Favourite Beer

Tried a Knappstein Reserve Lager last night. Impressive beer. Very fruity flavour, but goes down quite easily for a beer that is 5.6%. I'll be purchasing this one again, for sure.

Bundaberg Ginger Beer

You should try this stuff:

kopparbergFranksAlcoholicGingerBeer.jpg

Swedish alco ginger beer. Incredibly moreish. It doesn't even taste like it has alcohol in it. With a slice of lemon & ice on a hot summer's day, it can't be beat.

I wish Bundaberg or Saxby's would do their own version. They make the best ginger beer in the world, they should brew some alcohol in there.

Tried a Knappstein Reserve Lager last night. Impressive beer. Very fruity flavour, but goes down quite easily for a beer that is 5.6%. I'll be purchasing this one again, for sure.
Very rare good lager. Goes down great in Summer. If only it was a bit lighter in the mouth, a little too heavy to make it really good and refreshing.

Favourites atm being:

Mountain goat - Steam Ale, got down to the bar in Richmond, hadnt been in a year or so...love the place and all the beers are amazing on tap

Also tried Holgate chocolate porter - this was at Mountain goat as a guest beer, also very nice, their brewery is in Woodend i think and hour or so from Melbourne, guess that would be pretty good too

of the more commercial variety... I love Matilda bay brewery, Big Helga and Fat Yak, also James Squires is very nice, and the brew houses they have around town are good too, been to docklands, Hobart and Perth all the same sort of deal really

And "Moo Brew" havnt seen it on tap in Vic... is a Tasmanian beer and cost like 95 a case.....yeah i know, got it for like 16 a jug in Tassie when i was their, now this stuff is amazing, so clean, can be top 3 if not the best beers i have ever had

anyone else with opinions on these beers?

If you like Fat Yak and Moo Brew, try Matilda Bays Alpha Pale Ale. A 4 pack will set you back about $16 from Dans, although most half decent melbourne bottle-os should have it. One of the best APAs made in Australia.

Steam Ale is an alright lager. Crisp, and non offensive. Much better than any macro lagers you will buy, but there are some better Lagers around.

The Holgate Temptress is very nice. If you ever go to their Brewhouse, see if they have the Empress there. Its like its older brother. Bigger and better.

So, some mates and I went to a beer tasting event last week. They had about 40 different brewers participate. Most of them were local so you probably can't get them in Australia. There were a few standouts though.

The Blood Alley Extra Special Bitter by Russell Brewing (Canada) was very good. Kind of a red ale with strong flavour.

La Cuvee des Trolls (Belgium) was a nice blond ale. Bit of an orange flavour with tight carbonation like most Belgian beer.

St Peters Honey Porter (UK) was a really interesting one. Strong honey taste but you wouldn't want to drink more than 1 or 2.

Honey stout sounds a bit weird but I've loved the other St Peters beers I've tried. Their organic ale is beaut. And they come in these unique, narrow, long bottles, a bit like the ones they had in the 18th and 19th centuries.

Site

Wish I had one right now. I doubt if they have an Aussie distributor.

If you like Fat Yak and Moo Brew, try Matilda Bays Alpha Pale Ale. A 4 pack will set you back about $16 from Dans, although most half decent melbourne bottle-os should have it. One of the best APAs made in Australia.

Steam Ale is an alright lager. Crisp, and non offensive. Much better than any macro lagers you will buy, but there are some better Lagers around.

The Holgate Temptress is very nice. If you ever go to their Brewhouse, see if they have the Empress there. Its like its older brother. Bigger and better.

Examples mate? steam is just so clean, why i like it, sure there will be better ones around no doubt though

Just got a slab of Matilda Bay Longshot. tried it last week & loved it, very different with the bitterness of a distinct coffee flavour but look forward to drinking it during winter. 6% alc vol. Got it for $50 too as Dan's were getting rid of it due to planagram changes. Its great to have a family member working there. :thumbsu:

Examples mate? steam is just so clean, why i like it, sure there will be better ones around no doubt though
Knappstein reserve lager.

Wicked Elf pils.

Matilda Bay bohemian pils

Holgate pils

Red angus pils

Steam Ale is a very odd lager variety called a California Common, so getting another lager exactly like it is near impossible here. But these are good examples of well made lagers that are just as smooth but have more flavour. All of these can be found cold in a Dan Murphys.

Tried two different South Australian microbrews last night.

GT Lager, made by Brewboys as a tribute to the Falcon GT - It's 5.8% with 35.1 bitterness units. Bit of a gimmicky concept but it's actually a really nice lager, full of flavour but goes down quite easily.

Gentlemen's Pale Ale - Tasted like a home brew. Nice head retention, but way too much carbonation for a pale ale. The bottle design is very cool, but I would avoid this one at all costs.

