Fox Sport3 is a ripoff for Austar digital customers

Jun 11, 2004
Hervey Bay
I just discovered that I have to pay extra to receive FS3 on my Austar digital decoder, and I have the works.

Surprise, surprise. Where do you think they are now putting live international cricket. Not on FS1 or FS2 as in the past, but you guessed it,..... FS3. I thought FS3 was a new channel with new content. So what choice did I have.

Talk about deceipt. This is nearly the last straw for me. I would have terminated my pay TV when Fox Footy got the axe, but I dont live alone.

Well thats off my chest. What do you people think.

It's an absolute disgrace. That Port Adelaide supporter CEO of Foxtel can GGF.

They've treated their customers, and footy fans especially with contempt :thumbsdown:

Why did they make FFC end at midnight on Grand Final night (even if it actually finished at about 4 in the morning)? They couldn't let us have one more week to have the wrap up of the Grand Final and the other bits of news? And to make it worse the only Grand Final replay after that was not on Fox 1 or Fox 2 which they could easily have done, but Fox 3 :thumbsdown:

I guess we should be thankful that they put the last On The Couch on Fox 1 so we didn't have to fork out for yet another channel just to get stuff that we've been getting for free up untill now :rolleyes:

Fox Sports 3 = absolute joke and rip off :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Mate, you pay $100 a month to get the whole lot on digital, so you should get Fox Sports 3 as part of the package.

God, it's bad enough that they're creeping in more & more ads on the network, and then they have to do this to us ?, I tell you what, it better be worth it, because we've forked over $2 a month for it, so they better have a lot of cricket on there, (and footy in the winter months), otherwise I will get steamed.

And another thing, why can't they just give you the channels you want to watch, becuase at the moment, it's like buying the thighmaster and getting the set of steak knives you didn't want as part of the package ?, becuase if Austar had the smarts to do that, they'll be rolling in it, and that's why a lot of people either don't get pay-TV, or get it and not renew it after a few months.

HerveyBayTiger said:
I just discovered that I have to pay extra to receive FS3 on my Austar digital decoder, and I have the works.

Surprise, surprise. Where do you think they are now putting live international cricket. Not on FS1 or FS2 as in the past, but you guessed it,..... FS3. I thought FS3 was a new channel with new content. So what choice did I have.

Talk about deceipt. This is nearly the last straw for me. I would have terminated my pay TV when Fox Footy got the axe, but I dont live alone.

Well thats off my chest. What do you people think.

How much extra is it?

3:16 said:
How much extra is it?

It depends on your package.

But thats not the point. The p ricks have taken international cricket off FS1 or FS2, and put it onto FS3, thereby forcing anyone interested in following the present ICC international one dayers or any future internationals, to subscribe to this new channel.

FS1,FS2 and Foxfooty used to be part of a standard package on Austar.

NSWCROW said:
OK mabye you weren't warned but how else were FOX going to recoup their losses over the FFC / TV rights debacle ?
Surely you should have seen it coming when they announced FS3 was a goer.

No. I could always get international cricket when the Aussies went overseas on either FS1 or FS2. They have now decided to put it onto FS3 and have forced me into another package to get it. Its not big money but a principle. Can't see any connection as you say between FFC and TV rights.

Austar and Foxtel is a ripoff

Austar put a small increase in the prices and call it a changing of the packages.
We get a new channel in Fox Sports 3 and Fox sports News channel which is a joke just a rolling video tape but lose Fox Footy

For u guys who think u might be missing something by not having Pay Tv let just say your not
The Hightlight on the Fox sports channels for this week from Wed Oct 4th to Tues 10th , 2 hrs of AFL and over 52 hrs of League and Union

Vomit stuff , this customer is walking if AFL doesn't return to Pay TV by March 2007

If your a long standing Anologue customer it's even worse. FFC disappeared, FS3 went to digital only so no compensation for loss of FFC. If I want FS3 I have to sign up for Digital as a new customer on a two year contract and to get the shows we watch (2) it will be an extra $20 per month over the top of our current subscription. Sorry they can pick their friggin STB up and shove it. I am going over to SelecTV at $29.95 per month and that will give me $20.00 per month to put towards my Freo and Sharks memberships in 2007. Ads Ads and more Ads, Foxtel is an absolute joke.

