Geelong and District Football League 2

Pretty disappointing end to the season for East. Will be interesting to see if they keep the same list together over the pre-season considering quite a few of their better players aren't locals.
A very disspointing way to end the year for the lads from the Crescent as I gave them half a show of going all the way but thats the way it works. Now we have to look forward to 2009 and already some of the building blokes have been put in place including the re-signing of Coy and Skrobolak and agreement from a number of other players to carry on in 2009.

For the sides remaining all the best for the remainder of the series. My tip is Thomson and Bannock playing off in the GF with Bannock reversing the trend of recent results and taking home the silverware.

For the games this week I have Thomson beating Bannock (I know I am contradicting what I have put above but thats how I think it will be) and BPH and Corio playing out a tough encounter with the Hill getting over the line.

After reading todays Addy, one can't help but think that, not only do the Ump's get decisions wrong on the field, it's off it also.

I do not begrudge the top 3 vote getters their place in history, well deserved. But their are a few raised eyebrows elsewhere.

I can confirm that Haami Williams will not be coaching Belmont next year and wont be playing football anywhere at all. Dont know if he has informed the Lions yet but i can tell you that is what is happening (as i said some weeks ago).

Well done to Haami he did a graet job at Belmont. He earnt them back a lot of respect.

hmmm i guess i saw it coming but didn't want to believe it.. great player and a great fella:thumbsu:

(from memory he managed to poll around 10 votes the other night which was a nice suprise)

Believe the Rookie is going to be awarded on their presentation night. Agree Hutchinson would nearly be a lay down. Don't know how many games Muir played last year as to whether he's elgible.

hmmm i guess i saw it coming but didn't want to believe it.. great player and a great fella:thumbsu:

(from memory he managed to poll around 10 votes the other night which was a nice suprise)

Yes he got them some respect but what happens now. Will they keep players when he goes? Who repleaces him?

Also what others are on the move or rumours. I've heard

- North are looking to recruit a name coach probably from the Bellarine.
- Winchelsea are well advanced in their search
- Werribee need a new coach, Andrews is not going again.

But Gav Habib has resigned with Anakie

i take it Nathan has retired from Belmont as well now that H has?.. i spoke to him about a month ago and he said in all likelihood this would be his last season.. surely the fact that Haami has retired means he will too?

Yes he got them some respect but what happens now. Will they keep players when he goes? Who repleaces him?

Also what others are on the move or rumours. I've heard

- North are looking to recruit a name coach probably from the Bellarine.
- Winchelsea are well advanced in their search
- Werribee need a new coach, Andrews is not going again.

But Gav Habib has resigned with Anakie

I think North are looking for a high profile coach, they hav sum really great young talent cumming through and r just in search of a strong spine.. the good years arnt to far away for north

Tips for this week!
Thomson v BANNOCKBURN by 19 pts
CORIO v Bell Post Hill by 40 pts

A belated run down on who, Earned their votes, overlooked by umps, and players who received more than they should have:

Earned/ Overlooked/ More than should have

Anakie: R Lazza/ R Markham/ D Berg
Banno: TMG/ Fuller,Woods/ J Bliss
Corio M Stewart/ Nichol,Potter/ R O Toole
Inver: D Muir/ Z Hickleton/ C Trotter
East: All looks about right
North: D Fitzs/ D Mathieson/ S Alsop
Belmont: Haami/ A Bogan/
BPH: S Lewis/ May, Bott/ C Moreland
Centrals: Hardingham/ Molivas/ Foley
Whinch: All looks about right
Blue West: Melville/ Messer/ Cerni
Thomson: Gercovich/ Curtis, Wallace/ Gardiner

This post is not meant to insult anyone, just an outsiders view from reading the results and best players on a week to week basis. The leaders from each club were deserved, but are also well known players within the league. The likes of Curtis, Molivas, May, Fuller etc can really feel hard done by. I would suggest that most of the players I have named as Overlooked, would poll very well in their club voting.

I can confirm that Haami Williams will not be coaching Belmont next year and wont be playing football anywhere at all. Dont know if he has informed the Lions yet but i can tell you that is what is happening (as i said some weeks ago).

Well done to Haami he did a graet job at Belmont. He earnt them back a lot of respect.

Hulkster, that is totally untrue. I just spoke to Haami and he will definately play next year for Belmont, coaching on may be doubtful due to family and work commitments. Please dont come on here with statements regarding our club when you obviously have no idea.
This year we lost 9 of our premiership players but it must be noted only one got a clearance (John Tate to Queensland - work related)....one of the biggest premiership hangovers in history.! We expect to get 6 of those 9 back plus some other quality recruits. We will not be paying big money to anyone.
2008 saw us play a 15yr old and two 17yr olds in the seniors and Haami wants to see these kids develope.
The top 6 clubs this year were very strong and well done to them all. Expect Belmont Lions, with a strong junior program in place and a passionate committee behind them to be in the mix in 2009.

Hulkster, that is totally untrue. I just spoke to Haami and he will definately play next year for Belmont, coaching on may be doubtful due to family and work commitments. Please dont come on here with statements regarding our club when you obviously have no idea.
This year we lost 9 of our premiership players but it must be noted only one got a clearance (John Tate to Queensland - work related)....one of the biggest premiership hangovers in history.! We expect to get 6 of those 9 back plus some other quality recruits. We will not be paying big money to anyone.
2008 saw us play a 15yr old and two 17yr olds in the seniors and Haami wants to see these kids develope.
The top 6 clubs this year were very strong and well done to them all. Expect Belmont Lions, with a strong junior program in place and a passionate committee behind them to be in the mix in 2009.

