Eddie McGuire makes on-air gaffe about Adam Goodes and King Kong

hahaha, surely no more sooking about racism please, weve heard enough, indigenous round is over chumps.
Racist much? Why is discussing racism sooking? Although I think that neither incident had any racist intent I can understand them being taken that way.
Ever tried to get a key cut in Japan.

what do you think is worse, racism that is said and not meant or racism that is meant but not said? Someone made this point on triple m this morning, it's probably the most relevant thing I've heard on the topic so far.
Well there's a top-notch example of a false dichotomy.Racial discrimination is racial discrimination. No exceptions.

The girl's comment was incredibly offensive to indigenous people, particularly in a round supposedly celebrating their immense contribution to the game.

The girl may have been ignorant of the significance when she uttered it, but she's not now, nor are possibly thousands of others who were unaware of the historical record of "scientific" categorisation of aboriginals as sub-human.

I predict she's going to grow to be a significant community leader. She'll have plenty of support too. Goodes handled it with firmness, empathy, compassion and dignity.

The problem is, in a two way exchange, political correctness only wants to walk in the shoes of one party; and then demand that the other party also wear those same shoes for the rest of their lives.

In my opinion, people who scoff and use the term " political correctness" to deflect their own mistakes or prejudices are ignorant fools who will never be able to walk in another's shoes simply because they dare not to

I was living in the Kimberley when Rudd made his famous bleeding heart apology. The first I heard/noticed about the apology from any aboriginal was a kid wearing a tshirt that said, "sorry" on the front and "about your face" on the back. Indigenous people aren't all crying into their pillow every night about their circumstances and something mean someone might have once said to them...

I don't know any Large Aboriginals with beards mate, and i'm mature enough to know using that term towards a large Aboriginal probably wouldn't be great for my health, but i often use the term to describe hairy white people, my mother calls me a big hairy ape all the time purely because i'm a large man who rarely shaves, 13 year olds are children remember, sometimes they don't think through what they say, i'd like to think we haven't become so precious towards the subject that we can't give a child the benefit of the doubt.
How many white people do you know whose grandparents were considered by the scientists of the day to be closer to apes than humans?

I dont like Eddie but for god sakes everyone needs to chill out, what he said was stupid yes but everyone makes mistakes. Everyone needs to take a deep breath and get over it.
Say that to those Collingwood members who've been outed publically and have had their memberships revoked by Mr "zero tolerance" Eddie

Well there's a top-notch example of a false dichotomy.Racial discrimination is racial discrimination. No exceptions.

The girl's comment was incredibly offensive to indigenous people, particularly in a round supposedly celebrating their immense contribution to the game.

The girl may have been ignorant of the significance when she uttered it, but she's not now, nor are possibly thousands of others who were unaware of the historical record of "scientific" categorisation of aboriginals as sub-human.

I predict she's going to grow to be a significant community leader. She'll have plenty of support too. Goodes handled it with firmness, empathy, compassion and dignity.

I never referred to any exceptions, so don't suggest otherwise. I compared two scenarios and it wasn't even my own comparison - if you read the entire post there was a reason why I referred to it too.

I completely agree with the rest of what you've written, after the first sentence.

McGuire: "I made a comment and will resign if the board tells me to"

Evans: "Terrible and possibly illegal things were happening while I've been in charge. I'll nominate for re-election"

McGuire at least takes complete responsibility. Evans just pretends he is. You wouldn't buy a car off Evans.
Don't let facts get in the way of the story. Evans offered to walk straight away, had his resignation refused 2 times prior and then offered to put himself up for reelection because he wanted to make himself accountable and had no other way as his resignation was previously refused.

There is some good to come of this though.

When I first heard of it I cacked myself. Completely cracked up, laughing like a drain. It was because Eddie completely and utterly revealed his flawed self. Just like me, just like everyone. He had a monumental phosphorescent David Brent moment on the podium of public approbation.

Like most, I have made a total gig of myself more times than you can poke a stick at. Less so now that I have given up the turps, but since I'm a nobody, the circle of pain was minimal.

Eddie (Gawd bless him for the laugh) just has to go. When the concentric ripples turn tidal and tsunamic......it's friggin obvious. Shame, but there you have it.

I don't know any Large Aboriginals with beards mate, and i'm mature enough to know using that term towards a large Aboriginal probably wouldn't be great for my health, but i often use the term to describe hairy white people, my mother calls me a big hairy ape all the time purely because i'm a large man who rarely shaves, 13 year olds are children remember, sometimes they don't think through what they say, i'd like to think we haven't become so precious towards the subject that we can't give a child the benefit of the doubt.
"Ape" is an offensive way to describe indigenous people & people of African descent because historically that word was used to mean they were primitive, stupid, and sub-human. And that's exactly how they were treated.

When your mum says, "C'mere and gimme a kiss, you big ape," it's not offensive because it's completely free from those meanings.

I really, really doubt the 13-yo used the word in an affectionate way.

Maybe in your opinion mate, not mine, Goodes made a fool of himself IMO and the mainstream media made him out to be some sort of hero, and chances are he misunderstood what the girl meant by the comment, he called the girl a racist on prime time national television, are you telling me you're 100% certain the girl meant the comment to be racial?

