Favourite Beer

A few weeks ago, I stumbled across an online beer shop (http://www.adelaidebiershop.com.au/) who offer local pickup in South Australia (Thebarton, to be exact). People in SA should check them out, because they have a pretty huge range of beers - better than any bottle shop I know of - and their prices aren't too bad. The only catch is that you have to order 5 litres minimum, due to their license. I've already bought a mixed carton (2x12 SA microbrews for $75) from them, so I can vouch for their service.
Looks like a pretty solid shop. Only thing really missing is US beers.

Got a good range of the 3 big NZ breweries ... Epic, Croucher and 8wired. Can't go wrong with any of their stuff, which is better than most Aussie stuff.

EDIT: They have their US beers under Canada, which then changes to North America. Rogue, Sierra Nevada, Anderson Valley. With all those, it looks like a really good store. Has a good amount of quality glassware too. The
Weihenstephaner Weiss Glass is always a favourite. Looks brilliant.

_________

I found a place in Sydney today that has a ridiculous range. Lots of grey imports from Stone, Alesmith, Nogne O, Mikkeller, Rogue. Spent $95 on 6 bombers (650mL) :p Could easily spend $500+ there.

Just had a bottle of Scribbly Gum Lager. Not bad, tasted a lot like a wheat beer to me with a twist. Easy to drink at 6.5%.

Good Beers.
Budweiser
Boags Premium
Coopers Pale Ale
3 Ravens
Heniken
Carlton isnt too bad in slight slight moderation, seems to go down off tap at the MCC very nicley for some odd reason
Two brothers

Bad Beers.
Pure Blonde- Absolute Shit and mates will be made fun of the entire night if they are seen near this.
Golsch
XXXX
VB
MB
Toohneys New - I will smother my kids (when I have them) if they ever go near this filth
Tooheys Extra Dry isnt as bad.

I'm a fan of my American beer and Carlton i said in slight moderation.

VB is filled with chemicals and stuff I never want to know, been told by mates that work there never to drink it... Worse beer for you.

If you like new that all I can say is well done because I sure as hell can't get it down, would much rather old or extra dry

All Macro lagers are made with shit. All the adjuncts they put in instead of natural ingredients like Micros do, is horrible. Most of it is Corn and Rice IIRC.

American Beer is absolutely sensational, except Budwesier is the US version of Carlton/New/VB. Its all Adjuncts, and all crap.

This video, and the site in general is brilliant - http://www.beerleaks.org/video/

It's Vimeo so can't embed it in here.

Yer I love the American beer and budweiser is the only bit I can get, even though it doesn't do american beer the justice it deserves.

Find it quite smooth for a beer, not the best after taste.

Can't buy Carlton up here, only XXXX which is like soft drink and new.

Yer I love the American beer and budweiser is the only bit I can get, even though it doesn't do american beer the justice it deserves.

Find it quite smooth for a beer, not the best after taste.

Can't buy Carlton up here, only XXXX which is like soft drink and new.
If you really like good beer, and prepared to pay a bit, there are a few Melbourne places that will ship stuff all over Australia. Shipping to Sydney is about $15, so GC shouldn't be much more.

Can get plenty of good US, Belgian, Australian, NZ, German, Danish, etc brews. Shouldn't cost too much, especially if you stick to stubbies. You can get Sierra Nevada Pale Ale for $6 a stubbie. Can get stuff like Hargreaves Hill Pale Ale for about $4.

I'm a fan of my American beer and Carlton i said in slight moderation.

VB is filled with chemicals and stuff I never want to know, been told by mates that work there never to drink it... Worse beer for you.

If you like new that all I can say is well done because I sure as hell can't get it down, would much rather old or extra dry

New and Extra Dry are as bad as each other.

Old is quite good, considering its Tooheys.

Had a second taste of the Holgate Temptress on friday, was pretty good, was at Young and Jacksons so wasnt the best beer from tap was ok.

Apparently they just limited released their "Empress" this week, which i believe is a more full flavoured version of the Temptress which is a chocolate porter

wouldnt mind getting a hold of it but doubt i will

Had a second taste of the Holgate Temptress on friday, was pretty good, was at Young and Jacksons so wasnt the best beer from tap was ok.

Apparently they just limited released their "Empress" this week, which i believe is a more full flavoured version of the Temptress which is a chocolate porter

wouldnt mind getting a hold of it but doubt i will
Unless you have dedication, I doubt you will. Thing sold out incredibly quickly. Also pretty exxy, as it such a limited release. Think it was $65 a bottle.

I haven't had it, but the word is that it is incredible, especially as the Temptress is already a very good beer. The Empress is just bigger, and more chocolatey :p I think they have it on tap at the Holgate Brewhouse, but in short supply of course.

