EDFL Division 2 2016

I was also at the KP vs RP game and most of what you say is true particularly about the way the game was played. Pretty sure the scoreboard was close to accurate for all of the evening which showed a win to RP by 6 points at the end of the game. KP led by less than a goal at half time and a 4 goal to 2 goal third quarter to RP meant they led at three quarter time by a couple goals. The last quarter had KP scoring 2 goals and RP only one. This shows the result should have gone to RP. It appears the goal umpires have recorded the incorrect scores. Heard someone saying one goal umpire at three quarter time had overruled the other with scores in that quarter - maybe the third quarter scores had been recorded to the wrong teams. I believe the live scores has RPs final score lower than their three quarter time score. Not sure how that can happen.

KP win by 6 pts in a close tussle. Bit of confusion after the game as the scoreboard was not manned property and the scores showed KP 66 v RP 72 on the siren. However the goal umpires convened in the middle of the ground and added things up and said KP by 6pts.
It was ordinary on a big night and a big crowd that the scoreboard was not updated during the qrt, but even worse was seeing a Roxy player and a couple of supporters very close to the umpires argueing the point. I think the Roxy player was reported by the goal umpire and the league won't tolerate that behaviour. Now when the scores are 58 a piece at 3/4 time and KP kick the first 2 goals of the last qrt that's already 70pts. Oh well it's div2 and maybe some people just like to argue but surely someone from both teams knew who actually won and the goal umpires are the final decision not a kid in a scoreboard. The medals went to KP #52 and RP #7.
The game was close all game and played in good spirits by both teams. In the end I think the difference was KP players willingness to go in harder and put there head over the ball more than the Roxy players as well as playing more direct footy through the middle when Roxy always seemed to go wide. The last qrt was a bit scrappy.
It was disappointing to see a lot of supporters bringing there own alcohol and some of the language on the hill behind the goals was pretty disgusting. Then after the game when teams were waiting for the presentation of the medal some idiot comes running in and yelling some disgusting words. Seriously it's about time these people are kicked out of clubs as it doesn't take much for something to flare up after a tight game played in good spirits.

Are KP seroius contenders now they have knocked off MV and Roxy. They are very courageous and have players who are composed when it matters.

I thought the umpires were good and controlled the game well. And the goal umpire was very cool after the game in a tense situation..
Was at the game also Turbo think you'll find the third quarter when Roxy gained control
Roxy kicked 4 goals
KP kicking the 2
Goal umpires have pulled another 2 out
Even KP team manager admitted they'd made an error

Was at the game also Turbo think you'll find the third quarter when Roxy gained control
Roxy kicked 4 goals
KP kicking the 2
Goal umpires have pulled another 2 out
Even KP team manager admitted they'd made an error

I'm not sure goal umpires would cheat mate. I must admit I didn't pay close attention to goals kicked in the 3rd qrt as I got stuck into 2 of those hamburgers, but thought Roxy kicked 4 goals but think KP kicked 3. I did walk past the centre of the ground at 3/4 time and someone mentioned it was a draw at 58 a piece.
To be honest mate I didn't hear much complaining from the Roxy coaching staff or senior officials so guessing they might have known the result didn't go there way. They were very good in the way they managed the situation and should be applauded for not carry on. It was more a small number of supporters but It was the scoreboard that caused all the issues so it's disappointing that was not kept updated to reflect the true scores on a big day/game. Players do look at the scoreboard so that caused all the confusion as Roxy players thought they had won, but so did a few KP players. Could do with a light on the scoreboard as it was difficult to see.
But Lets be honest umpires or officials wouldn't cheat. Anyway as I said the game was played in good spirits by both clubs. Bit of a scrappy contest with some good old fashion footy. Thought the game flowed well.

With regards to Roxy's chances this year they will need to find a ruckman I reckon to have any chance. They look OK for mids & smalls but there ruckman struggled. The KP ruckman got awarded the medal and played ok I guess. He did seem to play most of the game in the ruck so has good fitness. Though the ex KP coach Loui played a reasonable game for Roxy but did give away a couple of free kicks. But his endeavour was good..

Good wrap up boys. Definitely a massive talking point regarding the scoreboard and final scores in that game. Will the league step in and make sure someone looks after the scoreboard each match the same way they do for umpire escorts, timekeepers etc etc. it seems logical.

