Coach Emma Kearney - will join Clarko's coaching team as development coach and player development co-ordinator

I think Patch taking over Jordan Russell's role has been one major * up we made over summer.
Patch has shown nothing to be promoted to handling the midfield and so far it looks like an absolute s**t show.

Reality is he is not getting any heat because hes a much loved son of the club.
Get pendels to coach midfield next year

I think Patch taking over Jordan Russell's role has been one major * up we made over summer.
Patch has shown nothing to be promoted to handling the midfield and so far it looks like an absolute s**t show.

Reality is he is not getting any heat because hes a much loved son of the club.

Take this for whatever it's worth but I'm told Patch is extremely well regarded by Clarko and Viney.

I have heard this before also and I don't know why.

Jordan Russell and Ratts looked after the midfield last year.
Its a big drop off in experience and its showing.
Russell worked with the group for 3 years before leaving.

With Patch, he was actually coaching the VFL side in 2022 before taking over the seniors after Noble left.
Then he had the forwards last year, who were woeful. Our scoring has actually gone up this year.

And now he takes over the midfield which is a shambles. Last year we looked half decent at times coming out of the middle and actually matched it with a few sides.

I think he's the one most at risk. Him and Adcock, however Jed doesn't have much to work with.

I have heard this before also and I don't know why.

Jordan Russell and Ratts looked after the midfield last year.
Its a big drop off in experience and its showing.
Russell worked with the group for 3 years before leaving.

With Patch, he was actually coaching the VFL side in 2022 before taking over the seniors after Noble left.
Then he had the forwards last year, who were woeful. Our scoring has actually gone up this year.

And now he takes over the midfield which is a shambles. Last year we looked half decent at times coming out of the middle and actually matched it with a few sides.

I think he's the one most at risk. Him and Adcock, however Jed doesn't have much to work with.

Xavier Clarke is the assistant coach I'm most unimpressed with.

For Patch Adams, put it into perspective.

From last year to this year, he no longer has;
  • The best tap ruckman in the AFL
  • Ben Cunnington
  • Jack Ziebell
  • Jy Simpkin has been concussed and his midfield/on-ball minutes are severely limited
  • Sheezel rotated through the mid last year more than he has so far this year
  • LDU is out of form
  • Phillips has played one game
  • etc etc

To any player/person who even THINKS ABOUT disrespecting her
View attachment 1552945
Season 9 Episode 24 GIF by The Simpsons

Xavier Clarke is the assistant coach I'm most unimpressed with.

For Patch Adams, put it into perspective.

From last year to this year, he no longer has;
  • The best tap ruckman in the AFL
  • Ben Cunnington
  • Jack Ziebell
  • Jy Simpkin has been concussed and his midfield/on-ball minutes are severely limited
  • Sheezel rotated through the mid last year more than he has so far this year
  • LDU is out of form
  • Phillips has played one game
  • etc etc
Ill give you Goldi.
Cunners hasn't been a genuine part of our midfield set up since before he was diagnosed.
And Jack was moved from the midfield nearly 7 years ago.

No doubt Jy's ability to win a clearance is missing but then he would absolutely butcher it going forward and was then shifted to a flank as a result.

The rest isn't as impactful as the fact structurally right now, we're in the f***ing abyss.
Unless we start to move the ball with more cohesion and reminiscent of an AFL side with a working gameplan - he's in the gun for mine.
Hes been there since the beginning of 2020. Its not a good look that his resume reads employment at club finishing 17th, 18th, 18th, 17th and 18th.

Its why he and Rawlings IMO are next to go. Industry is cut throat and they're next in line.

I reckon as long as Clarko is there, Patch will be safe if he wants to be safe.

If some of our blokes had Emma's aggression and smarts onfield we'd be a different side.
+ mindset.

when shit gets tough she’s always the one to set the example and step up.

1000000000000x better captain than Lmac & Jy

This is the stupidest thing I have ever seen posted here
You could put any AFLW player up to AFL level and they would simply not have the time or space to execute against opponents that are so much quicker and stronger than themselves and any competition they've ever faced. This is undisputable.

He's coming from the same logic that says Florence Griffith-Joyner is a faster runner and better athlete than Usain Bolt and that Lauren Jackson is a better basketball player than Luka Doncic.

I guess in this case we’d be comparing Lauren Jackson to an NBL player most people have barely heard of. Hard to believe BJK played to get past the “any man is better than any woman” debate more than 50 years ago.

