Favourite Beer

Just partaking in a Southwark Stout, the grandaddy of stouts.

Yumox, very creamy, very strong at 7.4 %, wars the cockles in winter.

images.jpg

Delicious, probably prefer this to Coopers. Might go buy some now. :thumbsu:

Enjoy !!

I might grab a six of each ( Coopers, Southwark ) for the footy Friday night :p
If you have an iPhone/Android, download Foursquare, check into a 1st choice and get 50% off a 4/6 pack (one per store).

I used to really like stella but not much anymore.

Hoegaarden, Duvel, Kronenberg, Weihenstephan, Little Creatures.

My favourites at the moment. I'm a big fan of wheat beer, not so much stout unless I only have the one or two. Had that "space beer" was alright.

Love just grabbing a 6 pack of normal beers then getting a few unique ones.

Dan Murphy's is damn cheap, love grabbing 6 packs/cartons there, some 6 packs that go for like 18-20 are like 14/15 at Dan Murphys.

I don't dislike Corona's but I don't understand the love for it. Fair enough its easy to drink but there's like no real taste to it. My mate always gets it when we drink. Fair play to him though does what I do sometimes, the 6 pack plus a unique pick or two.

You definitely have the thirst for better beer inside you. I'm not a big Stout drinker either. Easily prefer Hops over Malts.

Wheat beers are an odd style, most people seem to grow out of them pretty quickly.

I don't know Perth as well as Sydney, or Melbourne, but if you like Wheat, look for Hitachino Nest. They're Japanese and make very good Wheat beers. Dans will most likely not have them, so a craft place will, but I don't know Perth craft stores.

You also seem to like Belgians, which is the usual path for people getting into Craft, as they are easily available. Look for Trappist brews. Stuff like Rochefort, Chimay, Westmalle and possibly Orval. I know Chimay and Rochefort are definitely at Dans, the other two maybe. They are the epitome of Belgian beer.

Get some BrewDog Punk IPA if you want to try some good American Style brews.

Just trying a Scribbly Gum Lager. Nice malty lager, with floral hop and a good bitter finish.

Buuut, very overpriced at $8 + for a 640ml bottle. IMHO there are better beers at a cheaper price. You'd want to savour this one if ya buy a bottle.

Apparently they are bringing a stout out. Looking forward to trying that.

Just trying a Scribbly Gum Lager. Nice malty lager, with floral hop and a good bitter finish.

Buuut, very overpriced at $8 + for a 640ml bottle. IMHO there are better beers at a cheaper price. You'd want to savour this one if ya buy a bottle.
Tried that a few weeks ago, its different & I didn't mind it but wouldn't go out of my way to get it.

It's not really overpriced. If you consider that it has almost as much volume as two regular beers, for a limited release beer it's actually quite reasonably priced. If it were in 345ml bottles I bet you that most bottle shops would be charging $4.50+ per unit.

Thankfully my local bottle shop sells them for $7 each, I usually pick one up if I'm there.

The Noir Stout is nothing to write home about. SGL was a much better release.

Gotta say, after sampling a heap of APAs/IPAs/2IPAs recently, I am more of an APA fan. Whilst I am punishing Hop Hog at the minute as my staple, I certainly prefer a good APA (rank LCPA & Hop Hog about even). I guess the whole uber-hops finsh doesn't quite float the boat as much as a nice floral hop flavour.

Out of Epic Pale Ale and Epic Armageddon IPA for example, I prefer the APA (probably in the minority). Both beers highly recommended. The APA is the best I've had from Australasia.

Also tried out the Murrays 2IPA and Southern Tier 2IPA and whilst both are recommended, I was a bit put off by the boozier finish of them both.

Also recently tried North Coast Old Rasputin, which is a very nice Imperial Stout. Perfect winter beer.

If you are a big APA fan, you must get Croucher Pale Ale. Also from NZ like Epic. Its fantastic.

I'm more of an IPA drinker. Gone through a heap of highly rated US West Coast IPAs and DIPAs, and the ones that are standing out are the IPAs. Stuff like AleSmith IPA, Green Flash West Coast IPA, Port Brewing Wipeout IPA.

The AleSmith IPA, I think, was the best beer I've had. It was so well balanced, beautiful aromas and body. It was like a prototype West Coast IPA, similar to Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is the prototype APA.

Anyway so my top picks at the moment.

Knappstein Reserve Lager
Vale Ale
Red Hill Golden Ale
Mountain Goat Steam Ale
White Rabbit White Ale

Anyone got some suggestions keeping in mind the above tastes?

