GDFL Geelong and District Football League

not at all, top gfl reserve sides i believe would account for most gdfl senior sides. if not why do most gdfl sides throw big bucks at gfl reserve players

51, I think your age is getting the better of you. GFL reserves ain't as good as everyone wants to make out. Most of your top GDFL sides contain numerous ex-GFL senior players (premiership ones at that), and would have the better of 90% GFL ressies.
GFL seniors, 5 classes above that!

not at all, top gfl reserve sides i believe would account for most gdfl senior sides. if not why do most gdfl sides throw big bucks at gfl reserve players
Because the better GFL senior always have about 4 or 5 handy fringe players and with the gdfl being a lesser standard they should be able to play quality senior footy .

bph got him a job and is on good money. Dont forget he grew up there before being drafted and has alot of child hood mates.

hes hasnt signed yet. still has a lot to offer at bell park and wants to be successful at that level but the offer may be too good to refuse. i'd be backing bph to land a big recuit.

bell post hill to name 2 more big recruits in next week or two. have forgotten their names

grgic is just a formality now i think. he will dominate gdfl without question.
Good recruiting and I would assume BPH's ex-AFL player trumps Corio's and who would have thought the GDFL would have multiple ex league players running around.
If what they say about his work ethic is true he might find it harder than he thinks as the blokes that will play on him (one of the top from each club) are nearly all capable of cutting it at the higher levels and we all know blokes who drop down the grades thinking they can slack off and dominate generally get found out.

I think its pretty silly to think 2s footy in the GFL is better than GDFL seniors i think you guys over rate the GFL a little, name me one consistent GFL 2s player who has gone and dominated at GDFL level name one?

Good recruiting and I would assume BPH's ex-AFL player trumps Corio's and who would have thought the GDFL would have multiple ex league players running around.
If what they say about his work ethic is true he might find it harder than he thinks as the blokes that will play on him (one of the top from each club) are nearly all capable of cutting it at the higher levels and we all know blokes who drop down the grades thinking they can slack off and dominate generally get found out.
The only difference between Brent Grgic and Billy Nicholls is heart and grgic has none and will soon get sorted out in this league thats his weaknest, although you would think he would and should dominate will be huge for the hill

I think its pretty silly to think 2s footy in the GFL is better than GDFL seniors i think you guys over rate the GFL a little, name me one consistent GFL 2s player who has gone and dominated at GDFL level name one?
I agree with what you are saying Devilfish, but you said to name one.
Dean O'Hara was at Sth Barwon in the 2's and dominated LY for East!

Clint Vessey, in his last two years at gfl reserve level averaged 60+ goals for the season couldn't get a senior game, goes to gdfl' kicks 97 goals. against there best backmen every week. enough said

To use Vessey as an example on that 1 year is not telling the whole story. He did have a great year in his first year because he worked hard for the money he was getting, harder than he had while at Nth Shore. In his second year however he didn't and he payed the price. He couldnt get a game/kick in an ordinary Nth Geelong side. To balance your arguement what about Tom Hall? He was a gun in the GFL yet didn't get near it while at Belmont.

This whole arguement however is about whether GFL reserves teams are better than GDFL senior teams. TEAM being the key word. The thing about the top GDFL teams is that they are made up of a number of players more than capable of playing senior GFL football but who are quite often not dedicated/driven enough to play GFL football whether it be there choice or circumstances. Then there are the other players that make up a GDFL senior side who are dedicated but not skilled enough to play GFL football but would easily play GFL reserve grade. Most GFL reserves teams have a number of good up and coming players/fringe senior players who no doubt could play senior GDFL Football and no doubt some of them would do exceptionally well. However most of these teams also have players (Older club stalwarts teaching the kids or young guys making up numbers) that would not be upto Senior GDFL level.

I think the level of the GDFL has improved in leaps and bounds over the last 5 years or so and it should be given more respect now. It is no longer a thugs league as was the case 20 years ago and I believe the top 4 GDFL sides would beat GFL reserves team. Just my opinion.

To use Vessey as an example on that 1 year is not telling the whole story. He did have a great year in his first year because he worked hard for the money he was getting, harder than he had while at Nth Shore. In his second year however he didn't and he payed the price. He couldnt get a game/kick in an ordinary Nth Geelong side. To balance your arguement what about Tom Hall? He was a gun in the GFL yet didn't get near it while at Belmont.

This whole arguement however is about whether GFL reserves teams are better than GDFL senior teams. TEAM being the key word. The thing about the top GDFL teams is that they are made up of a number of players more than capable of playing senior GFL football but who are quite often not dedicated/driven enough to play GFL football whether it be there choice or circumstances. Then there are the other players that make up a GDFL senior side who are dedicated but not skilled enough to play GFL football but would easily play GFL reserve grade. Most GFL reserves teams have a number of good up and coming players/fringe senior players who no doubt could play senior GDFL Football and no doubt some of them would do exceptionally well. However most of these teams also have players (Older club stalwarts teaching the kids or young guys making up numbers) that would not be upto Senior GDFL level.

