3 recent flags but the Cats are nearly as broke as Brisbane. Why?

Hawks supporters so desperate to put forward Matthews as the best player. He doesn't hold a candle to ablett and Carey. So sad.
We don't have to. The AFL already declared Matthews officially the greatest player ever.

Yet Hawthorn kicked him out for being a thief then won 5 premierships in 9 years to his zero.

GOAT or flog of all time.

Why do you guys always forget the most important thing in footy. A champion team will always beat a team of champions. Don't you get it?

Why did Hawthorn go to court to try and keep him, if they kicked him out? You guys and your made-up mythology.

Mostly to piss off the Handbaggers.... and judging from your posting history we've succeeded splendidly in that regard ever since.

Ablett was an inferior player to Matthews just as Geelong is an inferior club to Hawthorn. Accept it and move on guys, stop wasting your time debating a point that was settled long ago.

If you'd like something more interesting to discuss how about we compare Ablett Junior with Sam Mitchell? Sammy has the edge in decision making, elite ball use & club loyalty, but Ablett's a better goalkicker & mark above his shoulders. They've earned a similar number of Brownlow votes and although Mitch is a Premiership Captain & Gazza never will be they've both displayed plenty of leadership.

So? What does that have to do with anything?

It has everything to do with it. Any player who is asked to rate the greatest won't rate himself because it is seen as a narcissistic, Patrick Dangerfield surfing in formalwear, move. However there is no need to introduce someone or to voluntarily refer to them as the greatest. Particularly when some previously thought you to be in the running. For a headwobbler like Carey to offer that in referring to Matthews suggests that even he knows he has nothing to lose because it is obvious by now that Matthews is the GOAT.

If you'd like something more interesting to discuss how about we compare Ablett Junior with Sam Mitchell? Sammy has the edge in decision making, elite ball use & club loyalty, but Ablett's a better goalkicker & mark above his shoulders. They've earned a similar number of Brownlow votes and although Mitch is a Premiership Captain & Gazza never will be they've both displayed plenty of leadership.

GAJ has never displayed that he's terribly important to any team he has played in. Geelong won a flag the year he left, and he still hasn't gotten Gold Coast looking like a Top 8 side. All that effort, buzzing around the field playing hot potato, doesn't really translate to premierships, and is precisely the kind of play that Hawthorn relied on to defeat Geelong in the 2008 GF

"Federal Government asked to fund majority of $70 million final stage of Simonds Stadium redevelopment"
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au...t/news-story/36f8ac38059bf5c6b0aaa0d8c9646832

More handouts??? ... Christ, our taxes going to prop up your shithole stadium - absolute disgrace!
Combine this with another pending loss this year, it's fair to say the Handbaggers are nothing short of leech on the community purse - should fold them!

giphy.gif

Another Hawfie who gives the Geelong Addy a brisk read each and every morning. Never change. :drunk::thumbsu:

Looks like a typical government con. As long as you put in something for the community, that's all the excuse they need to fund the entire thing. The same thing is true of the pokies. A pretense at using the money from ripping off pensioners and gambling addicts to help the community, when they really do stuff all. Is the entire AFL just a big government rort?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-23/the-stats-files-whos-the-top-target

According to AFL.com.au Tummy Porkins & Harry Taylor (what do those two have in common I wonder?) are two of the best one-on-one players in the league..... so why aren't the Cats on top of the ladder? Could be because every one of their midfielders except Dangerwood is a deadweight spud?

"Federal Government asked to fund majority of $70 million final stage of Simonds Stadium redevelopment"
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au...t/news-story/36f8ac38059bf5c6b0aaa0d8c9646832

More handouts??? ... Christ, our taxes going to prop up your shithole stadium - absolute disgrace!
Combine this with another pending loss this year, it's fair to say the Handbaggers are nothing short of leech on the community purse - should fold them!

giphy.gif
Bloody hell. Geelong can't go more than a couple of months without begging for handouts to stay afloat. I refused to believe they'd been in debt for 50 years when I first heard it, silly me!