I try and sample as many different beers as I can but seems for some of you guys is almost a religion!

Things I have been recently drinking.

Pepperjack Ale :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Sam Adams Summer Ale :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Vale Ale :thumbsu::thumbsdown:

Lucky Beer (the one in that buddha bottle) :thumbsu::thumbsdown:

Little Creatures East Kent Goldings Single Batch :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Anyway so my top picks at the moment.

Knappstein Reserve Lager
Vale Ale
Red Hill Golden Ale
Mountain Goat Steam Ale
White Rabbit White Ale

Anyone got some suggestions keeping in mind the above tastes?

I try and sample as many different beers as I can but seems for some of you guys is almost a religion!
You've got a bit of a variety in there.

German Pilsner, APA, Kolsch, Steam, and a Honey infused Witbier.

It looks like Dans is your main source?

I think you should look for

BrewDog 5AM Saint - American Red/Amber Ale: Very drinkable, nice flavour, highly recommended.

Matilda Bay Bohemian Pilsner - Czech Pilsner: Once again, drinkable, light and crisp.

Wicked Elf Witbier, Pilsner & Pale Ale - Wit, Pils and APA: Very good little brewery. Seems like you can appreciate all of these brews.

If you want to try something a little different

BrewDog Punk IPA - American IPA: Essentially a bigger, bolder version of an APA (American Pale Ale). Will be bigger in flavour, bitterness, maltiness, body.

Thanks for the heads up. :thumbsu:

Familiar with Wicked Elf Witbier. Has some a while back and was really nice.

Will try to knock the ones you've suggested off the list. Get to Dan's when I can (it's a bit out of the the way) but there's a few others I frequent with good ranges too.

Yeah, its hard to recommend stuff when the ranges of stores vary so much.

Are you in Melbourne or Geelong?

Haha, just assumed you were in Victoria. A Geelong fan in Newcastle must be a rarity.

So then, get yourself down to Warners on the Bay. One of the best Botte Shops in Australia.

Pick up anything by Epic Brewery as a first choice. They are a New Zealand Brewery, and make World Class beer. Better than 90% of what you will find in Australia. Epic Lager, Epic Pale Ale, Epic Armaggedon (IPA, World Class IPA too). They are favourites of even the biggest beer snob.

They also have a good range of US stuff. Sierra Nevada Pale Ale should be a must get as well. It's an APA, and pretty much the beer that started the craft beer growth in the US. Quintessential beer. Plus SN are importing to Australia officially now, so these will be cheaper than a lot of beers. Something like $4 a stubbie, which is cheaper than a Fat Yak stubbie at a BWS.

You also seem to like Belgians, which is the usual path for people getting into Craft, as they are easily available. Look for Trappist brews. Stuff like Rochefort, Chimay, Westmalle and possibly Orval. I know Chimay and Rochefort are definitely at Dans, the other two maybe. They are the epitome of Belgian beer.

What? Where? Which Dans?

(warms up car).

Haha, just assumed you were in Victoria. A Geelong fan in Newcastle must be a rarity.

So then, get yourself down to Warners on the Bay. One of the best Botte Shops in Australia.

Pick up anything by Epic Brewery as a first choice. They are a New Zealand Brewery, and make World Class beer. Better than 90% of what you will find in Australia. Epic Lager, Epic Pale Ale, Epic Armaggedon (IPA, World Class IPA too). They are favourites of even the biggest beer snob.

They also have a good range of US stuff. Sierra Nevada Pale Ale should be a must get as well. It's an APA, and pretty much the beer that started the craft beer growth in the US. Quintessential beer. Plus SN are importing to Australia officially now, so these will be cheaper than a lot of beers. Something like $4 a stubbie, which is cheaper than a Fat Yak stubbie at a BWS.

Yeah I know the one. Not far away at all.

I've tried all the Epics as well and they are bloody nice I agree. Forgot bout them actually. Had them probably 6 months ago and didn't see them again so I'm glad you reminded me of their existence!

Thanks again. :thumbsu:

What? Where? Which Dans?

(warms up car).
Surely most Dans would have them. I swear I've seen them at most Dans I've been to.

Just goto the craft shelves and they should have it.

If not, a Porters will have it. Porters at Northwood/Longueville is a great little Dans. So is Balgowlah. Artarmon as well. Even a small Porters will have them.

Where abouts in Sydney are you? Because there are some amazing Bottle shops in the Eastern suburbs as well as Strathfield way.