Game Today-Crowd

20,000 so call members who can't turn up. Why are you one? Gutless that is?

Bloody oath. Sick of excuses. If you didn't turn up today, you're ****ing gutless. Sick of poor, lame excuses from supporters, the players and the club in general. Time to stand up.

The crowd figure of 15500 approx was dissapointing to say the least. From where I was on level 2, there seemed to be heaps of WC supporters...way more than Dees .

Overall I would have said that there were 11k Dees and perhaps 4 K WC fans.

10-11 thousand Dees fans at a home game ,where members get in with their tickets..makes you wonder where all he memebrs were? Day was perfect...sunny , no wind or rain...so ...what happenned guys?

See you at the G this weekend.

The crowd figure of 15500 approx was dissapointing to say the least. From where I was on level 2, there seemed to be heaps of WC supporters...way more than Dees .

Overall I would have said that there were 11k Dees and perhaps 4 K WC fans.

10-11 thousand Dees fans at a home game ,where members get in with their tickets..makes you wonder where all he memebrs were? Day was perfect...sunny , no wind or rain...so ...what happenned guys?

See you at the G this weekend.

Cleaning their range rovers probably.

Went to the Geelong debacle and swore it was going to be my last for the year.

Might go to the Tigers game.

But no way was i going today, im not wasting $60 on fuel driving from Lorne. $20 on parking at the Dome and $30 on beer to watch the shit we have been dishing up lately.

**** that, the club has my money for a membership (which by the way i pay full membership, apparently Lorne isnt far enough out of the way to entitle me to a country membership :rolleyes:), why should spend anymore of my hard earnt after watching the shit dished up at KP?

Gutless my arse.

MFC floggs who didn't go today are the gutless one who keep this club going backwards.
No.
A team of registered AFL footballers that 'produce' 186 point losses is what keeps this club going backwards.
A sub-set of a team of registered AFL footballers (Sylvia, Scully, Davey, Jamar, Moloney, Morton) who gather only seven possesions between them in a quarter is what keeps this club going backwards.
A captain of a team of registered AFL footballers that hides behind a late injury withdrawal is what keeps this club going backwards.

Clearly, if the MFCs 36, 937 members turned up, we would have won by 10 goals.

PS theres no way in hell the eagles supporters out numbered demons supporters. 5k eagles at best.

Guys i have been reading with interest the replies and the majority do have some merit. The fellow who has to come from Lorne for example i totally understand a 1:10 sunday game being hardwork for you.

Not going to the footy is not a crime i dont think anyone is saying it is but... would you of gone to the game today if you were 13-5 fighting for a top 4 spot ? If your answer is yes then i believe you are a fairweather disappointing supporter, if you still wouldn't of been able to go then fair play thats life.

its also hard when theres just other shit i'd prefer to be doing. i love football and love melbourne but i also love a lot of others things... weekend time is precious time

I surf down there a fair bit. Reckon i could crash on your couch?

Not scared about getting diseases from the sea or from other surfers around you? No? Oh....

Brothers birthday today for me but I make most games when I'm not at the local footy watching my brother play.

I don't want to belittle anyone for having a life and not being able to attend a game of football. But don't you dare get on here and have a crack at anyone for not having the club's interests at heart.

When our backs are to the wall, you get to the game and support the club. If we were flying and playing for a top 4 spot today, I bet a few of the non-attendees may have been been able to get there.

No.
A team of registered AFL footballers that 'produce' 186 point losses is what keeps this club going backwards.
A sub-set of a team of registered AFL footballers (Sylvia, Scully, Davey, Jamar, Moloney, Morton) who gather only seven possesions between them in a quarter is what keeps this club going backwards.
A captain of a team of registered AFL footballers that hides behind a late injury withdrawal is what keeps this club going backwards.

Clearly, if the MFCs 36, 937 members turned up, we would have won by 10 goals.

PS theres no way in hell the eagles supporters out numbered demons supporters. 5k eagles at best.
The difference between us and other teams I guess - no passion. Could be argued if we had more passionate supporters, we get better games and time slots and we spend more money in our football department and we wouldn't be so shit.

Chew on that one.

Shit crowd, but kind of understandable tbh.

I would've gone, but had work at 3:45 so obviously would have had to leave at HT.

Wasn't in a position to buy a membership this year, but have ended up working hard and going to about 11 games

The difference between us and other teams I guess - no passion. Could be argued if we had more passionate supporters, we get better games and time slots and we spend more money in our football department and we wouldn't be so shit.

