Play Nice Eddie McGuire comments on holding Caro Wilson underwater

It was bought up that similar comments were said by Tony Shaw and Dwayne Russell on 3AW. However Caro was sitting next to them and the comments weren't as vindictive and were shut down quickly. In efforts to reduce the pressure on themselves Eddie mentioned what was said on 3AW which lead to Shaw breaking down on air.
But in essence the theme was the same, yes? Men 'joking' about Caro staying under water?

This is the single most reason as to why I believe there is at least a sniff of double standards on this one.

That and the fact it took six days for any commentary to circulate in the public arena, including both Barrett and Hutchy didn't feel it was newsworthy enough to bring up on last week's Footy Classified, yet after all the public commentary they felt they should display the fact they were both appalled at the abhorrent behaviour by McGuire et al during last night's show (whilst they asked Caro the question about the Shaw thing, aside from her commenting that he had a 'nice look in his eyes at the time' she was by no means pressed to explain why it was 'disgraceful' of Eddie to compare the two situations).

Lol 80+ page thread, it was said as a joke. If she wasn't a woman it would be no issue

Caro constantly tries to bring down players and clubs so surely she can cop it back being a scumbag journalist

It's good to know that all poor behavior can be justified by saying "LOL just a joke" at the end of it all

:rainbow:

Lol 80+ page thread, it was said as a joke. If she wasn't a woman it would be no issue

Caro constantly tries to bring down players and clubs so surely she can cop it back being a scumbag journalist

Explain why other "scumbag" journalists weren't used in the pathetic joke.

I might get in trouble for suggesting it from the other girls but something that could force a parent to stay at home, spend time with their child and perhaps produce a better human being would be to triple the cost of childcare.

Mum or dad or other mum or other dad make the choice to stay home.

Childcare tax of 50% added for those who want to work and leave their children during their formative years for the day.

I haven't actually said anything controversial there, but it will trigger latent guilty feelings in people that will be projected onto me.

Such is the nature of public offense dodging.

Spot on my friend.

Everybody wants to have their cake and eat it too. If a couple decides to have children then the opportunity cost associated with that is that they should be paying for childcare, not having it subsidised by the taxpayer. Nobody is forcing people to procreate yet many of those who do believe that childbirth comes with a sense of entitlement. If the female's career is more advanced or important than the male's then the male can always stay home and parent the child. But it seems that people all too often want the benefits that go with extended maternity/paternity leave whilst being able to walk straight back into their careers, often at the expense of people (male or female) who have decided against having children at that time and have put in the hard yards in terms of their own careers.

Far too many people seem to want the big salary, career, houses, cars, all the latest gadgets plus children too. And they are happy to let others make the sacrifice for them to have it.

Spot on my friend.

Everybody wants to have their cake and eat it too. If a couple decides to have children then the opportunity cost associated with that is that they should be paying for childcare, not having it subsidised by the taxpayer. Nobody is forcing people to procreate yet many of those who do believe that childbirth comes with a sense of entitlement. If the female's career is more advanced or important than the male's then the male can always stay home and parent the child. But it seems that people all too often want the benefits that go with extended maternity/paternity leave whilst being able to walk straight back into their careers, often at the expense of people (male or female) who have decided against having children at that time and have put in the hard yards in terms of their own careers.

Far too many people seem to want the big salary, career, houses, cars, all the latest gadgets plus children too. And they are happy to let others make the sacrifice for them to have it.
Yet they don't put in the hard yards of having children so there's a new generation to take the country forward. Christ you're narrow minded.

Your attitude sticks out like dogs balls to anyone who has had children, and or anyone that has lived outside Australia. In the country I live in at the moment a mother is legally entitled to a fully paid year off work to care for a child at a time of their choosing in the child's first 3 years of life. It's not considered entitlement here, it's simply what they think a child needs and it's based on values. Maybe you think parents are some glorified dole bludger, to people here you'd be a total monster.

Yet they don't put in the hard yards of having children so there's a new generation to take the country forward. Christ you're narrow minded.

Your attitude sticks out like dogs balls to anyone who has had children, and or anyone that has lived outside Australia. In the country I live in at the moment a mother is legally entitled to a fully paid year off work to care for a child at a time of their choosing in the child's first 3 years of life. It's not considered entitlement here, it's simply what they think a child needs and it's based on values. Maybe you think parents are some glorified dole bludger, to people here you'd be a total monster.

So you are making the assumption that I don't have children and then you call me narrow minded?

Well done you.

How about you take my post in context before jumping on your soap box? I never intimated that parents are "dole bludgers." I am simply making the point that having children, like everything else in life is a choice. People need to pay for their choices not make decisions and expect others to make the sacrifice to pay for them. It really isn't that hard to understand.

And I will add that nobody is having children with the magnanimous view that it is to take society forward. What utter nonsense. People have children because they want to have children and like anything in life, that comes with a price.
And if people didn't have children society would cease to exist.

