Franks for the memories. Things don't always go well with COLA

It's a big change personally I wouldn't move away from my mates, Hawthorn, finals success and playing in front of big crowds at the G and being a one club player. But that's obviously just my opinion Buddy has to weigh up these things and the money could be further apart than that. Bloody corrupt dimetriou:mad:

I think your family and friends is a big factor in his decision.

For what it is worth, I think its wrong that GWS can do this and have the larger salary cap to buy anyone they choose fit. Similarly Sydney as well, as you know my Club got shafted with the whole Tippett saga.

If the money is further apart than what I have stated though, I think he would go. Flying to Melbourne every weeks during the season and probably staying in Melbourne during the off season I cant imagine him missing his friends and family too much. It is for a short time and the financial reward is massive.

It will be interesting. I hope the Hawks win the flag, although I just get the feeling that may be a good way to end a relationship as a 2X premiership player.

It is posts such as these that are helping me keep the faith!!!!

I think many people are barking up the wrong tree when it comes to money. He's not making a decision until he realises the result of the game on September 28. Then, and only then, will he be clear in his mind as to where his future lies.

Not sure I agree with you AS. I think it is more Buddy being pig-headed. He said the end of the season, so he is sticking to it. I cannot see how much of a difference the GF result will make? Maybe if we win he will be satisfied with his achievements then chase a buck or two million. Maybe.

I'm of the opinion he is sticking to the end of the season before he negotiates his contract to see how the season pans out. Rumour has it he was actually set to go to GWS a month or two back but the success of the Hawks over that period had him re-thinking his position. Money plays a big deal in all this, but if the Hawks offer enough $$ and we win the flag, I'm inclined to believe he will stay.

Why, does he think he is more of a chance to win a flag with GWS next year than us?

Lol, interesting spin. I think it's more the realisation if we win this year then we'll be a good show to win next year as well, and he doesn't want to miss out on that. However, if we can't win from here, right now, well... that's where doubts start creeping in...
Yeah I knew what you were saying
Thought I'd try and releave some tension from tonight's match, sorry !
My hearts been pounding since Monday, God knows what I'll be like tonight
And I'm at work driving a forklift, and knock off work at 9.45, which is 3 qrt time!
Might be a dropped pallet or 10!

Yeah I knew what you were saying
Thought I'd try and releave some tension from tonight's match, sorry !
My hearts been pounding since Monday, God knows what I'll be like tonight
And I'm at work driving a forklift, and knock off work at 9.45, which is 3 qrt time!
Might be a dropped pallet or 10!
Come on, surely you can chuck a sickie tonight BM?!!! ;)
You could legitimately be sick with nerves!

He has a chance to really leave a legacy in the next 2 games before he leaves if that is his choice.

This guy is Buddy Franklin and he can tear any game apart, but hasn't done in often enough lately for my liking.

Give us 2 of your best Buddy and make me think Damn.. we will never see that again in a Hawks jumper.

Ok so I better tell everyone what I know. My Dad has some role with the Hawks and today mentioned "I think Buddy is going to leave". I asked him if he knew or if he's just guessing and he said "I had a talk with someone who would know". So yeah it looks like he's going. My Dad has no reason to lie as he's an avid Hawk too. and he was right with other breaking Hawks news in the past few years. He knew Buddy was fine with his supposed 3 strikes last year, at the end of 11' I think it was he knew that Clarko had re-signed about a week before the public did and he also knew that Gibbo had signed with us at the end of 2009 about 3 weeks before the actual trade but that was due to him personally knowing Gibbo I think.

If it is his last game tonight or next week, I hope he goes out with a bang :)

Come on, surely you can chuck a sickie tonight BM?!!! ;)
You could legitimately be sick with nerves!
I've decided to leave work at 6pm
I've told my boss I'll be useless and prob a hazard during the game, and he agreed and said I can go at 6! :thumbsu:
What makes it funny is my boss is a mad Cats fan!
I reckon he will leave work not long after me!

I've decided to leave work at 6pm
I've told my boss I'll be useless and prob a hazard during the game, and he agreed and said I can go at 6! :thumbsu:
What makes it funny is my boss is a mad Cats fan!
I reckon he will leave work not long after me!

Slash his tyres on the way out.

I dont understand why people think he's being pig-headed, or any of the other crap that people want to call him.

He said he wants to leave it til the end of the season. Thats his right. Thats not pig-headed.

If he stays, would you call him pig-headed for turning his back on a massive contract because he once said he wants to be a Hawk for life.

Its his life, its his choice.

did anyone hear Tim Watson interviewing Brad Sewell? Watson asked what was the cheer in he rooms behind closed doors & Brad said it was Buddy making an announcement....

No he didn't....but he stopped and paused for ages and said "i cant remember" . He did really stop himself though, was weird so it may have been buddy making an announcement

did anyone hear Tim Watson interviewing Brad Sewell? Watson asked what was the cheer in he rooms behind closed doors & Brad said it was Buddy making an announcement....

I was quite taken (not in that way) how emotional Sewelly was.

Mate, don't make things up
Sewell, fairly emotionally, paused for a good 5 seconds, and said he couldn't remember what the cheers were about!
Absolutely no mention of Buddy whatsoever

Don't forget this feeling Buddy.

The club dragged you into a grand final tonight. Not the other way around. You have a crack at the big one next week because of guys like Mitchell, Burgoyne, Gunston, Hill and Hale who wouldn't lay down when we were on the canvas.

This is the HFC. This is brown and gold.

Franklin and Gibson.jpg

tonight is as good as it gets with footy - apart from a flag obviously. You're not going to get anything like this at them franchise clubs. they're akin to display homes: empty, soulless, generic and totally lacking in history/culture.