EDFL moves

Macca29 said:
I heard that's how Douttas were running the B&F this year. A little weird and out there but not a bad system IMO. I totally agree on the consistency part and who conducted the voting. Club B&F's can be a little biased at times especially if the bloke with the card has his favourites. Not saying that coaches don't but they are more up with roles blokes have been given on the day. For example, someone given a run with role and has minimal touches on the day but cuts his opponent out of the game. Only the coaching fraternity would generally be up on this and would reward the player for his effort.

On another note, Well done Docs on the B&F - has had a tremedous year and has been runner up on many occasions. Is this his first club B&F Bricksta or G Ghost or has he previously won it. Anyway, well done and well deserved Docs. Champion bloke and terrific footballer still.

The guy is a Superstar...

• First time winner
  • runner up 6 or 8 times not sure
  • Team of century member
And one of the best blokes a guy would want to be friends with and to have around a club

Still gets heaps of it and uses it well although he was a little handball happy on Saturday they say.....:p

The G Ghost said:
Guys, just thought I'd post the results of Douttas A-grade B&F that was counted on Sunday.
  • Paul Docherty - 1st -
  • Aaron Ramsey - 2nd -
  • Simon Elsum - 3rd -
The voting was done on a rating basis, whereby each player was given a rating out of 10 for each game played. Votes were awarded by the Senior and Assistant coach. Might have surprised a few that there was no appearance in the top 3 for Hollow, Carey, or Laverde, but the way it was voted meant that you were awarded for consistency over the year if you played each game. Those boys missed a couple through injury. A good effort by Docherty with the class of players surrounding him.

Great system that definitely rewards consistency:thumbsu: - Bascially can't afford to miss a game.....

sticks04 said:
Great system that definitely rewards consistency:thumbsu: - Bascially can't afford to miss a game.....

Did you miss many games Sticks throughout your career

bricksta said:
Come on Sticks what are you saying Sat nights at the Keilor then off to cactus wasnt a good recovery?

Wasn't it club EG's then Cactus.

sticks04 said:

Rewards no injuries not consistency IMO. I wouldn't want to win one where I played pretty consistently over 18 but the team's real stars/matchwinners might have missed games with injury/ies over the year. Award is B&F not "Played every game".

Bit quiet on here boys wheres all the finals talk hype: Ins and outs, injuries and match ups for the big games this weekend, really looking forward to having a look at some A Grade footy on sunday down at Keilor (just down the road which is always good), heard alot about the super immortal team of Strathmore so will b good to c them in action although i think it will b a good tight contest, the Stars can't b underestimated with alot of quality players they have themselves. Congrats to Docs on winning the B&F good bloke and heart and soul of the place none more deserving,

Anyways onto my tips:
Greenvale over Keilor by 20 pts (can't right off Keilor tho)
Strathmore over Doutta Stars by 10 pts (as stated above)

As for B Grade:

West Coburg over Marby Park by 2 pts (right down to the wire)
Pascoe Vale over Airport West by 18pts (Pacco have surprised me this year and will do so again on saturday)

All the best to all players playing this weekend and stay injury free

bricksta said:
The guy is a Superstar...

• First time winner
  • runner up 6 or 8 times not sure
  • Team of century member
And one of the best blokes a guy would want to be friends with and to have around a club

Still gets heaps of it and uses it well although he was a little handball happy on Saturday they say.....:p

Its been a big year for you Bricksta, you've gone from interested onlooker who lives near by and watched a few games, to bigfootys own doutta star analysist, who has the best and fairest winner amongst his best friends, its time to reveal your true identity brickman

Therussian said:
Its been a big year for you Bricksta, you've gone from interested onlooker who lives near by and watched a few games, to bigfootys own doutta star analysist, who has the best and fairest winner amongst his best friends, its time to reveal your true identity brickman

Come on Russian...

I am an interested On looker who has become friends with some of the blokes
Just worry about Strathmore mate and we will see you down at Keilor on Sunday...

Ubiquitous said:
Rewards no injuries not consistency IMO. I wouldn't want to win one where I played pretty consistently over 18 but the team's real stars/matchwinners might have missed games with injury/ies over the year. Award is B&F not "Played every game".
I think the system rewards players who get themselves through every game, and performs at a consistent level. Those awarding the votes have expectations of players, and they are given votes depending on whether they did what was asked of them. I understand that if a 'Star' has been injured he misses out on votes but that's the case with whatever system is used. If the 'Star' has earnt enough votes through consistently playing at a high level, missing one/two games over the year shouldn't harm their chances. If a tagger/defender who stops their opponent each week wouldn't get a vote with the 1-2-3 votes systems, this system gives everyone a chance to earn votes for each performance. Doutta's had a defender who kept Harvey down to 2 bags of 2 goals, he was awarded 7 votes on both occasions because of nullifying Harvey, why give him 1 vote if he's efforts where as valuable as Laverde's 30 possessions. Fair system for everyone.

The G Ghost said:
I think the system rewards players who get themselves through every game, and performs at a consistent level. Those awarding the votes have expectations of players, and they are given votes depending on whether they did what was asked of them. I understand that if a 'Star' has been injured he misses out on votes but that's the case with whatever system is used. If the 'Star' has earnt enough votes through consistently playing at a high level, missing one/two games over the year shouldn't harm their chances. If a tagger/defender who stops their opponent each week wouldn't get a vote with the 1-2-3 votes systems, this system gives everyone a chance to earn votes for each performance. Doutta's had a defender who kept Harvey down to 2 bags of 2 goals, he was awarded 7 votes on both occasions because of nullifying Harvey, why give him 1 vote if he's efforts where as valuable as Laverde's 30 possessions. Fair system for everyone.

very interesting Ghost who was the defender that kept harvey to 2 bags of 2?

Can anyone tell me how Lagozzino went at the tribunal last night? Does anyone know if Greenvale have any injury worries?