Yeah this is f***ing pissing me off. Call up to get it put on and there is a 20minute phone queue. AUSTAR can go to hell.

Geoff said:
If your a long standing Anologue customer it's even worse. FFC disappeared, FS3 went to digital only so no compensation for loss of FFC. If I want FS3 I have to sign up for Digital as a new customer on a two year contract and to get the shows we watch (2) it will be an extra $20 per month over the top of our current subscription. Sorry they can pick their friggin STB up and shove it. I am going over to SelecTV at $29.95 per month and that will give me $20.00 per month to put towards my Freo and Sharks memberships in 2007. Ads Ads and more Ads, Foxtel is an absolute joke.

What is this SelecTV you speak of Geoff?

BTW, anyone know Vlad's contact details?

Wayde Petersen said:
And another thing, why can't they just give you the channels you want to watch, becuase at the moment, it's like buying the thighmaster and getting the set of steak knives you didn't want as part of the package?
The is the thing that really irritates me!!!!!!:mad: You get cr@p channels in packages like 'W The Womens Channel', 'Lifestyle Channel' or 'Movie Classics' when you will NEVER watch them! Why can't you pick 10 or 20 individual channels, all of which you are interested in???

Does anyone have the answer to this question???

Got Austar down in Tassie. They've cut our FoxFooty from our current package, but we're still paying the same price. I wanted to get the new Fox sports 3 but to get that you have to sign onto another package to get ESPN and Fox Sports News and Fox Sports 3. Total cost of $15.00 a month on top of what we already have.

Super pissed, I just want to watch cricket, but to do that you have to jump through bullcrap hoops and get a bunch of channels that show basketball and soccer and NFL which I have no interest in. Utter crap, why cant fox sports 1,2 and 3 be part of the same package, that makes bloody sense doesn't it?

What makes it worse is that I'm away from home 4 weeks out of every 8.

xyakks said:
Got Austar down in Tassie. They've cut our FoxFooty from our current package, but we're still paying the same price. I wanted to get the new Fox sports 3 but to get that you have to sign onto another package to get ESPN and Fox Sports News and Fox Sports 3. Total cost of $15.00 a month on top of what we already have.

Super pissed, I just want to watch cricket, but to do that you have to jump through bullcrap hoops and get a bunch of channels that show basketball and soccer and NFL which I have no interest in. Utter crap, why cant fox sports 1,2 and 3 be part of the same package, that makes bloody sense doesn't it?

What makes it worse is that I'm away from home 4 weeks out of every 8.
no it doesn't cost an extra 15 bucks a month, because what you are missing is that the basic package has gone down from 49.95 a month to 36.95 aq month, the sport package is 14.95 a month (which i agree is a joke)

in reality you are paying an extra 2 bucks a month..

Long time procrastinator on the Foxtel question & was almost across the line earlier this year. Pretty glad in hindsight I didn't but this is no surprise to me.
I lived the 90's in NZ for work. NZ cricket is rubbish. The only way then to see the Australian summer of international cricket was to have Sky Channel which I obviously did. It was great for a while, I could watch the Aussie test series all day, then at the end of the day when I wanted to go to sleep (or have a laugh), turn to free to air & catch the last 2 hrs of the NZ series.
The point is, after a couple of years, they did exactly the same thing.
Brought a "new" channel online & switched the Aus cricket to this and then tried to charge extra to see it. When I complained they countered by saying how much extra rugby I'd be able to watch. Considering rugby was on nearly 24/7 on all the free stations, this didn't really appeal.
When I cancelled the subscription, they simply could not understand what I was unhappy with. It will be interesting to see the reaction of the Foxtel crew when this starts to happen to them........

Cuzz09 said:
IT IS SH*T!!!

Went to watch the replay on Sunday and had to put up with Baseball of all garbage sports!!!

Absolute Joke!!!

R.I.P Fox Footy Channel - You will be missed

I love baseball - You don't Have to knock other sports!

Fox Sport3 is a ripoff for Austar digital customers