3 recent flags but the Cats are nearly as broke as Brisbane. Why?

Ablett could simply do everything better than anyone else. A 1 in a million player.
Couldn't win a premiership though could he?
Ablett I saw in his prime, he was flashy but hungry.
So much so that I remember thinking Geelong would be a better team without him, bit like Hawthorn minus Buddy.
Matthews was also a leader which is something no one could ever accuse Ablett of being.
As I said in an earlier post they were all very different players and we're both biased.
I guess that the deciding vote will have to lie with their post playing career:
Matthews went on to lead Collingwood to their first premiership in decades and Brisbane to a three premierships in a row.
Ablett took a shitload of smack.

None of us value your account as much as our own. If you weren't such a tedious, monotonous minnow we might start taking you seriously. ;)
You think I come to the bay to be taken seriously? Is that what you do?

lol, you're being treated like the twit you are and you don't even realise it. :$

Because the stories about how great he was were bullshit.
Hahaha, so it's confirmed that by going only on "stories" he's "heard" not only did Podge never witness his idol Matthews play live he also never witnessed the greatness of Ablett.

lol :$:thumbsu:

So much so that I remember thinking Geelong would be a better team without him, bit like Hawthorn minus Buddy.
Matthews was also a leader which is something no one could ever accuse Ablett of being.
As I said in an earlier post they were all very different players and we're both biased.
Matthews went on to lead Collingwood to their first premiership in decades and Brisbane to a three premierships in a row.
Lol @ flashy.

It really isn't open for discussion and premierships, coaching and off field events are irrelevant to individual brilliance and his playing career, which hands down Senior is without peer. You know this though hence the need to use irrelevance.

Could kick it a mile and accurately on both feet, had brute power and acceleration like no other, was the best mark of a sherrin I've ever seen and a skillful as anyone. He had it all.

The GOAT.

Lol @ flashy.

It really isn't open for discussion and premierships, coaching and off field events are irrelevant to individual brilliance and his playing career, which hands down Senior is without peer. You know this though hence the need to use irrelevance.

Could kick it a mile and accurately on both feet, had brute power and acceleration like no other, was the best mark of a sherrin I've ever seen and a skillful as anyone. He had it all.

The GOAT.

Yet Hawthorn kicked him out for being a thief then won 5 premierships in 9 years to his zero.

GOAT or flog of all time.

Why do you guys always forget the most important thing in footy. A champion team will always beat a team of champions. Don't you get it?

Yet Hawthorn kicked him out for being a thief then won 5 premierships in 9 years to his zero.

Why do you guys always forget the most important thing in footy. A champion team will always beat a team of champions. Don't you get it?
Is that another one of your opinions you pass off as fact.

And anyone can jump on a team winning flags as your clubs membership numbers attest to.

Just think, Hawthorn could have had the greatest two exponents of the craft of Aussie rules football had they not let Ablett walk to Geelong... Ablett Snr and his son Ablett Jnr will be forever known as the greatest two players this game has ever seen and from the comfort of the blue and white hoops I might add.

Is that another one of your opinions you pass off as fact.

And anyone can jump on a team winning flags as your clubs membership numbers attest to.

Just think, Hawthorn could have had the greatest two exponents of the craft of Aussie rules football had they not let Ablett walk to Geelong... Ablett Snr and his son Ablett Jnr will be forever known as the greatest two players this game has ever seen and from the comfort of the blue and white hoops I might add.

Or we may have dented the formation of the Yabbi Jeans culture and not won 5/9 premierships as Ablett Senior did.

Lol @ flashy.
Very good kick.
Power certainly- plenty with more acceleration though, his brother just to begin with.
Now best mark.... Disagree. You say you saw Lethal in his prime so you watched footy through the 70s and 80s plenty superior in the air and on the lead imo.
His 'Greatest ever mark' 1. Wasn't a mark and 2. Has been bested a few hundred times before and after (By Cyril three times in the last month just for starters).
As skillful as anyone- sure, more skillful in fact than almost everyone.
GOAT. No
For this type of assessment you need to take off the rose coloured glasses.
People who have seen a lot more footy than us and support neutral teams rate it.
Matthews
Carey
Ablett
However I've known old blokes that shook their heads at that and rated Renyolds, Coventry and Skilton higher.
Polly Farmer is another one that men who's opinion I respect greatly have named as possibly the best ever (Certainly the best ruck)
Hudson also comes definitely comes into the equation in their view (with stats that are hard to argue with).

