Recruiting EFC Trade/Draft Talk II with F/A rules in OP - Billings for a fourth rounder the latest rumour

What do we do with the #1 pick?

• Use it

Votes: 73 47.4%
  • Trade it for multiple top 10 picks

Votes: 65 42.2%
  • Trade it for players

Votes: 3 1.9%
  • Trade it for players and first round picks

Votes: 13 8.4%

I wouldn't be against a nibble at Jarrad Grant or Ballard.

But in the end it depends on more delistings.

I second the Skinner call too, heard ppl say he was tracking like weit pre injury.
Absolutely not as far as Grant goes. He's been in the league 8 years now and has shown next to nothing. His best game in terms of goals, was way back in 2010. Would prefer Grimley over him, even then that's an iffy call.

Slide into our grasp muhuhahaha

My tiger mates reckon they might reach for dunkley, impressed with his vfl stuff. Big reach at 12 I'd guess

Olivers a typical Richmond pick. Similar to Conca, Vlastuin first rounders theyve been taking lately.

I think hes bee way over hyped. Wouldn't surprise me if he goes really late (40s). I dont get all the hype about him but ive seen limited footage. Poorly skilled. Seems a guy that will wear his heart on his sleeve and give his all but is limited with his football skill.

You rate him higher than Daniel Rioli? Why?

There is a guy that assessed the top 60 draftees. Lovell was ranked in the mid 50s.
There are plenty of people who do this. Lovell's only big knock is his size. Strong, good kick, endurance and has a small burst of speed too. Finds the ball a ridiculous amounts as well.

Rioli is fast, has X-Factor but drifts in and out of games, will be nowhere near the contested beast that Lovell is and hasn't got the endurance that Lovell has.

There are plenty of people who do this. Lovell's only big knock is his size. Strong, good kick, endurance and has a small burst of speed too. Finds the ball a ridiculous amounts as well.

Rioli is fast, has X-Factor but drifts in and out of games, will be nowhere near the contested beast that Lovell is and hasn't got the endurance that Lovell has.
I thought Rioli won the repeat sprints and has huge endurance. Much more so than Cyril. Only flaw that I noticed is that he occasionally tried to do to much and sprayed on his left foot.

He was quiet because they planted him in the forward pocket.

Rioli layed more tackles and had the most goal assists. Not to mention the intercepts of opposition handballs.

I thought Rioli won the repeat sprints and has huge endurance. Much more so than Cyril. Only flaw that I noticed is that he occasionally tried to do to much and sprayed on his left foot.

He was quiet because they planted him in the forward pocket.

Rioli layed more tackles and had the most goal assists. Not to mention the intercepts of opposition handballs.
Are you talking purely the GF game? Come on, it's one game. I can guarantee I'm judging from multiple games, Lovell is a better player.

Rioli has performed well in all games. Which games are you referring to?

AFL Draft Rank # 34. Daniel Rioli – North Ballarat Rebels (Half Forward/Half Back 180cm/66kgs) Cyril’s cousin is a beauty! But he’s very raw. He can play attacking half forward or sweep from the half back line. A genuinely smart footballer who can turn a game on its head.

Rioli (St Mary’s) — who Loader likened to triple Hawthorn premiership player Cyril Rioli — made an impressive debut last month against Gippsland Power, where he booted three majors as a creative small forward.
“Dan’s only played two games but we’ve liked what we’ve seen out of him,” Loader (North Ballarat Rebels Coach) said.
“He’s a really exciting player and can play as an opportunistic forward or an outside-mid.
“He’s a lot like his uncle Cyril, he’s a beautiful kick of the ball, great leg-speed and closing pressure.”

Who did well?
Daniel Rioli
was this year's standout performer. The Northern Territory forward, who moved to Victoria and has played with North Ballarat in the TAC Cup, showed a mix of endurance and speed that saw his draft stocks rise. Rioli, whose father is a cousin to Hawthorn premiership star Cyril, came equal second in the 20-metre sprint (recording a time of 2.89 seconds) and won the 30-metre repeat sprints with a highly regarded score of 24.15 seconds. He placed in the top-10 for the vertical jump and clean hands test, and also ran to level 14.6 in the beep test. Rioli performed well for the NT during the mid-year carnival and again last week for the Allies in the Grand Final curtain-raiser, but his impressive few days at the combine have him well in the mix as a second-round draft pick.

AFL Draft Rank # 57. Kieran Lovell – Kingston (Midfielder 174cms/76kgs) Another 15 centimetres taller and he would be in the top 10 without a doubt. A natural footballer who gets his own ball and uses it brilliantly. Elite pace and fitness for this stocky, hard working ball magnet who could easily develop into a gun. Wouldn’t surprise to see him go mid second round.

Rioli has performed well in all games. Which games are you referring to?
Championship games. Let's compare their averages.

Lovell: 35 disposals, 1 goal, 8 marks, 2 tackles, 5 clearances, 14 contested possessions, 4 inside 50's
Rioli: 12 disposals, 1.3 goals, 2 marks, 4.7 tackles, 3 clearances, 10 contested possessions, 2.7 inside 50's

Lovell had more touches in the game against NSW than Rioli did for the entire championships.

Let's compare their TAC stats as well (which are less detailed unfortunately):

Lovell: 33.8 disposals, 0.8 goals, 2.5 marks, 5.5 tackles.
Rioli: 10.6 disposals, 1.5 goals, 2.2 marks, 4.6 tackles.

