Future of the Sydney Swans Forward Line

Tim schimdt is injured i swear

Schmidt is the forgotten one. Shame he got injured, I thought he was progressing well considering he has never had a real extended time without injury, and not playing for long while on the bench.

I reckon he could be a decent player if he could get an extended run. Needs to come strong once he is back from injury.

Back on the subject of our forward line, we're never going to be able to replace Hall and MO'L -- they're like our McGrath and Warne.

I expect Goodes and O'Keefe will end up playing in the forward line for a couple of years after Hall and MO'L retire (and both will, by the end of this season- Hall sooner if things turn pear-shaped like they did last year). It at least gives us a bit more time for White and Johnston to develop. Though I think a forward line consisting of White, Johnston and Playfair in 2011, with Vez as the livewire small forward, should still be competitive.*

*Of course this depends on who we draft/recruit over the next couple of years. It's hard to see where the next gun forward will come from with GC17 coming in and we know Roos' opinion on the draft when it comes to picking talls.

Yeh.... Where have you been :)

Nah yeh it's an indefinent injury

The young boys looked pretty good yesterday imo. Kicked quite a few goals between them and each of them had their moments. Reg looked very comfortable up forward and had a great game, and Meredith and Thornton both sniping away and applying pressure were also impressive.

I reckon a forward line like the one below could be one of the top ones in the comp in a few years. And there is also quite a bit of versatility in this lot (plus Kristin), with Reg looking pretty comfortable in the backline previously, Jesse looking the goods in the ruck and the smaller blokes able to have a run in the midfield.

F: Vezspremi White Grundy
HF: Meredith Johnstone Moore

F: Vezspremi White Grundy
HF: Meredith Johnstone Moore

Thats a good looking forward line. I would have a few differences though and a few differences from what other people have said:

- White will play predominately in the Ruck and rest in the forward line.
- Goodesy I would like to see stay playing on the wing.
- If Moore cant hold down a midfield position in the next few years I don't think he can stay in the team on the basis of one good season in 08.
- Grundy could play some games in the back line but with Johnston playing and other tall players like Goodes, Richards,white not to mention some smaller crumbers playing off Johnston and Currie our forward line is shaping up nicely.

F: Vezspremi Currie Johnston
HF: O'Keefe Grundy Meredith

Currie is a specialist ruckman though, why make White ruck when he can be forward? Has a great kick for goal.

I Han't seen alot of 2's games however i think that Currie looks really good at full forward. He still needs alot of work but i would like to see him play alot of football there.

I also like the tank that White has. He looks like with more senior football he will be one of the top mobile ruckmen in the competition, rather then just a tap ruckmen.

When Jolly is gone White, Currie playing the full game time playing in the ruck and resting at full forward would be awesome.

Also with how well White has been playing Currie will need a few more weapons to his arsenal to break into the ones without either Jolly or White getting injured.

I
When Jolly is gone White, Currie playing the full game time playing in the ruck and resting at full forward would be awesome.

Jolly has heaps and heaps of football left in him. Orreal should be ready by the time Jolly is 30 where he will still have a few years left. White will be Halls replacement.

Yeah, Jolly's still got three years on his contract, meaning that when it runs out in 2012, he'll be 30. He'll probably be able to get a two year contract if he's still looking good, and one-year contracts after that. I reckon he could go just as long as Spida did if he wanted, and he'd be a lot better at the end than Spida. ;)

- If Moore cant hold down a midfield position in the next few years I don't think he can stay in the team on the basis of one good season in 08.

Huh?
You mean when he was 19-21 and struggling with injury he should have been doing a lot better?

He then managed to get his fitness up enough to play every game last year, place sixth in the club championship and become part of the leadership group is too little too late? You would actually delist him?

Schmidt is an interesting player.I hope he gets back and it will be good to get an idea of where he's at.From memory I think that he and Bird both play a similar type of footy.It would be good to see them on the park together sooner than later.

Future of the Sydney Swans Forward Line