Chew on that one.
You bring up passion. Back in 96 merger time, yes i understand it was basically a takeover of the hawthorn footy club but..... They hated it and as such voted it out where melbourne were happy to become the HAWKS.
I find this astounding from a fitzroy viewpoint and someone who has no time or love for Brisbane.

Does this point to a lack of passion on your part ? and does it reflect on supporters at all the opposite directions those 2 clubs have headed since ?

You bring up passion. Back in 96 merger time, yes i understand it was basically a takeover of the hawthorn footy club but..... They hated it and as such voted it out where melbourne were happy to become the HAWKS.
I find this astounding from a fitzroy viewpoint and someone who has no time or love for Brisbane.

Does this point to a lack of passion on your part ? and does it reflect on supporters at all the opposite directions those 2 clubs have headed since ?

I'm not sure what the apathy is about. As someone who hovered around Etihad for hours today unsure how to direct my anger, I don't get a 14,000 crowd. I can't sleep when there is a negative article written about Scully. I cried driving home from Shell 2 weeks ago. But yet I can't wait to get over to Adelaide and watch the first AFL game at Adelaide Oval. I hope 1,000's of others feel as I, and many on here do, but I really doubt it.

Not exactly true - there were a few but there were more proxy votes from certain business entities and there were those that couldn't vote

Chew on that one.

Buzz words and naive wish lists.

So. If we had more(and by your criteria 'better')supporters turn up to thegame we'd get a magical $'s-r-us FIXture? I can see it now. CS too busy at Gucci Desks to meet the AFL so sends in the heavy artillary - ex champion player Brent Grgic. Brent makes the point that we, you know, got a good passionate crowd at darklands vs west coast for our home game so c'mon, give us more good stuffs. Vlad: Alrighty then! Season opener with Carlton, Anzac day, every friday night - yours!

It's that exact attitude (blame the supporter and not the people in the bloody club) that's allowed this *clears throat for buzzword spouting* mediocrity to fester.

This is crap.

Sitting at Level 1 at the cup (Etihad) is much greater viewing experience than Level 1 at the saucer (MCG).

There was actually atmosphere today, can you imagine how poor it would of been at the G.

Guess it's personal preference, I always prefer lvl 3 (Etihad or MCG), can see more of the game, in terms of ball movement and who's working hard into the spaces but there's less atmosphere up top

Great Eagles turnout. Probably 60/40 overall imo.

15k is better than I thought it'd be. Take into consideration that the club has a large MCC member base that would never pay extra to go to a Melbourne home game, as Melbourne members had to do today.

Why we were scheduled there in the first place is beyond me. The club would have been best served to sell that game as well and play another game in Darwin.

And we got 40,000 against the Eagles at the MCG in 2005 I believe it was. Dees fans just don't turn up to Etihad.

Had a wedding to go to, but otherwise would have been there. Listening via phone/radio - gutted.

Terrible stuff from the club in the last month, I get the angst from the fans as we've helped the club get back on it's feet from the Debt Demolition - and it seems that the club has slid back in public opinion from the shit ages of years past. Face it, we've got a coach who has absolutely no ****ing idea what he is doing and we won't have a solid gameplan until we get a new coach - It's a writeoff and let's shed the shit, hire the goods and look to next season. But i'll be there (if no other bastard wants to get married).

It's hard being a melbourne supporter.

Sitting at Level 1 at the cup (Etihad) is much greater viewing experience than Level 1 at the saucer (MCG).

That's why I wouldn't sit on level one of either ground. Thank god they never close the good seats the G no matter how dire the crowd is.

When our backs are to the wall, you get to the game and support the club. If we were flying and playing for a top 4 spot today, I bet a few of the non-attendees may have been been able to get there.

Football is entertainment though. If someone told you a movie was going to be shit, would you still go see it? Probably not. But if the next year a sequel came out that had rave reviews, you would go because it'd be worth your time and money.

I understand crowds play a factor in teams performance, but i've paid for my membership and the boys should be able to play good footy regardless of if im there or not.

Football is entertainment though. If someone told you a movie was going to be shit, would you still go see it? Probably not. But if the next year a sequel came out that had rave reviews, you would go because it'd be worth your time and money.

I understand crowds play a factor in teams performance, but i've paid for my membership and the boys should be able to play good footy regardless of if im there or not.

Rhaz, I hear what you're saying. But I read the other boards of BF and see they mock Melbourne for having such a horrible crowd. The club pockets hurt, our club pride hurts, and the players notice the lack of support also. We can't ask the league for favours in the draw when we serve up shit attendances like this.

Game Today-Crowd