Eddie Maguire's future

Jan 27, 2008
By the end of this year Eddie will have resigned from the Collingwood presidency and resigned from Ch. 9.

His future at 9 is untenable after being the Boss and now just being a quiz show host (and being overlooked for Steven Jacobs).

The time is right at the end of this year for him to move on.

At Collingwood there is nothing left for him to do. He has done a sensational job but there isn't much left for him to do. He has set up his succession plan with Gary Pert. Arrocca knew this too. Some would say he should hang around for a flag but that could be 1 year or 20 years away.

What will he do next year?

Some have mentioned the AFL job after Demetriou but he is not qualified or suited for that job in the slightest. Some have mentioned politics, but he would have to be mad...and he's not.

Eddie Maguire will sign with Channel 7 from 2009 onwards with a longterm contract to head its football telecast and be its face and voice of football. He is still very thick with his old mentor Ian Johnson and after a deserved sendoff with this years Olympics, Brucey Macavaney will retire or be retired.

Ch 7 need to start making the most of their massive football investmest and Eddie running the ship, calling matches and hosting a new football show during the week is their answer.

TV is what Eddie is good at and what he loves.

The time is right for Eddie and Ch 7.

I don't see him leaving Nine. And I don't see what Seven would actually gain from hiring him for their AFL coverage.

TV networks are prudent with their money these days. I can't see Seven hiring Eddie McGuire merely for the sake of hiring Eddie McGuire. Seven already has a well established range of "personalities" to host their gameshows.

He's filthy rich. His future is bright no matter what he does.

Eddies future will be ....he.. will be the longest serving football president that will never see a flag....

He will go down in history.....for sure...

anyone know how many years he still needs???

Its an interesting 'What if" but I cant see Eddie at C7. Yes hes Mr Football (as much as someone who never has played the game can be) but hes not interested in calling games from what I can tell.

He spoke for over 20 minutes on FiveAA in Adelaide this week (As part of the the lead up to the Collingwood Adelaide game) and stated that he would not be doing the footy show. This is the show he started and nurtured, if Eddie isnt interested in going back to the Footy show why go to C7?

Tool thread

I would have said tosser but tool fits just as well.

Not sure about the woods but Eddie is Nine through and through and will not leave. Certainly not considering Nine will most likely get the rights back in four years and by then Nine will be entrenched back on top for another thirty years.

I`d rather be green with envy than have a nose as brown as his.

Now now mate. Don't be too hard on Ed.

After all,he's bigger than Jesus Christ himself down at the Lexass shed.

All that arse kissin with the arabs has made Colon-wood the biggest thing in the UAE since oil was discovered in them ol' sand dunes.:p

Now now mate. Don't be too hard on Ed.

After all,he's bigger than Jesus Christ himself down at the Lexass shed.

All that arse kissin with the arabs has made Colon-wood the biggest thing in the UAE since oil was discovered in them ol' sand dunes.:p

Nobby.. it's pronounced.. Lixass..

I call it as I see it when it comes to Eddie, sure he made/makes mistakes. Any Pies supporter that does the rounds of the BB's could see that this week with our interstate brothers and sisters. BUT, he is no Fool our Ed, no fool at all. He uses people that offer themselves up to be used, and he steers clear of those that will question what he does.

Some of the stuff Ed hasn't fixed yet are,
Collingwood Premiership.
Victoria Park and CFC's lack of presence there.
Playing VFL games at Carlton (which is linked the Vic Park).

These are just three things that Ed will want to fix before he even thinks of moving on. Problem is he thinks that all Pies supporters will fall for a few lines on a BB, but the feeling is changing and now Pies supporters want action not another Snow Job.

Maybe that will be his next motto, Eddie ~ Action Man!

By the end of this year Eddie will have resigned from the Collingwood presidency and resigned from Ch. 9.

At Collingwood there is nothing left for him to do. ...........

What will he do next year?
Eddie Maguire will sign with Channel 7 from 2009 onwards with a longterm contract to head its football telecast and be its face and voice of football. He is still very thick with his old mentor Ian Johnson and after a deserved sendoff with this years Olympics, Brucey Macavaney will retire or be retired.
TV is what Eddie is good at and what he loves.

The time is right for Eddie and Ch 7.

I think you need to read this article Caro wrote in yesterdays SMH which was in Fridays Age.

Eddie Staywhere

EDDIE McGuire was crying. It was a sad spring evening for Collingwood in September 2006 because another finals campaign had ended early following a loss to the Western Bulldogs, but that wasn’t the reason for the Magpie president’s tears.

He was standing in the club’s dressing rooms at the MCG when the despondent coach Mick Malthouse turned to McGuire and asked him: "What are you doing? Are you staying or what?"

McGuire couldn’t speak. He walked to an empty annexe to compose himself and never answered Malthouse’s question. The truth was the Collingwood president believed then that he had just completed his final season as president of his beloved club.

James Packer had given him one year to extract himself from the club and that year was closing in....................