Well at least i was right about not coaching, no need to get defensive.

A belated run down on who, Earned their votes, overlooked by umps, and players who received more than they should have:

This post is not meant to insult anyone, just an outsiders view from reading the results and best players on a week to week basis. The leaders from each club were deserved, but are also well known players within the league. The likes of Curtis, Molivas, May, Fuller etc can really feel hard done by. I would suggest that most of the players I have named as Overlooked, would poll very well in their club voting.

yer molly ended up winning centrals BnF.. dont no how many votes he got in the league but by the sounds of your comments not many.

Well how can you say he's not playing or coaching when its not true.

Did you just make it up?

I may stand corrected on the playing but he isnt coaching next year and as you said he is doubtful, well i say he wont. And i'm not making it up. As you said yourself he is doubtful, maybe i know him just a little bit better than you and thats not trying to discredit what you are saying as clearly he said that to you, but trust me he will not coach Belmont next year.

This year we lost 9 of our premiership players but it must be noted only one got a clearance (John Tate to Queensland - work related)....one of the biggest premiership hangovers in history.! We expect to get 6 of those 9 back plus some other quality recruits. WE WILL NOT BE PAYING BIG MONEY TO ANYONE !
I dont think hulkster said anything about money in his post only that haami wasnt coaching , seems that the money subject is still a bit touchey at the lions , if the coaching rumers are correct the bloke your chasing dont come cheap .

Well I be f@#ked, I'm eating humble pie. I still can't believe Shaun Lewis won the Whitley Medal...but Woods only polling 7 votes and Curtis 0 votes illustrates what a farce umpires votes can be. I've seen Woods and Curtis dominate numerous games this year. All sarcasm aside Lewis is not a GDFL A grader and some of his team mates must have gone missing a lot of the year for him to poll that many votes.:confused:

I dont think hulkster said anything about money in his post only that haami wasnt coaching , seems that the money subject is still a bit touchey at the lions , if the coaching rumers are correct the bloke your chasing dont come cheap .

All right. How about we all just take a breather. Money CERTAINLY isn't a touchy subject with the LIONS committee.
Hullkster, you are right to say that Haami isn't coaching (on his own, anyway), but to say you know him well and that he isn't playing next year is basically calling the man a liar. If you took 5 mins to PM me, I could have stopped young Punchy getting all upset with you. I had a long chat with Hammer last week(which will remain private) and have a clear understanding of what he is doing and where he is heading with his football.
Sevenup, I too have heard rumors about who we are supposedly talking to but you would think given the position I hold down at the club I would know who we are chasing.
I can catergorically say that the BLSC coaching positions(all of them, from U/10 thru to Senior footy and U/13 thru to A Grade netball) will be in tomorrows Geelong Addy and we have NO intention of shutting anybody out who might want to apply. The rumors are just that. RUMORS

You obviously no nothing about footy to suggest the best players who in the paper are actually a reflection of the ppl who should get the votes, most coaches if they did the best players would not put themselves in, and how can you judge anyone when you dont watch every week of every teams games the umpires in the gdfl are a disgrace and there are heaps of examples to prove this!

Well I be f@#ked, I'm eating humble pie. I still can't believe Shaun Lewis won the Whitley Medal...but Woods only polling 7 votes and Curtis 0 votes illustrates what a farce umpires votes can be. I've seen Woods and Curtis dominate numerous games this year. All sarcasm aside Lewis is not a GDFL A grader and some of his team mates must have gone missing a lot of the year for him to poll that many votes.:confused:
Totally agree and what about the team of the year a disgrace, no Grgic, O'Toole, Edwards, Clifford, Ling, Starcevic, Fastuca, Coy, Hoey, 3 clowns picking the team who do no research at all

i really think the team of the year selecters hav got the results of the league b&f and chosen the team from there so they dont make the umpires look even more stupid, maybe thats how the leak of who won got out.
how mathisen got FB ahead of ling is hard 2 figure out, but i do agree that O'toole shouldnt have been in it the times i sore him play this year wouldnt hav had him in my top 10 on the ground

i really think the team of the year selecters hav got the results of the league b&f and chosen the team from there so they dont make the umpires look even more stupid, maybe thats how the leak of who won got out.
how mathisen got FB ahead of ling is hard 2 figure out, but i do agree that O'toole shouldnt have been in it the times i sore him play this year wouldnt hav had him in my top 10 on the ground

My my we're a sensitive lot aren't we. Words like disgrace. Its a ficticous team that doesn't take to the field picked by 3 blokes who are allowed an opinion. If I pick one or someone else from this form it will generally be flavoured by the blokes from my/your club and the ones you might see twice ayear when you play them

There hasn't been a year go by when the team published has been universally accepted. That why these forums exist. Chill out

My my we're a sensitive lot aren't we. Words like disgrace. Its a ficticous team that doesn't take to the field picked by 3 blokes who are allowed an opinion. If I pick one or someone else from this form it will generally be flavoured by the blokes from my/your club and the ones you might see twice ayear when you play them

There hasn't been a year go by when the team published has been universally accepted. That why these forums exist. Chill out

Having said that Jackie, good theory on the leak