Very good kick.
Power certainly- plenty with more acceleration though, his brother just to begin with.
Now best mark.... Disagree. You say you saw Lethal in his prime so you watched footy through the 70s and 80s plenty superior in the air and on the lead imo.
His 'Greatest ever mark' 1. Wasn't a mark and 2. Has been bested a few hundred times before and after (By Cyril three times in the last month just for starters).
GOAT. No
People who have seen a lot more footy than us and support neutral teams rate it.
Matthews
Carey
Ablett
However I've known old blokes that shook their heads at that and rated Renyolds, Coventry and Skilton higher.
Polly Farmer is another one that men who's opinion I respect greatly have named as possibly the best ever (Certainly the best ruck)
Hudson also comes definitely comes into the equation in their view (with stats that are hard to argue with).
Lol.

Now you're taking the piss.

Those 3 marks Cyril supposedly took, Ablett took one of those every quarter.

His 'Greatest ever mark' 1. Wasn't a mark
Sorry but the umpire paid it and he was much closer than you to the action. :)
Discussing an individual player yet you want to make a team comparison..? o_O:huh:

You obviously don't get the argument.

Isn't the discussion about a player and not the team they played for?

Ablett the person doesn't change anything about Ablett the player which is what is being discussed.

History is littered with tortured, flawed geniuses. Does their personal life in anyway diminshed what they did or accomplished. Not one bit.

Very good kick.
GOAT. No
Matthews
Carey
Ablett

'People'. Love this line.

'Hey guys 'people' agree with me' Let's just ignore the 'people' that don't.

I honestly don't care whether 'people' say one player or another is better. I saw a lot of footy in the 80s and I saw and have seen people do what Leigh Matthews did. Admittedly not as often and admittedly he's the only one I saw break a point post.

I saw Ablett do things I have not seen many, if any others, do and I feel privileged I saw a lot of it live.

They're too busy obsessing over H&A wins and individual awards.

You obviously don't get the argument.

Isn't the discussion about a player and not the team they played for?

Ablett the person doesn't change anything about Ablett the player which is what is being discussed.

History is littered with tortured, flawed geniuses. Does their personal life in anyway diminshed what they did or accomplished. Not one bit.
I'm not so sure about that.

It would be nice to live in a world where a person's accomplishments are the sole determinant of how they're perceived by others I agree, but sadly its not the case. Which is why Ablett Senior, James Hird, Wayne Carey and others of questionable character will always have clouds hanging over their names.
You could even argue Leigh Matthews' poor tribunal record is enough to affect how he's viewed -particularly by Geelong fans- although he's never suffered from the same personal dramas the other have and if anything his life after football has only enhanced the respect most of us have for him, through his incredible coaching record.

Ablett Snr was a football genius without a doubt, nobody's denying that. He was probably the most consistent 'football freak' the game has seen.

Now we're 2 games clear of Geelong it's time to start a Corio Bay support group for our feline friends

Not sure what I like more, sitting on top or being 2 games clear of Geelong

2 games clear of the Handbaggers :D

tumblr_n037nomlwN1r8exu0o1_250.gif

So Handbaggers, reckon you could do us a favor by putting us 2 games clear of the Crows? Cheers. :):thumbsu:

The Cats have been so kind to us over the years (mostly in September) they ought to be renamed Hawthorn's Little Helper.

70 point win to the Hawks! 2 games clear of the Handbaggers!

Chris-Pratt-Middle-Finger.gif

They're too busy obsessing over H&A wins and individual awards.

:$

I'm not so sure about that.

It would be nice to live in a world where a person's accomplishments are the sole determinant of how they're perceived by others I agree, but sadly its not the case. Which is why Ablett Senior, James Hird, Wayne Carey and others of questionable character will always have clouds hanging over their names.
You could even argue Leigh Matthews' poor tribunal record is enough to affect how he's viewed -particularly by Geelong fans- although he's never suffered from the same personal dramas the other have and if anything his life after football has only enhanced the respect most of us have for him, through his incredible coaching record.

Ablett Snr was a football genius without a doubt, nobody's denying that. He was probably the most consistent 'football freak' the game has seen.

leader who sniped and then got his nose broken by an 18 year old Steve hocking yeah what a guy

Lack of real premierships can make Cats supporters so desperate to latch onto any pathetic victory as if it really has some value.
Just like your Nana holds onto all those little porcelain trinkets and when she dies they all go down to the opp shop
Says the supporter from the club that earned most of their flags in the corrupt zone era.

The same sort of thing was said about Wayne Gretzky. He's not a hockey player, he looks like some emaciated punk rocker. It's amazing how these GOATs are so unassuming, and it just adds to the legend.
Hawks supporters so desperate to put forward Matthews as the best player. He doesn't hold a candle to ablett and Carey. So sad.