Game of the Year.

How can you compare the two? I reckon one player on the field could have kicked Ablett's and about 44 Cassisi's.
Are you serious? I can't even believe that CASSISI could kick that goal.

Massive pressure kick with 6 seconds left. Nothing 'run-of-the-mill' about it. GAbletts was brilliant. As was Cassisi's. But we'd have seen a bigger fuss made of Ablett's goal had Geelong won.

It only a 'special' goal because of the circumstances. Gablett's goal would have been magic in any situation.

Can people who have issues with Gablett, or who are sleeping with Cassisi, drop it? Gablett's goal was goal of the match from what I saw, Cassisi's was a standard goal made great by the circumstances.

How can you compare the two? I reckon one player on the field could have kicked Ablett's and about 44 Cassisi's. Yeah it was at a crucial stage, but it was a stock standard goal for an AFL player. Having said that, I was still bloody happy that he kicked it.

It was a great game and Geelong would lose no admirers out of that. We won the game in the clearances and Geelong were down in that area with no Bartel or Selwood and also Ling to close down S Burgoyne. However, you can only beat who's there and we did that. This will give us a tremendous confidence boost going into September and could ensure we get a home prelim. MASSIVE Win.

Great post, especially the bit on bold. Absolutely true, you guys won on the day. Cant say much more than that.

The stars aligned themselves with Port before the game today and things seemed to click nicely, about the only other thing that could have happened to shift the game anymore in Ports favour was if the AFL suddenly decided to shift the game to footy park. No breeze out at Geelong and no Ling (S. Burgoyne musta stabbed him in his hammy in his sleep, cause he played a blinder without Ling following him), really set the scene for us and it was great we were able to capitalise.

Also to pump up Dom's goal a bit more, ask yourselves how many of you would've kicked a goal on the run, 40 out, sharp angle on the wrong side of your body. Easily a better goal to ice the game than both Eberts and Browns from the week before.

You're all forgetting Thurstans' brilliant tackle to give Dom the shot.

And let's also not forget the brilliant play by Peter Burgoyne on the back flank to get the ball up there.

He often gets caned for taking things too far. He deserves a lot of credit for being able to roll the dice, and be good enough to pull it off, when it absolutely does have to be done.

The manoeuvre reminded me of one he pulled off to kick a magical forward pocket goal very early in his career

Watching on youtube...Cassisi was under pressure, 40 out,running towards the boundary to avoid the geelong player, and was on his left foot. That's a great goal.

Awesome game, so much desperation from bothsides from the opening bounce.

The past 2 games Port have played have been full pressure finals style games and will benefit Port immensely for finals.

With Bartel out. Gazza was heavily tagged more than usual, and when the team needed him to stand up, he dodged four Port players throwing themselves at him to get the goal and just about win the game for us.

edited for accuracy.

It was a great goal though.... shame the Port Defenders fell asleep though, but I know Ports defense isnt its strong point.

Anyone who's trying to downsell Gazza's goal can go jump on their heads. It was a ripper goal of sheer skill, determination and inspiration.

Cassisi's goal wasn't as good, but my lord it wasn't far behind. He read it out of the pack beautifully, steadied under enormous pressure then kicked it on his wrong side. It never looked like missing either.

That game wasn't just the best of the year, but one of the best i've ever seen. Some of the skills left a bit to be desired at times, but no quarter was given by either side and there were patches of pure brilliance from both teams. I have a lot of respect for Port even tho I hate them. They have modified their game plan during the year after they realized they weren't going anywhere with their usual style, backed their youngsters to come in and do the job and have got their influential players up and about at the right time. They have ridden their luck to snatch second at this point, but I think they are a good enuff side to knock out a few more fancied rivals when September begins.

Game of the Year.