Franks for the memories. Things don't always go well with COLA

He gave you guys the best years of his career so be thankful. It's ended badly, but just rememeber the good times. He'll always be a 2 x Hawk Flag champ.

Don't forget it could have been worse for you guys...you could have got the booby prize all those fateful years ago...Ritchie "Bling" Tambling lol ;)

We nurtured him, developed him and paid him well. He tasted both individual and team success. I also believe he owes us something too.

Sour taste over this.

Twit Dwayne Russell has carried on and on about what a smart club Sydney run. Such a smart idea to get Buddy. He said why would he or anyone else want to play in the area of western sydney.A terrible area, what a pity Leon didn't hear what he had to say about the GWS..Would go down like a lead balloon.They had Leon on later ,talking about Buddy..

Very similar numbers on the Hun too - 75/25 in favour of scrapping the COLA.
Disgusts me no end that the afl sanction this inequity that results in this, who else could possibly afford to pay 2 players in excess of 1m, a club with 900k more in the cap thats who. What a ****en rort, you guys will be right btw, master stroke by your coach to engineer a diminished reliance, I even reckon that he was rested in games he could have played to reinforce a attack post buddy

If 'no binding player contract offer can be made until ... Friday 4 October 2013' and the AFL is 'the cost of living allowance is currently being reviewed by the AFL', is there a possibility that the COLA is eliminated before Buddy can sign for the swans, essentially pushing a move to GWS as Vlad would prefer?

He gave you guys the best years of his career so be thankful. It's ended badly, but just rememeber the good times. He'll always be a 2 x Hawk Flag champ.

Don't forget it could have been worse for you guys...you could have got the booby prize all those fateful years ago...Ritchie "Bling" Tambling lol ;)

Without Clarko and co riding him to stay on the right track, who says he'd had played more footy than Tambling?
We made Franklin what he is today and now he just pisses in our faces and goes to the AFL Swans.
He's no better than Terry Wallace. I will boo him, he's a deadset flog!

I have never really had a significant affinity for any one player of our club. I barrack for the club, not one particular player. So whether Buddy stays or goes it is up to him. The club is bigger than any one player and quite frankly, I don't think he is the superstar that the media makes out. perhaps his performances this year have been impacted as his mind has been elsewhere, however his performances do no make him a superstar.

The only thing that annoys me is that we may get nothing in return. But that is free agency - it is what it is. Hopefully, it frees up some salary cap so we can make our club stronger so we can strengthen our club.

Putting aside the disgrace that is the AFL and Sydney's cost of living allowance and looking purely at our list, Franklin leaving is a blessing in disguise.

There should be no underestimating Buddy's contribution to this club. He is one of our all time greats, has won finals off his own boot and entertained us like nobody before him. He will still be a gun at Sydney but in terms of our list right now, the forward line is not where we should be spending $1 million on one player.

Roughead kicked more goals than any other player in the competition. Gunston is 21 years old and kicked 11 goals in the finals - no player other than Franklin has done that since at least 2008 (probably longer). Let's not underestimate how well Gunston is developing under the radar.

Our midfield is aging and our ruck stocks are shaky. That's where we need to spend $1 million to improve our list, not re-signing a guy who was essentially played as a decoy this season. If we can bolster our midfield, I think we can be a better side next year. The worry is that Sydney, at least, will be for sure.

We nurtured him, developed him and paid him well. He tasted both individual and team success. I also believe he owes us something too.

Sour taste over this.

Sour. To know that he approached the Swans after they beat us in the GF. I feel like he's spat in our faces. We all took that loss to the Swans with aplomb. Now this. I don't begrudge him if he wants to move to Sydney to live. He is a mercenary to me now. I don't want to see a minute of him in that swans jumper.

I wonder how Clarko and Hodge feels about this scenario?

Sour. To know that he approached the Swans after they beat us in the GF. I feel like he's spat in our faces. We all took that loss to the Swans with aplomb. Now this. I don't begrudge him if he wants to move to Sydney to live. He is a mercenary to me now. I don't want to see a minute of him in that swans jumper.

I want us to always beat the Swans :D

Sen has reported today that Buddy's management spoke to Sydney about playing for them 2 weeks after playing in the 2012 GF.

Have they got a spare wall lined up for Clarko :mad:. Wouldn't mind Hodge laying a smack down
tackle on buddy next year.

Touche.

I've been told I'm really bad at understanding written sarcasm ;)

I've been told I'm really bad at understanding anything written.

Sour taste over this.

The sad thing is people genuinely thought that he would make sure he would do the right thing by the club if he moved on. Now it seems like all he is interested is the big bucks and living in party town. Even then its almost like party town is his number one priority.

Yeah I'm sure had you taken him instead of Tambling this would be the consensus on the Tiges board.;)

The only thing that got Dusty to re-sign was all the well wishing your mob gave, when he looked gone.