'Footy, not soccer' - kids urged

Yes, that's the kind of response that would eventually come up - matches the intellect of the article at the start of theis thread.

You don't care about soccer, that's fine, its not for everyone. But please realise that it doesn't matter because there are enough other people who do like the game and care about its players. The sell-out soccer crowd at Canberra last night was outstanding - and it was a crap game.
It was 80% sold.:rolleyes:

So I guess a game at the MCG which has 80000 people there is sold out.:rolleyes:

Don't hit me man..................Soccer
I am a man...........................AFL
I am a tough man...................NRL
I am a crazy man..................Rugby

Which one does mummy want her little boy to play?

The whole AFL V Soccer/A-league is a Media beat up that has gone too far.

Just on the whole Zoning/Flooding Trend in AFL that gets some fans a bit annoyed at the moment, did anyone happen to watch the A-league GF last week?

Talk about Flooding and Zoning! All players in the penalty box plus a Goal Keeper just choking up the opposition can really me piss me off. And when they get the ball back they would just boot it up the ground to no one. The same could be said with kicking sideways and backwards- watching defenders and the keeper pass the ball to themselves for 5 minutes before they go forward is really gay compared to what we boo in AFL which looks harmless in comparison.

I know some of these things are part in parcel with Soccer but does it have to be so stagnant. To many Soccer games I watch these day's consist of at least one team playing for a draw, that's the problem.:mad:

At least with the EPL, WC's etc you can see the superstars and quality teams beat the ugly defensive tactics in Soccer. A defensive method to Soccer that has been a constant, is merely a trend in AFL.

It's too hard to tweak rules in Soccer I guess. On the other side, indoor soccer is a sick game to play IMO. Fast end to end rebound/counter attacking football with plenty of goals.

I guess it's the way of most sports. A striker having to beat a defender and a keeper, an AFL forward trying to mark 2 on one, NFL receivers dealing with a direct opponent plus a safety, Rugby player trying to break through a wall etc, etc............................

DEFENSE, is more important than breathing.............(stole that from "The air up there" Kevin Bacon):D

Or, you know... north, to New South Wales and Queensland. Or are they not part of Australia any more?

In AUSTRALIA our no.1 code is AFL, yes I know its hard to admit for some
FACT, the majority of OZ follow afl through attendences, tv ratings, participation, not to mention the afl's large bank balance.....especially in the southern states and NT

Yes nsw and qld their no.1 code is league, which is struggling atm but will pick up again.

Look all my point was is that the most popular sport in Australia is AFL, if you cant see that head to your nearest doctor

btw this isnt a competition, this is whats great about australia theirs so many sports for us all not just soccer like the majority of other countrys bar america

In AUSTRALIA our no.1 code is AFL, yes I know its hard to admit for some
FACT, the majority of OZ follow afl through attendences, tv ratings, participation, not to mention the afl's large bank balance.....especially in the southern states and NT

Yes nsw and qld their no.1 code is league, which is struggling atm but will pick up again.

Actually, basic maths tells you that the NRL would have a larger following due to the larger population of the two northern states.

Don't you think it's a little sad that for all of the AFL's huffing and puffing about how rich and powerful and great they are, they hold sway over about ten million people?

Maybe the smart thing would be to not draw attention to it. I've got nothing against Australian football as a sport, but the admin are dicks with a serious inferiority complex.

The AFL is simply the most pathetic sporting governing body on the face of the earth. That type of rhetoric is appalling from a professional body. For all their spruiking in regards to spreading the game, they continue to struggle to spread the game within their own borders, and now have basically conceded that they must eliminate soccer.

Just truly pathetic, luckily enough people aren't as idiotic to buy that type of tripe. A lot will choose to make up their own minds.

