Fevola Arrested?

I do. I'm also aware that in his first season Browny broke his jaw twice and had a habit of tearing other teams to bits on a regular basis.

Henderson seems like a nice enough kid, but I'm fed-up of all the Fev-haters and their rose-coloured glasses where he is concerned.
I agree. He's built up a reputation for himself with multiple, yet minor and somewhat petty, offences over the years, and now everyone seems to not only jump to conclusions when they hear his name, but also exaggerate such small incidents.

Give him a break! There may be some depth to this story, but most likely it's just media hype.

When I was at schoolies, a mate of mine shouted "I'm ****ing turning 18 in an hour" in the mall. And for that a policeman put him in the lockup for 4 hours. So I know sometimes these arrests can be fairly arbitrary.

Re: Brendan Fevola #2

Just not the start to a new year that we need. I've been a great supporter of Fev over the years. I was so excited when we picked him up last year.

The thought of him & Brown on the same forward line was tantalising. I couldn't wait for season 2010 to begin.

It's just been one thing after another with Fev though. Sure he has been unfairly treated & much maligned in some instances. But this latest one could be the last straw.

How far can you stretch a rubber band before it breaks ? Sure Fev didn't assault anyone last night but he was arrested. It is yet another unwelcome distraction for our club that we don't need. It impacts on our credibilty & makes the sponsors jumpy.

I would still love to see a fit Fevola combine with Brown in 2011 to destroy oppositions. But sadly I think this is it for the Fev.

Time to let the Henderson thing go, he's very much a project player not Jonathan Brown. Good luck to him at Carlton, he was never going to get much of a go up forward at the lions anyway. As for Fev, the only thing I've taken from this is how good his management are. Personally I don't buy into the 'personal issues'. To me it seems as though his management quickly got onto the front foot, setting up a situation where the club will look like a little bit of a bad guy, by sacking a bloke in a time of need.

Put away the pitchforks and flaming torches people.. Not quite enough info out there yet for the lynching a bunch of you seem to be clamouring for. Bloke was out on the sauce on New Years,,, go into a *verbal* exchange with some police officers,,, what a terrible transgression against the great sport of Aussie Rules footy!

I'm sure a lot of you were making much larger concessions when Voss and Co were up to a lot worse in a pub a few years ago...

What is worse, may I ask? Out drunk blocking a road, or players sexually getting involved with a 16 year old girl? For me, what the St Kilda players did is far worse then what Fev did.

So Fev had a big night on the turps on new years eve. Big deal really. We all have done that. He copped his punishment, a night in the lock-up. Move on, and let the lad play football.

McM, I do not condone what he has done and agree that he should have complied with the officers request but let me ask you this:

If it was some one other than Fevola would the police have been arrested and would you care about it so much? - me thinks probably not.

Most people get an 'on the spot' fine for charges like this. Not bagging the police force, as they do a fantastic job and deal with things I wouldn't have the stomach for, but there are some ones that like to boost their quota, or land a big fish.

I'm amazed at people leaping to the defence of this clown, irrespective of this latest incident...poor old Fev is always the victim.:rolleyes:

Not leaping to his defense, but be honest... if this isn't a media beat up, I don't know what is. People were screaming for Fev to get sacked after the footy clinic scandal.... turned out to be false. Some things are not what they seem.

A month or so ago you were enthusing about how wonderful everything at the club was.

Nothing has really changed since then, Fev was still a manbaby on an overinflated contract back then.

More than anything it is your "everything is wonderful" or "everything is utterly rooted" see sawing that does my head in.

We know the trade was badly misexecuted, as was the contract. We've bemoaned it a thousand times. Gubby is gone. Bowers and Kelly were rightfully shot at dawn.

At some point we have to deal with things as they come. At least in the short term. Woe is me defeatism doesn't help anything.

And This is the crux of the matter. Unlike some I believe the club has a measure of responsibility to it's employees. It's actually the same for any employer.

If people are really worried about how this affects the image of the club, how would it look if the club dropped an individual clearly in the need of professional help and something serious happened?

macmum I am completely guessing but I think fev's situation is very much related to his family. He seems like some one who needs stability and support structures. It's a shame he doesn't seem to have them at home. /conjecture

so who makes the final decision to sack fev? The CEO? Vossy? If the players dont wont him to go, it will have a big impact on their desire to press for a better season next year. Look forward to another 2010. :(

For his own good, I'd say Fev needs to go off alcohol, period. It will work for us as well, but if he doesn't get off it and stay off it, his life is going to be a mess post-football. It may not be our fault, but it's now our duty to help someone who cannot help himself.

as much as he will not like it they have to put him in cotton wool and really look out for him ( yes maybe get him a minder or a mother..oh he already tried that..not a good idea)

i thought that would have been a given when he arrived..but obviously the lions are not so smart in trusting that Fev would have enough common sense to stay away from drama

if he plays for the lions in 2011 he will kick 100

NoelMugavin;19880461 if he plays for the lions in 2011 he will kick 100[/QUOTE said:
If he is sacked it will weaken our team but if he stays he weakens our club. This is the choice I feel Voss and Co. have and my belief is that the Club is bigger than the individual. I sadly believe the Lions need to move on without him. It's a shame.

