Forget rumours, I'm aiming to play this week - GAJ

Are you kidding me? Geelong stated 2-3 in last week's injury list.
It's only been 1 week and unless he reinjures himself he's playing next week.
He reckons his body is good to go; it's just the medico's want to stick to the regular, safe recovery plan of 2 weeks. Next week he'll get the medico's tick and should be lining up.
They're only going to let him play if he's 100%; why do you think they're giving the injury another week? He's not going to get reduced TOG when he returns because, as I said, he'll only play fully fit. Why would you reduce a fully fit Gazza's TOG? ...You wouldn't.
To believe that he'll get lower TOG and therefore score less on return is wishful, naive and ridiculous. The same goes for anyone throwing their hands up going 'here we go again, he's out for 6 weeks'.
We all know that those of you making those comments are just trying to validate your descision to trade him out.

Are you kidding me? Geelong stated 2-3 in last week's injury list.
It's only been 1 week and unless he reinjures himself he's playing next week.
He reckons his body is good to go; it's just the medico's want to stick to the regular, safe recovery plan of 2 weeks. Next week he'll get the medico's tick and should be lining up.
They're only going to let him play if he's 100%; why do you think they're giving the injury another week? He's not going to get reduced TOG when he returns because, as I said, he'll only play fully fit. Why would you reduce a fully fit Gazza's TOG? ...You wouldn't.
To believe that he'll get lower TOG and therefore score less on return is wishful, naive and ridiculous. The same goes for anyone throwing their hands up going 'here we go again, he's out for 6 weeks'.
We all know that those of you making those comments are just trying to validate your descision to trade him out.

Well, as a cats supporter I hope you are bloody right mate.

As a SC player it is too much of a risk to have 1/12 of your entire salary cap sitting on the bench. This is especially the case when you are going for overall rankings as opposed to league win......like me. If it is two weeks and he comes back averaging 150 then you have made the right decision. If he comes back and has a reduced input then I can pick him back up for a much cheaper price.

I know what you are saying about only coming back when he is 100% fit. I believe that as we are in a fortunate situation of being able to belt teams without Ablett even playing he will be eased back into it. Maybe less TOG, maybe more time up forward. I guess we will see.

I've got no qualms against your trade descisions. :)
I'm just not a fan of people making ridiculous comments because they're insecure about the trade descision they've made.

I'm not a fan of people having blind faith in injury reports because they're insecure about the trade decision they haven't made. ;)

I've got no qualms against your trade descisions. :)
I'm just not a fan of people making ridiculous comments because they're insecure about the trade descision they've made.

You seem to be the one making ridiculous comments, maybe you are insecure that you kept him.

I traded him out but want him back playing ASAP when he comes back and drops to 700K I will be able to trade him back in.

He WILL drop to 700K, you are naive to think otherwise, his breakeven is 216, even if he gets 150 he is going to drop $30K.

One thing for sure, I will probably consider another gun player for captaincy when gazza returns, at least the first two weeks anyway.

You seem to be the one making ridiculous comments, maybe you are insecure that you kept him.

I traded him out but want him back playing ASAP when he comes back and drops to 700K I will be able to trade him back in.

He WILL drop to 700K, you are naive to think otherwise, his breakeven is 216, even if he gets 150 he is going to drop $30K.

Mate. I never had Ablett. But if I did I wouldn't have traded him out.

Ok he drops 50k. but you used 2 trades on him!!

:S ??? I didn't disagree about his price falling.
I didn't even comment about it.
I wasn't even commenting on the trade at all.
In fact I do think it's going to fall below 700k.
When I said ridiculous I was referring to the comments along the lines of: 'geelong medicos are stupid he's out for 5 weeks', 'medicos were lying about his injury he's out this week still', 'he's going to get lower tog when he plays'
Learn 2 read before commenting?

Mate. I never had Ablett. But if I did I wouldn't have traded him out.

Ok he drops 50k. but you used 2 trades on him!!

Technically it is only using one trade on him.

The sideways trade to another keeper.

The second trade is upgrading a rookie or midpricer to GAZ. You would have been upgrading this player anyway, it is irrelevant which player you get with the upgrade.....

That is beside the point though - It is still a 'luxury' trade. If you were strictly following the golden rules, you would not do the trade. However, as we all know rules are made to be broken if the circumstances are right.

With the proliferation of injuries and the potential for a few 'lowish' scoring rounds, trading GAZ was certainly a risk worth considering.

Who knows what will happen when he comes back, all I know is it will be fun to watch the man from a footy enjoyment perspective!

Cheers

I have Ablett and even if he drops to say $650K I'll still be okay with that. As the trade saved by not rid of him will be used to make up the $100K lossed. For example Houlihan to Sidebottom..

I also don't mind Ablett taking another week off, if it means he comes back fit..Hopefully his 1-2 weeks doesn't mean 5-6 week..LOL

Now if he comes back and starts play like a spud, that's a different story...

Gees I miss Gazza. My midfield is looking average without him (Judd, Batrtel, Selwood, Higgins, Otten, Rich) :(

Am so tempted to go Higgins > Cooney. :eek:

Yes, I'm miss Ablett too...LOL sounds lame there.....BTW your midfield is similar to mine.