While Eddie is Collingwood and Holden is sponsor, I'll never buy another Holden .

Make your choice Holden!

Hitting the wallet is the only thing that seems to have an effect and makes a change.

The most outrageous thing in this whole ordeal is that these guys are paid good money to produce this "humour". Sure, MMM listeners are usually your Slate bourbon can drinking, Nickelback listening, jet ski riding dero's, but surely they can't even find this crap funny? Abysmal attempt at comedy.
lol.

Abysmal attempt at comedy.
Absolutely... but it still was an attempt at comedy (no matter how poor).
Something that occurred on the other station too.

It was bullying.

A group of mates singling out a colleague for their own pleasure.

Wasn't sexist and wasn't promoting domestic violence.

The media flogs now think they are part of the product, guys like Robbo, Derm, Eddie have done the slide so they were chatting about who are the big names left who could do it next year.

Football's First Lady IS one of the bigger names who hasn't gone down the slide. Would get to the point where people would be up in arms if she wasnt considered, as that would be sexist.

When you muck around in the pool you do bomb people, push your mates head under. Does that mean anybody caught bombing a mate or holding their head down is on the slippery slope to violence at home!? Or you just can't bomb a female at the pool anymore?

It was a group of bully's ganging up on one of their favourite targets, that was deplorable in itself and Caro could take that further as it isn't good enough.

Are you being deliberately obtuse?
Are you?

Go on, deny a subconscious primal urge to keep the human race going, despite what terminology you wish to hide it in.

Oh my god.

That's is truly terrifying.

Thankyou for sharing.

I'm showing my. Tech loving daughters. Cheers
I read that article and the first few people it mentioned had done some pretty stupid things. dont agree they should be shamed to oblivion but i guess i can understand it.

This case is is why people like me get so angry at SJW wanting to be more outraged than the next. This is absolutly disgusting.

"I met a man who, in early 2013, had been sitting at a conference for tech developers in Santa Clara, Calif., when a stupid joke popped into his head. It was about the attachments for computers and mobile devices that are commonly called dongles. He murmured the joke to his friend sitting next to him, he told me. “It was so bad, I don’t remember the exact words,” he said. “Something about a fictitious piece of hardware that has a really big dongle, a ridiculous dongle. . . . It wasn’t even conversation-level volume.”

Moments later, he half-noticed when a woman one row in front of them stood up, turned around and took a photograph. He thought she was taking a crowd shot, so he looked straight ahead, trying to avoid ruining her picture. It’s a little painful to look at the photograph now, knowing what was coming.

The woman had, in fact, overheard the joke. She considered it to be emblematic of the gender imbalance that plagues the tech industry and the toxic, male-dominated corporate culture that arises from it. She tweeted the picture to her 9,209 followers with the caption: “Not cool. Jokes about . . . ‘big’ dongles right behind me.” Ten minutes later, he and his friend were taken into a quiet room at the conference and asked to explain themselves. A day later, his boss called him into his office, and he was fired."

Im not comparing this to what eddie has done but the mentality of ganging up on someone and want retrubution for being offended is ridiculous.

"you hurt my feelings, therefore you need to be punished to the point your life is turned upside down".

can we take a ****ing breath?

While Eddie is Collingwood and Holden is sponsor, I'll never buy another Holden .

Make your choice Holden!

Hitting the wallet is the only thing that seems to have an effect and makes a change.
So, you won't buy another Holden because of what Eddie said unless he is sacked (you probably drive a crappy Kia), but you didn't care that Holden shut up shop for overseas slave labour. Nice work! :thumbsu:

It actually got worse overnight.

Poor Emma Quayle of all people. A couple of mindless flogs decided it was a good idea to launch a Twitter tirade on here about all of this.

This is just not on. It seems that some people are still neanderthals about the whole thing.

What a sad world we live in.

Of course there are still people out there who are racist, sexist pigs who will come out of the woodwork to give it to people who don't think their way. They have grown up that way and as the old saying goes, you cant teach an old dog new tricks.Those people wont change their ways. Its the next generations that we need to get on the right path.

However, there are also people out there that want to turn everything into: every man is a sexist pig, every white man is a racist, im offended I must be heard. they all have this one-eyed agenda and it doesn't help the problem, it just creates a bigger divide. Nothing pisses me off more than people who paints everyone with the same brush for the actions of a few.

Eddie & co stuffed up, I heard it live and thought it was a weird thing to say. Heck even Wayne Carey made sure he made it clear he wasn't in on it, that should have been a warning to all something wasn't right. What they said was in jest, none of them wants to hurt/drown caro but it cant be said like that in todays age. But too turn in into the massive issue it is now is just ridiculous. A simple apology is all that is required and move on.

Then I hear today some woman wants all the presidents to have a meeting about violence against woman because of what was said. That is ridiculous and the kind of over the top reaction that creates a greater divide than help.

Play Nice Eddie McGuire comments on holding Caro Wilson underwater