Seems like an interesting week in Div 2 footy this week. Plenty of positives all round

I'm not sure goal umpires would cheat mate. I must admit I didn't pay close attention to goals kicked in the 3rd qrt as I got stuck into 2 of those hamburgers, but thought Roxy kicked 4 goals but think KP kicked 3. I did walk past the centre of the ground at 3/4 time and someone mentioned it was a draw at 58 a piece.
To be honest mate I didn't hear much complaining from the Roxy coaching staff or senior officials so guessing they might have known the result didn't go there way. They were very good in the way they managed the situation and should be applauded for not carry on. It was more a small number of supporters but It was the scoreboard that caused all the issues so it's disappointing that was not kept updated to reflect the true scores on a big day/game. Players do look at the scoreboard so that caused all the confusion as Roxy players thought they had won, but so did a few KP players. Could do with a light on the scoreboard as it was difficult to see.
But Lets be honest umpires or officials wouldn't cheat. Anyway as I said the game was played in good spirits by both clubs. Bit of a scrappy contest with some good old fashion footy. Thought the game flowed well.

With regards to Roxy's chances this year they will need to find a ruckman I reckon to have any chance. They look OK for mids & smalls but there ruckman struggled. The KP ruckman got awarded the medal and played ok I guess. He did seem to play most of the game in the ruck so has good fitness. Though the ex KP coach Loui played a reasonable game for Roxy but did give away a couple of free kicks. But his endeavour was good..

Well it's a little bit funny when every single person around the game including both team managers, both time keepers, both benches, the scoreboard and 1 goal umpire had the same score and they go with the male goal umpires result ?

from what i could hear from behind the fence, roxy will contest. An investigation will occur and the correct result will come out.

I see Keilor Park have found there mysterious other 3 goal kickers. number 25 barely got a kick let alone snagged a goal

the only thing that ruins good games of footy week in week out are the people in orange

Hey mate, I Watched the entire game and watched all bar the 3rd quarter on my own. I then ventured out onto the ground after the game and looked in from the outside. Let's be totally honest here I'm not sure the majority of players, officials or supporters from both sides knew who won except probably the team managers and the goal umpires. In the end the final result is alway via the goal umpires. There wasn't a lot of anger coming from the Roxy senior officials so I think everyone knew it was a close result. Officials from Both sides should be applauded for the way they went about there business after the game and I thought the presentation from both coaches showed true class and respect for each other. Also both presidents handled the tense situation well. There was a great turn out from both clubs and I'm sure "true" footy supporters would have enjoying watching the close tussle. It's great to see close results just a shame it ended that way with the scoreboard. I also think the way KP officials and players handled the victory upon the offical result should be commended. There was a minor celebration but no carry on which was very respectful towards to all involved.
It's does seem like Roxy are moving forward and with players like #11 leading the way will only improve the place. I think at 1 stage of the last quarter he told supporters behind the goals to refrain from using foul language towards the opposition team for no reason..

Hey Tnarg, do Roxy have any players out? I don't follow this division on a Saturday other than check the scores but Roxy need a ruckman and probably 1 or 2 key forwards to at least provide a target. I believe KP have 3-4 senior players to come back in. Having #52 in the ruck released #13 to really control the defence. He was to big & strong for the Roxy forwards. Even on the ground he was getting the ball with ease. In the end mate, KP were more physical at the 50/50 contests and showed more composure I thought.

Hey mate, I Watched the entire game and watched all bar the 3rd quarter on my own. I then ventured out onto the ground after the game and looked in from the outside. Let's be totally honest here I'm not sure the majority of players, officials or supporters from both sides knew who won except probably the team managers and the goal umpires. In the end the final result is alway via the goal umpires. There wasn't a lot of anger coming from the Roxy senior officials so I think everyone knew it was a close result. Officials from Both sides should be applauded for the way they went about there business after the game and I thought the presentation from both coaches showed true class and respect for each other. Also both presidents handled the tense situation well. There was a great turn out from both clubs and I'm sure "true" footy supporters would have enjoying watching the close tussle. It's great to see close results just a shame it ended that way with the scoreboard. I also think the way KP officials and players handled the victory upon the offical result should be commended. There was a minor celebration but no carry on which was very respectful towards to all involved.
It's does seem like Roxy are moving forward and with players like #11 leading the way will only improve the place. I think at 1 stage of the last quarter he told supporters behind the goals to refrain from using foul language towards the opposition team for no reason..

