Fast Food

Used to have it if not every day, then definitely every other day.

Got out of High School and into Uni and didn't have two coins to rub together. Got a job working nights 4 nights a week at a service station and it all went downhill from there. Pretty much used to have Hungry Jacks (Summer Stunner etc/Chicken Baugette Meal) on the way to work at 6pm, McDonalds (Double Quarter Pounder Meal) on the way home from work at midnight. Plus whatever shit I used to have during my shift. Then Dinner when I got home.Every night pretty much for 5 years.

Probably put on 10 kilos a year for 5 years.

Then got my degree and lost my job. Worked for a while on the tools with the old man. Subway was lunch a lot of the time, Chicken and Chips got a good run as well. Sometimes used to get something to eat while I was out getting lunch. Soon as I got home used to get in the car and go for a drive to clear my head. More often than not get something to eat as well.

Then got an office job. Was alright at first, then got into the habit of stopping off to get something to eat on the way home. KFC in Kew Junction was the usual spot. Salivating at the thought, even now. Ultimate Burger Meal. Wicked Wings. Zinger. Pepsi. Upsized.

Tried to give it up twice, once lasted 4 days. Second time lasted a month. Withdrawal symptoms, the lot. Bouncing off the walls. Miserable person to be around. Third time was the charm. 26th of November 2012, decided to give it one last shot. Went down to Hungry Jacks to have a last meal, got an Ultimate Double Whopper with Angry Onions Meal (would kill you all to get my hands on another one) Sat in the car. Finished it all off. Put the rubbish in the bin and that was that.

Swore off what I call the "Big 4" (McDonalds, KFC, Hungry Jacks and Red Rooster. Basically anything with a drive through) on that day and haven't had any since. Still have Burgers occasionally from places like Nandos, Grilled, Schnitz, Fish and Chips and Subway, but not nearly as frequently. Once a week, tops.

Similar sort of story. It's just so bloody conveniant.

Growing up we were never allowed fast food, so I never began eating it until I started earning my own money. Since then I probably get take-out twice a week or so. Mostly pizza (my favourite) or fish n chips, but will occasionally go to the bigger fast food places.

Anyone know of any good food joints Near Glenferie Station? I need some lunch for when i am going to Swinburne
Depends what type of good you're after and the price you want to pay... The obvious Schnitz, Pizza Hut, McDonalds, Subway etc. are all there, for McDonalds theres the "Pickle Club" so you can get a different item cheap every day, shit like $2 McChickens, 1/4 Pounders, big meals heavily reduced etc, Pizza Hut has the Mia combo. For non fast food shit there's a deli in near Safeway that has a baguette with choice of fillings for a decent price which is pretty awesome, Oscar Mike does a Coffee and Toastie deal for like $6 which is also pretty good. Picassos is another pretty good cafe but a bit more expensive, the "free wifi cafe" opposite Aussie Disposals does a cheap egg and bacon roll, it's ok, not great. Pizza Cones are interesting, but expensive and not very filling, there's a few sushi places around but eh not a fan, the Fish and Chip place down the road a bit is reasonably priced and pretty decent, used to be a few other noteworthy places but they closed down. Odds are if there's somewhere to eat near Swinburne (off campus) I've tried it :p

In terms of coffee, on campus there's a few, the one near the ATC is shit, the one near the library has nice staff, is passable but they have a habit of burning it or making it ungodly hot, the irish sounding place near engineering is probably the best on campus. Off campus the two best are probably Oscar Mike and Marios, the later has a student discount, but the former is closer. The place near TAFE side of things is ok, a bit more expensive but if you're in a rush it's passable, their subs are cheap but not the best. On campus tends to be mostly overpriced though...

If you want healthy and on campus, only real option is the kiosk near the library, everything else is mostly takeaway junk...

Used to have it if not every day, then definitely every other day.

