AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
These law firms only take on cases they think they can win otherwise it costs them money and solicitors don't like losing their own money, yours and mine yes, but not their ownShine lawyers says it all - no win - no fee
Ah the smell of moneyTwo former AFL players have allegedly come forward with similar claims, according to his lawyer. So who is Harry's mate?
Racially motivated sexual harassment does sound like he was teased for having a massive dick.
I think there's natural scepticism that the "extreme" and "systematic" racism pervading the AFL and their clubs seems to only have affected one player at one club. Also when someone is seeking a financial resolution through the courts their version of events will be heavily prejudiced, even if much of it is true.Honestly - I don't know. If there was an easy fix, it would have been done by now.
I'm just trying to see things from his perspective
I may have misinterpreted his comments, but my sense was that he felt that the AFL had attacked Sherman (and the spectators) in a public manner, without addressing the underlying, low-level stuff that sets the scene for the bigger stuff. So he feels the AFL pretended to be tough on racism by publicly scape-goating Sherman and the spectators, but actually ignored the low-level, everyday stuff that in the end really got to him (or exacerbated the 'big' incidents).
Maybe its a case where the AFL couldn't have done anything more in those public cases? That's one of the big issues with this sort of thing. Victims cop it twice - once from their abuser, and once from the 'solution'. All the AFLs actions to prevent/address Sherman's behaviour also impacted on Wilkinson, who was the victim.
Can we all agree that he shouldn't have been racially abused in his workplace, by players or spectators, and that even casual abuse from team-mates/co-workers constitutes harassment, which forms the basis of his claim. We know that racial/sexual harassment has a really significant impact on people to the detriment of their careers - yet we expect somehow footballers can rise above it, despite that being a far more competitive and high-stakes environment than almost any other workplace
What concerns me more is the response from so many footy fans, who are attacking him, with almost none supporting or even attempting to empathise with him. His concerns are being ignored and written off by the public as a cash grab, which just seems totally disingenuous. You couldn't watch him speak last night and not believe that he is at least earnest in his perception that racial/sexual harassment impacted on his career.
A spurious claim and it will be his word against everyone else. Ambulance chasers like Shine work on the basis that they will get a settlement and never go to court. Won't work in this case, the AFL, as the owners of the Suns would have settled if there was any truth.
The AFL are notorious for settling out of court, maybe that’s why Shine tried it on. And maybe he was offered a payout but is going for the jackpot.
From what I can see he claims his complaints were ignored.Apart from having a respect policy (which it does), how is the entire AFL and all its clubs responsible for what a bunch of dickheads said in the rooms?
We're becoming a very litigious society in which the blame goes to whoever has the most assets to sue, not who is morally blameworthy.
I think there's natural scepticism that the "extreme" and "systematic" racism pervading the AFL and their clubs seems to only have affected one player at one club. Also when someone is seeking a financial resolution through the courts their version of events will be heavily prejudiced, even if much of it is true.
And who hasn't worked with someone who seems determined to see the worst of every situation and is a royal PITA to everyone else. From the outside he looks to be 'that guy'.
I'd like to challenge what you call 'natural scepticism'. Is it really natural to doubt the claims of someone who is apparently a victim? That's only ever going to reinforce their victim mentality and the only way to progress this that I can see for the AFL is to listen to his claims and take them seriously.
This isn't something coming from one player. Heritier Lumumba made similar claims about another club, reinforced by Leon Davis. Adam Goodes has referred to similar. So it's at least 4 players. They way they've been publicly attacked for speaking out is also pretty ugly - I wouldn't be surprised if others were holding back based on what they've seen.
There's no doubt that his claims of 'extreme' racism are hyperbole - he hasn't been lynched or exposed to physical violence (that we know of), and aside from a couple of incidents, he's mostly referring to casual comments and a lack of systematic action. As I mentioned earlier, my take is that he feels that the AFL is far more interested in appearing 'tough' on overt racism externally, did very little to support him when he experienced it, and that he feels they have done nothing to address the on-going, casual stuff that is more frequent, and that creates a climate where more overt stuff appears. At the very least, the AFL needs to listen and maybe learn.
Let's not forget that, at the very least, he's experienced at least two instances of serious racial abuse in his time, and that he seems to genuinely believe that racial and sexual vilification impacted on his career. Calling him a PITA is unfair, and I reckon it reflects really badly on Australian society that we (collectively) are so quick to label anyone who speaks out about mistreatment in that way.
Couple of things:
- blaming these reasons as to why he no longer has an AFL career is a joke. He was given a chance and didn't grasp it. Happens to players all the time. But no, lets play the racist card for no longer being on an AFL list
- last one, I bet you he agrees to a settlement and takes the cash. That wont fix the issue that he 'feels so strongly' about but the payout will be the end of it and he will have got what he wanted, which is not the issue fixed but the money.
you are very close to a thread ban, discuss the topic properly or go away
The trifecta - racism, sexual harassment and religious vilification.The AFL are notorious for settling out of court, maybe that’s why Shine tried it on. And maybe he was offered a payout but is going for the jackpot.
It is astonishing how quick Australians are to deny and denigrate anyone who claims mistreatment on the basis of race, from afar.
Casual racism generally involves stereotypes based on race, ethnicity or religion. The people doing it generally don't see their race/ethnicity/religion as superior, and aren't overtly trying to be racist, but it could involve making 'friendly' jokes at people's expense, the use of stereotypes in conversation, or even sub-conscious gestures and body language.
Examples off the top of my head (trying to draw from recent/prominent ones):
- dressing in blackface for a party
- making jokes about stereotypes, even positive ones
- crossing the street to avoid someone of a different background who 'looks a bit dodgy'
- asking someone who isn't white 'Where is your family from?'
In most cases, the person responsible isn't trying to degrade or cause offence, but does so unintentionally. Could also be the sort of thing that some might lable 'PC gone mad'. But these things do have an impact on making others feel uncomfortable, isolated, different, and excluded - which can really impact on them.
If you want to see an example of real racism go have a look at some of the laws in Malaysia
Right, so if something isn't the worst example of its kind anywhere in the world it isn't a 'real' problem
Go and check out their laws, yes that's right, we're not talking about 'casual racism', they have actually legalized racism over there.
The reality is that there is some form of racism all over the world. Yes it exists in Australia, I've seen it directed at my wife and kids. Sure it's a problem, but everything is relative, the issues that we face here is insignificant compared to other countries like Malaysia where the Government is blatantly racist.
If you have a problem with any of that then deal with it, I don't care if you're offended champ