GDFL 2009 Season

If you did your research Winch have actually won 5-3 against Anakie since 2004. Anakie finished wooden spooners 2004 - 2005 just like Winch did last year. People have been asking Winch questions about pre-season and they have been answered on here. They are recruiting and they are having a crack at pre-season and i think a few clubs are starting to get a little scared that they might win the wooden spoon as Winch will no longer be the easy beats!

They have the hottest netballers, one of the best club rooms in the league and undoubtly the best ground in the league.

ANAKIE have the shit rooms, FAT netballers, Worse ground in the league. The only thing Anakie are good at is hitting people behind the play to win games.

Just wait and see what happens round 2 this year and then you can say what ever you want about their playing ability- but it is a new year and WINCH ARE ON THE CLIMB IN 09

They do hav the best ground bye far but give it a few season and it wont be as good as it is now, few wet games and it will be stuffed, but as 4 the best club rooms thats a joke isnt it, they r a good size but thats about it, thomson would hav 2 hav the best rooms even though they r a little small.

If you did your research Winch have actually won 5-3 against Anakie since 2004. Anakie finished wooden spooners 2004 - 2005 just like Winch did last year. People have been asking Winch questions about pre-season and they have been answered on here. They are recruiting and they are having a crack at pre-season and i think a few clubs are starting to get a little scared that they might win the wooden spoon as Winch will no longer be the easy beats!

They have the hottest netballers, one of the best club rooms in the league and undoubtly the best ground in the league.

ANAKIE have the shit rooms, FAT netballers, Worse ground in the league. The only thing Anakie are good at is hitting people behind the play to win games.

Just wait and see what happens round 2 this year and then you can say what ever you want about their playing ability- but it is a new year and WINCH ARE ON THE CLIMB IN 09

Round 2 will be a blood bath, Anakie to prevail by 15 + goals.
No-one, and I repeat no-one, is scared of winning the wooden spoon other than Winch, apart from Blue West.

They don't have the hottest netballers, they have rum-sucking hillbilly netballers with fat ego's and even fatter arses. Most have more leg hair than Robin Williams. League officials even question the sex of a few of them I would imagine.

Best ground in the league, I hope that was intended to be sarcastic? :confused:
Thomson, East Geelong, West Geelong, Inverleigh, Bannockburn all are better than the trip down the Warrnambool Road to Winchelsea.

You can take your records as far back as you like Mr Hitman20, we all know Winchelse F.C. is going no where at an alarming speed.

winch have the best ground in the comp. 1 of the biggest club rooms in the comp. anakie have the worst ground/rooms and the players r all corio bogans/rejects and i belive anakie is in the country

Now Mr Bain you have gone and got all the "Corio bogans/rejects" angry! :eek:

No-one, and I repeat no-one, is scared of winning the wooden spoon other than Winch, apart from Blue West.

They don't have the hottest netballers, they have rum-sucking hillbilly netballers with fat ego's and even fatter arses. Most have more leg hair than Robin Williams. League officials even question the sex of a few of them I would imagine.

Thomson, East Geelong, West Geelong, Inverleigh, Bannockburn all are better than the trip down the Warrnambool Road to Winchelsea.

You can take your records as far back as you like Mr Hitman20, we all know Winchelse F.C. is going no where at an alarming speed.

Soooo...no-one or Blue West?

I think it was pretty self explanotary ripitup27.

No-one apart from Blue West is "scared" of winning the wooden spoon other than Winchelsea.

Thus implying that both teams are terrible and it will be a race for the spoon.

I understand if the simple folk, much like yourself, cannot comprehend my sentence.

Maybe after learning to kick, handball and mark the Winchelsea Football Club can have grammar and literacy sessions. :eek:

whos got the best ground then??

I put a number of grounds ahead of Winchelsea.
Based on last year the leading grounds for the G & DFL were as follows:
Thomson (been the benchmark ground for a number of years)
Geelong West (played their home games at the GWSP home ground last year)
Inverleigh (had a quality surface last year and always has a great atmosphere :))
This is just my opinion however would be happy to hear other (non-winchelsea) people’s views on who has the best ground in the league.
Winchelsea sorry to say but sh*t rooms, sh*t atmosphere and sh*t location = sh*t ground
I also find it ironic that the two worst clubs in the league seem to be the only clubs getting talked about.
I think that poor old Anakie and Winch are trying to convince themselves they might actually record a win against someone other than each other this season :eek:

Don't get Anakie muddled up with Blue West there Hawk.
There is only one team on the climb in 09 ;)

if u r from anakie u would have not have seen it as u did not play there last year i say wait and see b4 u make a coment on it

I think it was pretty self explanotary ripitup27.

