Ellinbank Football League P3

The divisions would look something like this if they were implemented next season.

Division 1
Cranbourne
Hampton Park
Narre Warren
Berwick
Pakenham
Doveton
Beaconsfield
ROC
Garfield

Division 2
Tooradin-Dalmore
Devon Meadows
Neerim Neerim South
Cora Lynn
Lang Lang
Bunyip
Warragul Industrials
Nar Nar Goon

Division 3
Poowong
Longwarry
Ellinbank
Catani
Kooweerup
Buln Buln
Nilma Darnum
Nyora

Other Potential Teams
Phillip Island (Div 2)
Kilcunda Bass (Div 2)
Gembrook (Div 2/3)
Emerald (Div 2/3)
Drouin (Div 1)
Warragul (Div 1)
St Francis (Div 3)
Hallora (Div 3):D
Would be great if it happened.

Spot on Surkin. I think you got them all right. Only need to top up each division to 10 teams and we got the perfect set up.

Anyone want to have a crack at the team of the year?

From Lang Lang Aaron Creasey would be our only certain starter on the Half Back Flank. Kurt Batt and John Nichols possibles.

Those three tier systems won't fix the problem and may only make it worse.

Think about Nyora and Nilma of recent history. Had two years of powerhouse teams which would have seen them either premiers or at least promoted, ending up in the 1st division. The following year, both were in the bottom 3 of ellinbank. Under the dvisional split they would have played top sides every week in div 1 and been flogged. The next year, they would've played mid-range teams and been beaten pretty bad. In the third year, if they survived, they would be competitive again.

Teams change too quickly for a three tiered system in Gippsland.

Teams have been flogged forever and it will continue to happen.

B: S.Reid (Garfield); T.Payne (CL); L.McFarlane (Catani)
HB: A.Creasey (LL); D.Rhind (Garfield); B.Marsh (Garfield)
C: L.Bee-Hugo (Garfield); J.Allen (CL); C.Pattie (Bunyip)
HF: S.Brewster (WI); K.Batt (LL); T.Morrow (NNS)
F: K.Bergels (Poowong); R.Gillis (CL); L.Serong (Longwarry)
R: B.Hobgen (WI); C.Urie (NNS); B.Eastwell (Garfield)
I: T.Marsh (Garfield); B.Keane (NNG); B.Kimber (CL)

Thoughts?

Those three tier systems won't fix the problem and may only make it worse.

Think about Nyora and Nilma of recent history. Had two years of powerhouse teams which would have seen them either premiers or at least promoted, ending up in the 1st division. The following year, both were in the bottom 3 of ellinbank. Under the dvisional split they would have played top sides every week in div 1 and been flogged. The next year, they would've played mid-range teams and been beaten pretty bad. In the third year, if they survived, they would be competitive again.

Teams change too quickly for a three tiered system in Gippsland.

Teams have been flogged forever and it will continue to happen.

Might stop clubs like nilma spending a crazy amount of money to win a flag then being broke 2 years later. Under the proposed system they would have went from div 3 to div 2, they would not have spent that much money cos they would not have been competition with cora lynn and NNG. Prob would have ended up back in D3 again but the drop off wouldnt have been so sudden. Might have copped 1 season off floggings if everyone left but back in Div 3 would have been more competitive. There are too many floggings now for it to continue the same way.

Cos we live on the edge of the biggest growth area in victoria thinks will only get worse. Clubs like nilma, ellinbank, nyora and poowong will only ever be Div 2-3 sides under this structure and wont have to spend so much cash just to be competitive. Where as clubs like CL, NNG, garfield who will always be strong without money can aim higher.

You know a bit about the eastern league saint, your old club mitcham would have folded without divisions. Same will happen in the EDFL soon.

Does anyone know who won the interleague b&f last night? Is there anywhere online you can see who ranked in top 10 or something like that?

Don't think they would have folded, it's been a divisional league for over 20 years, so hard to draw a comparison. How dependant on success is the survival of a club. The divisions do tend to flatten out success and failure by making it progressively harder, but in Metro leagues, which have a lot more depth, this success or failure tends to happen over 5 years rather than 1 or 2.