Drunk again, this time @ New Year .... hang him: what a joke ... drunk again ... so he's not Mother Teresa ... get back to training Fev & give back to the Lions the only way that counts ... on the field, 100+ (have a bad day v the Eagles preferably) !! :thumbsu:

And This is the crux of the matter. Unlike some I believe the club has a measure of responsibility to it's employees. It's actually the same for any employer.

If people are really worried about how this affects the image of the club, how would it look if the club dropped an individual clearly in the need of professional help and something serious happened?

macmum I am completely guessing but I think fev's situation is very much related to his family. He seems like some one who needs stability and support structures. It's a shame he doesn't seem to have them at home. /conjecture

He's got young kids. Saying it's a shame for Fev not to expose them to alcoholism, gambling addictions and/or depression sounds pretty crass to me. Anyone who has had relatives or friends dealing with this kinds of issues will tell you that his wife has done the right things by the kids - short term pain vs long term damage.

Some people don't have support structures because they spend too much time burning them down.

I think the club giving Fev a leave of absence to pursue professional help, providing they keep him on his physical rehab program.

For his own good, I'd say Fev needs to go off alcohol, period.
That is an essential requirement to him sorting himself out. He has to give the grog away completely. If he doesn't, his short term future looks shaky enough without even considering what may happen in the longer term.
If he is sacked it will weaken our team but if he stays he weakens our club.
This is the dilemma we were faced with at Carlton in the end too, given his inability to turn things around. A lot of our supporters were so endeared to him that they couldn't see it, but for the good of the club he had to go.

The whole thing with Fevola is with his background anything, ANYTHING, untoward develops a life of its own. This is particularly so now when we have a very slow news period.

Nothing makes better copy than "shock, horror, outrage"- yesterday it was Hugh Heffner marrying a 24yo blonde. Today it's "there we go again" with Fevola.

Seems to me that with the underlying capacity for the news to feed of very, very minor stuff like the alleged misdemeanour here, someone, anyone within the hierarchy could have had the foresight to do a Winmar and look after him so he isn't a mobile, albeit staggering, target at 4am.

Like maybe- Alastair to Fev "what are you doing New Years Fev?" response "nothing, just doing the Valley on my pat, Alastair" "oh no, you're not my lad, you're going to be at [insert option] where we can look after you"

Even more the case that preventive action should have been taken since now someone within the Club has seen fit to let it be known that Fev is "battling some demons". It's called duty of care. Would I be letting my $850k product wander around town with no care at all? Someone, not just Fev, is answerable for this.

I can't believe the tripe! Fev is a manchild, never grew up past the age of 4 etc etc etc. What a load of CRAP! This is a person who is employed to play football and to uphold the professional and personal expectations required to be employed in the AFL. He clearly has failed to meet these expectations over the last decade. I couldn't give a shit about his personal issues, there are people with REALproblems that haven't been self inflicted who you should save your excuses for Iriel!

Massive mistake made by the Lions, I would be happy for us to pay him his contract over the next 2 years and not have him at the club. IMO it would be a 1.8million dollar investment in our future success!
Simple, naive point of view. Managing contracts at AFL professional level is not that simple. There are many implications to be considered. One is unfair dismissal that can cost the club not only the value of the contract but unspecified financial damages through litigation among other considerations such as reputation, impact on culture etc... Remember Fev was not representing the club on the night of the incident; he was not wearing the club colours nor was he in an official capacity under the direct jurisdiction of Brisbane Lions.

As I stated this incident will very likely bring an end to Fev’s football career. However it still needs to be managed delicately and with care for the sake of the individuals involved. Paying out 1.9 million dollars as you have suggested will have a huge implication on our ability to retain players on the list. However a negotiated arrangement may mean extra dollars to play with to hold on to Rich, Clark and others as their performance warrants over the next few years.

I doubt that any court will uphold a dismissal for an offence as trivial as mouthing off to the police, no matter how lengthy history of prior misdemeanours Fev has.

So let’s look at his crime. In the whole scheme of things what does it matter that he got on the piss on New Years Eve and got a bit raucous. From the little snippets in the media it also appears that the Police, once realising who he was may have been slightly trigger happy. Had he been put in a police car and removed from the area and released into a taxi to drive him home will we be here condemning Fev for his stupidity. I can appreciate the reaction from some if he took part in the St Kilda group sex with a sixteen year old scene but hanging a bloke for getting on the piss on New Years Eve and becoming a bit obnoxious?
I think a bit of perspective needs to be adopted here.

I agree he should never have been recruited. The collateral damage to our club has been too great to even begin to comprehend, but now that he is part of the club he needs to be managed appropriately for the benefit of all concerned.

Fevola Arrested?