Ellinbank Football League P3

EDFL Finals venues announced:

Grand Final: Nar Nar Goon

Prelim: Warragul

Other finals venues: Koo Wee Rup, Garfield, Longwarry, Poowong.

League has never worried about teams having home finals but ur right, I assume garfield wont host the 2nd semi.

Home GF's make no difference either, I can think of 5 teams that have played home GF's in the ones in our league and only CL 2009 have won, but they would have beat LL anywhere that year.

Nar Nar Goon is a smart decision by the league. Should maximize the crowd by allowing people from the Casey region to attend. If it was up at Warragul none of these people would come.

Fair point but I also think the eastern clubs deserve a crack at it too. Warragul is a town of about 10000 people so would get a lot of from there who wont travel to banana goon.
Its guaranteed to be a huge crowd whereever its held as it looks like lots of different clubs could be playing off across all grades which is good. Our GF still shits all over CC and Alberton for crowds and atmosphere.

Fair point but I also think the eastern clubs deserve a crack at it too. Warragul is a town of about 10000 people so would get a lot of from there who wont travel to banana goon.
Its guaranteed to be a huge crowd whereever its held as it looks like lots of different clubs could be playing off across all grades which is good. Our GF still shits all over CC and Alberton for crowds and atmosphere.

Does the Ellinbank enforce dry areas at finals venues? The Casey Cardinia does and at Berwick and Pakenham there are roped off areas, mainly on the other side of the ground. It makes sense in some regards, but it also takes away atmosphere from most of the ground.

Dont think there is ever a dry area at EDFL gfs. If ya never been to one come the EDFL and you will see how much better they are, although CC are getting better.

How was the genius idea a few years ago at berwick when dovey played narres, put all the drinker into a small area cos it would be easier to control, great thinking there!!

EDFL just seems to have a better atmosphere, dont think the CC finals will make much difference to the crowds.

Garfield have lost 2 in a row now didnt think that was possible half way threw the year espeically a loss to Poowong. Buln would have to be the dirtiest team ive seen so far this year maybe it was just today but there were alot of elbows getting thrown and alot of late hits and behind the play snipes.

Won't happen. Why would any of the clubs in Ellinbank want to leave? Most have moved to the EDFL to get away from Pakenham/Beaconsfield.

The EDFL is a great competition and I think the Casey Cardinia has realised that and wants to get in on the act.

Just read that too, seems a fair bit of arrogance from the CC presidents with there comments.

VCFL could fix the problem easily, the CC splits completely from MPNFL and merges with EDFL creating a 3 tier comp. No takeover to keep both leagues happy. Boot keysy to the southern, try to get in Gembrook and Emerald, they arent far away at all and we have no problem with travel there for cricket, most would rather drive extra 15 minutes for a decent game of footy. Gives 27 clubs with room for others if they want in, berwick springs, st francis maybe in years to come. Takes out the 25 goal floggins we get every week.

Thoughts??

Just read that too, seems a fair bit of arrogance from the CC presidents with there comments.

VCFL could fix the problem easily, the CC splits completely from MPNFL and merges with EDFL creating a 3 tier comp. No takeover to keep both leagues happy. Boot keysy to the southern, try to get in Gembrook and Emerald, they arent far away at all and we have no problem with travel there for cricket, most would rather drive extra 15 minutes for a decent game of footy. Gives 27 clubs with room for others if they want in, berwick springs, st francis maybe in years to come. Takes out the 25 goal floggins we get every week.

Thoughts??
I'd like to see 1 of two things happen, either a merge of the two comps or it left as is.

PS. Think Keysy are off to Southern next year anyway.

Leo that makes too much sense for it to happen.

Thanks mate. Will never happen as long as clubs are the ones voting, and stupid politics come into it like what the leagues would called and all that shit rather then the end result.

VCFL is gutless, took them 3 years to finally kick wonthaggi out of the Alberton league.

