay to begin to properly address domestic violence, and gender issues in general. If nothing else this situation has brought domestic violence to the forefront which can only be positive.

I'm sort of freaked out that you read that into it. I simply do not agree with you that it was a comment that could only be made by a male towards a woman. Your interpretation.....domination? seems sort of perverted.
There is no link to domestic violence and i'd love to hear a comment from someone qualified as to whether they would expect this sort of joke to trigger such an act.

I'd love to hear your analysis of Emma Watson choosing to appear in Jonah Hill's movie "This is the end" given her ideal's and her role in the movie.

The Answer is : It was a joke.

But that's ok apparently bad taste is ok on movies but not on the Radio. Lucky the Martin Malloy show isn't on anymore.

I'm sort of freaked out that you read that into it. I simply do not agree with you that it was a comment that could only be made by a male towards a woman. Your interpretation.....domination? seems sort of perverted.
There is no link to domestic violence and i'd love to hear a comment from someone qualified as to whether they would expect this sort of joke to trigger such an act.

I'd love to hear your analysis of Emma Watson choosing to appear in Jonah Hill's movie "This is the end" given her ideal's and her role in the movie.

The Answer is : It was a joke.

But that's ok apparently bad taste is ok on movies but not on the Radio. Lucky the Martin Malloy show isn't on anymore.

I don't get this movie stuff. That is make believe. It doesn't mean they are really like the characters they play. And these guys on the radio aren't comedians. They are people paid to speak on footy. And maybe the Mick Malloy show isn't on anymore because times have changed. Why didn't these guys just knock Caro's writing if they don't like her?

It was a joke that HAPPENED to be about a woman.
Yep, a joke validating being violent to a woman. Crazy thought : that might be seen as validating violence against women.

Eddie bullies Caroline Wilson, others join in