I never referred to any exceptions, so don't suggest otherwise. I compared two scenarios and it wasn't even my own comparison - if you read the entire post there was a reason why I referred to it too.

I completely agree with the rest of what you've written, after the first sentence.
OK, I was referrring to what I incorrectly saw as an attempt to downplay one form of racism as less poisonous.

Sorry if I misunderstood, cheers.

No, we can only correlate a story with total confidence with first hand accounts, or written documents made by contemporaries....

Well there is and there isn't

We can be totally confident that Edward the II of England existed.
We cannot be totally confident that he died of starvation. EDIT: Or smothered. Can't remember now, but he either died one of these ways or one much more horrible.

Other members of history we cannot be totally certain of their existence, but it may be possible (Jesus of Nazareth for example). The reason is we don't have any contemporary accounts of his existence or archaelogical evidence of his existence.

In Edward the II's case we have both.

Yes, but you're talking here about a historical fact, and facts do not constitute a historical narrative, or to use your words, 'story'.

That Edward II lived and died tells us nothing; his life must be placed within its proper context, narrative, whatever you want to call it.

And by the way, I don't see how you can believe Edward II existed with such certainty but not Jesus. The source material is different, but it is there.

Maybe in your opinion mate, not mine, Goodes made a fool of himself IMO and the mainstream media made him out to be some sort of hero, and chances are he misunderstood what the girl meant by the comment, he called the girl a racist on prime time national television, are you telling me you're 100% certain the girl meant or the comment to be racial?
No, I'm not. Read my 3rd par again.

How many white people do you know whose grandparents were considered by the scientists of the day to be closer to apes than humans?
EDDIE McGuire is of course a bigger racist than the 13-year-old girl he helped to smear last week. But I blame the AFL's Indigenous Round.
First, let's compare. On Friday, a 13-year-old Collingwood fan at the football with her Nan shouts "ape" at bearded Sydney player Adam Goodes.
She said later she did not mean the word in a racist way and tried to apologise when she was told he was upset. Yet this girl, as old as my year 7 son, was pointed out by Goodes to security staff, who marched her out of the stadium.
She was grilled by police for two hours, initially without her grandmother present, and threatened with charges. Her face was shown on national TV and she was publicly branded a racist.
On Saturday Goodes absurdly declared "racism had a face - and it was a 13-year-old girl".
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/op...he-game-of-footy/story-fni0ffxg-1226653250191

Guess i'm not the only one who thinks Goodes may have overreacted.

Don't let facts get in the way of the story. Evans offered to walk straight away, had his resignation refused 2 times prior and then offered to put himself up for reelection because he wanted to make himself accountable and had no other way as his resignation was previously refused.

In true BigFooty spirit, I prefer the good story! Please take your truth elsewhere :)

*Post ignorant comment about racism. Complain that it's PC gone mad to cloak your inherent racism.

*Receive Like from DogDays.

*Feel vindicated by fellow moron and continue to display ignorance.

*Explain that white fella can also be big and hairy, over and over while continuing to miss the point entirely.

When I first thought about the notion of him resigning I thought it was a bollocks idea. But after further thought I'm a bit conflicted.

For staying:
I don't think resignation is an appropriate punishment for this given well publicized good deeds he's done for racial acceptance over the years. Plus, if you're talking about punishment, the man is clearly genuine in his remorse and he's already copping left right and center - as he should.

For resigning:
On the other hand however, I don't understand how he can fairly have a Collingwood fan's membership revoked after a racial slur at the footy anymore. It would be especially hypocritical if him to do so if he still gets to keep his place at the club after he commits the same offence - on a national broadcaster no less.

What? If you read the rest of my posts on this issue, I am refering only to specific events. Which is why when we teach 50 000 years of Aboriginal Culture you can only teach culture, a few myths and legends but that doesn't amount to much class time. Especially compared to 200 years of written evidence regarding specific events by multiple souces.

But thanks for giving me a prefect scenario to prove my point.

How much are people taught about the stone age in England compared to post dark ages history? The stone ages lasted probably 40 000 years at least there, while post dark age history has only lasted 1000 years. How much more do we know, and therefore which one gets more of a look in at schools in England do you think post dark age society and history gets?

I think you know the answer
What you originally said:

Aboriginals do not have a written history. You can't teach kids off blank pages.

I'm not sure if that sentence is badly worded, but surely you can understand why people would take issue with it? You know, that's the sort of wrongheaded thinking that was used to justify terra nullius...
You have then continued to argue that what you said was factually correct, while failing to understand how some of your arguments may be viewed. Like i said, perhaps it was just badly worded.

While i can understand that it is quite difficult to teach a detailed version of Aboriginal history prior to white settlement, i do find it hard to believe that enough emphasis is put on the teaching of Aboriginal history in schools full stop. Perhaps this is just my experience of the Qld education system, but i seriously doubt that enough time is spent on teaching indigenous history, and on looking at the history of this country from more than one perspective.

Eddie McGuire makes on-air gaffe about Adam Goodes and King Kong