GDFL 2009 Season - Part 2

Bourky! Big call from a member of the media. Not sure if Muzz would appreciate it but I'd have to agree. Would hate to see another game ruined by umpires decisions.

Word on the street (reliable source) is that Muzz is going to be doing either the BFL or GDFL Grand Final (and from what i'm hearing it's ours.. If I found out during the week he's got us myself (along with Jason, Dale and Cal) will definitely be putting through a call to Sir Neville.). absolute disgrace.. nothing against the bloke personally but he's an absolutely horrific umpire and I don't want his soap opera anywhere near our showpiece game. (especially considering we're going live on television.

actually, you know what. i'll take that back. i'm gonna have a crack at him as a person too.. apparently when he booked Boofa the other week he was yelling out "I've got you again Nathan" in a delibrate attempt to stir Nathan up.. he is a blight on the game.. just shut the hell up, do your job probably. nobody gives a stuff who you are all I know is that you are continually ruining good games of footy by making stupid decisions and trying to be bigger than the game.

I'm not an umpire basher, I just want the right blokes doing the job. Not the umpires who've been there the longest or think they are better than the younger ones.. there is a massive conflict of interest in the umpy camp.. pretty sure Muzza is on the selection committee so of course he's going to give himself a guernsey in one of the G/F's next weekend.

Word on the street (reliable source) is that Muzz is going to be doing either the BFL or GDFL Grand Final (and from what i'm hearing it's ours.. If I found out during the week he's got us myself (along with Jason, Dale and Cal) will definitely be putting through a call to Sir Neville.). absolute disgrace.. nothing against the bloke personally but he's an absolutely horrific umpire and I don't want his soap opera anywhere near our showpiece game. (especially considering we're going live on television.

actually, you know what. i'll take that back. i'm gonna have a crack at him as a person too.. apparently when he booked Boofa the other week he was yelling out "I've got you again Nathan" in a delibrate attempt to stir Nathan up.. he is a blight on the game.. just shut the hell up, do your job probably. nobody gives a stuff who you are all I know is that you are continually ruining good games of footy by making stupid decisions and trying to be bigger than the game.

I'm not an umpire basher, I just want the right blokes doing the job. Not the umpires who've been there the longest or think they are better than the younger ones.. there is a massive conflict of interest in the umpy camp.. pretty sure Muzza is on the selection committee so of course he's going to give himself a guernsey in one of the G/F's next weekend.

Told you so!!!

You shouldn't bottle things up, Bourkey, or it may eventually drive you totally insane:D!!!

The decision for Cavka's free kick was line ball, but by the letter of the law it was there. can't believe Thomson people were complaining about it.

Didn't think the umpiring was that bad yesterday (well, compared to the other finals:eek:)

let's just hope big bad muzza fanning isn't involved next weekend.

Even if the free kick wasn't payed SHAUN LEWIS ran in and kicked a goal so Bell Post Hill still would have won. Hopefully we see a game the same this week can Bell Post Hill get them selfs up again for there first premiership?

For someone in your "position" to give an umpire a spray like that he must be real bad. I hope an umpire doesnt ruin a Grand Final surely if he is that bad he cant get the grand final.

If anyone is a blight on the game it's Nathan Lewis :thumbsdown: He should never have been re-registered last year .

shit, you're right! i didn't realise he was that young:eek:

he's every chance of making it at the highest level IMO

Certainty:thumbsu:

THIS WEEKS TIPS

East Geelong by 51pts

R.Chamberlain (BOG)
R.Closter (5 Goals)
A.Skrobolak (to dominate also)

Bell Post Hill to run out of puff
after a fantastic effort over the last few weeks, East will break their 16 year premiership drought at their expense.

https://www.sportsbet.com.au/sports/event/SportID/4/CompetitionPID/19629/RoundPID/19533/EventID/937031/MenuLevel/C Sportsbet odds: East Geelong 1.85 Bell Post Hill 1.95
I'm going to have a real go at the 1.85 for East I think.

RESERVES
Corio by 45 pts

THIRDS
North Geelong by 112pts

East by 32 points in the Seniors - Dean O'Hara B.O.G

Corio by 58 points in the Magoo's.

Bannockburn by 1 point in the Thirds. :thumbsu:

seniors - east by 14 points - b.o.g skrobba (provided he doesnt get sent off:D)
reserves - corio by 42 points
18s - north by 117 points

Even if the free kick wasn't payed SHAUN LEWIS ran in and kicked a goal so Bell Post Hill still would have won. Hopefully we see a game the same this week can Bell Post Hill get them selfs up again for there first premiership?

no he didnt glen wallace marked it

clutching at straws.

The umpires certainly didn't cost Thomson the game. Soft excuse.

I'd say Andrew Venners dominance in the Ruck did. Amazing how much influence one position on the ground can have. No coincidence that Thomson's best patch of football came when Brent Anderton started to break even in the middle of the ground.