I think the ideal scenario would be 30 teams in three divisions. You could have 10 teams in each division who would played each twice for a total of 18 rounds. Casey Cardinia plays 18 rounds and the Ellinbank plays 19. That eliminates the bye in every division. I know that the MPNFL don't like having byes.

Relegation and promotion is implemented with the top two from each division replace the bottom two of the division above it.

I think the ideal scenario would be 30 teams in three divisions. You could have 10 teams in each division who would played each twice for a total of 18 rounds. Casey Cardinia plays 18 rounds and the Ellinbank plays 19. That eliminates the bye in every division. I know that the MPNFL don't like having byes.

Relegation and promotion is implemented with the top two from each division replace the bottom two of the division above it.

Just need to piss the MPNFL off completely so who cares what they think about byes. Casey clubs are much closer aligned with EDFL clubs now anyway. Need both leagues to do whats best for footy and not try to out do each other all the time. There will be idiots argue that they wont play div 3 or wont change league names or wont travel an extra 5 minutes but all that is nothing compared to the floggings that happen in both leagues every week that is rooting clubs in both leagues.

Merge the leagues and sort the divisions, names, relegations, jumper clashes and all that crap later!! There is no ideal scenario but if we could get 26 or 27 teams in 3 divisions it would be the best solution now and in the future. Need to look 10 years ahead, not 1-2 which most do now.

The divisions would look something like this if they were implemented next season.

Division 1
Cranbourne
Hampton Park
Narre Warren
Berwick
Pakenham
Doveton
Beaconsfield
ROC
Garfield

Division 2
Tooradin-Dalmore
Devon Meadows
Neerim Neerim South
Cora Lynn
Lang Lang
Bunyip
Warragul Industrials
Nar Nar Goon

Division 3
Poowong
Longwarry
Ellinbank
Catani
Kooweerup
Buln Buln
Nilma Darnum
Nyora

Other Potential Teams
Phillip Island (Div 2)
Kilcunda Bass (Div 2)
Gembrook (Div 2/3)
Emerald (Div 2/3)
Drouin (Div 1)
Warragul (Div 1)
St Francis (Div 3)

Would be great if it happened.

Cant see any issues with that surkin. Although garfield would sook up like they did when they broke up the West Gippy league cos they got sick of losing to paky and beacy.

Yarra Valley league is a joke and i reckon gembrook and emerald would be a big chance, they travel to eildon, kinglak and alexandra to play at the moment.

Lang Lang had their team of the decade Saturday night. This was the side.

B: Stuart Casey, Jason Kelly, Brett Hameeterman
HB: Brad Burns, Adam Dimage, Brad Michie
C: Dean Brown, Clint Evans, Adam Baxter
HF: Luke Franklin, Kurt Batt, John Thwaites
F: Troy Giles, Peter Stapleton, Brad McDonald
R: Dale Robinson, Alex Saraikin, Sean Dwyer
I: Russ Loughridge, Blake Batt, Shane Newcombe

Who would make it if the 30 game cut off was not criteria? Dywer? They have named 19 on the ground here.... Baxter on the wing and his nose would have to be in the middle.:D

Heard Nyora team of the decade will be announced in a few weeks... Is this true Leo? Will be interesting to compare the 2 sides. Will also be an interesting night if all the players nominated attend ;). What's the Nyora criteria? Hate to see someone like Brendan Hislop not make it and so would you Leo...

I am sure brendan will sneak in there somewhere mate, you will be happy to see that. 1 season is enough and 50 odd touches in the GF.

I reckon nyora would be 90% from the 2 premiership years, could be an interesting night if most turn up.

Who would make it if the 30 game cut off was not criteria? Dywer? They have named 19 on the ground here.... Baxter on the wing and his nose would have to be in the middle.:D

Probably wouldn't change that much. I think it is picked on overall contribution to the side, so you would have to be a pretty special to make it in with less than 30 games.

The original cut off was going to be 50 games but they changed it to 30 games (probably so they could get a quality ruckman and a rover into the side).