Got out of High School and into Uni and didn't have two coins to rub together. Got a job working nights 4 nights a week at a service station and it all went downhill from there. Pretty much used to have Hungry Jacks (Summer Stunner etc/Chicken Baugette Meal) on the way to work at 6pm, McDonalds (Double Quarter Pounder Meal) on the way home from work at midnight. Plus whatever shit I used to have during my shift. Then Dinner when I got home.Every night pretty much for 5 years.

Probably put on 10 kilos a year for 5 years.

Then got my degree and lost my job. Worked for a while on the tools with the old man. Subway was lunch a lot of the time, Chicken and Chips got a good run as well. Sometimes used to get something to eat while I was out getting lunch. Soon as I got home used to get in the car and go for a drive to clear my head. More often than not get something to eat as well.

Then got an office job. Was alright at first, then got into the habit of stopping off to get something to eat on the way home. KFC in Kew Junction was the usual spot. Salivating at the thought, even now. Ultimate Burger Meal. Wicked Wings. Zinger. Pepsi. Upsized.

Tried to give it up twice, once lasted 4 days. Second time lasted a month. Withdrawal symptoms, the lot. Bouncing off the walls. Miserable person to be around. Third time was the charm. 26th of November 2012, decided to give it one last shot. Went down to Hungry Jacks to have a last meal, got an Ultimate Double Whopper with Angry Onions Meal (would kill you all to get my hands on another one) Sat in the car. Finished it all off. Put the rubbish in the bin and that was that.

Swore off what I call the "Big 4" (McDonalds, KFC, Hungry Jacks and Red Rooster. Basically anything with a drive through) on that day and haven't had any since. Still have Burgers occasionally from places like Nandos, Grilled, Schnitz, Fish and Chips and Subway, but not nearly as frequently. Once a week, tops.

I can really relate to this. I know that I need to give up fast food before my metabolism slows to a point where I'll put on noticeable weight. Currently I'm at 76 kg and stand at 194 cm. I turn 19 in a few weeks. I'm pretty skinny, yes, but I still do get conscious about skinfolds and the like (I've always been skinny so I don't really know what's normal!) I hate to say I'm "addicted" to fast food but I'm pretty close. Would rarely go a week without it, since I started a new job with a Maccas nearby I'd go there twice a week for the last couple of months. Thankfully that contract ends soon so I can get back to a more balanced diet. I tried going cold turkey last year and got three weeks. It didn't help that uni was 1km away from Maccas. I tried again eight days ago and caved yesterday, using "convenience" as an excuse. I've got to stop lying to myself.

Fast food is great at the time but geez it makes you feel like shit afterwards. I've been going for runs to try and make myself feel better mentally, but I need to remove myself from the mindset that eating fast food is "evened out" by going for runs. Still, I've been averaging about 18km a week with 2-3 runs a week, plenty of hills and hot afternoons. It's amazing how a simple app like RunKeeper can motivate you, just being able to see the route you ran when you get home is a great feeling.

I'm with you on the "Big 4". That's what I've tried to ban myself from. And I really, really want to do it. Banning myself from Subway is a bit of a stretch because you can get healthy options there. But the Big 4? I think it's possible. I'm gonna miss those late night Maccas runs, or a chocolate frappe on the way home from a 10-hour work day, but these are the sacrifices you make.

It may sound like I'm overreacting but I'm serious about how much of a big deal this is. Hats off to you and I hope I can achieve the same.

I reckon between the start of November and Australia Day I would have had fast food at least a dozen times.

Wasn't even hungry on Australia Day but devoured some KFC anyway ... subconsciously made the decision then to not have it for a week and see what happens. Here we are Feb 22 and I haven't touched any since. Almost 4 full weeks!

Being 21 it's not a problem at all (in fact if anything I'm pretty cut* ;)), but down the track is obviously when it'll bite you on the arse. Gotta rid the habit now.

*flog comment

Haven't you heard that Subway is just as full of crap as the others?