"I think I would have regretted it for the rest of my life," he said. It was McGuire’s wife, Carla — the couple celebrated their 11th wedding anniversary in Dubai yesterday before today’s NAB Cup pre-season clash with Adelaide — in the first instance who convinced him not to quit, at least not before he had to. And then the Channel Nine boss and controlling shareholder Packer himself who gave McGuire his blessing to remain at Collingwood, seeing how torn his friend was and how big a sacrifice it would prove.

"James Packer gave me 12 months to put my Collingwood affairs in order (but then) we were about to start putting together the sale of Channel Nine and he just said to me: ‘Don’t give it up’. So in a sense I had the two bosses in my life advising me against doing something I was dreading," McGuire said.

"It was particularly unselfish of Carla given all the time I was spending flying to games every weekend from Sydney but she just said to me one day: ‘It’s the one thing you really love — it’s your great passion. Don’t give it up — you won’t be any better without it.’ "

As much as McGuire takes advice from anyone, he took that advice..........

He said he takes pride in the programs he helped develop such as Underbelly and Canal Road, not to mention his role in Nine winning the rights to host the London Olympics and his on-screen devotion to AFL football, which he firmly believes will ensure Nine wins back the broadcast rights come the end of 2011.....

Having negotiated a staggeringly handsome package from the Nine Network after departing as chief executive last June — a five-year agreement reported to be worth close to $5 million annually — McGuire seems quite genuine in planning his next move but equally genuinely unsure as to what that might be.

He has spoken with both Fairfax and News Ltd regarding a role at one of Melbourne's two major newspapers and he also has met the radio bosses at 3AW, Triple M and SEN. He is also working on some private commercial ventures with Packer.

He has a new office at Channel Nine in Melbourne that was once housed by the sales department but has been expanded and deliberately does not sit on executive row.....

He plans to return to television and says he has four strong ideas, one of which he is confident could have him back on the screen with a new program during 2008. Then there are his places on the boards of Melbourne Major Events, Athletics Australia, the Alfred Hospital and the Trevor Barker Foundation. And Collingwood..........

New Carlton president Richard Pratt swooped and McGuire still feels desperately let down by Swann's decision. Not Malthouse. "Mick has been tremendously supportive of me in the tough times and I'd like to think I have been there for him," he said. "But there's no one I love more than Collingwood and if I thought there would be someone better for the job than him, which I certainly don't now … When I go, it will be the same but that won't be for a while."

That $5mil a year keeps him tied up at ch 9 for 5 years. He might not be on the box but he will be doing stuff at ch 9. A lot like what ch 9 did with Ray Martin for 2 or 3 years. Pay him heaps of money, a reported $2mil a year, but don't give him anything to do until the right project comes up. They did this with Martin between about 98 and 01. Part of the reasoning was to stop ch 7 signing him up and using him in the lead up to the Sydney Olympics. Don't you remember the shit stirring John Saffron did about going to Ray's home and asking him why he was being paid so much but not going to the office.

Also Eddie wants to do the Olympics. He's said it plenty of times. Nine's Comm games coverage was flat without their Melbourne boy heading the coverage. In 2010 he will warm up with hosting the Vancouver winter Olympics and get his go at the 2012 London games, after the Nine/Foxtel bid won the rights last October. They will be in the box seat to get the next lot of Olympics after that. Ch 7 can't offer him anything on that front.

Couldn’t care less what he does at 9 or for that matter 7 or any newspaper. I reckon he is a 9 man though and loyalty is one thing he does have. Whatever it is he does employment wise he will get paid plenty and mindless morons will be jellous.

Eddie will be Collingwood president in 3 years time at least. I am willing to bet plenty on that. He won’t be there forever but he won’t be leaving in hurry. A bloke that works as hard as he does and that remained when posted to Sydney isn’t giving up the gig he loves lightly.

If Collingwood win a flag I reckon he’ll go 12 or 24 months later. If not he could stay a fair while. Either way he will enter the next decade as president of Collingwood.

eddie set up Gary Pert because he thought he was off to a glorious future as Channel nine boss.

Since that was a disaster, I think Eddie will stick to being Collingwood president until they win a flag or he dies of old age..whichever comes first.

He'll do radio commentary to keep his eye in, and hope nine make a good bid for the next TV rights, where he'd be back in the commentary box.

I dont think Eddie would be any chance of being CEO of another company, and his over-exposure probably hurts any parliment ambitions he might have had. Although I think he'd be ideally suited to state politics.
He has an image problem outside of Victoria.

Couldn’t care less what he does at 9 or for that matter 7 or any newspaper. I reckon he is a 9 man though and loyalty is one thing he does have. Whatever it is he does employment wise he will get paid plenty and mindless morons will be jellous.

Eddie will be Collingwood president in 3 years time at least. I am willing to bet plenty on that. He won’t be there forever but he won’t be leaving in hurry. A bloke that works as hard as he does and that remained when posted to Sydney isn’t giving up the gig he loves lightly.

If Collingwood win a flag I reckon he’ll go 12 or 24 months later. If not he could stay a fair while. Either way he will enter the next decade as president of Collingwood.

I can't see him leaving any time soon either. He is so committed to that football club, and it's hard to see anyone doing the job any better than him.

Eddie Maguire's future