ESSENDON developing the leagues best forward line?

BrownPearHookers

Suspended
Mar 4, 2011
Are we developing the best forward line in the league in years to come?
I believe we are, even though W/C and Adelaide have quiet good ones for the future aswell.

Hurley 22yrs and played 56 games
Crameri 24yrs and played 35 games
Ryder 24yrs and played 129 games

these 3 just look to be getting better.
then we have Monfries, Jetta, Davey and Dell'Olio who are doing a pretty good job around these boys, with the return of Winderlich in the near future putting heaps of pressure on the smaller forwards.
Gumby in the wings.

Add J Daniher maybe in a few seasons.

Two weeks ago I was having murderous thoughts regarding Essendon's forward line such was the ridiculous level of inaccuracy, and HUrley's apparent lack of confidence.

A week (or a fortnight in this case) is a long time in football.

Yeah the same 3 who went goalless in our losses against Melbourne and Sydney.

Let's just give it a little more time before we make judgements like that.

I reckon the Eagles with Kennedy, Darling, Nick Nat / Cox, Lecras, Lynch, + crumbers Hill in career best form stack up ok.

I must say, prior to the Melb game i'd been staggered about how functional our forward line has been. Alot of credit must go to the coaching group here as they really seem to be structuring something pretty dangerous. I think Davey deserves a big slap on the back also. He's been outstanding this year.

We're a high scoring team, one of the highest scoring in the league. However, I think we're achieving that through volume of ball rather than efficient forward play. The leagues best forward line should be one of the most efficient and I don't think we're there yet.

Wait until they put in consistent performances first. I'd love for Hurley to kick 6 a week...

You and me both, but Coleman and Hudson weren't six goal a game forwards.......

I love this place, just last week we had a thread saying Essendon needed a new forward coach.

Whoever we got has worked wonders to turn us into the greatest forward line in all of the land.

You can't really say we don't compare to teams like West Coast and Hawthorn just because of 2 bad weeks. The forward line in those weeks were still getting plenty of it, just couldn't hit the side of barn.

It wasn't that long ago that both West Coast and Hawthorn had games like that, one in which they played each other also. Everyone is singing Frankin's praises at the moment and are quick to forget how inaccurate he was at the start of the season.

I did think it was funny that it took the Bombers 7 quarters to kick the same amount of goals Hurley did in the first quarter on Saturday night.

I'm not sure the bombers will consistently have the best forwardline in the league in regards to giving the opposition nightmares. What we do have is a very well balanced forwardline with most bases now covered and plenty of depth in most areas. On top of that plenty of midfielders can go through there and play a role. This means it will be one that can be relied upon across a whole season in all conditions and opponents, also allowing us to cover ordinary levels of injury.

The Hawks have the best forward-line. Besides Buddy, they've got Roughy, Gunston, Hale, Rioli and Puopolo. A very good balance.

We've got the right ingredients, although we need a top replacement for an aging Davey.

Have no problems with our forward line in the finals,as long as the forwards continue to lead and create space - It was a pleasure to see spot up kicks forward of the centre.

I fornicating hate these threads.

Will we kick 4.16 against the Doggies this week now?

Beyond your own betting and Big Footy threads, what other portents do you look to, Macca, when you're in a soothsaying mood?

But yeah, the answer is no. Not at this stage.

Have no problems with our forward line in the finals,as long as the forwards continue to lead and create space - It was a pleasure to see spot up kicks forward of the centre.

Both our midfield and our forward line seem well geared toward finals time; high presure contested ball in the middle and forwards that create space for both themselves and crumbers.

ESSENDON developing the leagues best forward line?