Should be calling it the big 5.

https://www.subway.com.au/assets/documents/ausingredientguide.pdf

Subway is the biggest scam of them all. At least with the others they sell junk as junk. With Subway it looks like real meat but is actually full of shit. I used to eat Subway and I would wonder why it would make me feel so bad, now I know.

I'll only eat it once in a blue moon if I'm really hungry and I'm going with friends.

Haven't you heard that Subway is just as full of crap as the others?

Should be calling it the big 5.

https://www.subway.com.au/assets/documents/ausingredientguide.pdf

Subway is the biggest scam of them all. At least with the others they sell junk as junk. With Subway it looks like real meat but is actually full of shit. I used to eat Subway and I would wonder why it would make me feel so bad, now I know.

I'll only eat it once in a blue moon if I'm really hungry and I'm going with friends.
The guys that market Subway are f***ing geniuses, somehow they've managed to con people into thinking that their food is actually healthy, and they have differentiated their fast food brand from McDonalds, KFC etc... All I can guess is that people are impressed by the word fresh, because their food is just as shitty and calorie laden as any other fast food brand.

Where in Melbourne can you get a good (read, good) chicken schnitzel burger with gravy? Been craving one ever since I moved here.
Schnitz is a good option. One of my uni staples. Can get pricey unfortunately, but the chicken is crumbed to perfection.

Anyone know of any good food joints Near Glenferie Station? I need some lunch for when i am going to Swinburne
i went to uni there. the food options were shite.

once or twice a week i'd eat at the indian that is on the main road that crosses with glenferrie road. can't remember it but it runs parallel to the train line.

there is a nice burger joint near hawthorn station but that's a fair trek just for a burger.

The guys that market Subway are f***ing geniuses, somehow they've managed to con people into thinking that their food is actually healthy, and they have differentiated their fast food brand from McDonalds, KFC etc... All I can guess is that people are impressed by the word fresh, because their food is just as shitty and calorie laden as any other fast food brand.
it's no better than macca's. or if it's better you're not talking by much. all of it is so shit for you.

in saying that i'm seriously considering a wander across the road to get some.... but i'll prob get in the car and get a nice chicken burger from the local.

Subway isnt nearly as bad as the others. It's fat and sugar content is much lower, although it depends on what you get of course.

Through my 20s Id be getting all the crap probably 10 times a week. KFC, pizza, HJs. Hit 30 last year and didnt want to still be like it at 40.

But for a GF day engorgement, I havent gone near KFC in over a year, barely touch pizzas, barely touch HJs, barely touch fish and chips, dont touch sugary drinks (only the sugar free stuff).

Of course I do need fast food, we all do. Once a week we get red rooster, but avoid the chips and cokes. That's where the fat and sugar is.

On a Saturday night often get Thai which isnt great but it's not as bad.

Even with fast food, you can find some stuff that isnt very bad. Ill probably get Grill'd tonight and that's a decent meal that doesnt do too much damage.

OK, where in Melbourne can I get a good Meat Pie, Pasty, Sausage Roll and a Fish and Chip shop Hamburger. Help a brother out.
Ive been on the lookout for pies for a while. The best are actually from the chain store 'Fergusons'. It's their chunky pie. Real pieces of tender beef.

The rest I can't help you with. I cant find any fish and chips that don't me feel like piss and shit.

Ive been on the lookout for pies for a while. The best are actually from the chain store 'Fergusons'. It's their chunky pie. Real pieces of tender beef.

The rest I can't help you with. I cant find any fish and chips that don't me feel like piss and shit.

That isn't Ferguson Plarre is it? Their pastys are good but the Boston buns they make are like Heroin to me.

Probably once a week or so. Mainly a pizza, kebab, chips or KFC. In addition if I'm on the run I'll grab a muffin or something from a bakery or cafe. Maybe a couple of times a week. Tend to have it if I'm either not that hungry and don't want a meal or if really hungry and just something to get by until the next meal.

bump..

pizza huts new one
King-Hero-Panel-4th-March.jpg

Fast Food