Lovell had more touches from 4 games than Rioli did from 9. The only area Rioli outperforms Lovell in both championships and TAC Cup is in goals. Lovell is a better player.

If loose ball gets didn't count as contested possessions he would be lucky to top 7/8 contested possessions a game.

Rioli? Yeah. Lovell? No way, the bloke is a bull at the contest.

Lovell: 35 disposals, 1 goal, 8 marks, 2 tackles, 5 clearances, 14 contested possessions, 4 inside 50's
Rioli: 12 disposals, 1.3 goals, 2 marks, 4.7 tackles, 3 clearances, 10 contested possessions, 2.7 inside 50's

Lovell had more touches in the game against NSW than Rioli did for the entire championships.

Lovell had more touches from 4 games than Rioli did from 9. The only area Rioli outperforms Lovell in both championships and TAC Cup is in goals. Lovell is a better player.
Did Rioli play forward or midfield?

Both, Rioli much more so than Lovell. Hopper is a contested beast. Oliver is a contested beast. Lovell is someone you want on the end of a 2nd/3rd disposal out of a stoppage bursting away to distribute the ball.
Considering Lovell averaged 5 clearances a game in the champs... Lovell is clearly an inside player. The only knock on him is his size.

Both. He never had a game over 16 possessions in either comp.
The difference would be Lovell would've started in the guts while Rioli likely would've started in a forward pocket or off a flank. Not sure its a fair comparison. Wouldn't mind either really but if we're talking about getting our forward structure right I'd prefer Rioli, if we decide we want a mid then go Lovell.

I honestly don't see what Rioli adds to our forward group that Edwards, McKenna or Fantasia don't. He's not the answer to our forward problems. Lovell might be part of the answer to our midfield problems considering he's a quick inside midfielder.

35? How many games?

Considering Lovell averaged 5 clearances a game in the champs... Lovell is clearly an inside player. The only knock on him is his size.
Partington averaged 5 clearances a game too IIRC in a higher division. He's more of an outside player, like Lovell. There are more knocks of Lovell than just his size. No versatility, lack of defensive pressure and one sidedness for a small bloke are some serious issues.

I honestly don't see what Rioli adds to our forward group that Edwards, McKenna or Fantasia don't. He's not the answer to our forward problems. Lovell might be part of the answer to our midfield problems considering he's a quick inside midfielder.
Good points, the worry there though is Fantasia looked really good playing off a half-back flank at the end of the seasons and looks to have found his niche back there, and Edwards is probably a little too tall to be played as a small forward think he'll become more a mid-sized flanker/tallish winger (given that he's listed as 190 cm). McKenna I agree looks to have all the attributes of being a gun small forward at AFL level.

35? How many games?
Three. Daniel Rioli had 36 disposals in total. Lovell had a game where he got a whopping 42 against NSW/ACT.
Partington averaged 5 clearances a game too IIRC in a higher division. He's more of an outside player, like Lovell. There are more knocks of Lovell than just his size. No versatility, lack of defensive pressure and one sidedness for a small bloke are some serious issues.
Partington is an inside player, just like Lovell. Lovell can play forward to some effect and averaged over 5 tackles in the TAC Cup in the games he played.
And he didn't play midfield. Are there any stats on goal assists and hand pass intercepts. Rioli would average 4-5 per game in those.
Yes he did. Stop lying to make your arguments sound less stupid. Seriously, if he was such an endurance player he'd be spending heaps of time in the middle. Goal assists? Yeah, he averaged 1 in the championships. And no, he wouldn't.
Good points, the worry there though is Fantasia looked really good playing off a half-back flank at the end of the seasons and looks to have found his niche back there, and Edwards is probably a little too tall to be played as a small forward think he'll become more a mid-sized flanker/tallish winger (given that he's listed as 190 cm). McKenna I agree looks to have all the attributes of being a gun small forward at AFL level.
Fantasia is a forward. Edwards isn't a 360 degree player and will be used as a "small" forward.

Partington is an inside player, just like Lovell. Lovell can play forward to some effect and averaged over 5 tackles in the TAC Cup in the games he played.
Partington is most definitely not an inside player. He can run through stoppages and have clean hands in close, but his best work is done running into dangerous places and carrying the ball. Prototypical balanced midfielder. TAC matches are usually a turnover fest and contested due to the lack of skill. Championships up the tempo and show us where players weaknesses are.

Are we comparing Cyril to Dane Swan here though? Id almost prefer 12-15 possessions a game from Cyril to 30 of Swans.

Ive only seen Lovell there are mixed views on him and i share them. Im not huge on him but he could be best left at 25. Not aure where his position is as an Afl player probably midfield. Does he have a booming kick on him is he quick enough around the contest. He seems to use the footy well. Think his results were also impressive endurance wise and agility wise.

Im sort of hopeing for a few sliders because im not that confident on Gresham, Lovell types. Hopeing for a Hibberd, Ahchee, Burton to maybe be available. Wed also love tucker to be and also Victorias Clarke.

Really with out first 2 picks we will be going a midfielder and key forward that means with 24/25 we will look at either 2 forward come midfielders and/or a key defender type.

Ie: if we take Milera doubt wed go with Ahchee.

If we go Francis maybe doubt we go Hibberd but maybe still clear next best