News Frawley's asking price 800k

I wouldn't say it will be a huge pay rise... He signed his last one in 2012 when he was in career best form. I reckon he's 2-3% off that level right now
But he signed for unders on the proviso that his next contract would be bigger I thought. IMO he is getting right back to where he was in 2012, and will soon be back to his beastly ways of the 2nd half of 2012.

Don't want that Softy Gibbs Thank You

Gibbs has shown the ability to be a very good footballer and I think hes got the tag as soft simply because he's been used as an outside player. Unfortunately he hasn't been able to be very consistent but I reckon whichever club picks him up will turn him into an elite player. He can play a variety of roles and adds size to the midfield/flanks

I think I know why Gibbs has been labelled soft, because he is :drunk:

AA Totally rate him. He would easily walk in to every side being the best or second best defender. Can play forward and at 25yrs worth every cent the best defenders are getting. At the pies he would be easily as good as Harry Taylor.
We would be insane not to be talking to him now. He won't move for $650. We need to make an offer he won't refuse

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

My view is we should do whatever we can to get Frawly. He is a gun defender , can go forward, is ever reliable, doesn't really get injured. The fact he is at Melbourne is the reason he has flown under the radar and we are saying he is not worth 800k.
Ask yourself " how important has Harry Taylor been to Geelong"
Frawly would complete our defence adding class and freeing up Reid to go forward and potent it up with that 3rd tall.
Get that boy to the pies- offer him 4 years,!It would be a coup

TBH I can't remember the last time the "gun" defender played a good game?

Why would we want Gibbs? He doesn't fit a real structure need or opening in the kind of way that White or Adams did. As a flanker with offensive flair who can make a transition into a permanent mid, I'd put my money on Seedsman being better than him in 1-2 seasons.

We don't want Gibbs but we do need a precision type kick / sweeper coming out of defence, a role he can play. We don't want him only because he will want too much cash.
The jury is still out on Clinton Young who I believe is a similar player to be honest. (Soft but great kick and skills)
Seedsman will be better than both as he can break lines and do it all.

We don't want Gibbs but we do need a precision type kick / sweeper coming out of defence, a role he can play. We don't want him only because he will want too much cash.
The jury is still out on Clinton Young who I believe is a similar player to be honest. (Soft but great kick and skills)

Have you forgot about Schranberg?

TBH I can't remember the last time the "gun" defender played a good game?
Smacked Carlton around playing at CHF/FF. :D

Could be a half decent swingman. Jamison is a good defender and Frawley made him look silly.

As for my stance on Frawley, I'm still not averse to the idea but I've cooled on it.

Frost's last month has gone a long way in making me feel more confident that our backline can hold up (with Reid and Brown still to return).

While he fumbles far too much at ground level for the moment, his closing speed/spoiling ability could make him a handy third tall. I'm not sure if he has the footy brain, but Maxwell ought to be tutoring this kid on reading the play. Has the physical ability and confidence to provide decent rebound because his natural instinct is to take the game on.

Not like he will have elite disposal, but we do have Scharenberg waiting in the wings. And if Witts comes in as the second ruck and White performs in the forward line, we may have Reid back there after all.

Have you forgot about Schranberg?
Not at all- it's ongoing and we need to continue to build like they are. The actual list looks ok! My tip - he will need some time(hopefully not much)
As mentioned in previous posts Frawly is the one we should go after and pay the money.

Smacked Carlton around playing at CHF/FF. :D

Could be a half decent swingman. Jamison is a good defender and Frawley made him look silly.

As for my stance on Frawley, I'm still not averse to the idea but I've cooled on it.

Frost's last month has gone a long way in making me feel more confident that our backline can hold up (with Reid and Brown still to return).

While he fumbles far too much at ground level for the moment, his closing speed/spoiling ability could make him a handy third tall. I'm not sure if he has the footy brain, but Maxwell ought to be tutoring this kid on reading the play. Has the physical ability and confidence to provide decent rebound because his natural instinct is to take the game on.