Most of those suburban clubs at one time or another could compete with each other because they all have a similar base to draw from. Whereas the smaller teams, i.e. Buln and Poowong will always have very restricted drawing power compared to say Tooradin, Cranny or Pakenham. They will never be competitive with each other.

The only thing that separates EFL teams is the way the club is run, not how many people live in the area. e.g there's no reason that Waverley Blues are in 2nd division while Glen Waverley Hawks are in 4th division, they essentially have the same area to attract people from. Only difference being the way the club is run.

Vermont and Mitcham both have 100 year histories and are about 1km away from each other, yet one has been run well and is a powerhouse while the other has been out of success for 30 years (minus one year when they made the Div 1 Prelim). It's a perfectly fair competition.

Pakenham v Ellinbank is not a fair competition and never will be, Ellinbank could never strive for Div 1 glory and either immediately or eventually, those smaller clubs will form their own league.

Don't think they would have folded, it's been a divisional league for over 20 years, so hard to draw a comparison. How dependant on success is the survival of a club. The divisions do tend to flatten out success and failure by making it progressively harder, but in Metro leagues, which have a lot more depth, this success or failure tends to happen over 5 years rather than 1 or 2.

Most of those suburban clubs at one time or another could compete with each other because they all have a similar base to draw from. Whereas the smaller teams, i.e. Buln and Poowong will always have very restricted drawing power compared to say Tooradin, Cranny or Pakenham. They will never be competitive with each other.

The only thing that separates EFL teams is the way the club is run, not how many people live in the area. e.g there's no reason that Waverley Blues are in 2nd division while Glen Waverley Hawks are in 4th division, they essentially have the same area to attract people from. Only difference being the way the club is run.

Vermont and Mitcham both have 100 year histories and are about 1km away from each other, yet one has been run well and is a powerhouse while the other has been out of success for 30 years (minus one year when they made the Div 1 Prelim). It's a perfectly fair competition.

Pakenham v Ellinbank is not a fair competition and never will be, Ellinbank could never strive for Div 1 glory and either immediately or eventually, those smaller clubs will form their own league.

Can Glen Waverley ever challenge noble park? I think not. Ammos is about 8 divisions and seems to work ok. Yet there is no way in world the small clubs will ever play div 1-2.

In the end it would be 3 divisions and only 1 team changes each year, so most clubs will find where you should belong and hardly change at all. If a club improves then they have the chance to step up.

A lot can change in EFL, Leo, GWH could one day challenge Noble, just like Norwood do now.

Each metropolitan team is only as good as its board and its juniors.

But Catani will not have the same resources as Pakenham for at least 40 years. Country teams are made up of the good people of the town. The larger the town, the more good people to do things. The quality may change over the years, but on the whole Pakenham will always have more resources to choose from.

I like the division idea, all it will do is get rid of teams spending up massive for a year then almost folding the next. If the right people are running the club they should know, for the love of the club, not to do this. Each team will only spend what they can afford to.

The only downsides that I can think of is that teams like Catani and Ellinbank may never get to play divi 1. Plus if the club is all footy focused, then the netball and possibly the juniors will suffer. The league must take this into consideration. The perfect example is Balwyn in the EFL Saint, spend massive cash on seniors but can't fill an under 18 side.

It can work!!!

A lot can change in EFL, Leo, GWH could one day challenge Noble, just like Norwood do now.

Each metropolitan team is only as good as its board and its juniors.

But Catani will not have the same resources as Pakenham for at least 40 years. Country teams are made up of the good people of the town. The larger the town, the more good people to do things. The quality may change over the years, but on the whole Pakenham will always have more resources to choose from.

Catani could also be a town of 5000 people if 15 years too. Ya never know. Right now in EDFL you have NNG, Bunyip, Longwarry and KWR who will all be much bigger towns in 5 years which is going to create more inbalance. No one really beleives that what Nilma did was good for football and this is the only way to stop clubs folding in the future. Is the flag and the cup at the Nilma rooms or in pattos bar?