John O'Neill's biography mentioned that prior to the start of every new season or something, Union chiefs would get together to discuss the basic threats and weaknesses of their sport. When talking about soccer, he said that the only thing they ever said year in year out was that "if soccer got its act together, watch out"

Judging by the responses in this thread, it seems like after 4 measly years of the A-League and one World Cup appearance, people are s***ing themselves. Why is that? Soccer still has a LONGGGGG way to go. But why are people up in arms now? Why are the comments in this thread so derogatory and dismissive. "I dont even know who won the GF" Well, it was Victory, in front of 54,000 at the Dome, playing to 250,000 viewers on FoxSports, and it made C7/C9/C10/ABC/SBS/Age/Herald Sun/Adelaide Advertiser headlines; the coverage was excellent, so it must be you guys who don't read papers or watch the news (which is fine).

You can talk up stats of attendances and whatnot, but you're not convincing anyone when the league has been around for 4 years. Come back when its been 54 years, and then we can have some real comparisons. Because as far as Im aware, people in this country have been brought up to follow AFL clubs. Lets give it some time for that sort of support to build for A-League teams.

The future of soccer in this country is exciting.

People didn't talk about soccer 10 years ago, cos there was nothing to talk about and it was no competition. Now all of a sudden, the boo boys are out in force because little old soccer has made a few baby steps. You lot are going to hate the future, when soccer one day becomes accepted.

Don't worry, the AFL is strong, but isn't it funny how the only code it really takes seriously is soccer? Rugby league? It hardly ever talks down the negative aspects of league, you don't get Melbourne journos taking pot shots at League attendances, how boring it is, or whatever else. It only happens with soccer. Wonder why?

Instead of trying to build links and attempting to accomodate the existence of both codes, they keep trying to put it down. Well, they aren't going to succeed. So good luck to them.

My friend,that is the most intelligent post I have read in all my time on BF!
I too,am annoyed at the hysteria regarding soccer.I played both and love both equally.
The AFL/media need to tread carefully when constantly denigrating soccer.One day the A-League will be the big bad ogre!!

Don't hit me man..................Soccer
I am a man...........................AFL
I am a tough man...................NRL
I am a crazy man..................Rugby

Which one does mummy want her little boy to play?

Actually mate,considering it's a non-contact sport,I played in some very tough leagues in Melbourne where posturing for free kicks was almost non-existant.

On the other hand the suburban league footy I played was tougher only because there were idiots who would want to punch your head in ,instead of getting a kick

I don't think the AFL is scared of soccer, however I think the AFL recognises the fact that soccer will shortly be (if it not already is), the number 2 domestic sport across Australia.

In saying this, soccer wouldn't dream of going head to head with AFl hence their switch to the summer season. Personally, I think both sports can co-exist, however soccer has as much chance of getting close to AFL as it does is surpassing american football in the USA. I recall that soccer advocates where in their pomp when the USA held the world cup in 1994 saying how this was what soccer needed to really get a foothold - all the standard arguments were pulled out then in terms of how kids preferred soccer becuase it was less physicall etc etc etc.
I think you're overrating its popularity. The NRL is still definitely number 2 as far as domestic sports go, soccer has done well in Melbourne but is still a fair way off overtaking it.

However, no doubt it is growing rapidly and rugby league is not really growing at all.

The AFL is simply the most pathetic sporting governing body on the face of the earth. That type of rhetoric is appalling from a professional body. For all their spruiking in regards to spreading the game, they continue to struggle to spread the game within their own borders, and now have basically conceded that they must eliminate soccer.

Just truly pathetic, luckily enough people aren't as idiotic to buy that type of tripe. A lot will choose to make up their own minds.

John O'Neill's biography mentioned that prior to the start of every new season or something, Union chiefs would get together to discuss the basic threats and weaknesses of their sport. When talking about soccer, he said that the only thing they ever said year in year out was that "if soccer got its act together, watch out"

Judging by the responses in this thread, it seems like after 4 measly years of the A-League and one World Cup appearance, people are s***ing themselves. Why is that? Soccer still has a LONGGGGG way to go. But why are people up in arms now? Why are the comments in this thread so derogatory and dismissive. "I dont even know who won the GF" Well, it was Victory, in front of 54,000 at the Dome, playing to 250,000 viewers on FoxSports, and it made C7/C9/C10/ABC/SBS/Age/Herald Sun/Adelaide Advertiser headlines; the coverage was excellent, so it must be you guys who don't read papers or watch the news (which is fine).