Stopped by the Potters Brewery in the Hunter Valley the other day. Their Chilli Chocolate Porter is worth a try, as is their Pale Ale. I was also fortunate enough to try Punch and Judy by the Murray Craft Beer company, which they had on tap, I suppose as a "guest" beer.... wow. Replaced Rogers as my favourite midstrength, and was up there as one of the best beers I've had.

You should come and post on Whirlpool. Beer thread on their is crazy. Mostly Melbourne guys, as they are at the heart of the Australian Craft beer movement, but you get good insight into a huge range of beers.

Murray's opening their place in Manly tomorrow. Going on Wednesday. They are also finally releasing their DIPA Spartacus in bottles as well.

You should come and post on Whirlpool. Beer thread on their is crazy. Mostly Melbourne guys, as they are at the heart of the Australian Craft beer movement, but you get good insight into a huge range of beers.

Murray's opening their place in Manly tomorrow. Going on Wednesday. They are also finally releasing their DIPA Spartacus in bottles as well.

Yeah, I might do that. Problem is that living in Canberra makes it difficult to find some of the more obscure beers, so I end up just searching for beer and getting frustrated when I can't find them! There's Plonk all the way out in Fyshwick, and that's about it.

Regarding Murray's, after being a little disappointd in their Nirvana Pale Ale (it wasn't bad, but I was expecting something mega hoppy and full of character and was let down) I kind of snubbed them. Regret that now, I'm going to try some more of their stuff.

And boy, that Spartacus looks good.... love my IPAs, love my DIPAs even more. Also want to get my hands on their Wild Thing.

I'm actually considering getting some homebrew going, doing some courses and then investing in some quality equipment to really make some quality beers. I keep thinking about things I want to do (and be able to do), like cocoa-based beers (not just using cocoa for flavour, but actually using it as a starch source), jacked IPAs, using weird ingredients like eucalyptus leaves (really think it could work if its confined to the aroma), tea, coffee, fruits, etc. Ideally, if/when I'm good I'd actually start up a microbrewery.

Yeah, I might do that. Problem is that living in Canberra makes it difficult to find some of the more obscure beers, so I end up just searching for beer and getting frustrated when I can't find them! There's Plonk all the way out in Fyshwick, and that's about it.

Regarding Murray's, after being a little disappointd in their Nirvana Pale Ale (it wasn't bad, but I was expecting something mega hoppy and full of character and was let down) I kind of snubbed them. Regret that now, I'm going to try some more of their stuff.

And boy, that Spartacus looks good.... love my IPAs, love my DIPAs even more. Also want to get my hands on their Wild Thing.

I'm actually considering getting some homebrew going, doing some courses and then investing in some quality equipment to really make some quality beers. I keep thinking about things I want to do (and be able to do), like cocoa-based beers (not just using cocoa for flavour, but actually using it as a starch source), jacked IPAs, using weird ingredients like eucalyptus leaves (really think it could work if its confined to the aroma), tea, coffee, fruits, etc. Ideally, if/when I'm good I'd actually start up a microbrewery.
Whirlpool thread has one guy that lives in Canberra. Always have Slowbeer and Purvis that deliver Australia wide. Can normally get 12 really good beers for about 100, usually with 1-2 like ~$15 brews. I'm lucky, as my local Porters sells a few Murrays stuff. Got myself a Punk Monk (a combined Belgian Ale style) and an Angry Man (American Brown). They also have Grad Cru, Icon, P&Js. Once the new Murrays Brewhouse starts, there will be Murrays everywhere hopefully.

There are also a couple of good homebrewers in the threads. They love doing imitations too. Think they had a Punk IPA clone. As well as an Epic Pale Ale clone. One was even trying a Brewdog Absktrakt clone :p One guy has done a Hop Tea I think.

I've got an order coming from BrewDog for about $260 :p Got myself a STB and a TNP, as well as some other limited released, and a couple of Mikkellers that they sell through their store too.

Pure Blonde has always been the beer for me, it's amazing.
Just a question. Do you drink PB because it is Low carb, and you want to watch what goes into your body?
'

Just a question. Do you drink PB because it is Low carb, and you want to watch what goes into your body?
'

Yep. Cos that's the thing I think about the most when I am out having a drink.

A few weeks ago, I stumbled across an online beer shop (http://www.adelaidebiershop.com.au/) who offer local pickup in South Australia (Thebarton, to be exact). People in SA should check them out, because they have a pretty huge range of beers - better than any bottle shop I know of - and their prices aren't too bad. The only catch is that you have to order 5 litres minimum, due to their license. I've already bought a mixed carton (2x12 SA microbrews for $75) from them, so I can vouch for their service.