Not like he will have elite disposal, but we do have Scharenberg waiting in the wings. And if Witts comes in as the second ruck and White performs in the forward line, we may have Reid back there after all.
Agree with your point but I would love to see the experience of Frawley down back for us. It would completely change the dynamics of our whole team.
Reid could play forward as well which makes us potent with 3 good tall forwards.
With Frost improving all the time , it would put a bit more pressure on Brown who does a good job but gives us minimum rebound or run. It would be great depth with Keefe also. Love to see Seedsman giving us some good run off half back also.

There is good and bad in getting frawley .The bad- Keefe,brown and frost are already good enough. We have ben reid who could swing down back should the situation arise.
The good- But if frawley has good leadership skills , i can see him taking over maxwells role and controlling our defence. He also had good intercept skills that could potentially mean that reid can play fwd more often

And if we run out of money in the cap he'll play for nothing just so he can be around the Westpac Centre on weekdays, and marvel Clokey with his knowledge on football boots.

Consider this for next year:

KPF: Cloke, White/Frawley, Moore/Witts (as 2nd Ruck)

KPD: Brown, Keeffe/Frawley/Frost, Reid (as the loose man in defence)

Do we need him to come in and take one of those two positions? Would he be worth it? I personally think the defence would look massively better. Could be interesting if we could trade one of Keeffe or Frost for a decent pick as they're good young KPD's, and replaced him with Frawley.

If we were going to throw around that sort of money I'd rather stick with Brown/Frost/Keeffe and try to snag Dangerfield next year as a replacement for Swan.

Why would we want Gibbs? He doesn't fit a real structure need or opening in the kind of way that White or Adams did. As a flanker with offensive flair who can make a transition into a permanent mid, I'd put my money on Seedsman being better than him in 1-2 seasons.

That and he's an absolute flog who barely deserves a rookie list spot.

A backline of Frawley, Brown and Frost would be very good. Frost would be able to develop as the 3rd tall for the next couple of years till he takes the next step(think of early Harry Taylor years). Brown and Frawley would be able to take the forwards who would match there strengths, while Frost takes the remanding key forward/Ruckman/third tall.
For example
Petrie: Brown
Black: Frawley
Currie/Daw: Frost

With those 3 talls, along with Seedsman, Williams, Fasolo, Toovey, Young and Lamumba rotating and rebounding throughout the game in the back 6/7, it makes our backline look very good, while White, Cloke and Reid or dominating up forward. This would go a far way to try securing our our 16th, 17th and 18th premierships all back to back ;).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

That and he's an absolute flog who barely deserves a rookie list spot.

Carlton really messed up his development. He was a stud at junior level. To be perfectly honest, I reckon Scharenberg projects as exactly the kind of player that Gibbs could've been if he were not such a pea-heart. But we're still a few years away from seeing that, Scharenberg only just got off the crutches, so plenty of water to go under the bridge. But fingers crossed.

While Frawley would be a valuable addition to any teams backline, 800k is just crazy. If he is worth 800k, then Reid is worth over 1 million.
Good teams dont pay overs for players, simple as that. The consequences are obvious, it means we either shortchange other players and risk loosing them or end up with a huge gaps or less talent in our list. We aint Carlton, we wont do it.
Talk of us paying anyone that kind of money should be reserved for Dangerfield or Jeremy Cameron.

Not worth 800k. Would unsettle our other players who took cuts ect.

Make him a good offer and see if he will take it otherwise move on and try someone else.

Frost is developing quickly and will be good, Brown is a solid stopper but doesn't give us the attacking Drive required that a Gibson gives Hawthorn, mcFarlane and Johnson give Freo. Not convinced Keefe will get there yet. That leaves Reid a proven AA, and almost the best tall quick defender in the game. If we had the luxury of playing Reid forward we straight away become a side that can score a lot of goals and will Inturn be hard to beat for the top sides. If not Frawley we should chase another A grade tall back. Right Now Frawley would be perfect to lead the back 7.
The Hawks recruited Gibson to play this role and have never looked back . (And Lake)

I would offer 600K and the chance to play for the biggest club in the land who play finals

I would be surprised if he would knock that price back from a Collingwood/Hawthorn

News Frawley's asking price 800k