It’s a pointless discussion in any case. The question is what Kearney brings to the coaching group - with the added information that if we didn’t have her we would have another woman learning to coach or we’d have an empty space. I’m going to go out in a limb and say she’s a better bet than other options and deserves time to make the most of the opportunity and increase her contribution to the men’s team.

I guess in this case we’d be comparing Lauren Jackson to an NBL player most people have barely heard of. Hard to believe BJK played to get past the “any man is better than any woman” debate more than 50 years ago.

It’s a pointless discussion in any case. The question is what Kearney brings to the coaching group - with the added information that if we didn’t have her we would have another woman learning to coach or we’d have an empty space. I’m going to go out in a limb and say she’s a better bet than other options and deserves time to make the most of the opportunity and increase her contribution to the men’s team.

Exactly.

Playing ability has zero to do with being a good coach.

The Warlord would be much better raising her background as a teacher, which has been a consistent profession of many good coaches.

Doesn't suit his agenda though.

That's got nothing to do with ability. That's just about size and strength differences between men and women.

Peak Serena Williams wouldn't beat the 200th ranked men's player.

Are you saying the 200th ranked male tennis player has more tennis ability than Serena Williams?

Jas Garner has more footy ability on than any male player on our list.

Oh God, the stupidity and wilful ignorance.

Exactly.

Playing ability has zero to do with being a good coach.

The Warlord would be much better raising her background as a teacher, which has been a consistent profession of many good coaches.

Doesn't suit his agenda though.

Its taken as read.

The principles are all the same though. Sure, they might have more time to execute at that level, but they are also themselves not as fast.

She gets structures, she gets footy, and she gets the need for the intangibles on the footy field. They're relevant no matter what level you play at.

Her playing career shouldn't come into it, nor should the competition she played in, unless it's directly relevant to a deficiency as a coach.

That's got nothing to do with ability. That's just about size and strength differences between men and women.

Are you saying the 200th ranked male tennis player has more tennis ability than Serena Williams?

Oh my god not Jas’ ability again. I’m begging you.

Yes - the 200th ranked male tennis player has far more ability than Serena.

The principles are all the same though. Sure, they might have more time to execute at that level, but they are also themselves not as fast.

She gets structures, she gets footy, and she gets the need for the intangibles on the footy field. They're relevant no matter what level you play at.

Her playing career shouldn't come into it, nor should the competition she played in, unless it's directly relevant to a deficiency as a coach.

They are not relevant.

You don't learn AFL defensive structures at VAFA level, as they aren't relevant. The game doesn't move as quickly, players don't run as fast or hard, players don't kick it as far. They aren't as big, they aren't as strong overhead.

This impacts your tactics, the way you move the ball, where you move it to and when.

Multiply this by 1000x compared to AFLW. The ball doesn't react and move exactly the same way, as it's not even the same ball.

Does a VFL game look like an AFL game to you?

Emma is learning AFL football and the advanced tactics from scratch. (Well not scratch, as she would have been an observer/fan, not from playing experience)

Im sure she can bring a wealth of experience from a skill development point of view, she certainly brings strengths from her teaching background, leadership, mindset etc.

AFLW footballers don't employ the same zones, the same setups, they don't move the ball in the same way, or as quickly as AFL level. So what exactly is similar about it? Intangibles, sure, like typical skills and body positioning etc.

This isn't local football mate, where the extent of tactics is "set up the wall" and simple off man defensive zones at kick ins.

Most AFLW games and local football is still played positionally, AFL hasn't been like that for well over a decade, probably even longer.

AFLW is far closer to local football than AFL level or even VFL level from a structures and tactical standpoint.

She's a developing coach that has zero to do with her footballing ability and what she has played in and more with her off field skills and teaching abilities. Think Chris Fagan. Hopefully shes as great as he is and breaks down barriers with the same amount of coaching experience.

Emma's next step with some more experience is to probably coach at VFL level and may be a candidate to replace Lynch if he eventually moves on.

Alot of these conversations remind me of the same discussions had between basketball fans and the debate between the NBA vs the WNBA product. They almost need to be treated as completely different games/sports. The WNBA is coming around to this fact now after decades of existence, with a push towards lower rings between the mens and female games, to bring dunking etc into the sport to make it more inline with the product fans expect from the NBA. Like AFLW they already play with a different size ball and a shorter 3pt line.

I think in time AFLW as a sport and product will follow a similar suit. Ideally they play on slightly smaller grounds to the men's game enablling the movement of the ball from each end to be faster, they already have the 16 vs the 18, but may be able to be reduced even further on a smaller ground.

It's probably a discussion for the AFLW thread though.

Coach Emma Kearney - will join Clarko's coaching team as development coach and player development co-ordinator