Anyway, will be interesting to see how many of the Thomson legends retire. Will need to sign a few new players to remain a premiership threat next year IMO.. They should regain Brent MacLeod which will be massive inclusion, Jacko obviously still pretty young. Scott, Lennon, O'Neill & Vaughan still have plenty of good footy in front of them (anyone get a diagnosis on Vaughan? looked like he did the hammy in the last quarter) and of course my boy Hodgson will take the league by storm!

any word on the plans of the following players?

Timmy Gardiner? I reckon he could go around again but I guess it'll be up to him..

Tommy Harriott? Was good in the finals but I reckon he'll hang em up for good now..

Nick Maheras? Expecting him to run around again next year

Christian Hyland? Same as Maheras.

Were you at the same game?
Bell Post Hill 8 free kicks in forward line 8 goals
Thomson 1 free kick in forward line 1 goal
Wallace was hit every time he went to the ball and would have recieved 2 free kicks for the day.
UMPIRES WERE A JOKE and A DISGRACE

8 free kicks for 8 goals doesn't necessarily mean the umpires cost you the game. I don't have the stats but i reckon what you're saying is bullshit anyway, but i'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

if there was 8 goals from free kicks, none of them from memory were awful decisions that weren't there. so maybe, just maybe put a bit of the blame on your own players for giving away the free kick? just a thought mate.. sick of people blaming umpires for everything and not realising that maybe there was a reason they blew their whistle?

secondly, the Thomson fans have got no right to complain about the umps.. Bannockburn copped possibly the worst umpiring of the season in last weekends Semi Final, you guys deserved to win but if your going to blame the umps for this weekend just gone then i'm going to say you got an armchair ride the week before.

A lot of people thought Wallace was a protected species in that game (i don't necessarily agree, and he played a blinder of his own bat anyway) so maybe that might subconciouslly explain why he got a few rough calls from the umps on the weekend (the one in front of the scoreboard in the last quarter was certainly there that didn't get paid, i'll admit that).

Speaking of Wallace, i've heard rumours Thomson have made an informal approach for an ex Torquay/Grovedale player to coach in 2010.

Now, they certainly couldn't be sacking Wallace (A premiership and 3 point Prelim loss in 2 years can hardly get you the arse) so what i'm thinking is that he's got an offer from another club? Wally heading back to the GFL perhaps?

8 free kicks for 8 goals doesn't necessarily mean the umpires cost you the game. I don't have the stats but i reckon what you're saying is bullshit anyway, but i'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

if there was 8 goals from free kicks, none of them from memory were awful decisions that weren't there. so maybe, just maybe put a bit of the blame on your own players for giving away the free kick? just a thought mate.. sick of people blaming umpires for everything and not realising that maybe there was a reason they blew their whistle?

secondly, the Thomson fans have got no right to complain about the umps.. Bannockburn copped possibly the worst umpiring of the season in last weekends Semi Final, you guys deserved to win but if your going to blame the umps for this weekend just gone then i'm going to say you got an armchair ride the week before.

A lot of people thought Wallace was a protected species in that game (i don't necessarily agree, and he played a blinder of his own bat anyway) so maybe that might subconciouslly explain why he got a few rough calls from the umps on the weekend (the one in front of the scoreboard in the last quarter was certainly there that didn't get paid, i'll admit that).

Speaking of Wallace, i've heard rumours Thomson have made an informal approach for an ex Torquay/Grovedale player to coach in 2010.

Now, they certainly couldn't be sacking Wallace (A premiership and 3 point Prelim loss in 2 years can hardly get you the arse) so what i'm thinking is that he's got an offer from another club? Wally heading back to the GFL perhaps?

Well if you watched the game I dont think you can say it was bullshit,
I wasnt saying that the umpiring was to blame, but I would like to know what the free kick count was for both sides and were they were payed.
As for the game against Bannockburn Thomson were far a better side then them.
I believe Wallace will retire, his body cant take it any more, as for the coaching postion at Thomson I believe they have spoken to a couple of people in the Geelong region and a couple from outside of Geelong.

Gee that's big news TommyTiger! how old is Wall? surely not that old..

obviously had plenty of injury troubles like you said, especially those back related hammy injuries.. Be a real shame if Geelong Football lost him. great bloke, great player.

no one marked the ball it went over the back of the pack.
Bourkey can you confirm this?

I can confirm Wal spilt the mark. I thought the crumbs were taken by a Thomson player however. Could have been Sean O'Neil? They then had to hand it over to BPH.

Thing that baffled me was who the high contact was paid against. Was it paid against Wallace, who was making the effort to mark?

I can confirm Wal spilt the mark. I thought the crumbs were taken by a Thomson player however. Could have been Sean O'Neil? They then had to hand it over to BPH.

Thing that baffled me was who the high contact was paid against. Was it paid against Wallace, who was making the effort to mark?

Free was paid against Menzies on Cavka, a bit soft but they'd been paying them all day so was probably there....