EDFL moves

The subject was on the agenda. Five clubs are willing for it to go ahead, which according to the EDFL is one less than the numbers they believe needed for a viable comp. They have "closed the books" on the subject until February/March just in case numbers improve and will obvioulsy bring it up in the next President's and Secretaries meeting.

I see that as highly unlikely as a Board Member told me that of the five only 2 or 3 in actuality currently have the player numbers. Remember the five nominating clubs were only giving "an expression of interest".

More disconcerting at the end of the night was the EDFL President's thought that with the state of grounds due to water restrictions, there is a very real possibility of a shortened season. ie. possibly a ten week competition. A decision won't be made until closer to April 07 but it's looking grim. Let's hope there's plenty of rain over the summer!

That would have to be the biggest news posted on this thread.
Its going to be a long winter if I can only escape from the missus for ten weeks!

The EDFL AGM was last night and some very important notes in relation to the 2007 season and the affect the current drought may have on it. It was noted that a number of councils have already instructed football clubs to avoid training on their grounds (e.g. Strathmore) and to find alternate venues. It was also noted that the league may in fect delay the start of the season or possibly shorten it to approx. 10 rounds if there isn't a considerable amount of rain from now until April. If the opposite occurs and there is too much rain, the season may still be delayed or shortened as councils don't want the grounds to be chopped up and would have to be resurfaced.

Its going to be a long winter if I can only escape from the missus for ten weeks![/quote]

MEMO: ALL BIG FOOTY USERS

If the season is shortened or cancelled DO NOT tell the misses!!!!
There is no reason why we can't spend Saturday arvos at the local if we stick together.

Its going to be a long winter if I can only escape from the missus for ten weeks!

There is no reason why we can't spend Saturday arvos at the local if we stick together.[/quote]

i like the sound of that.

here is the top 10 at the end of 07
duttas
strathmore
abers
greenvale
kielor
kielor park
criagieburn
oak park
AH
WC

Mercs was a huge bonus to the APW football club.He was never going to be the prime recruit but his presence gave the whole club an enormous boost in many ways.He played for peanuts and gave the club's younger brigade someone to look up to. The same can be said for guy's like Barclay, Martin,Collier,Verrall and Pappa.These player's are at the club for the right reasons and will play a huge part in the future of the APW footy club! I just hope that others follow in their footsteps and we may see a club work their way into the A Grade competition in the near future without having to fork out big dollars. Never have been a fan of buying one day wonders and I hope that trend continues.Give us another season Mercs.I don't think you realise just how much our club appreciated your presence:thumbsu:
yeh maybe 6 years ago. wake up mate. u must b over 50 years old. its not old school any more. u talk about a grade like .....oh where there. then what old fella, u either find 150k to b a chance to win in a grade finals and do it with local boys.... not this comp mate. go play rdfl.no more cinderalla storys in this comp any more.pay or piss off its that simple.

Don't be surprised if oak park don't go so well this year. Rumours out of the club a few big names leaving.
No rumours Albones is gawn and there arnt much bigger names than that at Oakers and am yet to hear of any signings worth mentioning. I also fear they might struggle but they have had good depth in there ressies and good juniors but might not be enough to keep them from being in B grade come 08.

yeh maybe 6 years ago. wake up mate. u must b over 50 years old. its not old school any more. u talk about a grade like .....oh where there. then what old fella, u either find 150k to b a chance to win in a grade finals and do it with local boys.... not this comp mate. go play rdfl.no more cinderalla storys in this comp any more.pay or piss off its that simple.

Crawl back under your rock you illiterate creep! And whatever age I may be I would have forgotten more than you would ever know about football. Regardless the players I mentioned would be welcome at any club in any senior competirion. Oh and by the way someone found your slipper (Cinderalla) in a Gay Bar:eek:

Any truth in the Rumour, Wilson from Greenvale to Doutta's....ramsay moving on??