You can talk up stats of attendances and whatnot, but you're not convincing anyone when the league has been around for 4 years. Come back when its been 54 years, and then we can have some real comparisons. Because as far as Im aware, people in this country have been brought up to follow AFL clubs. Lets give it some time for that sort of support to build for A-League teams.

People didn't talk about soccer 10 years ago, cos there was nothing to talk about and it was no competition. Now all of a sudden, the boo boys are out in force because little old soccer has made a few baby steps. You lot are going to hate the future, when soccer one day becomes accepted.

Don't worry, the AFL is strong, but isn't it funny how the only code it really takes seriously is soccer? Rugby league? It hardly ever talks down the negative aspects of league, you don't get Melbourne journos taking pot shots at League attendances, how boring it is, or whatever else. It only happens with soccer. Wonder why?

Instead of trying to build links and attempting to accomodate the existence of both codes, they keep trying to put it down. Well, they aren't going to succeed. So good luck to them.

Your username gives away your preference which is your own business but your questions are slightly dishonest inasmuch as the answers are blatantly obvious.

Why does the AFL worry about soccer more than League. Err. perhaps because 6 or 8 times as many kids are playing it. League is stagnant. Soccer is the biggest participation footy code nationwide by a mile.

You ignore the reality that small indigenous codes worldwide ( and AFL is a small indigenous code) are having to counter the rise and consequent threat of soccer by coaching development etc. In Ireland which I know very well the GAA is facing the fact that soccer has grown exponentially in the past generation and youth and junior Gaelic football teams are often gutted of players when the codes clash as they increasingly do now that soccer has lost its fear of taking the GAA on head to head.....the same will happen here.

Of course the codes will have to live together in the same pool but just because you support Man Utd and want to believe there is no competition doesn't make it so. There is vicious competition worldwide between soccer and indigenous codes and other sports - EG soccer targets its world cup at emerging non traditional markets taking on baseball in Japan for instance - and the AFL is right to respond with energy and initiative just as any local shop should respond energetically to the arival of Walmart. Call it fear if you like. I call it sensible recognition ofreality.

NO one is shitting themselves Mate!
The truth is the all my life and Im 66 soccer in Australia have been predicting the demise of AUSTRALIAN Football and they are no closer now the they have ever been!

The game just does not appeal to the great bulk of Australian sports fans and only gets a bit of a run when the socceroos win some matches the rest of the time its a non event with 96% of the population!
BTW If its SOO popular how come NO FTA TV station wants to televise it?.

The AFL is only being vigilant in protecting its own turf and why wouldnt they?

NO one is shitting themselves Mate!
The truth is the all my life and Im 66 soccer in Australia have been predicting the demise of AUSTRALIAN Football and they are no closer now the they have ever been!

The game just does not appeal to the great bulk of Australian sports fans and only gets a bit of a run when the socceroos win some matches the rest of the time its a non event with 96% of the population!
BTW If its SOO popular how come NO FTA TV station wants to televise it?.

The AFL is only being vigilant in protecting its own turf and why wouldnt they?

not 100 per cent true, fta stations want to televise it but the main priority is afl for 7 and 10 this time and 9 is rugby and sbs reason was ashes. You are underestimating how much Fox paid for Soccer, Fox didnt get afl (as much as they wanted, they will next broadcasting rights i reckon though) so they went after soccer, and got it.

To a few posters earlier, i have seen many games of soccer. I know about a fair few sports, please do not use the line of "you don't like the sport which means you don't know about it" incorrect. I am sick of that, a few mates from my work (i work in melbourne) have seen football, hell they are surrounded by it and they don't like it, i don't say to them "you dont like it because you dont follow it, and know the history". They would its hard to avoid in this city.