I think the level of the GDFL has improved in leaps and bounds over the last 5 years or so and it should be given more respect now. It is no longer a thugs league as was the case 20 years ago and I believe the top 4 GDFL sides would beat GFL reserves team. Just my opinion.

spot on buddy, there is no way gfl 2'nds would get near sides like thomson corio belmont east bph and bannock. the gdfl has come a long way and it wouldnt surprise me if they knocked off the bfl in a interleague game to find who is the number 2 league in geelong. but we know that will never happen coz it will prove a few people wrong.

I dont want to go on about it but the original argument was the top 3 sides in the GFL reserves would beat sides like blue west and inverleigh. The topic has been blown out of proportion a bit. Another case is Brad Edwards who dominated for Belmont in 2006 and made the GDFL team of the year and last year went back to Grovedale where he qualified for the reserves finals for Grovedale, a middle of the road team. Vessey, Mathieson and Alsop are all good examples of guys who couldn't get a game in North Shore seniors but were/are very valuable players for North Geelong seniors. I'm sure there's heaps more examples. Furthermore, the only way a regular senior GFL player would struggle in the GDFL is if he couldn't be bothered any more or was over the hill. Someone mentioned Tom Hall as a counter argument, didn't he only play about 6 games for Belmont at the end of a season, then went back to North Shore? I watched one game where he kicked 5 against Bannockburn from the flank and they won the flag that year.Hardly a good example.

That statement is totally wrong in my view, as both are very different players who will have different impacts on games of footy. Should Billy get his body right, I feel he could be more dangerous than R O Toole.
As for Grigic, he seemed very laconic at times for the Dragons, and will need to come to the league with the right attitude.

I believe Mark Henry (St. Joeys to Thomson) was named in the GDFL side in 2006.

Andjelovic (Sorry for the spelling) went from North Shore to North Geelong and went alright. David O'Brien a few years ago did the same.

Brent Harty (Newtown to BPH), Luke Parker (North Shore to BPH) were a few others who went alright... not dominated but went well.

Jeremy Sluggett (Lara to Anakie) kicked a bag last year after have a belated clearance from Lara. All relatively young guys so give them time and they will go alright.

Clint Vessey, in his last two years at gfl reserve level averaged 60+ goals for the season couldn't get a senior game, goes to gdfl' kicks 97 goals. against there best backmen every week. enough said

Vessey in his last year for North Shore kicked 87 goals in a side that finished undefeated until the Grand Final... As you said Retired51, went on to North and kicked 97 against 'better opposition' (Adds fuel to the GFL 2's vs GDFL 1's debate) but do people believe that the GFL reserves is the best scouting ground for the GDFL, thats why people believe the two standards of footy are compatable?

That statement is totally wrong in my view, as both are very different players who will have different impacts on games of footy. Should Billy get his body right, I feel he could be more dangerous than R O Toole.
As for Grigic, he seemed very laconic at times for the Dragons, and will need to come to the league with the right attitude.
if billy could ever get his body right again, and i hope to god he can, he wouldn't be the best player in the gdfl cos he wouldn't waste his time playing in it, he'd be in the top 3 players in the gfl by a mile

well said 19th man, drago is just having a dig at corio, as he bawked the question to him a while back regarding East Geelongs recruiting.
thats drago though, talks in riddles about East topics and if too hard just goes missing.
loves to gossip about every other clubs affairs!
are u going around again drago?
I think you should pull up stumps mate, too old and soft.

I believe Mark Henry (St. Joeys to Thomson) was named in the GDFL side in 2006.

Andjelovic (Sorry for the spelling) went from North Shore to North Geelong and went alright. David O'Brien a few years ago did the same.

Brent Harty (Newtown to BPH), Luke Parker (North Shore to BPH) were a few others who went alright... not dominated but went well.

Jeremy Sluggett (Lara to Anakie) kicked a bag last year after have a belated clearance from Lara. All relatively young guys so give them time and they will go alright.

2 players named here starting with chooka henry played some pretty good footy in there senior team at joeys so dont put him in this list, jelks is originally from north geelong as a junior then tried to crack into shore 1's, might have played a handful of senior games as a back up ruck, certainly does not dominate the gdfl.

He did play some good senior games but his last two years at Joeys were spent in the ressies so he did leave Joeys as a reserves player.

What about the reverse, GDFL players going to the GFL and playing well. Leigh Hardman for sure. Played very well at Lara last year... Anyone else?

He did play some good senior games but his last two years at Joeys were spent in the ressies so he did leave Joeys as a reserves player.

What about the reverse, GDFL players going to the GFL and playing well. Leigh Hardman for sure. Played very well at Lara last year... Anyone else?
couple of old werribee boys in chris gilham and paul carson at west/st peters, lukey forbes was a joeys junior (mainly in there 2nd team in the 18's) before crossing to thomson then returnig back to joeys after 2 or 3 seaons then played with VFL. Ross Dylan from bannock to bell park and also brett harding went to bell park and played good footy, just to name a couple.