No-one apart from Blue West is "scared" of winning the wooden spoon other than Winchelsea.

Thus implying that both teams are terrible and it will be a race for the spoon.

I understand if the simple folk, much like yourself, cannot comprehend my sentence.

Maybe after learning to kick, handball and mark the Winchelsea Football Club can have grammar and literacy sessions. :eek:

Ohhhh the irony. Here is your post again, with both grammar and spelling fixed:

"I think it was pretty self explanatory ripitup27.

Blue West and Winchelsea are the only teams in danger of winning the wooden spoon.

Thus implying that both teams are terrible and it will be a race for the spoon between those two teams.

I understand it if the simple folk, much like yourself, cannot comprehend my sentence.

Maybe after learning to kick, handball and mark, the Winchelsea Football Club can have grammar and literacy sessions."

And in reply to your other post, it can't be 'no-one' if Blue West are at risk of winning the spoon as well. It should have said Winchelsea and Blue West. But hey, we're not all perfect.

if u r from anakie u would have not have seen it as u did not play there last year i say wait and see b4 u make a coment on it

I drive through the dump they call Winchelsea every week for work, I think I have a fair idea which grounds are the better around the league. Inver09 is spot on the money when it comes to the grounds, Thomson & West top 2, then the rest slug it out for the minor placings.

Remember, this might be hard as you're a little slow, that the ground is there the full year, not just the 10-5 on a Saturday. It can be viewed all day, everyday.

Ohhhh the irony. Here is your post again, with both grammar and spelling fixed:

"I think it was pretty self explanatory ripitup27.

Blue West and Winchelsea are the only teams in danger of winning the wooden spoon.

Thus implying that both teams are terrible and it will be a race for the spoon between those two teams.

I understand it if the simple folk, much like yourself, cannot comprehend my sentence.

Maybe after learning to kick, handball and mark, the Winchelsea Football Club can have grammar and literacy sessions."

And in reply to your other post, it can't be 'no-one' if Blue West are at risk of winning the spoon as well. It should have said Winchelsea and Blue West. But hey, we're not all perfect.

Looks like we have a budding young Journalist on our hands, suppose you have plenty of time in between B & S Balls to have a hobby.

I'm glad we both agree that it's only Winchelsea and Blue West who are in "danger" (as you put it) of "winning" the spoon.

I put a number of grounds ahead of Winchelsea.
Based on last year the leading grounds for the G & DFL were as follows:
Thomson (been the benchmark ground for a number of years)
Geelong West (played their home games at the GWSP home ground last year)
Inverleigh (had a quality surface last year and always has a great atmosphere :))
This is just my opinion however would be happy to hear other (non-winchelsea) people’s views on who has the best ground in the league.
Winchelsea sorry to say but sh*t rooms, sh*t atmosphere and sh*t location = sh*t ground
I also find it ironic that the two worst clubs in the league seem to be the only clubs getting talked about.

mate sorry 2 say but the surface at which wen i was there 2 c the first game on the new surface was perfect it was seriouly like skilled stadium but other than the surface of the ground the rest of the place is old and needs 2 be replaced!!!!

I drive through the dump they call Winchelsea every week for work, I think I have a fair idea which grounds are the better around the league. Inver09 is spot on the money when it comes to the grounds, Thomson & West top 2, then the rest slug it out for the minor placings.

Remember, this might be hard as you're a little slow, that the ground is there the full year, not just the 10-5 on a Saturday. It can be viewed all day, everyday.
If I read another post from you I'll spew! You've made about 20 posts in the past couple days and they have all been crap, how about talking about some actual facts if you want to argue!
So what every week when you're driving through you call in to check out the ground?
Anakie's ground was the worst in the league last year so maybe you should be sticking to driving to your own ground to make sure its fit for play in 09!
It's far too early for anyone to be spruiking about their chances this year, that is of course unless you're from East Thomson or Banno who will most likely be at the top of the table end of season.
As far as Winch Inver Anakie and Blue West go time will be the telling the factor! To predict a 15+ goal win in round two is disgraceful and shows how much intelligence and character you guys have there at Anakie!
Without a doubt Winch will be improved this year and wont' be the same outift as last year, I'm sure after last year Winch will roll out a more competitive line up, they have only one way to go where as Inver and Anakie have to back up from their efforts last year and if they don't they will be on the slide!