Next week - BIG BIG BIG INS - Dal Santo (trade), Ablett (off the bench) then I'll be:

Ablett, Dal Santo, Bartel, Goodes, Judd, Power [Beams, Anthony/Davenport]

On the other hand, I might bring Cooney instead of Dal Santo.. Either way...end of next week I'll only have 10 trades left... :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

With only 10 trades (after end of next week), have to fix 7th backman and 6th and 7th forward, so I'll have 4 trades left..sigh

Yes, I'm miss Ablett too...LOL sounds lame there.....BTW your midfield is similar to mine.

Next week - BIG BIG BIG INS - Dal Santo (trade), Ablett (off the bench) then I'll be:

Ablett, Dal Santo, Bartel, Goodes, Judd, Power [Beams, Anthony/Davenport]

On the other hand, I might bring Cooney instead of Dal Santo.. Either way...end of next week I'll only have 10 trades left... :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

With only 10 trades (after end of next week), have to fix 7th backman and 6th and 7th forward, so I'll have 4 trades left..sigh

NDS >>>>> Cooney

You have a sick midfield :thumbsu:

Why get Dal Santo next week when you can get him this week? :D

My midfield now -

Ablett, Judd, Bartel, Dal Santo, Selwood, Otten (Rich, Barham) :thumbsu:

Looking at getting Cooney soonish. :eek:
Why get NDS now when you could of got him from the start for 50k cheaper plus all 902 points.... like me! :)

Personally I reckon bringing in NDS ATM is a nothing trade. You've already missed the boat on all his earlier points and he is going to receive even more attention from taggers then he had before. This is not to mention he is also very expensive in context and heaps of better value can be found elsewhere from premiums that have dropped significantly in price for obvious reasons that could be very well be turned around in the coming weeks.

Each to their own I guess...

Why get NDS now when you could of got him from the start for 50k cheaper plus all 902 points.... like me! :)

Personally I reckon bringing in NDS ATM is a nothing trade. You've already missed the boat on all his earkier points before and he is going to receive even more attention then he had before. This is not to mention he is very expensive and heaps of value can be found elsewhere from premiums that have dropped significantly in price for obvious reasons that could very well be turned around.

Each to their own I guess...

sadly i have to agree with this. every situation that i can come up with where i end up with Dal, it costs me an extra trade or half a trade compared to one of the lower priced mids.

Dal does have a brilliant SC record tho, with a little downtime last year.

sadly i have to agree with this. every situation that i can come up with where i end up with Dal, it costs me an extra trade or half a trade compared to one of the lower priced mids.

Dal does have a brilliant SC record tho, with a little downtime last year.
I knew that he was going to have a good season and I backed him from the start. I don't understand why people are chasing his bandwagon when its already half-way down the street and being oblivious to other players who are going to increase in price by 100-150k in the next few weeks. NDS has a much better chance of being cheaper later in the season than continuing to increase in price. It was really funny because less than 4% of teams had him at the very start and now he is around 12% and continuing to increase.

I'll take my chances and get him now. :D:thumbsu:

I want to get Goodes or Cooney and that will be it for my midfield I think.

What difference does it make if you want a player who is dominating if you can still get him in now for a reasonable price for? $30,000 isnt that much of an increase so it didn't really bother me.

Its not like I am going to have to rely on Dal Santo to get Ablett like scores every week with the midfield I have put together. :p

I just don't understand why you'd bring in someone that has risen +6.87% when you can get players that have proven in the past they are just as good if not better than NDS. These players that have decreased their price by more than -10% are highly likely to go on and become top 7/7/6/2 in their respective position from now on in from now on in.

You've got to remember that anything NDS has done in this season to date is pretty much irrelevant if your trading him in because you have missed his average of 128 over 7 rounds, whereas with the premiums you have at least missed out on all the premiums' spud scores so there price is working in your favor.

These kinds of fallen premiums will be here today and gone tomorrow, aka they will be dirt cheap and hence be given low BEs so at your first glance they will be cheap and then you'll see they have gone back to what they were worth from the start if not more.

However my point NDS ain't going anywhere in the near future as he is already overpriced, and hence he ain't going up for a while as it is extremely hard for to maintain a price of 600K odd, so the only way is down, and he is most likely going to do that before he goes up again.

You can't just ignore NDS prveious scores...

I nearly got NDS last round.. but ended up geting bartel, wasn't sure if nds could take the tag... turns out he wasn't tagged and did really well.. instead i had bartel who scored his lowest yet...

NDS"s previous scores indictte that he can maintain that level over several rounds..
It still makes him a great player, it's better tahn havinga 'fallen prem' who is 50k less but has played
60 80 60 100 60 80 150... because you don't know how hell go.

Ill take an underpriced overachiver over an underpriced underachiever any day of the week.

I know that there are example of both but think that if you really want nds now.. then you shouldn't just ignore his previous scores.. they indictate alot of things and tehy should definately be looked at..
who was he playing and why did he get low scores, what causes them and will that happen in teh future.

Saying all that Ill probably use beams, robinson, ahrtlett to get nds later in the season or another prem..

I think Dal Santo was a good trade this week. He was pretty much the same price as Judd preseason and now in as good form.

Of course he'll drop in price later in the season due to TPP and magic number decreasing, but so will everyone.

Betting on a fallen premium averaging the same or more than him from here on out is a gamble some don't want to take. Which is fair enough.

Hmmmmmm.....I was going to trade him in when he came back but decided not too. My midfield now looks like

Dal'Santo, Judd, Selwood, Gibbs, Power, Cooney

Not traded anyone of them out.