Hey Tnarg, do Roxy have any players out? I don't follow this division on a Saturday other than check the scores but Roxy need a ruckman and probably 1 or 2 key forwards to at least provide a target. I believe KP have 3-4 senior players to come back in. Having #52 in the ruck released #13 to really control the defence. He was to big & strong for the Roxy forwards. Even on the ground he was getting the ball with ease. In the end mate, KP were more physical at the 50/50 contests and showed more composure I thought.

looked like a few key forwards out for roxy, seen on the side lines

image.jpg Someone explain to me why this happened if they were live scores and Roxy were on 58 at 3qt then finished on 56 at the end of the game?

View attachment 239627 Someone explain to me why this happened if they were live scores and Roxy were on 58 at 3qt then finished on 56 at the end of the game?

Same thing happened last week with BH, it's just an error made by the person who is providing the scores. The final scores posted up are always the official scores

View attachment 239627 Someone explain to me why this happened if they were live scores and Roxy were on 58 at 3qt then finished on 56 at the end of the game?

Yes I agree it doesn't seem right. I think it was 58 each at 3qrt time as heard someone confirm this who appeared to be updating the iPad for the web and the scoreboard changed to 58-58 each. Think it should be 71 to 68 at the final siren. I think Roxy kicked 1:4 in the last and KP kicked 2:1.
In the end bad kicking from Roxy as they did kick a lot of behinds.

13062362_867191770056384_333234742621819830_n.jpg

Even if your correct and they scored 4 goals mate they still lose by 3 or so points.
i have kp 2 goals which is quite wierd, has roxy been robbed the 4 points. hopefully this can be fixed surely. this will be the biggest talking point for weeks to come.

i have kp 2 goals which is quite weird, has roxy been robbed the 4 points. hopefully this can be fixed surely. this will be the biggest talking point for weeks to come.
hopefully this doesn't effect their mind set next week coming up against the bottom team. will be watching ek kp next week, will watch the score very closely!

I hope your not implying that KP has anything to do with the scores. At the end of the day the goal umpires are the EDFL officials who keep the score. It seems like one big mess.

This is bouncing back & forth but in a respectful manner. The mess was the scoreboard was not correctly manned so I'm not sure who was doing this from KP but quite often it's kids. It was lucky one goal umpire was a senior goal umpire and he appeared to have total control but was frustrated by the constant people around around him.
I'm not sure Roxy lost it due to an umpire error but they did get a player yellow carded which doesn't help in a tight game. I couldn't see what happened as it was at CHF at the clubroom end.
Anyway let's move on and let it get sorted if it goes to the league, but either way the scoreboards must be kept up to date.. It would be great if each club had an electronic scoreboard to make it easier.
Good conversation though boys, but I must move on now. Lol

I was under the understanding that if both goal umpires can't agree then they go to the time keepers as they also keep the score. Did this happen? Did they have the same score as either goal umpire if so then I think they shall be deemed the winner.

I was at the game and standing next to the Roxburgh Park coaches box and from what I could hear and see was their assistant coach and someone else, who may have been their stats man keeping score. As some confusion over the scores became apparent at 3/4 time, I heard them all check their scores along with the Team Manager and all their score cards had Roxy 8.10.58 to KP 6.10.46, which also matched the scoreboard. In the last quarter Roxy kicked 2 goals to KP's 3, giving the win to Roxy. Credit to the Roxburgh Park players & officials for keeping their cool during the after game presentations but as I walked to the Roxy change rooms after the game and hung around their door I could hear that they were convinced that something did not smell right and were absolutely filthy with what had just occurred. A call to the EDFL would be made first thing this morning and an appeal for an investigation would be lodged was what I could hear. Collect all the official score cards and team sheets and match them up would be the logical starting point.

Burnside surprised a few on the weekend i think. A lot more effort and hunger for the contest then has obviously been shown in the last few weeks. Good to see a somewhat more competitive score/deficit.

KP looking real good this year from all reports.

EDFL Division 2 2016