Good to see you've confirmed all the other comments regarding Anakie's football tacticts, making up for a lack of talent and football smarts by going the knuckle at ever oportunity. Constantly throwing cheap ones behind play with a king hit considered a B.O.G. performance, not to mention stomping on someone accepted as a valid way to bring a superior athlete down to your level. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

As for the best ground in the league you can't be serious about East and Inverleigh. East struggle to grow the green stuff and Inverleigh's is a wind swept paddock with a giant sand pit in the guts. West's new home would have to the be the best ground in the league with the others you mentioned and Winch having the best playing surface.

Good to see you've confirmed all the other comments regarding Anakie's football tacticts, making up for a lack of talent and football smarts by going the knuckle at ever oportunity. Constantly throwing cheap ones behind play with a king hit considered a B.O.G. performance, not to mention stomping on someone accepted as a valid way to bring a superior athlete down to your level. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

As for the best ground in the league you can't be serious about East and Inverleigh. East struggle to grow the green stuff and Inverleigh's is a wind swept paddock with a giant sand pit in the guts. West's new home would have to the be the best ground in the league with the others you mentioned and Winch having the best playing surface.

You are spot on with that one KF because that has been the case in recent years.

However, East has one of the best surfaces in Geelong, let alone the GDFL. This is as a result of being granted watering exemptions from the council (grey water I believe) in an ongoing attempt to revitalise one of the oldest grounds in the region.

If your near Richmond Cresent, drive-by and have a look. Will be a pleasure playing there this year as opposed to the mini dust-bowl of the previous years.

You are spot on with that one KF because that has been the case in recent years.

However, East has one of the best surfaces in Geelong, let alone the GDFL. This is as a result of being granted watering exemptions from the council (grey water I believe) in an ongoing attempt to revitalise one of the oldest grounds in the region.

If your near Richmond Cresent, drive-by and have a look. Will be a pleasure playing there this year as opposed to the mini dust-bowl of the previous years.
Spot on. Prior to '06 the ground was fantastic but as with most it has struggled but is again on the way back and will be fine for '09.

If I was casting a vote on ground surface I would put Corio at the top (expert grass growers at Shell reseve) along with Winch, Thomson, West in the upper category. East, BPH, North, Banno, Werribee, Inver, Belmont in the mid range, Anakie a long way last.

As for rooms only knowing the pleasures of one home room and 11 away rooms I think they all struggle. They are either too old, too small, the whoers are crap so on and so forth, but thats the way it is with footy rooms unless you are good enough to enjoy the comforts of a good league who have clubs with cash to spare on facilities rather than players.

As for who will be better out of Winch and Anakie I don't think either will feature at the pointy end of the ladder however I do think Winch will improve significantly whereas Anakie will drop a few spots.

Heard last night that young East Geelong half forward Drew Holien is off to blue west.

Apparently became disenchanted with East after a perceived lack of opportunities last year.

Well with that attitude it would seem you've never done a bad thing on the football field ever.

Why don't you make your feelings known out at Fairy Park one pre-season training night, i'm sure they'd glee-fully accept the challenge haha :D

Hey, we're not the ones who go around throwing punches at kiddies, we leave that to the Blue West boys.

Heard last night that young East Geelong half forward Drew Holien is off to blue west.

Apparently became disenchanted with East after a perceived lack of opportunities last year.

Is that the "bloke" with a heart the size of a pea who wears yellow Akermanis boots?
Played against him last year, he didn't get near the footy.
He got one kick against us and that was a dubious free kick which he shanked from 5m out which just went through the goals.
Surely this rumour is false :thumbsdown:

As for who will be better out of Winch and Anakie I don't think either will feature at the pointy end of the ladder however I do think Winch will improve significantly whereas Anakie will drop a few spots.

You've got no idea Drago!
Anakie will finish well ahead of Winchelsea as we're on the climb in 09 :thumbsu:

Is that the "bloke" with a heart the size of a pea who wears yellow boots?
Played against him last year, he didn't get near the footy.
He got one kick against us and that was a dubious free kick which he shanked from 5m out which just went through the goals.
Surely this rumour is false :thumbsdown:

Yes thats the one. Played seniors against us in round 1 last year and did very little. Rumoured to have great skills but as you stated he isn't known for a great attack on the footy.

Who knows maybe the change of scenery will work in his favour? :confused:

Just found your clubs homepage:

http://www.fairypark.com/

Pre-season includes:

-Chase the little kiddies until you get the one that struggles the most.
-King-hit the big bad wolf behind play.
-Fight over which Princess you get to be for the day.
-Jump on the slides in the playground, because sliding is all you'll be doing this year.

I have to say, the new entrance to the ground is impressive though.

1979687931_abfab03df6.jpg