Currently living in England for a bit, saw some actually quality ales at Lidl on special, thought I give them a shot. They were all of 1.29 pounds each - probably 2 dollars at the exchange rate at the minute. Drinking them with a Vindaloo, some rice and a keema naan. Lidl is is the same boat at Aldi...would cost $7-8 a pop at Dans.

Marstons Pedigree - English Pale Ale - 5%
Brown bottle. Golden colour. Caramelly/bready, some hops. Smooth, smooth, smooth. Nice.

Shepherd Neame Bishops Finger - Extra Special Bitter - 5.4%
Clear bottle. Looks coppery. Pours with a nice head, which lasts. Smells toffee/malty, with some berries/fruitniness. Taste is per smell, with some drying bitterness at the end. Awesome, love a good English ESB. Wish there were more Australian brewers making things in this style (I think I had a six pack of Holgate ESB a couple of years ago...Holgate, as noted above, are sensational).

Bit of a w***er, but hey I'm enjoying the evening!

Should definitely try Fullers ESB while your over there.

When you're here, look for Red Hill's ESB. Top stuff.

Beer lover here - especially Squires Amber Ale but ESB as above =??? (just trying to learn)

Disregard ? - Extra Special Bitter (reread posts).

Thanks for the recommendation. Will seek it out when I get back, a couple of things that I've had from Red Hill have been good.

Already had Fullers ESB when I was down in London on cask, excellent.

Only here for a few more days, so need to drink up while I can!

Good stuff. There are a quite a few good English Bitters/ESBs in Australia. Murrays Punch and Judys Ale is just an English Bitter, but its incredibly good, especially as it's only 3.9% ABV.

It even gets traditionally Hand Pumped at most venues if it's on tap. :thumbsu:

Looking at some English brews, as I'm not particularly familiar with UK stuff, much more US influenced ... are you a Stout/Dark Ale kind guy? Or like to stick to the lighter English Bitters?

Beer lover here - especially Squires Amber Ale but ESB as above =??? (just trying to learn)

Disregard ? - Extra Special Bitter (reread posts).

English Bitters and ESBs are the standard UK brews. Very traditional, and made by probably most UK brewers as their Flagship beer.

If you want to try a good UK brew, look for the Murrays beer I mentioned above. Can be found at Dan Murphys. Very clean with a good Malt profile. Very easy to drink, and very good.

Red/Amber Ales aren't really big with Aussie brewers. You can definitely find some quality US Red Ales around; Rogue St Rogue Red Ale is very good. Can be probably be found at Dispensary Enoteca, if not plenty of Melbourne bottle-os.

Anderson Valley Boont Amber is also good.

BrewDog (Scotland) make a very good sessionable Amber Ale, better than Squires. Called 5AM Saint, and can be found at Dan Murphys. Very good.

As for Aussie Reds. Brewboys make a good one

Good stuff. There are a quite a few good English Bitters/ESBs in Australia. Murrays Punch and Judys Ale is just an English Bitter, but its incredibly good, especially as it's only 3.9% ABV.

It even gets traditionally Hand Pumped at most venues if it's on tap. :thumbsu:

Looking at some English brews, as I'm not particularly familiar with UK stuff, much more US influenced ... are you a Stout/Dark Ale kind guy? Or like to stick to the lighter English Bitters?

I'll basically drink and enjoy all styles of beer (except for most fruit beers). My favourite style of all is a big, hoppy India Pale Ale. Even sometimes in the mood for a pint of macro lager, but halfway through regret my decision!

English beer is definitely worth exploring, quite a few different flavours than those you get in American brews, as I'm sure you know. And because of their quite low alcohol content, a lot of the beer is exceptionally sessionable. :thumbsu: Some of it is admittedly fairly muted, but at least they have variety in their most of their pubs, instead of most of their pubs having the same Carlton/New/VB/XXXX/Cascade Light (or maybe a James Squire or Fat Yak if the place is trying ti be posho) brigade. Hand pumping adds another element as well.

I'm in the reverse situation, haven't sampled many American beers beyond the usual crap and Samuel Adams and Sierra Nevada...looking forward to trying a few more.

Had some Vale Ale last night, very agreeable with the light pasta for dinner.

Mountain Goat Hightail Ale too, loved the toasty maltiness... great to finish with, postfooty on a cold night.

Last weekend was the big finale for me and a mate at the Belgian Beer Cafe... finished the 42 different beers passport, with the expensive Deus Brut Flanders. Must say it was v. disappointing considering the hype and price.

Decided to try Peroni Leggara, 7.5/10. Not a bad drop.

Just partaking in a Southwark Stout, the grandaddy of stouts.

Yumox, very creamy, very strong at 7.4 %, wars the cockles in winter.

images.jpg