Also Keilor has recruited Bailey from Clayton, won comp B&F and also club B&F...best mates with Lee Picioane, speaking to the local Real Estate agent from Brad Teals, numbers have been good, 6 very good unders 18's from last year coming thru...:thumbsu:

Don't be surprised if oak park don't go so well this year. Rumours out of the club a few big names leaving.
True, heard a rumour the J.Smedley returning back to Jacana to play with his mates.
Talking about states of grounds. I drove past Jacana training on Weds night and couldn't believe how good the ground was looking. Soft luss green grass all over both grounds. Anyone training at Jacana confirm this?

There is no reason why we can't spend Saturday arvos at the local if we stick together.[/quote]
hahahha I'm with you champ,do we have to take our football gear with us ?:D

Where will Oak park finish this year...

What i heard over the last few weeks its not going to be good at Oak Park.Alot off players are leaving.A couple to West Meodows and to Doutta Stars.Might be back to B grade, I hope not.Can some one shed some light whats going on dwn their?

True, heard a rumour the J.Smedley returning back to Jacana to play with his mates.
Talking about states of grounds. I drove past Jacana training on Weds night and couldn't believe how good the ground was looking. Soft luss green grass all over both grounds. Anyone training at Jacana confirm this?

rumour false. not playing next year

Doutta Stars moves 2006/07

Gday fellas, just an update on the gains/losses at Douttas.
Gains:
  • Tom Davidson - Western Bulldogs
  • Rob Davidson - Geelong Amateurs
  • Luke Wilson - Greenvale
  • Ricky Palmer - Oak Park / Lalor
  • 10-12 being groomed from last years Reserves & U18 teams
  • Glenn Dawson (Chairman of Selectors) - Oak Park Premiership Coach
  • Merv Atkins - mystery man ?????
Losses:
  • Ryan Wooley - St Albans - contractual dispute $$$
  • Adam Szwadiak - St Albans - returning to former club
  • Mark Desousa - Taylors Lakes - returning to former club
Everyone else from 2006 has agreed to terms for 2007. We are in talks with Leigh O'Neill (Oak Park), and will announce two new impressive signings at the start of 2007 - once agreements have been finalised.
We believe that both the Davidsons & Wilson, will offset the loss of Wooley & Szwadiak. Hope to get hold of O'Neill to cover Desousa. Training has gone well, with numbers averaging 35+. Cheers fellas.

Re: Doutta Stars moves 2006/07

Gains:
Losses:
Everyone else from 2006 has agreed to terms for 2007. We are in talks with Leigh O'Neill (Oak Park), and will announce two new impressive signings at the start of 2007 - once agreements have been finalised.
We believe that both the Davidsons & Wilson, will offset the loss of Wooley & Szwadiak. Hope to get hold of O'Neill to cover Desousa. Training has gone well, with numbers averaging 35+. Cheers fellas.

Good to see you're grooming 10-12 from the 18's and the reserves Ghostman. Plenty of oppurtunity to run water and park the cars of the recruits.

great post gg, good work happening at b/park , can confer with training as I wandered past and watched the other nite, plenty of numbers and the boys looked in good shape ,
Id think youd still like one or two more for a bit more depth but all in all going well

with the work happening with you guys and the improvement in greenvale and keilor it is going to be tough at the top , there will be a bigger gap between 4th and 5th this yr Id say there will be too battles 1-4 and 5-8

hey there smeds, glad to see your still with us mate, hope the recovery is coming along well, sorry to hear what happened to ya, very freakish. at least the accident cant make you much more uglier, lol.
does your prediction mean you dont believe all the signings the oak park coach has been talking about

Gains:
Losses:

heard a rumour that wooley trained with the jets wednesday week ago, never seen it personally, but more than a few people have told me

It comes down to 3 things their doing right up their.....

1. The water overflow from the Gunja crops runs downhill onto the oval.

2. Water which cools the moccassin machines is drained onto the ground at the end of each day.

3. Massive amounts of vomit from a tad too many Cougers is the ideal fertilizer for grounds up that way.

They could'nt be watering during restrictions....c'mon, thats illegal!!