A-League is doing well for a 4 year competition, to the person that quoted the full stadium (even though someone said 80 percent capacity) even though it was a crap game, between you and me i don't think they could tell that going into the match, a few spectators prob went there doing no research not realising it was a-league only vs kuwait. For the ones that did prob wanted to just support Australia.

The Soccer vs AFL battle is getting very old, but the fighting will continue, for peoples information Melbourne Victory won, obviously you people haven't read a paper in between now and then because it had been everywhere in the herald sun and age at least in melbourne.

I am definitely an AFL fan, as i touched on i have seen a few Soccer matches, i have been following a-league since day one, i found it to be a very boring game to look at, i want to watch a game where it is basically guaranteed there will be a score. People say its harder to score in soccer, i say good on you, AFL is made for accessibility, not just a good kick in the front half, to get to the front half to be able to have consistent pressure on the forward line.

I have had my say for now, but i might come back later :)

The FFA doesn't want FTA stations to have A-League rights.

Hmm, what's changed the FFA's position since last year?

As for the Socceroos, having used the current rights agreement to plant seeds for the game in Australia, the FFA is already preparing the way for what it hopes will be an aggressive bidding war for the rights beyond 2013. There is talk of an NRL-style split between Foxtel and one of the major free-to-air networks, with at least one A-League game and the Socceroos going to free-to-air.

http://www.smh.com.au/news/sport/richard-hinds/2008/10/14/1223750035924.html?page=fullpage

The real issue to be addressed is, are there any commercial free to air tv networks interested in the A-League. SBS perhaps.

Hmm, what's changed the FFA's position since last year?

The real issue to be addressed is, are there any commercial free to air tv networks interested in the A-League. SBS perhaps.

One game a round (I assume)? That leaves four, and then five, on Foxtel. Looks like the FFA still doesn't trust FTA stations to not show just a replay of the game at 3AM and charge other stations $300 for soccer "grabs" that it provides them for free for every other sport.

Are you confident any free to air station besides SBS, is even interested in broadcasting the A-League?

Very topical point, SBS was reported this week as seeking tens of millions of additional funding under the premise that the current financial crisis will promulgate an anti ethnic backlash in our society. It was also mentioned that one of the areas of expenditure on SBS to which the additional funding would be spent is "sport". Hopefully this is not another case of tax payer funded soccer.

The FFA doesn't want FTA stations to have A-League rights. The last time that happened, the AFL made Channel 7 bury the NSL. Soccer admin isn't falling for that again.

What a load of crap!

If the A-League soccer made the FTA stations enough money by having the same number of viewers as the AFL and NRL get every week during the season then they would televise it direct.
Simple really, not much interest = poor ratings apart from the occasional Socceroos game.

What a load of crap!

If the A-League soccer made the FTA stations enough money by having the same number of viewers as the AFL and NRL get every week during the season then they would televise it direct.
Simple really, not much interest = poor ratings apart from the occasional Socceroos game.

It happened before, why should the FFA trust FTA stations again?

So the FFA/A-League will forever be resigned to the fact that the best TV audience they can ever hope to achieve, is a small slice of the 20% of Australians that have Foxtel? Wow :eek:

It gets broadcast into other countries, you know.

Either way, if a FTA channel gets A-League rights, it'll be with big conditions and it'll happen gradually.

It gets broadcast into other countries, you know.

Either way, if a FTA channel gets A-League rights, it'll be with big conditions and it'll happen gradually.

Oh dear, so Australians don't care enough for the FTA TV networks to be really interested and from what I understand, Australian soccer fans think the A-League ain't much chop. It's true isn't it that our A-League stars couldn't even beat Kuwait? I wonder how many overseas really do watch the A-League? LOL

Oh, you're a "SOKKAH IS SHIT" troll. Never mind, there's no point talking to you then.

'Footy, not soccer' - kids urged