It has everything to do with it. Any player who is asked to rate the greatest won't rate himself because it is seen as a narcissistic, Patrick Dangerfield surfing in formalwear, move. However there is no need to introduce someone or to voluntarily refer to them as the greatest. Particularly when some previously thought you to be in the running. For a headwobbler like Carey to offer that in referring to Matthews suggests that even he knows he has nothing to lose because it is obvious by now that Matthews is the GOAT.
Matthews volunteered carey as his greatest. He wasbt asked either. Atleast the time i heard it. Plenty of players have said ablett was the greatest they saw without being asked who was the greatest. Gees you thought that was a one off?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-23/the-stats-files-whos-the-top-target

According to AFL.com.au Tummy Porkins & Harry Taylor (what do those two have in common I wonder?) are two of the best one-on-one players in the league..... so why aren't the Cats on top of the ladder? Could be because every one of their midfielders except Dangerwood is a deadweight spud?

Bloody hell. Geelong can't go more than a couple of months without begging for handouts to stay afloat. I refused to believe they'd been in debt for 50 years when I first heard it, silly me!
your major sponser is a government. Which means your sponsership money is all public handouts. How stupid are you hawks supporters?

Looks like a typical government con. As long as you put in something for the community, that's all the excuse they need to fund the entire thing. The same thing is true of the pokies. A pretense at using the money from ripping off pensioners and gambling addicts to help the community, when they really do stuff all. Is the entire AFL just a big government rort?
are you talking about geelong stadium money (which goes to the geelong council not football club) or hawks tassie govt sponser money?

your major sponser is a government. Which means your sponsership money is all public handouts. How stupid are you hawks supporters?
They've been told, in fact if they followed their own clubs finances as much as they followed ours they'd know this.

After all they are carrying the most debt in the AFL despite the 3peat*

Corrupt zones isnt that for code for everyone else having a sook their development sucks,
Dont cats still recruit from their zone
Hawthorns zone had twice as many registered kids playing football as some of the weaker zones. That wasnt development. It was corruption. You along with carlton had a number of supporters on the commitee that choose the zones. Funny how your two clubs then got the majority of flags in that era.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-24/joel-selwood-named-as-captain-of-20-in-20-academy-allstar-team

GEELONG champion Joel Selwood has been named captain of the NAB AFL Academy '20 in 20' all-star side to mark two decades of the prestigious program.

The three-time Cats premiership player, who graduated from the academy in 2006, beat a strong field of other captaincy candidates in the final team.

Selwood edged out Hawthorn's three-time premiership captain Luke Hodge, West Coast premiership skipper and Carlton leader Chris Judd, Sydney Swans premiership co-captain Jarrad McVeigh and his former Cats teammate Cameron Ling – all members of the 20-man line-up.

Former and present head coaches of the national academy gathered in Melbourne last month to select the line-up, named to celebrate the 20th intake of the program.

Joel Selwood beat Luke Hodge and Chris Judd for the captaincy role. Picture: AFL Photos
hodgejudd_620.jpg

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-24/joel-selwood-named-as-captain-of-20-in-20-academy-allstar-team

GEELONG champion Joel Selwood has been named captain of the NAB AFL Academy '20 in 20' all-star side to mark two decades of the prestigious program.

The three-time Cats premiership player, who graduated from the academy in 2006, beat a strong field of other captaincy candidates in the final team.

Selwood edged out Hawthorn's three-time premiership captain Luke Hodge, West Coast premiership skipper and Carlton leader Chris Judd, Sydney Swans premiership co-captain Jarrad McVeigh and his former Cats teammate Cameron Ling – all members of the 20-man line-up.

Former and present head coaches of the national academy gathered in Melbourne last month to select the line-up, named to celebrate the 20th intake of the program.

Joel Selwood beat Luke Hodge and Chris Judd for the captaincy role. Picture: AFL Photos
hodgejudd_620.jpg
Oh so the AFL are saying Joel Selwood is the best captain in the AFL over the past 20 years?

I knew that already but it's great they've made it official.

hodgejudd_620.jpg

Ah - isn't Selwood on the NAB payroll? Would make sense then eh? Let's see what the AFL.com poll came up with as stated in the aforementioned article.

Separately, AFL.com.au readers were asked to nominate a captain of the 'best of' Academy team, with 41 per cent of the more than 13,000 who voted going with Hodge. Judd received 22 per cent of the vote, while Selwood got the nod from 12 per cent.

Pretty clear cut. They want Mr 3peat, not Mr 0.

Ah - isn't Selwood on the NAB payroll? Would make sense then eh? Let's see what the AFL.com poll came up with as stated in the aforementioned article.

Pretty clear cut. They want Mr 3peat, not Mr 0.
Sorry but I'll take the opinion of 'former and present head coaches of the national academy' over AFL.com.au readers LOL. :drunk: