Franks for the memories. Things don't always go well with COLA

Unless Sydney have some deceitful way out of this I would welcome the possibility that they be held to the contract. Nine years is a long time. Buddy is over his best. Good luck to them when the COLA is withdrawn next year and they have to fund a fading talent.

AFL will probably help them weasel out of it when the next big name key forward comes on the market.

Are you able to elaborate on all these extra concessions (apart from the COLA)? What are they? And are they only available to Sydney? I'm really starting to get pissed off with all this assistance they've been receiving from the AFL, and will continue to receive.

i have a good mate Johnny P who told me about them months back, he is a learned bloke and a poster here very rarely, ill ask him to post them....one of them was a development of football in nsw fund that is used to pay players outside the cap...Eddie also made mention to these extra marketing and promotional concessions on radio this morning and called it a rort

of course the AFL will rubber stamp the deal (re another posters comments)...they are behind the move, as they were with Lockett Diesel healey Hall etc etc....

Whitecross's tweet re "cant understand why people get so upset when players move clubs" also speaks volumes for these gimps....there are ways and behaviours we the real stakeholders (fans) expect when moving clubs...moving from a team thats just won a flag to another flag competitor for shit compo and orchestrating a deal with that club after you've just lost a gf, and lying for 12 months about it, and receiving shit compo on top of it, is not the acceptable to members and fans whitecross you silly fool

I miss the point with most things about footy these days. I genuinely detest what football has become. Money, money, money, it's all we ever hear about.

try and get access to SEN and listen to pickering and his fat boy mate huthcison every saturday morning...that'll make your blood boil just listening to them

i have a good mate Johnny P who told me about them months back, he is a learned bloke and a poster here very rarely, ill ask him to post them....one of them was a development of football in nsw fund that is used to pay players outside the cap...Eddie also made mention to these extra marketing and promotional concessions on radio this morning and called it a rort

of course the AFL will rubber stamp the deal (re another posters comments)...they are behind the move, as they were with Lockett Diesel healey Hall etc etc....

Whitecross's tweet re "cant understand why people get so upset when players move clubs" also speaks volumes for these gimps....there are ways and behaviours we the real stakeholders (fans) expect when moving clubs...moving from a team thats just won a flag to another flag competitor for shit compo and orchestrating a deal with that club after you've just lost a gf, and lying for 12 months about it, and receiving shit compo on top of it, is not the acceptable to members and fans whitecross you silly fool

Cheers mate.

To be fair, Whitecross doesn't seem to have a mean bone in his body

I absolutely agree - he's trying to enter into manhood by moving to Sydney. However, he wants to maintain his boyish ways. I can see it going pear-shaped for him. He should have at least gone to GWS and attempted captaincy and developing a new club, growing the game of football. It would have been good to see how he handles the role. He would have earned respect from the AFL community, and left HFC with his reputation in tact. People say he would never have been a Gary Ablett Jnr., but they wrote off Ablett as captain before he went to GC.

For him, it's all about Buddy Inc. He couldn't give 2 f$cks about growing the game. He probably doesn't give 2 f$cks about the Swans either. He loves the city and the lifestyle (God knows why) and it just happens to be that there is a footy club in Sydney where he can flog shoes and t-shirts and be closer to his C-grade celebs and likeminded tosser mates.

All the dribble about loving Hawthorn and his mates at the club etc was one big tease. His loyalty to his mates and to the club that made him was tested when the offer from Sydney came and he failed that test miserably. People that say that he owed the club nothing are completely off the mark. I'm sure that the club has covered up many a incident that had it occurred if he'd been at some other clubs (the names of which are not relevant to mention here), could have lead to an entirely different outcome. He has been exceptionally well managed and looked after by the club, and going to a premiership rival is a complete slap in the face to the Hawthorn Football Club.

The expectation from Sydney is that he'll need to earn his keep while he's there. If his status in the game continues to drop off, he will potentially p!ss off Swans supporters as well, creating terminal damage to his brand.

Bit of humour on Twitter from some dude called Spang_Dog.

@Spang_Dog: So, @Buddy_Franklin I wish you the best, but I'm getting keen as 'bout stepping up! #SpangherInTheWorks HawthornFC #ALWAYS #2014-DOMINATION
Spangher in the works. Gold.:D

Buddy doesn't give a damn about playing footy, it's just what finances his party-boy lifestyle.

He's lucky that he's a natural athlete and footy has come easy to him (up until now), he would switch codes if there were no AFL teams in NSW provided he could be with his alleged "mates" and get paid for very little effort.

Wonder why he doesn't chase hard anymore? Wonder why he stands around hands-on-hips when guys like Smith, Poppy, Hill and Gunston are running their legs off to provide an option? Because he doesn't have to, a couple of headline efforts a game are enough to keep him in the team and keep the $ rolling in.

Can't see him playing (AFL) footy beyond 30.

It's not about the money; it's not about playing for the Swans. It's as simple as Lance being pea-brained enough to think it's uncool for someone like him to be playing in a daggy brown and gold jumper for a family-oriented club based in dreary ol' Waverley.

Bit of humour on Twitter from some dude called Spang_Dog.

@Spang_Dog: So, @Buddy_Franklin I wish you the best, but I'm getting keen as 'bout stepping up! #SpangherInTheWorks HawthornFC #ALWAYS #2014-DOMINATION

OUT: Judas

IN: Jesus

All the talk about Buddy being a good bloke and doing the right thing by the club and that if he was leaving he would orchestrate a trade so we don't get screwed.

Well guess what happened?

99_sure_we_got_screwed_bumper_sticker-rc53af02d27bf4ae496c691dcac8825de_v9wht_8byvr_324.jpg

I so wish now that Spangher had somehow played instead of Buddy last week.
It would have been such a great story.

Yeah would've been awesome, would've played the same role except better and with overhead contested marking. You only have to watch the first final against Sydney to see how much better we were.

I got flamed for talking about dropping him without a contract.. wish we did now and after his f%$k all finals input the results would only have been better for us and he would only have the one premiership medal to flog on about to his rugby flog mates in flog Bondi.

I also called him a turncoat, how true that now really means going to the team who beat us in a gf. I can't wait for this to blow up in Sydney's faces, he's a train wreck waiting to happen. Hopefully more spectacular than Fevola.

Still a couple of twists to occur. Just wait for it guys.

Its a win/win if we match it.

If we match it and the swans say the contract is off the table, then i'm 100% sure that Buddy won't want to come back to Hawthorn after what he has just done. It either means that he will decline the contract and seek a trade or delistment.

Just wait for it

Might not mean anything in particular, he's been spouting platitudes ever since the GF.

He's been lying so much, so thoroughly, that anything he says has to be seen as totally disingenuous and insincere. I mean, this is the guy who purportedly, depends on who's story you believe, contacted the Swans after losing the Grand Final... I'd take the word of a magic cue ball over the barely plausible grunts of a traitor. Cop that Franko, I know you're reading it too.