ExTasDeeMan
Watching the Dees games is like watching M Night Shylaman films.
Not scared about getting diseases from the sea or from other surfers around you? No? Oh....
lookin' up at the stars...The beach is actually where i feel the most comfortable in the world.
No sound but that of the waves, when you look out to sea not a person as far as the eye can see. Peaceful.
This is a far cry from a football stadium with 50,000 people all screaming for blood.
I'm not afraid of diseases i just dont like thinking about grubby people with them.
Snot nosed kids, tattooed bogans and fat food-covered old guys - no thanks, i'll pay my membership and sit at home with a coopers pale ale and a pizza
i thought it was the other way, blame the people at the club and not the supporters. A lagre chunk of Melbourne supporters a pea hearts. That is a fact.Buzz words and naive wish lists.
So. If we had more(and by your criteria 'better')supporters turn up to thegame we'd get a magical $'s-r-us FIXture? I can see it now. CS too busy at Gucci Desks to meet the AFL so sends in the heavy artillary - ex champion player Brent Grgic. Brent makes the point that we, you know, got a good passionate crowd at darklands vs west coast for our home game so c'mon, give us more good stuffs. Vlad: Alrighty then! Season opener with Carlton, Anzac day, every friday night - yours!
It's that exact attitude (blame the supporter and not the people in the bloody club) that's allowed this *clears throat for buzzword spouting* mediocrity to fester.
I'll tell you why Dees supporters didn't turn up;
1. have to pay extra for a seat at Etihad - complete rubbish at our home game
2. don't know if players will turn up or not
3. snow still falling
4. Morton recalled
Who had to pay extra for a seat? We just got in on our memberships. Wanted to sit level two so went to the ticketing window and they gave me relevent ticket at no cost on my membership. I understand the hatred of the Dome though. It goes down another notch in my book every time I have to go there.
Rhaz, I hear what you're saying. But I read the other boards of BF and see they mock Melbourne for having such a horrible crowd. The club pockets hurt, our club pride hurts, and the players notice the lack of support also. We can't ask the league for favours in the draw when we serve up shit attendances like this.
Who gives a shit what the other boards say. I have a 17 game membership and I didn't go. The only games i have missed this year are St Kilda (moved into new house), Richmond (train was cancelled), Carlton and WC (cause i CBF). I shelled out my hard earned for the membership this year and attend the games by myself and for what?? To put it towards players salarys that CBF?
If the players notice the small crowds why dont they do something about it!
Really disappointing though predictable crowd yesterday (I also think it was pumped up by a strong WC crowd - only 60/40 split our way I thought). Hearing people say they'll go when the team performs just lends weigh to oppositions supporters common contention that Melbourne is irrelevent and passionless.
No offense mate, but your posts a cop out. You support your footy club through thick and thin. You get to the ground and you suck it up. I'm sick of BS excuses. You're no better than the players you claim aren't having a crack.
I do support my footy club and I have probably attended more games than the players have this year. I dont have excuses, I told you I chose not to see the last two games because i cant be ****ed wasting my time going to games to watch players put in another half arsed effort, and then I come home annoyed.
And while your on the subject why don't you tell Green to suck it up with his "general soreness" excuse. Got to actually put your body on the line to get sore.
You clearly don't. You chose not to attend a game at a time when your club needs you the most. You make as many excuses as you like, but I reckon it's as weak as piss!