It's in the Nilma Rooms, but there arent many people around to look at it anymore. To understand the way some people see themselves at the club, is to understand how anyone outside this group seem powerless to help the club move forward. The way the flag was won is irrelevent to why the club is where it is at today. They are quick to maneuver people with new ideas to the back of the room at meetings. If it isnt their idea, then they howl it down. People with genuine football passion and nous are forced to leave when they should be fostered.

That I am at another club in another competition now, and can see how somebody else does it, I can honestly say that there are people within that club that are holding it back and will continue to do so with their best intentions at heart. It really needs a clean out. There are some that are there that are good for the place but others just need to move on.

What Patto did was keep the club operating to this point. Without him, the club would not have made it to the 2009 season, let alone the Premiership.

It's in the Nilma Rooms, but there arent many people around to look at it anymore. To understand the way some people see themselves at the club, is to understand how anyone outside this group seem powerless to help the club move forward. The way the flag was won is irrelevent to why the club is where it is at today. They are quick to maneuver people with new ideas to the back of the room at meetings. If it isnt their idea, then they howl it down. People with genuine football passion and nous are forced to leave when they should be fostered.

That I am at another club in another competition now, and can see how somebody else does it, I can honestly say that there are people within that club that are holding it back and will continue to do so with their best intentions at heart. It really needs a clean out. There are some that are there that are good for the place but others just need to move on.

What Patto did was keep the club operating to this point. Without him, the club would not have made it to the 2009 season, let alone the Premiership.

Yeah fair point, something had to happen. Have to wonder whether or not the money that was spent on the flag could have been spent a better way to set the club up for the future.

Yeah well I reckon Patto thought "If Im gonna put some money in, I might as well try and get some bang for my buck".

I wish I was able to expand on some of the back door shenanigans that happened last year, mate. Right from the night I was elected as President at an extraordinary general meeting due to the fact that they couldnt get one at the AGM, there was stuff going on behind my back.

I was gone for all money and was talked into coming on board at the last minute. I railroaded myself and feel pretty foolish about it too. It all culminated in a couple of people on the committee deciding that even though I was working away every second week after the season, they decided to have the Presentation night on a weekend I was away and not the other weekend. Just so they could run things the way they wanted to.

After 16 years I felt betrayed and after handing the chair over at the last AGM I simply packed up my laptop and walked out. I havent been back.

Best move I ever made. Loving it at Newborough. Close to home and all I deal with is footy. No committees, no nothing, just footy. And there are heaps of players that want to play for the club. Only 3 paid players. Finished 4th after 3-4 years out of the top 5 and won on the weekend to go through to the 1st Semi. Loving it.

I dont follow the league, and was looking for a forum like this one to find out a bit of info about the clubs that were in the semi's on the weekend, but there really isnt a whole lot of information in here. But from an outside point of view I thought I would give my opinion on the two games I went down and seen.

Neerim V Garfield: While the conditions were absolutely superb there was still a lot of fumbling early in the game, I was curious to whether this had something to do with the fact that both teams had the week off beforehand. As both teams started to find their feet it, it seemed to me that Neerims quicker more agile half forward line was more beneficial than the slower, bigger bodied forward line of Garfield. Neerim were quicker, yet still had a couple of hard, ball winning midfielders. In saying that, it was the hardness Marsh brothers that kept them in the game. It will be interesting to see how they can back it up against Cora Lynn

Bunyip V Cora Lynn: This I thought was a better standard of footy than Saturday, it was faster, and more skillful, which led me to believe that apart from no injuries I dont believe there is much gain out of having the week off. Bunyip really came out of the blocks quickly and it looked like Cora Lynn just thought they were going to win the match. The second quarter was a real wrestle and was good country footy at its best! I do believe Bunyip got a couple of easy goals from the umpires but the game was really in the balance. After half time Bunyip got some injuries and really looked to tire. Kimber for Cora Lynn took on the smaller Bunyip midfield all day and was probably the difference in the end.

But overall, there were some great crowds at both games and the league couldnt of asked for two better days and I will be back with my young boy for the next couple of games because it really is a good atmosphere!

Darnum has named Lloyd Bergmann as coach for 2012. Apparently will bring 8 players with him. They may be a bit more competitive that last year which would be good for the comp.

8 players from where ??? Yarragon reserves I suppose. :):)